Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4 /5

About Moodle

Free online learning management system, providing educators around the world with an open source solution for e-learning.

Learn more about Moodle

Showing 1,689 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Freelancer
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/02/2021

"I am a satisfied user."

Comments: Made E-learning easier and the fact that every student has their own profile makes it smart and easy to track down the performance and know how the grades are. Awesome!

Pros: It's well organized and guides the participants on how to tackle assignments, we use it as a platform for learning during this covid-9 era and it makes E-learning easier as all students receive their results with confidentiality and when writting the tests it's non-bias, once you open the link to your test then the timer counts you down so there is no time for cheating unless you are taking the exam with other people helping you.

Cons: The class generated link sometimes can be tricky to use unless you understand how to use it, and just like any other online platform during the timed exam there is need for a better internet supply.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/02/2021
Verified Reviewer
Manager - Projects
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/09/2019

"A complete solution for blended learning!"

Comments: I have implemented Moodle LMS for many industries including Colleges, Universities, Manufacturing, Retail, Career Development Centers, Online Training institutions, Information, Media & Entertainment industries. Except the product is an open-source, I do not see ANY issues. This can be hosted in Amazon Web Services or in Azure cloud, it can be hosted in client environment. Moodle can be integrated with any 3rd party (both inbound and outbound) applications as long as their APIs are exposed. This has lot of in-built plugins/tools to manage ILT Events and Sessions, Chats, Virtual Learning Environment tools, etc. I highly recommend this low-cost solution for any type of industry.

Pros: Moodle is a complete e-Learning platform for many industries. It is well-suited for Education Industry. I have implemented Moodle in the large universities and colleges in the world. Most inspiring features are
- the course section which can be grouped based on customized categories and sub-categories
- forum which can be associated with the topics at course level or at organization level
- Cohort which helps the institute to manage the batch-wise students group every year and can be promoted to next level without much manual efforts
- Question Bank which can accommodate more than 12 types of assessments and can also be integrated with other assessment management systems or plugins

Cons: There is no limitation on the features, since this is an open source application, we cannot use it for GxP contents in Life Sciences and may not comply with Banking/Insurance industries.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/09/2019
Verified Reviewer
E-Learning Consultant
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/01/2019

"Flexible for designers, teachers and students"

Pros: As an online learning designer, Moodle is a fantastic tool because it integrates multiple options for learning and collaboration between both on and off campus students. It is incredibly flexible with a plethora of both simple and advanced features which can be integrated at a teacher’s preference, and the entire teaching experience can be run through the system. It’s agile enough to integrate with multiple external software systems so is less restrictive than some LMS systems.
The interface can be configured to suit individual institutions or teaching and allows a teacher to monitor all activity.
As a course designer, Moodle Analytics are extremely valuable because I can see exactly what parts of the course are being accessed, how often, and if they are being completed. This allows me to know if individual components of the course are beneficial to learning or if it needs changing or replacing, without the risk of violating student or institution privacy.
When working for an institution that is a Moodle partner, I like the opportunity to help shape Moodle’s future by offering submissions direct to the designers.

Cons: Whenever updates for Moodle are released (six monthly) there are always some problems with existing content, especially with non-standard features that have been designed exclusively for a course or institution. Sometimes they are not immediately evident and can cause issues during the teaching period.
Moodle is a very large, powerful system, so it can take considerable time to understand it well enough to be confident designing and teaching courses. Also, if support staff are not on hand it can be difficult to resolve issues or find ways to integrate special requests from teachers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/01/2019
Verified Reviewer
EMT
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2019

"Good for students"

Comments: I have used it for years to upload assignments and track my grades. I like the instant feedback of grades if the professors are prompt in grading.

Pros: I like that I can track my grades, submit assignments in the drop boxes and take quizzes. this is a good program for keeping track of assignments weekly. I like the check box feature which allows me to check off files I have viewed or quizzes I have completed which allows me to not keep clicking on powerpoint files I have already downloaded.

Cons: I dislike how if you have an administrator of the page such as a professor who is not savvy with technology or does not keep up with the moodle page, it looks like you have a bad grade if certain things aren't entered correctly or if they haven't corrected things. It also has limitations of any online platform where the administrator doesn't make the file or quiz visible and then they have a hard time seeing why the students havent done the assignment. I only used canvas briefly, but I think it was slightly better in its ease of use, but I am not very familiar with moodle so it is hard to compare ease of use from the student prospective. The alerts and messaging system is a little clunky and I prefer to use email instead. you have to change your preferences or you will get way too many email notifications every time someone comments on a massive discussion post.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2019
Larry J.
I.T. Administrator
Higher Education Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/11/2017

"I built the server, installed the software and moodle runs flawless for many years."

