Who Uses OnPay?

People who think payroll and taxes shouldn't be so hard. OnPay simplifies payroll, automates (and guarantees) tax filings and payments, syncs with Xero and QuickBooks, and can even handle benefits.

What Is OnPay?

Growing businesses love OnPay for its flexible payroll and HR. It gets top customer ratings from Capterra, its the PCMag Editors Choice, and Entrepreneur says, "It's an easy, quick, mobile-friendly system that doesn't require a steep learning curve." Pay employees in minutes, automate taxes, and add payroll to QuickBooks or Xero. It's just $36 plus $4 per person each month for payroll, HR tools, and the option to add benefits in all 50 states the best value among premium payroll providers.

OnPay Details

OnPay

https://onpay.com/

Founded 2007

OnPay Pricing, Cost & Reviews - Capterra UAE 2020

OnPay does not have a free version but does offer a free trial. OnPay paid version starts at $36.00/month.

OnPay video
Play
-thumb
-thumb
-thumb
-thumb
-thumb

Starting Price

$36.00/month

Pricing Details

First month free, then $36 + $4 per employee each month. No hidden fees.

Free Version

No

Free Trial

Yes

Deployment

Cloud, SaaS, Web

Training

Live Online

Webinars

Documentation

Support

Business Hours

Online

OnPay Features

  • Archiving & Retention
  • Audit Management
  • Compliance Tracking
  • Controls Testing
  • Environmental Compliance
  • FDA Compliance
  • HIPAA Compliant
  • ISO Compliance
  • Incident Management
  • OSHA Compliance
  • Process/Workflow Automation
  • Risk Management
  • Sarbanes-Oxley Compliance
  • Surveys & Feedback
  • Version Control

View full list of Compliance Software

  • 360 Degree Feedback
  • Applicant Tracking
  • Benefits Management
  • Compensation Management
  • Employee Database
  • Employee Profiles
  • Onboarding
  • Payroll Management
  • Performance Management
  • Recruitment Management
  • Self Service Portal
  • Time & Attendance Management
  • Time Off Management

View full list of Human Resource Software

  • Document Management
  • E-Verify/I-9 Forms
  • Electronic Forms
  • Electronic Signature
  • Employee Handbook
  • Job Description Management
  • Orientation Workflow Management
  • Self Service Portal
  • Task Management
  • Training Management

View full list of Onboarding Software

  • 401(k) Tracking
  • Benefits Management
  • Check Printing
  • Direct Deposit
  • Multi-Country
  • Multi-State
  • Payroll Outsourcing
  • Payroll Reporting
  • Self Service Portal
  • Tax Compliance
  • Vacation/Leave Tracking
  • W-2/1099 Preparation
  • Wage Garnishment

View full list of Payroll Software

OnPay Alternatives - Capterra UAE 2020

More OnPay alternatives

OnPay Reviews

Showing 5 of 259 reviews

Overall
4.9/5
Ease of Use
4.7/5
Customer Service
4.9/5
Features
4.7/5
Value for Money
4.9/5
Lisa C.
Head of HR
Financial Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2020

"Great Payroll System"

Comments: Great tool that is affordable and easy to use!

Pros: What I like most about OnPay is how easy it is to use the tool. I do not have a payroll background and I was able to figure out how to process payroll with getting frustrated. It's very intuitive and easy to use. I also like that chat functionality. They respond instantly and are incredibly knowledgeable/helpful.

Cons: I wish we could integrate it with our HRIS platform so I wouldn't have to switch between 2 different systems to process payroll (401k contributions and approve non-exempt time cards, etc.)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2020
Michael E.
CEO
Real Estate, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2020

"Used For a Company of Contractors"

Comments: Over the years we have very much appreciated the way OnPay listens to us and impliments our suggestions and features that work for our company.

Pros: We like being able to add new contractors and allowing an invitation to go out to the employee to log in and finish their own set up by adding their banking information.
We like being able to see a payment history made to the employee.
We like the ease of making direct deposit to employees.

Cons: We would rather enter contractors as contractors rather than employees which is easier to set up. Right now we have to add the 1099 Misc payment addon.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2020
Verified Reviewer
President
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1/5
  • Ease of Use
    1/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2020

"Going down hill fast"

Comments: They used to be good. I have been them for 3-4 years Customer service knew what they are doing, there were not glitches, basically hassle free payroll. Starting September or October, we started having issues here and there. First features would get added ( and we start using them ) and then disappear. Taxes are not being filed on time or at all ( I have called them, talked to them on the phone about this multiple times ) . Integrations appear and disappear and i have to keep syncing things. Have to map quickbook chart of accounts again for every payroll item. It's been a NIGHTMARE. It's literally a nightmare. I am looking at other companies and now willing to pay more.
The function to upload payroll data comes and disappears right before the payroll and then it takes one day to add it and then again it disappears
We have a collection notice from our state because of these guys. Every time, i message them / email them, either they don't respond or when i talk to them on the phone they act like i am a dumb. They are terrible.

Pros: Cheaper price than many but I would rather pay more for a job to get done well.

Cons: on collection notice from state dep of rev because of them
Non responsive Customer service ( someone will talk to you but don't get things done )
Customer service not knowledgeable ( gave me wrong information several times )
Glitch y integrations with other platforms ( you can only use WhenIWork )
Glitch y software in general
Features appearing and disappearing

Vendor Response

by OnPay on 23/01/2020

Hi there! Thanks for your feedback, and I'm sorry to hear that you haven't had a better experience. Though tax mistakes are uncommon, when a tax notice does happen our Customer Experience team is here to help resolve everything. We'd be happy to look into the issues you mention and make sure everything runs smoothly. We have also expanded our integration offerings, which may be of interest. If you message us your company name or email, we'll reach out to help!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2020
Mike G.
Owner
Hospital & Health Care, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2020

"Great Payroll Software"

Comments: I have really enjoyed using this software. It is our companies third payroll software vendor and as long as they continue to operate the way they do it will be our last.

Pros: The fact that you can modify employee information, add/subtract new employees, and make changes all while right in the middle of running a payroll. It is also very valuable that they allow you to run as many payroll instances as you need. For instance if you have an employee that forgot to add to their time sheet you can go back and generate another payroll for that one employee with no additional charges.

Cons: Some of the elements of the software are not intuitive and it is very difficult at times to deal with tax related issues through the software. Customer service is usually really helpful and most questions can be answered through chat.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2020
Joan P.
owner
Medical Practice, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/07/2020

"Time-saver!"

Comments: Doing payroll now takes minutes instead of hours! The program pays for itself, not only in time saved, but due to less expense from the accounting firm.

Pros: All I have to do is enter the hours, overtime, and any bonuses- - -all the calculations are done automatically. It is a relief not to have to calculate the withholdings, write the checks, figure out how much to pay the state and federal government, then pay it. As our staff grew, I didn't have time to spend on payroll, then had to pay my accountant to double-check everything. OnPay takes care of everything! I am not very computer-savvy, so it was nice to be able to get assistance from their friendly service people. Now I can figure out most things on my own!

Cons: Sometimes new employees miss the part about setting up direct payment into their accounts. It must not be obvious, because about 1 out of 3 will miss it.
Getting set up was fairly easy. They took the information from my old system (which was mostly "by hand" and converted it easily. When I didn't understand something, their customer service was able to talk me through it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/07/2020