15 years helping Emirati businesses
choose better software

About Workday HCM

Cloud-based human resources solution that helps businesses streamline workforce planning, talent management, and payroll processes.

Learn more about Workday HCM

Pros:

It also is useful to keep track of pay as well as money being taken out for insurance and taxes.

Cons:

Their expensive user training courses are absolutely appalling for adult learners - 4 days in a classroom flicking through a 500 page bound workbook, anyone.

Workday HCM ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.1/10

Workday HCM has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 1,348 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Workday HCM before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,348)

John
John
Financial Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best HR tool a company can use

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

My favorite aspect of Workday is the User Interface. The software is very easy to navigate for any user, and requires almost no training. I also love the personnel reports I can pull through Workday with our HRIS specialist.

Cons:

The Workday implementation took a long time. It took months before the Workday team could implement this software for us to go live.

Lillian
Lillian
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to inspect, edit and access payroll information

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: Excellent human resource management is made possible by Workday's integrated platform. Insights and statistics regarding employee preferences are provided, allowing for more informed decision making.

Pros:

Workday is flexible software that facilitates many different aspects of human resource management. Workday HCM has user-friendly data analytics. By collecting and analyzing this data, we may gain useful understanding and improve our approaches to workforce management.

Cons:

Workday does not offer a lot of room for user input. It also has trouble merging with other programs on occasion. In addition, there are sometimes technical difficulties. I think the user interface could use some work.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Workday HCM, an exceptional Tool for one stop HR solutions

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Its a must try software for matrix organizations. It can solve all the problems but need someone specialist on products. Heavy training is required for advance features.

Pros:

1. Excellent interface 2. Looks posh and advanced 3. Can work in less bandwidth 4. No downtime

Cons:

1. Too complex features, highly categorized 2. Very expensive 3. Not very flexible for product level changes

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Half-Baked Cake

2.0 5 years ago

Comments: I've used the Recruiting module for three years now, I can't help but wonder if the development team has involved an experienced recruiter when developing the module. I honestly don't think that Workday is ready to roll out to the market. If you are the decision maker consider buying this application, you really should include your recruiters' opinions.

Pros:

The look and layout of the worklets are the only things I can praise about.

Cons:

The business processes are too disconnected to count. The security level is so high up that a small change requires the product admin. (or whoever has the security level) to configure it at the backend. Pre-screening questionnaires must be pre-defined and pre-populated in the system - you can’t adjust the questions according to the requirements of each job at the time of Job Requisition creation. Trying to find a Job Requisition associated with a Position requires the skills of Sherlock Holmes. Recruiter receives many useless notifications and hiring managers receive many emails to a point of hysteria. Workday refreshes itself so frequently that recruiter can never leave their My Recruiting Jobs report on the screen longer than half-an-hour. Moreover, as soon as you click on any link on the My Recruiting Jobs report, any sorting/filtering will be lost. Customizing the columns of the Candidate Grid does not mean you can export it to Excel the same way you’ve arranged the columns. You can’t write comments as you read the resumes in the Candidate Grid - you have to go to individual application and write in the Activity Stream. Hiring managers can’t select and move multiple candidates at the Candidate Grid - can only move 1. You can’t use simple AND/OR with the filter feature at the Candidate Grid – can only search 1 word. When you search a specific name (i.e., Patel) in the Search Box, it spit out a list of names with no particular order; importantly, no filtering tools.

Anthony
Recruiter in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Workday Review

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

It is user friendly . The interface is clean and straight forward.

Cons:

It was different than Peoplesoft. it took some time getting used to but then it was fine.

Lucy
President of Sales in US
Cosmetics, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I can't ask for more when handling payroll.This tool is smart.

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Workday HCM has promoted productivity and general growth through great intelligence and dedication from the customer service. It is a must have tool.

Pros:

In simple terms, Workday HCM is more than enough for me. I have enjoyed it's flexibility in usage, customization, integration and implementation too. There is reliable content out of its analytics. Automation is a great way to save time and improve productivity and accuracy. Workday HCM is an empowering tool.

Cons:

None. I honestly find no cons for Workday HCM. It is working well for us.

Ronnie
CEO in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Make your workday, workweek, and work year easier

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: We tried for years to handle payroll on our own. We were lucky that we did not make any grievous mistakes during that time. Once we realized just how little we did know about payroll and tax compliance, we were terrified that we could be doing something that would jeopardize our non-profit status. We initially considered bringing on a new staff member to do nothing but payroll. When we realized just how expensive this addition would be, we opted to look for software options. Workday has checked every box we needed.

Pros:

We are a non-profit organization. Our entire business model is based on supplementing the very low fees we charge our clients with donations from generous individuals and companies. These donations are contingent upon us maintaining compliance as a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. There are simply too many regulations and annual changes to payroll statutes for any of our current staff to keep abreast of, and hiring a staff member with the necessary knowledge and skillset is cost-prohibitive. Workday, in essence, gives us that new staff member. For significantly less than an employee would cost, we are able to operate with full confidence that all of our needs are being met.