Comments: Its Free, powerful and user friendly. It constantly get updates and improvements.

Pros: When installed on a good server and once it is setup, then leave it alone and it will run flawless. I update moodle every 6 months for security and feature improvements. It has not ever crashed on me. You have to follow the installation instructions exactly. Always create backups. I use supermicro motherboards with xeon processors and lots of ram. We have a little over 200 college students and they like using it. Some teachers say that Blackboard might have a few more features. Moodle is free and can do anthing we want. The only extra apps we install in moodle is the attendance and collapsed topics. No problems with these. We mainly use the default settings on the server install and also on moodle. We use one of the skins that come with it. We have one person that creates the classes each semester and helps the teachers if they need it. Once your classes are setup, you can copy them over for the next semester.

Cons: None that we have. Basically stick with the basic setup. Do as little experimenting as possible with different addons. Then just let it run. Ours only goes down when I install updates or a large power outtage.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/11/2017
Ajay P.
Course Assistant
E-Learning, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2021

"Best Education System I've Used"

Comments: My overall experience with Moodle is positive. The other software program that I use is Compass 2G which is inferior to Moodle when it comes to user experience and submitting assignments. The user experience of Moodle is overall great.

Pros: Moodle is a fantastic way for students to keep track of their grades, assignments, and other information regarding class. Moodle makes it easy for students to keep track of what they are supposed to be doing week-by-week.

Cons: There are not many major cons to Moodle. However the way of taking a timed exam on Moodle when it is proctored needs to be improved. When scrolling through the questions you can't see how much time you have left on the exam unless you scroll all the way up. It would also by beneficial for Moodle to have their own video conference feature.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2021
Matthew K.
Chemist
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/01/2021

"There is not a better learning platform in existence!"

Comments: In the very beginning when I first started to work with moodle, I found it incredibly difficult to navigate due to all the different features that existed within the software. Luckily it seems like moodle has a lot of helpful documentation which provided me with the understanding that I needed to fully appreciate the platform. Overall, most of our students use Moodle nearly every day, we use it to send out assignments/mark work along with giving helpful guidance/notes to students that they could use for exams.

Pros: Moodle as a platform is just fantastic, it is very robust and you can customize it quite a lot. The documentation they provide is top-notch and really helps you understand the platform in its entirety. The responsiveness of the platform itself and its user interface is what makes it a great platform for students learning. Overall the community that uses moodle is very active and if you have any trouble at all, they are always there to help any of your needs.

Cons: When i first started to use the platform it was very hard to grasp and if you are trying to wrap your head around it without documentation you will have a hard time doing so. Their mobile app is also in need of some updating as it falls flat compared to competing for software. Overall, I think moodle is really one of a kind though and we will continue to use them for the foreseeable future!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/01/2021
Verified Reviewer
Game Developer
Program Development, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2019

"The best software for students and teacher for education"

Comments: I have been using Moodle in the University for almost 4 years. And it is just an incredible way of submitting projects, communicating with professors and other students.

Pros: Moodle is the best software for learning both on and off campus. The applications is full of unique features allowing teachers and professors to adjust the system to their preferred way of education. Instructors are able to run the whole teaching experience through the software and to monitor the activities of their students. I am a student who has been using the software for about 4 years and it is the easiest and most convenient way of submitting my projects and checking the deadlines of the submissions. The Moodle also provides an easy way to communicate with your professors, and the forum system is an incredible way for starting discussions with other students of the same course. Using Moodle is also very convenient when it comes to resources as professors can easily share all the required materials with students.

Cons: As a student I don't have any complains concerning the Moodle.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2019
Ely M.
consultant
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2016

"Excellent !"

Comments: As e-learning consultant I provide support to international organizations. I can say, without any doubt, that Moodle, has almost no equivalent as open source LMS and this on efficiency and added value levels. I recommend it for all kind of online training (professional and academic). Great software for no penny and with many advantages.

