Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service Software

About Clarizen

Drive focus, empower teams and respond faster with Clarizens collaborative work management solutions for the enterprise.

Learn more about Clarizen

Showing 168 reviews

Claire S.
Founder, Chief Innovation Officer
11-50 Employees
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2015

"Overkill"

Comments: while clarizen’s feature looks great from the outside, our experience is that they the product is convoluted and we did not get effective support or responsiveness to our support requests in a timely or complete way. For us the time and money invested in clarizen has not paid off. buyer beware.

Pros: The platform can do anything.

Cons: it takes a huge time investment to set up processes that fit our use cases.
customer support was limited in their ability to respond to our requests.

Vendor Response

by Clarizen on 17/01/2015

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to meeting with you to ascertain your needs. Please watch for a meeting request from your customer success manager. Clarizen holds customer success as a top priority.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2015
Candace D.
Staff Accountant
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 03/02/2017

"Good for Projects Bad for Accounting"

Comments: Clarizen is okay in terms of the project management capabilities. At my previous job, we used Zoho Projects and CRM and I found it much more efficient in the accounting integration aspect. With Clarizen there isn’t many options as far as billing and timesheet information goes. I use Great Plains for accounting and we tried to integrate everything into Clarizen but there’s just not enough customizable features to where it would be beneficial for us.

Pros: project management, tracking, teamwork

Cons: accounting

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 03/02/2017
Ashley hoyt
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2013

"Terrific Product with Outstanding Customer Service"

Comments: I highly recommend Clarizen for my clients. The ability to start running out of the box, or customize the product to your exact specifications provides the ultimate flexibility. The product can evolve with your company, allowing you to maintain one product as your company grows. The customer service is unparalleled. Webinars, forums, and online resource tools prove to be invaluable resources when customizing this product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2013
Jennifer P.
Director of Project Management
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 26/04/2016

"Excellent Configurability"

Pros: From a Director role, the UI is fantastic for high-level project monitoring. I also love the ability to share projects with the client. This functionality allows me the ability to enforce client accountability as well.

Cons: Clarizen is a highly customizable application which is great! Learning how and where to do all the customization takes some time and training.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 26/04/2016
Miguel D.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 03/05/2011

"Hands on Clarizen Project Management tool"

Comments: After using clarizen for about 5 months, is has clearly helped us to have a mothe deep follow up in the planning and execution of our projects. It presents a small difference as a desktop tool as MS Project or Merlin for Mac. However it covers most of the needs to monitor a project.

Pros: Its road map view is a great way to see the big picture, the intarface is easy and intuitive for a project manager. And as a web tool all changes are inmediately shown to all users.

Cons: The philosophy of use is a little different as a desktop tool, and it takes a little time to get use to it. If the internet conectios is aslow is very paintful to work with the tool.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 03/05/2011
Laurie V.
Project Manager
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/03/2016

"Easy to use tool that offers a ton of flexibility"

Pros: This product is a little more robust than some of the other project management tools we reviewed, but it is much more user friendly than a MS Project. The software is extremely flexible, allowing you to manage pretty much anything you can think of. I love the configuration tools and the ability to customize to our needs.

Cons: Clarizen has a ton of tools to make sure that the client is successful with their product. The onboarding packages are really well planned out. The one minor thing I would say is that it would be nice if they could customize this to the users like they have the software. There will be varying degrees of users and if you have advanced users it would be nice to have a condensed/faster onboarding package.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/03/2016
Chris G.
Dir of Software
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2017

"Great tools"

Pros: The way you can link all facets of a project from bugs to requests. I also like the searcability of the interface.

Cons: I would like to see the ability to add conditional logic to customized fields in order to create work flows.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2017
Verified Reviewer
Senior Consultant
Information Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2019

"Clarizen as a PMO tool"

Comments: Overall a positive experience.

Pros: We use Clarizen for Task creation, Task execution , status tracking and reporting. We use this for customer case management especially when it is escalated. Great tool overall.