Cons:

The initial implementation was fairly intensive. However, once we completed that phase, we have had no complaints about the time or effort involved in using Workday.

Hyun Min
Director, Research in UK
Market Research Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Workday User Experience

4.0 last month New

Comments: I am using it for a long time so got used to the structure. Once you become familiar with the platform, it can help you to manage your team's HR information and records but it will take some time.

Pros:

It offers an effective HR management system by providing a platform to manage complex HR information and keep the records. The way its UI designed is aligned with a business structured and make it easy to navigate different HR information and records.

Cons:

When it comes to the details under each section, there are either too much details or not much details which requires a user to navigate further and spend more time to locate information needed. I understand this will vary by company's HR policy and structure but, even with more sections, helping managers to access HR records with fewer steps would be useful.

Diwakar Dixit
IT Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

All in one tool

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

I have been using workday tool since our company moved to workday from internal portal. Earlier we had individial tool for performance and compensation but workday resolved this problem as it has all the below capabilities. 1. Compensation view 2. Reportees view 3. Client input 4. Performance input 6. Priorities

Cons:

I have not noticed any issues with workday until now. However I do have suggestion that Workday can improve their GUI as its not that great.

william
quarantine supervisor in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

supervisor

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

it is very easy to work with. the clock in and clock out function have no problems.

Cons:

there is not a thing that i would change about this product.

Morgan
Morgan
Talent Acquisition Manager in US
Human Resources Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Workday for Recruitment

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall the experience has been ok, but if you are looking for a true ATS this is not the answer unless you make some serious tweaks to the setup.

Pros:

Ability to use as ATS as well as HR database and tie candidates to employee once hired and onboarded.

Cons:

Inability to see candidates on Requisitions that are assigned to other recruiters / users within Workday.

Chakkrit
People Technology Junior Analyst in Thailand
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Workday is probably the best human capital management too in the world right now.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Every big organization needs a human capital management program. Without Workday, this wouldn't have been possible. Especially in big companies like Agoda, where there are many requirements from stakeholders such as GDPR, Data Privacy, and Security, these are things that many of the competitors couldn't do.

Pros:

Workday is probably the best human capital management in the world right now. Learning Workday opens wide opportunities to various jobs. As a Workday HCM beginner, it might be overwhelming, but after one training course and a month of practice, Workday HCM can easily become a simple thing. Workday HCM is important as it is the core of other Workday modules such as Workday Security and Workday Business Process Architecture.

Cons:

Workday is definitely an expensive tool that is only utilized by big companies. It is going to be rare for small to medium size company to use Workday. It means that, if you are going to quit a company that uses Workday and would prefer to find a job in a similar fashion, it has to be a large size company. Workday training is also kind of expensive, yet it is not a one-on-one training but a group course instead. Workday Support is very technically useful, however, it might take some time for an issue to resolve and they don't provide live chat support. Workday Learning is something that my company has issues with the most.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Revolutionizing HR and Payroll: A Deep Dive into Workday HCM

5.0 last year

Comments: from my experience, I found that One of the key strengths of Workday is its user-friendly interface, which enables employees and managers to easily access and manage HR and payroll-related tasks from a single platform. Workday is also known for its mobile accessibility, which allows employees and managers to access HR and payroll-related information on the go.Another strength of Workday is its advanced analytics and reporting capabilities, which provide me with detailed insights into HR and payroll-related metrics such as employee engagement, performance, and turnover. These insights can be used to inform strategic decisions and improve overall business performance.Workday also provides strong customer support, including a dedicated customer support team and a community of Workday users who share best practices and provide support to one another.the only negative feedback with workday HCM, is its relatively high cost, particularly for small and mid-sized organizations. Additionally, some challenges with customizing certain aspects of the system to meet specific needs.Overall, Workday is a powerful and user-friendly HCM system that provides a comprehensive set of tools for managing HR and payroll-related tasks. Its advanced analytics and reporting capabilities, combined with strong customer support, make it a popular choice for organizations looking to streamline their HR and payroll operations.

Pros:

One of the key strengths of Workday is its user-friendly interface, which enables employees and managers to easily access and manage HR and payroll-related tasks from a single platform. Workday is also known for its mobile accessibility, which allows employees and managers to access HR and payroll-related information on the go.Another strength of Workday is its advanced analytics and reporting capabilities, which provide organizations with detailed insights into HR and payroll-related metrics such as employee engagement, performance, and turnover. These insights can be used to inform strategic decisions and improve overall business performance.Workday also provides strong customer support, including a dedicated customer support team and a community of Workday users who share best practices and provide support to one another.Overall, Workday is a powerful and user-friendly HCM system that provides a comprehensive set of tools for managing HR and payroll-related tasks. Its advanced analytics and reporting capabilities, combined with strong customer support, make it a popular choice for organizations looking to streamline their HR and payroll operations.