Pros: open source philosophy
wide support Community
updates on time
free plugins and themes
total integration of the official Moodle website plugins area to owners Moodle websites (direct installation through login interface) )

Cons: Need training to master the site admin interface. But guidelines are online available.
The very frequent updated versions provided by the official website can lead to frequent upgrades (not easy to perform for novice mainly for running website). But latest version can be used for longtime without fundamentals upgrading (outside security concerns) mainly from the 2.x and 3.x versions. Anyway those who are familiar with git (repositories) can do upgrades and planning all upgrading jobs efficiently.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2016
Joseph G.
Manager
Maritime, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/09/2018

"Student View On Moodle"

Comments: Overall it has been very useful in keeping tasks organized and efficient. Online quizzes provide instant results for students and estimates for keeping track on overall course projects. The software does need to be configured properly to be best used

Pros: Online resource for organizing course work for students and allows for collaboration between students amongst themselves and professor contact information. Work assignments, test and quizzes can all be posted for students to complete and displays a GPA for the course for the work completed on Moodle. Useful to keep on track on assignments and helps keep students accountable for the work required to pass a course

Cons: I never seen the administrator / professor's side, but It looks like it needs a decent set of technical knowledge to configure and implement. Often there is misalignment with Moodle tasks and actual tasks. Although this is no fault to Moodle, but professors are often specialized in a trade and not the best for software deployment. Universities should have a staff dedicated towards training and usage on this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Client Services Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/11/2018

"A trusted Content/Learning management system that free and open source"

Comments: Cannot expect more as it is a really good, open source tool. Highly customizable to suit your needs and has almost all features you are going to need as plugins.

Pros: Moodle is a highly customizable open source tool which has been there for some time and which had clearly grown in so many ways. Being a reliable, open source tool makes it ideal for small businesses and institutes It has so many plugins which enable you to find the best options for your requirement and it allows your content and course materials to be organized in a clean and neat manner. There are features like uploading documents, emailing which are a definitely going to help users when it comes to educational institutes.

Cons: In users point of view, moodle really does not have any cons as being a free tool it really does an amazing job. The only thing to mention would be, when the load gets high, the system tends to hang and if you are trying to upload an assignment at the last moment, you will have a hard time getting it done.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Teaching Associate
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2019

"Great for students and instructors"

Comments: All in all, Moodle is very handy for class management on both students’ and instructors’ side. Saves a lot of time and keeps all communication in one place.

Pros: My experience with Moodle covers both “sides”, as I have used it as a student and as an instructor. It is a great go-to resource for all the course materials, grades, feedback and even discussions. We use Moodle for sharing files with students, keeping track of their performance and class announcements. The set of tools allows you to make lots of adjustments to the course page, customize it, add files that are not visible to certain user groups (for example, students), etc. I use the feedback & commenting feature a lot when grading student work and they get notifications whenever I post grades or feedback. I also like that you can see the last time a student visited the course page. Gives you an idea of how often they check the page for updates and new material ;)

Cons: I use both desktop and mobile versions of Moodle and I have to say that mobile app is often buggy when it comes to notifications and course changes. Some of my students have also complained that they do not get notified on mobile when I post grades, even with all the notification settings turned on.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2019
Verified Reviewer
Admin Assistant
Information Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2020

"Online learning made easier by Moodle!"

Comments: The software is very smooth and barely have glitches. They also respond to our troubleshoot tickets quickly and accordingly. Overall, the ride with this product has been very smooth.

Pros: Online learning can be a bit tough for beginners or people who are used to face-to-face classes, but the use of moodle is very easy that it can even be used for very young students! Moodle is the main platform that being used by our college and overall has been a very helpful tool since the incorporation of hybrid classes into regular face-to-face classes, especially now that the campus is closed, but all the students are still continuing to learn online using this product.

Cons: Although the software has very limited features and is often compared to bigger and better products, I can definitely say that with the cheap fee that comes with it, this product is very worth it and has everything that we need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2020
Deborah L.
Professor
Higher Education Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/12/2020

"Solid but sometimes frustrating course management"

Comments: Overall, my experience is mixed. In terms of course generation, organization, and overviews, I have had few problems. When it comes to managing quizzes and grading essays, I have found the system to be cumbersome and time consuming.

Pros: A lot of it is easy to use and set up. In terms of delivering course material and organizing a course, it is solid. I have no complaints. It is pretty easy to integrate video, articles, and discussion forums into your online course. It has been the way that I managed my online course during the pandemic.

