Track-It! Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.1 /5

About Track-It!

Fully integrated Help Desk system for small to medium sized companies that is affordable to own and easy to install, configure and use.

Learn more about Track-It!

Showing 71 reviews

Richard R.
Customer Care Manager
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2020

"Track-It! 20xx: The next generation"

Comments: A positive experience and comfort provided that True North Service Management Solutions Ltd have vast knowledge and experience of Track-It! and can provide professional services for migrating from 11.x, installation and configuration, training and even report writing.

Pros: The rewrite of Track-It! addresses a lot of previous concerns from reviews of 11.x and prior. It is 100% web based, has a mobile app, built in report writer and a strong ITAM offering with Client Management for Track-It that also has a CMDB, SLM, Remote Mgt, Patch & Deployment and allows you to easily manage your compliance.

Cons: Would be nice to be able to add custom fields, but there’s a number of custom fields available that can be removed from the form with the designer so not a major issue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2020
Tyler F.
Business Intelligence Officer
Banking, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2016

"Great product for our organization"

Comments: Track-It was in place when I came aboard, but not used consistently. I helped to re-implement the software and we have seen a great deal of adoption from all of the team members and it is bringing valuable visibility to the management team...enough so that they have hired two additional team members since. It's easy to use and helps us keep track of everything we are working on.

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: Inability to assign more than one Technician or Requester. Also only being able to create routing on 3 levels if categorization. Needs event based functionality.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2016
Stephen C.
MIS Supervisor
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2018

"Very pleased with Track-it"

Pros: Been a customer for 10+ years with Track it. Very easy to use. Like the view when looking at work orders. Has a nice Excel type grid format.

Cons: Lacks a mobile app and not web based. The change management module also needs some work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2018
Dan A.
Network Administrator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2017

"Great product with lots of great features"

Pros: The software is easy to use,. It has a client and web-based version, so that it can support all different platforms.

Cons: The full version (client) is very slow at times, especially when searching. This needs to be improved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2017
James S.
Application Administrator
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/10/2016

"AWESOME product!"

Comments: I've been using Track-It almost two years, so far it really meets our organization requirement for most features & functionalities. Great product.

Pros: Most features & functionalities are awesome.

Cons: N/A.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/10/2016
Verified Reviewer
Business Information Analyst
Government Administration, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/12/2018

"Simple yet Feature-Filled IT Ticket Tracking"

Pros: Track-It is a great solution for IT helpdesk ticket management. We use it for our helpdesk team and the reports we get from it are great.

Cons: We have yet to really come across anything to complain about.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/12/2018
Zachary K.
IT Tech
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2017

"Love Track-it!"

Pros: The software is low maintenance but high powered. It it console managed and can hold info for many pieces of equipment. Mass deployment also a plus

Cons: The software doesn't always pick up the simple things like a mac address or an IP address leading to some leg work or manual inputs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2017
Sherry P.
IT Purchasing and Asset Manager
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2015

"We have been using TrackIt for about 10 years and we like how the products works for us."

Comments: We have several departments using TrackIt for their helpdesk ticketing, the IT department, Maintenance, Building Services, Communications and our Clinical Evaluation Center. Everyone is very please with the helpdesk part of TrackIt. I also use the inventory module, remote access, library and the purchasing modules. For the most part we have been very satisfied with the product and the customer support is excellent. I never have to wait more than a day to get my issues addressed and that means a lot. We are tracking around 1,000 assets and have an average of 600 helpdesk tickets a month for the IT Department.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2015
Terolyn P.
Technical Project Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2015

"Trackit is a great product!"

Comments: We have been using Trackit for over 16 years and we have enjoyed both the product and the support behind the product. Pro: Easy to manage, easy to use, easy to customize, scalable
Con: Best for small & medium size businesses with a customer base and end-points of less than 10,000
Pro: Inexpensive internal auditing tool
Con: Co-mingled records has been a problem in version 10 and below
Pro: Active Directory interface
Con: Can't automatically delete terminated employees from User Table
Pro: Customer support are SMEs
Pro: Customer support is thorough and supportive of you as a customer
Overall! Great product

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2015
Curtis P.
IT Security Officer
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/12/2015

"Shimano Review"