Cons: While this is a friendly tool, JIRA / Service now is much better with respect to issue tracking. Clarizen could improve there.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2019
Jeff driscoll
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2014

"All in one place"

Comments: Clarizen brings all of our previously disparate levers and knobs into one package. Since deploying, they have constantly upgraded and innovated to allow for more capability and smoother operation. The API has proven strong for us, and the customization means we can use it exactly how we like. Mobile and Outlook integration have proven valuable as well. We can present our users with multiple ways to use the technology so that they can pick the method they feel most comfortable with. My remark to our VP: "We're going to put success right out in front of you, where you can grab it." Our support has been excellent. Multiple people from Clarizen have supported us not only through the transition and rollout, but well beyond. When I need support, I get it, fast.

Pros: Vast behind-the-scenes tech support just about any environment, from micro to huge. You can use it how you want, you don't have to adopt a philosophy for your processes unless you want to do so. The best software support I get.

Cons: Reports and Templates, while great to have, need an interface overhaul and greater capability. Visualization of data could be better.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2014
Santosh K.
Recruiter
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2018

"Best workplace tool with good communication features"

Pros: it offers a very good platform to discuss specific tasks or projects between the project team and do resource allocation.

Cons: The interface was hard to navigate (e.g., you'd have to click multiple times to get to some of the screens you needed to use most).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2018
Scott L.
EPMO Partner
Retail, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/09/2017

"Very useful for getting everyone onto "one source of the truth""

Comments: Biggest benefit is "one source of truth".

Pros: The ease of use that comes from being a SaaS solution has been the strongest feature. In addition, because it is web-based, some of the configuration can be done using CSS, which does not take a lot of programmatic experience to implement.

Cons: As a PPM, there are still gaps (as of this writing) in some basic PPM functionality. The most glaring to me is the lack of Capacity Planning functionality. It can handle Resource Allocation, and Resource Loading, but if you are looking for a way to forecast out what your expected capacity for future work is, you can only do it through heavy configuration. As for configuration, it has pros and cons, but one of the more challenging limitations is in changing a custom field. If, for example, you decide that the data type on a field must be changed from string to number, you cannot simply change the data type. You must create a new field with the correct data type, find all the configuration instances where that field exists (in, for example, custom actions you've programmed Clarizen to take) and replace them, then delete the old field. It's a very clunky process. The last big con we have found is that there is no archiving of data. If you want to archive your data, you must dump everything out into a EDW of some sort. This is doubtlessly to keep the database slim, but that means that the system is always an "As Is" system, and you lose the ability to analyze trends.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/09/2017
Jason B.
Information Technology & Services
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2015

"Highly Customizable SaaS Tool with Great Overall Value"

Pros: Clarizen (V6) is likely the most configurable SaaS tool available in the PPM world. The ability to customize fields and workflows to support unique processes is a major selling point of the tool. The new native mobile app is great. Customer support, access to training and, professional services are all excellent.

Cons: Out of the box, the tool can be a little overwhelming, with few preconfigured workflow options (cases, etc.). Because the tool has an extremely robust configuration/customization engine, there is/are some functionality/utilities that require customization (and thus more custom fields/actions) that most would probably expect to be available out of the box. The weakest point is the interactive Gantt chart, which has very limited configuration options.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2015
Brian B.
Web Time Implementation Manager
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2015

"Great Project Management tool for my software implementation team!"

Comments: My team has been using Clarizen for a little over a year now and I cannot say enough good things about them. My team implements time and attendance software for companies across the country and using Clarizen as a daily tool to track the progress of those implementations has been great. What I am most impressed about with Clarizen is their ability to tackle new challenges. An example is my team has levels of employees based upon experience. One thing that we wanted to try do and then accomplished in Clarizen is writing a "Complexity" scoring system so that when we entered in new clients and put their information into Clarizen they were given a score based upon certain criteria so that when we assigned new clients to our employees we could assigned the easier clients to the lesser experienced employees and the tougher clients to the more experienced employees. It has worked out fantastically for us and that is just one example of many where we brought an idea to Clarizen and they made it happen. One thing that I continue to stress to Clarizen is a need for better Outlook integration. Whether it is a better streamlined emailing option or calendar enhancements it can be improved upon. Overall we have been very happy with the experience so far, enough so that we have brought a new division of our company onto Clarizen and look to possibly expand it even further in the future.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2015
Verified Reviewer
CAE Systems Engineer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2018

"PM tool for any application"

Comments: It makes us work collaboratively in a global organization.