Cons: I find the grading, particularly of essays and essay exams to be extremely time consuming and frustrating. It takes twice as long to type in quiz questions, to grade them, and to give feedback as when you do it in person. There has to be better ways to do it then on Moodle. I also find parts of the grade book hard to deal with and frustrating.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/12/2020
Mark D.
Instructor
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2019

"Overview of the Moodle World"

Comments: I use Moodle to instruct online classes as an adjunct instructor and have consistently found it responsive and flexible for the needs of undergraduate and graduate courses. I have also used it as part of a transitional orientation course for students moving from basic sciences to clinical medical sciences. Again, it has allowed for us to save critical documents for historical record keeping based on the semester the orientation was held, but has also allowed us to tailor the orientation material based on the latest requirements.

Pros: I have used Moodle as an instructor for years. What I like most is the ability to create rich, online learning environments using prepared ancillaries from the textbook companies, but also implement your own teaching modules.

Cons: There is plenty out there to teach basic functioning of the learning mgt. system for you, as an instructor, but I have used an external grade book because I found the one in Moodle less flexible.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2019
Shalitha M.
Instructor
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2019

"Moodle- The saviour of educators"

Comments: My experience with moodle is very good and pleasant. If you're an academic/teacher, every tool you need to teach a class smoothly is available in moodle.

Pros: Moodle is one of the best course management tool out there for educators which makes our life easy. Following are the best things i like about moodle personally. 1. Easy to manage assignment deadlines.
2. Feature to upload materials early and reveal material to students in the right moment.
3. Assignment grading interface which allows users to interact with submitted documents directly using graphic/touch pens or styluses.
4. Straightforward marks publishing system
5. Easy to manage announcement system/forum to interact with class outside academic hours

Cons: None - I have been using moodle for many years and couldn't find any major cons in my line of work as an academic.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2019
Joel J.
Elder
E-Learning, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/04/2019

"Moodle for your Noodle!"

Comments: Moodle filled all of my expectations for an e-learning application making it possible to customize my learning environment while giving students the ability to interact with one another whether on individual assignments or group learning. Add to that it's a platform that many students are already familiar with thus making the experience more enjoyable.

Pros: For online learning, Moodle offers all of the features and control you want from this type of application. Moodle offers a significant variety of features that allow you to truly customize the learning experience.

Cons: There's a fairly significant learning curve until you're able to use and enjoy all of the available features of this software. That learning curve also translates to the users who are trying to decipher how to navigate its interface.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/04/2019
Verified Reviewer
Technical Sales Specialist
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2018

"Great for Post-secondary!"

Comments: Moodle made communications with my teachers much easier, made test taking very efficient, and I could get near-instant feedback on marks. It greatly increased the convenience and accessibility of course content.

Pros: For school, I went to a technical institute that used Moodle exclusively. I found it very easy to work with, as it was compatible with any device I wanted to use. My course instructors uploaded course content into Moodle and everything was at my fingertips. Whether I wanted to follow a presentation in class, review the course content late at night from home, or view and interact with items on any device, IOS, Android, PC, cell phone, you name it! I also enjoyed having the ability to instantly communicate with other students in my classroom via the in-built communications features. I could send other students a message any time while working on a project, and since everyone used moodle, I could be sure that someone was going to see it soon.

Cons: I found occasional bugs in some of the communications modules where messages would not send and updates would take several hours. However, these could have been due to my school's implementation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2018
Paul Z.
Teacher
E-Learning, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2021

"Moodle provides a nice open source option for LMS."

Comments: I did enjoy using Moodle for a period of time but I do think that Google Classroom has evolved to the point where it is an easier to use LMS that has all the features that you usually would need. Although I would say that if you really want to have the ability to customize things down to the smallest detail then Moodle would be the way to go.

Pros: Moodle is open source and has a great community of people that support it. There are many great features and there are many things that are very customizable, so that you can set up a course in a way that meets the needs of you and your students.

Cons: There are things that can get pretty technical in nature at times and you can spend time hunting around for a setting or feature that you don't have unless you install the right plugin.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2021
Alicia T.
Student
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/08/2020

"Moodle is Awesome!"

Comments: Overall, very useful software tool. However very expensive for the carrier.

Pros: I use Moodle more than once a day to do school work. It is very easy to use. However, I was not a fan of the updated version. I prefer the previous one. I do not understand why the change. I did not see any improvements.