Comments: We mired in mediocrity for some time as we had not upgraded, since we have upgraded we have already realized many features we did not know existed which has made our help desk experience better for the techs, and more beneficial to the user community

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/12/2015
John L.
Sr Network Administrator
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/06/2015

"very nice overall"

Comments: need some work with the inventory module

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/06/2015
Verified Reviewer
Contact Center Analyst
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2018

"It does the job without much problems"

Comments: Simple to use

Pros: It allows you to customize the ticket forms based on the business requirements, giving us the opportunity of making ticket forms designed for different departments

Cons: The ticket forms cannot be formatted to match the business look and feel, it does not offer the option to alert support reps about outstanding tickets

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2018
Dave M.
ICT Manager
Civic & Social Organization, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/10/2016

"Track-it review"

Comments: I have been using track-it for over a year and what can I say it's an amazing product.
' Very easy to install and configure
' Track-it inventory is great it's scan the entire network and reports back
' Track-it auditing is one of the best features as you can audit hardware and software, which in turn help you keep track of software licencing
' Track-it support is fantastic , very helpful and quick to resolve any issues
' The calling logging feature is great for keeping track of ICT queries and running reports
' Overall it's a great product, you get value for money and it's easy to use

Pros: The Auditing feature

Cons: More reporting functions

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/10/2016
Rudy F.
Systems Engineer
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2018

"Good ticketing software for small businesses"

Comments: while it worked well it just didn't have the customization options that we required for our needs

Pros: It is a reliable ticketing software that works well for businesses that don't need a bunch of advanced functionality

Cons: It doesn't have the same amount of options as other helpdesk ticketing software

Vendor Response

by BMC Software on 27/11/2018

Hey Rudy, I would invite you to check out the Track-It! 2018 release which is free to all customers on current support contracts. It has new features for form customization and business rules that greatly enhance the customization capability of the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2018
Laura N.
Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/11/2019

"Track-It"

Comments: Ultimately we migrated off of Track-It as we needed a better interface with our customers and with our Agile Software Support team.

Pros: The product was very stable, we never experienced any outages.

Cons: Customer Support was very helpful. The client interface was difficult to use. The user interface was not user friendly and dated.

Vendor Response

by BMC Software on 07/11/2019

We are sorry to hear you moved to another product. The entire user interface was redesigned when the new Track-It! 2018 version was released on the new Track-It! platform. The product now uses an all web based client which includes Form Customization so you can design the Ticket form to look how it best suits your needs and also supports multiple form designs so each department using Track-It! can customize the look and feel of their interface.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/11/2019
Bruce R.
Owner
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/05/2018

"looking good"

Pros: many options with notifications for sla's. this is also a very inexspensive product as well. no complaints

Cons: i really do wish that this product had a application for phones. I would be able to accomplish more.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/05/2018
Joel D.
Applications Specialist
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/01/2015

"BMC Track-IT!"

Comments: Track-IT! has helped our company in many ways. First off it allowed us to establish a knowledge base for not only our technicians but end users as well. It has improved and streamlined our ability to keep track of items both connected & disconnected from our network allowing us to have a better understanding of what we need purchase. The area where Track-IT! could improve is with it's reporting capabilities. Asset discovery is also not the easiest thing to keep a handle on either.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/01/2015
Verified Reviewer
PAC's Administrator/ IT Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2018

"Great product concept, not easiest to use."

Comments: Better organized support team.

Pros: The features include details on the support ticket, inventory and all the analytics that go with it make this a very powerful program.

Cons: It is very difficult to navigate around the software. The features are present but they are very difficult to maneuver.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2018
Stephen K.
SharePoint Analyst
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2017

"Ambitious, but not easy to use"

Comments: Track-It has a multitude of features, but they are difficult to set up, and some functionality is still not completely working years after initial release. Additionally, the software is EXTREMELY slow to respond. It takes up to a minute to open a ticket to view, and several seconds to update many fields or change statuses. Finally, the backend database is organized in a non-intuitive way.

Pros: Track-It is powerful with lots of capability

Cons: Some features are inflexible and can be difficult to manage. The speed of the software leaves much to be desired.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2017
Sue Z.
User Services Manager
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/01/2015

"Great for Help Desk, Asset Management, Training, etc."