Pros: Its capability to be applied for wide applications and the customer support

Cons: The customizations are little tricky even though the syntax are not so complicated

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2018
Guy M.
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/07/2016

"Very good cloud-based project management software"

Comments: I've been using Clarizen for time reporting and project management. Almost 200 users are required to use it, and while the time reporting module of the system is rather mediocre, the project management capabilities are impressive.

Pros: Highly configurable
User friendly
Great user experience

Cons: Lacking time reporting module
Slow response from customer support (might be days)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/07/2016
Yari B.
Technician
Chemicals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/06/2017

"Clarizen is a highly configurable and easy to learn application that suits our business needs!"

Comments: It is really good for indepth project management with a lot of tools available. Can be a pain in the ass to configure when the application need to so specific for your organization. (Recommend to use a IT projectmanager, Clarizen does not provide this or they just leave the project without any reason)

Pros: The massive functionality of designing the software to the specific needs in detail. Generating Reports from all kinds of data to be viewed by manageres and to control projectmanagement on a deeper level. It is a highly manageable application that can be used in all kinds of situations.

Cons: The ability to adapt the softwares permissions on a field level could not be done. Permissions can only be set to action buttons. One property card per module per user profile was for our situation not the best option. The user manual could also be expanded on a more detailed level. Clicking on a question mark icon (linked to the user manual) displayed the exact same information as hovering over it. It was not giving the best information so we had to contact support instead of a simple answer in the user manual.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/06/2017
Verified Reviewer
Community Manager (remote)
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2018

"This tool helps me to manage my workflow and plan my activities appropriately."

Comments: All in all, it is the best time-tracking solution that is quite scalable and flexible. If you're ready to work manually for the time being, it has flexible, scalable and can be implemented very quickly. If you are prepared to work with a few manual steps, for the time being (that hopefully will improve), it is a great value product.

Pros: It has a great interactive interphase and amazing functionality. Its easy to enter and track the time via this software. The planning tools allow me to plan and define my project, its functionality, its feasibility, and the resource available.

Cons: Bit expensive, the level of functionality for lower-amount licences is seemingly poor compared to advanced versions. Reports corresponding to calendar days require manual entry.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2018
Peter K.
Consultant
Information Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/03/2017

"Best Online Project Tool"

Comments: Clarizen is so easy to use, the vast majority of users were up and running within minutes . The powerful social module incorporates item level in context discussions within each project, even to a task level. Flexibility is a strong feature, and the ability to track financial data across the entire project makes the tool a powerful asset in any business

Pros: Interface is intuitive. Plenty of awesome functionality

Cons: More Drag and Drop features would be nice , and possibly Agile standard out the box included

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/03/2017
Verified Reviewer
CEO
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/01/2020

"Full featured - but huge code base"

Comments: Good. It was a disaster switching to Redbooth, and it was a major upgrade from Basecamp. Maybe it was too big of a jump for a smaller organization.

Pros: It's like the rolls royce of project management systems. Super powerful and hard to really throw stones at the functionality.

Cons: The biggest learning curve because it has specific ways that it manages workflows. It's great. But you need a dedicated team member to just learn and train people on it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/01/2020
Bryan M.
Manager, Engineering Services
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2016

"The "Swiss Army Knife" of Project Management"

Comments: Working with Clarizen for a few years. Started before the rich reporting capability existed. Using it for Portfolio and Project Management in an Advanced Engineering Product Development team.

Pros: It is Microsoft Project Management on steroids. It gives you the same capability to manage a project but adds features to provide a complete solution. Easy customization to fit each department needs. Resource Management across of projects, Collaboration at all levels, robust reporting module...

Cons: The reporting module provides the capability to easily create dashboards. I have created dashboards for every level and function of the organization. However, it is difficult for a manager to see his staff's dashboard.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2016
Meline G.
PM
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2017

"Definitely, one of the most comprehensive (in good way) system between alike frameworks!"