Cons: As a student it is free for me to use. However, if I wanted to start a business and use Moodle this will be too expensive. It would also be helpful if there is a tutorial of what changed in the updated/upgraded version. I literally do not see any differences other than the main screen. Which, I feel like it hinder the purpose if that is just it. Because, now I have to re-learn how to use the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/08/2020
Paweł C.
Mgr
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2019

"Overrated, confusing, inadequate"

Comments: I've been using this system because it has been installed at my college as the learning platform for students. In general, I find this platform awkward to use and not optimal for school/college education. Its grading system is totally inadequate for a school environment. It has modules that I don't need while lacking in those that I do need. A lot of it is confusing, e.g. some activities for testing or creating quizzes/feedback activities don't really do what you would expect (e.g. the Survey only uses predefined sets of questions, and you can't create your own [sic]). The layout is often confusing, or even buggy, e.g. when you view your students' grades and they overflow past the edge of the page, you can't really scroll to see them - unless you first scroll down to see the horizontal scroll bar, which I didn't even realise until someone pointed that out to me (there's usability for you). The enrolment system is atrocious - it overlaps a new design with an old system of enrolment, and it's terribly confusing. Unenrolling a batch of students requires some incredible tricks. And there are more annoying shortcomings and bugs. You can't expect a piece of (free) software to be perfect, but I find this system to be one of the clumsiest and annoying in terms of usability, functionality, design, and general concept.

Pros: It's free, actively developed, and ubiquitous. I don't quite understand why it's so popular, but because of its popularity support is easy to find.

Cons: It lacks features that would make it suitable for (ironically) a school/college/university environment. Notably, it doesn't have a proper grading system for classroom activities such as tests and exams. The only way to grade those (that I know of) is to create an Assignment activity and disable all the submission options, which is a very clumsy workaround (and one that is confusing for students). The enrolment/unenrolment system is a disaster.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2019
Verified Reviewer
CS Specialist
Information Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019

"Moodle, my working tool at school"

Comments: I recommend Moodle to every student and teacher looking for a good test and study material creating solution. At the beginning it will be necessary to learn the basics, but then it will go quickly and easily.

Pros: I used Moodle for 5 years, during my university studies. I like that moodle can be programmed, it offers a wide range of options for creating study materials, etc.I f you are interested in preparing quality tests, moodle is the perfect choice, offering a variety of options from lists to checkboxes.

Cons: Sometimes I have a problem with stability, moodle is often loading slowly. As a student, I also lacked a mobile app as a student. I also don't like the outdated design.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019
Michael S.
Business Development
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/11/2016

"Moodle was a great help during my university studies!"

Comments: All our university courses where managed via moodle. It allowed you to download lecture materials, communicate with other students, keep track of important appointments and much more. Moodle really simplified all the logistics of the university which allowed you to concentrate in what really matters, learning. I am forever thankful to this tool!

Pros: It keeps all your information from the university (or whatever knowledge enhancement course you are attending to) perfectly organized and within reach from any computer. Awesome tool, I probably used it more than Dropbox during the university.

Cons: No cons at all.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/11/2016
Brenda M.
Office Manager
Hospitality, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2018

"Moodle Time"

Comments: I used this program Moodle for my College work. I find it effective to use because my Teachers posted all my assignments in moodle and any updated news that needed to be check. I like the program. The goodness of this Moodle program will outweigh the bad any day.

Pros: This Moodle product is effective, accurate and user friendly for all people using at the same time. Moodle was designed to help people in the time of need and was easy to navigate through the program.

Cons: When Moodle get cut off or hanged up in the program it will freeze up your computer. Then you will have to call customer service to figure out what the issue is. Sometimes it may take a while when you don't have the time - when time is crucial.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Founder & Director
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/08/2018

"Extremely easy-to-use customizable CMS for learning"

Comments: It's very simple to setup and use this CMS, you can customize it a lot, and a lot of people have used it at least once, so you probably already know where everyting is!

Pros: It's really easy to setup, use nad understand. All the files uploading and messaging systems are really simple, there's nothing complicated about this CMS. You can be a 5th grader, you can be a senior teacher without IT knowledge, Moodle will still be easy to use.

Cons: Usually it's not pretty because it's default theme is not pretty. So, if you're setting it up, please change the design to something more appealing. Of course, it's only visual and it doesn't influence user experience much, but I still think it's important.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/08/2018