Comments: We've been using Track-It for about 11 years and are very happy with it. Easy to use. Easy to install and upgrade. Fantastic for logging and tracking Help Desk calls. Does a great job for inventory/asset management. The Library and Training modules are quite beneficial. Some customizations may be a little tricky but we rarely find the need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/01/2015
Mark D.
IT & Network Manager
Religious Institutions, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2016

"Would not recommend to anyone! Stay far away!"

Comments: When I took over the current role that I am in, Track-it! was the helpdesk & asset management solution that was in place. I gave it a try for a few months, but honestly, I wish would have never used it and switched sooner. The layout looks like it belongs in the year 2005 and this product has not evolved with the current times. It's sluggish, rather expensive, and did I mention it looks like it belongs in the year 2005? I like that it includes purchase orders and that it's detailed. But after that, there just isn't a lot to get excited about. If you looking to make a switch or are purchasing helpdesk software for the first time, looks elsewhere - you will be happy that you did!

Pros: - Includes purchase orders
- Has a lot of the basic features

Cons: - Outdated layout
- Poor asset set-up and search function.
- Expensive for what you get
- Slow

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2016
Noor A.
Consultant
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2015

"Great Help Desk Software"

Comments: ease of use
affordable price

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2015
Jacquie H.
sr system analyst
Utilities, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2016

"Track-It, The Best Helpdesk software I have used"

Comments: I have used Track-It for a many years during my tenure at four different companies. Track-It is a solid product that will increase the efficiency and effectives of your Helpdesk. The Self-Service module saves our Helpdesk time from interruptions by calls and walk-ups. Users can solve many of their issues with the Self-Service Module. The Module can help users with changing their own passwords after authentication, looking-up common solutions to problems, or fill out a detailed help request form. Track-It can prioritize your work orders and distribute to correct person based on the incoming Work Order Requests. Emails are automatically sent to users if status updates and the resolution are desired. The Assets Tracking module has helped account for all the hardware and to who has been assigned. The discovery option will automatically find the hardware on the network. The License Module helps the organization stay in compliance by tracking the authorized license count. It is a wonderful system and I recommend that you try Track-It.

Pros: Ease of use
Functionality
Cost
Support
User Advocate Web Site
Innovations

Cons: purchasing module

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2016
Alex R.
President
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/01/2015

"Excellent and Economical entry level and small business Help Desk tool"

Comments: I have been working with Track-It! for over five years now, happily watching how it continues to develop and evolve with each new iteration.
Track-It! is incredibly easy and intuitive to install and configure, and it comes out of the box with all the features that most small organizations need to get going with a Help Desk tool. It is best suited for organizations that are taking their first steps to go from a manual to an automated Help Desk system, organizations that have outgrown a basic, home-made help desk system, and any organization that requires a full-featured, solid and easy to use help desk system at an affordable price.
Pros:
* Very easy to install and configure
* Very easy and intuitive to use
* Mature and very stable software (Version 11.4 as of this writing)
* Excellent technical support
* Excellent tips and tricks support from a very active users and developers community (through BMC's communities site)
* Economical, starting at under $1,000
* All-included, full-featured software. Includes Help Desk, Asset and Software License Management, basic Change Management, a Self Service Portal, and a Mobile Interface, among its many features.
* Includes the powerful Crystal Reports as its main built-in reporting engine.
Cons:
* Limited customization options - may not be suitable for organizations with highly specialized needs.
* Does not support compartments / separate workspaces / multi-organizations configurations.
* No Cloud version available at this stage.
* Report Customization requires knowledge of Crystal Reports. This is fine for organizations that have CR experts on board, but requires some learning effort if no one is familiar with CR.
Altogether, this is an ideal and very affordable tool for its target market. There are tools available that offer either more features or more flexibility, but either at a considerably higher cost, or at the expense of quality, stability and/or level of customer support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/01/2015
Italo P.
Supervisor
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2018

"I have worked for more than 4 years with the application and it is very useful to classify incidents"

Comments: Good control of the Helpdesk department management and reporting

Pros: The knowledge database is very broad, it is very good to classify types of incidents and to measure the productivity of the work team.
Its cost is not very high

Cons: Apparently there is no version for Android or IOS, sometimes I think the application is a bit slow and the design is a little outdated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2018