Comments: Not only entering timesheets, but also do proper estimations for the project budgeting and resource planning!

Pros: The ability to automatically track the tasks start/end dates if there are dependencies set up as well as when there are vacations or holidays for a person. The automatic smart systems make huge help for any human mistake on those calcualtions and future possible changes. Thanks for this!

Cons: When someone creates a vacation request in Clarizen, it would be good to have a notification mechanism to inform the project manager about it, if the person is assigned to a task of this PM's project(s). Otherwise, only the direct manager of the person is being announced. And if there is no established manual process, the vacation request gets approved without the PM being informed about it. This is really serious problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2017
Bill C.
Learning Technology Strategist
Insurance Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2017

"Love Clarizen!"

Comments: My organization selected Clarizen from a wide array of project management software options just over 2 years ago and we're very happy with our decision. We're a training organization, so slack built into most projects is used up before we get the handoff. This means we must be very efficient and well-coordinated. Clarizen gives us what we need all in a single application. Social, email, file attachment/link to work items... prevent us from checking multiple sources for information. We've customized Work Plans and documentation templates our project managers use to quickly execute tasks. The social functions have replace our Outlook email and we've found that makes projects much more transparent and eliminates hidden agendas that often hit projects. Clarizen support is phenomenal! We have a dedicated expert that currently meets with us every other week and I get quick resolution to any issue posted to their Support Request Center. The dedicated expert has been especially helpful as we're constantly customizing the system to the point that it will soon become the training department's operating system with schedules, timesheets, project plans... everything right in Clarizen.

Pros: All in one; Social, Work Plans, Scheduling...

Cons: The User Guide is useless.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2017
Mohannad A.
Project Management Officer - PMO
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 26/01/2016

"Serious and Specialized System"

Comments: Clarizen is not a generic light tool for simply task scheduling and contact management. It is a serious project management software done by project managers for project managers.

Pros: It profoundly covers all aspects of project management, very customisable, with advanced reporting and custom fields.

Cons: There is always a room for improvement, Clarizen is relatively a new product that needs to build an ecosystem around it. That includes more integrations with other cloud services, 3rd party products in its marketPlace, and faster customer support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 26/01/2016
Verified Reviewer
Controller
Market Research Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/01/2021

"Robust project management system"

Pros: 1. Easy to use and set up
2. Can integrate with CRM and accounting software
3. Open APIs
4. Large number of customizable features, including scheduling, costing, time cards, projects/tasks, etc.
5. Robust reporting

Cons: 1. Syncing from/to Salesforce can be buggy sometimes
2. System can be slow or nonresponsive, especially when trying to view large amount of data
3. Expensive

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/01/2021
Sean F.
Technical Project Manager III
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 21/01/2016

"A mostly positive experience."

Comments: We are implementing Clarizen as a project management tool for the entire organization but starting in the Information Technology and Performance Improvement departments. Our goal is to capture all project requests and projects in one place for review, approval, management, and reporting. Clarizen has mostly met our expectations so far. Most of the items that have not met our expectations are minor. We are still early in our implementation so there are still lessons to learn in our journey.

Pros: 1. Unlimited email-only users. Resources that infrequently or rarely work on projects can report progress via email without consuming an expensive license.
2. Email and/or API integration with work order systems. Clarizen doesn't charge an expensive license to integrate it with other systems.
3. A modern-looking user interface with an emphasis on social media-like collaboration.
4. Lots of options for charts and graphs for reporting.
5. Can import spreadsheets and MS Project workplans.
6. Lots of training and support webinars every week.
7. Pre-recorded online training via the Clarizen University.

Cons: 1. Support seems slow to respond to support requests.
2. There is currently a bug they haven't fixed yet that requires you to keep resetting column widths in reports and dashboards. They don't stick.
3. Their online self-help knowledge base seems new and thin.
4. They don't have a feature I used in other project management software to identify the last (most recent) note, comment, etc. on an item. This can be worked around via user training or some custom workflow programming but it would be nice if they built it in as others have.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 21/01/2016