Cons:

One potential weakness of Workday is its relatively high cost, particularly for small and mid-sized organizations. Additionally, I have challenges with customizing some aspects of the system to meet my specific needs. While Workday offers a range of features and tools for managing HR and payroll-related tasks, I have found that certain features are not customizable or flexible enough to meet my unique business requirements. Finally, Workday's complexity and depth of features may require significant training and onboarding for new users, which could result in a longer learning curve and potential productivity loss. However, once users become familiar with the system, Workday's comprehensive set of tools and advanced analytics can provide significant benefits for HR and payroll operations.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Philanthropy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Finally getting away from PDFs

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The best part of about Workday Performance Management is the ability to get away from manual processes. Previously at our company, we had to write our self-evaluations in a PDF document that was submitted to our managers. Then the manager could choose to write something completely different or utilize what was already written by the employee. Ultimately, the manual process left out information. With Workday Performance Management, everything is included. The self-evaluation is maintained within the performance review, as is the manager's review. That way anyone can compare and contrast what the manager had to say vs. what the employee had to say about themselves. All of this can be custom created per company so that an organization can keep whatever fields work best for them. It also can maintain goals, as well as milestones throughout the course of the year so that employees aren't just touching their reviews once a year, but actually working on them throughout the entire year. Sometimes it is hard to keep up with all that I have accomplished at the end of the year, unless I have written it down in a Word doc. But now you can add things to your review as it happens and then do one final edit at the end of the year.

Cons:

The biggest con for me is the lack of stating what can be improved. This could be a customized field that my organization failed to incorporate. If that's true, then maybe the improvement could come from WorkDay itself on best practices. But every employee wants to shine a light on all the good they did throughout the course of the year. It is just as important for each employee to shine a light on the things they could do better, or improve upon for the next year. Another con for our organization was the length of time it took to implement WorkDay within our systems. It was far from an easy task that took thousands of man-hours to implement. However, now that it is implemented and people are using it, it seems to have been worth the effort.

Tiffany
Practice Administrator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very User Friendly!

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

Workday is very easy to maneuver through, you can self-teach yourself pretty much how to do anything in this software. The categories are self-explanatory, its easy input/output for reports, great for payroll and timecard management. I highly recommend Workday to all businesses.

Cons:

At this point in time, I cannot think of anything that I didnt care for with this product.

Kavindu Githsara
Kavindu Githsara
System Specialist in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Why Workday HCM is the Future of HR Management

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, Workday HCM is a powerful HR management solution that offers a wide range of functionality and integration with other business systems. While there are some challenges associated with using the software, it is an excellent choice for businesses that require a comprehensive HR management tool.

Pros:

Workday HCM is an enterprise-level human capital management software that provides various HR services. As an admin user of the software, I found several advantages to using it. First and foremost, it offers a user-friendly interface that is easy to navigate. This makes it simple to access and manage HR functions such as payroll, benefits, and performance management. Additionally, the software has strong reporting capabilities, providing access to data on everything from employee demographics to compliance data. Another major advantage of Workday HCM is its integration with other business systems, such as accounting software and time tracking applications. This integration makes it possible to streamline HR processes and reduce the need for manual data entry. The software also has a comprehensive mobile app, allowing users to manage HR functions on the go.

Cons:

However, there are also some drawbacks to using Workday HCM. One of the biggest concerns is the complexity of the system. While it offers a lot of functionality, it can be overwhelming for new users.

Manju
Data Labeling specialist in India
Hospitality, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best software for marking attendance, leaves and benefits

5.0 last year

Comments: On workday I apply leaves which is very easy as it gives detailed segregation of them. The notification comes when the leave is approved. I also update my yearly goals on it and file yearly work report for appraisal on it. Setting goals and comparing them on year end it so simple. It comes with pre filled details as per organisation requirement which makes filling details even more easier. Different benefits provided the employer is displayed nicely and adding members or new details are straight forward.

Pros:

Workday is very easy to understand. Marking leaves is very easy. Enrolling for the benefits given by organisations is also very simple. Adding family members to the benefits and checking the changes was never so seamless.

Cons:

I wish my organisation leave other tools for IJP, onboarding and payroll and use workday because its just the best. No flaws whatsoever.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Learning Curve, but Allows for a lot of Consolidation

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Complex so far, but also rewarding to have a single platform to build off of. There are a lot of things that need to be monitored at once, but again, having things consolidated will make those efforts much easier, along with leveraging the consistent updates from Workday.

Pros:

Consolidating one-off software into a single solution. We were utilizing separate candidate tracking software, performance review software, employee profile details, and more. Workday offers all of this, and once everything was ported over, it has become much easier to manage and there are now several other offerings that can be taken advantage of from a data analysis and management standpoint.

Cons:

The onboarding and internal training required is extremely robust, however, essential. This is not an overnight switch, it will take a lot of time and internal training, to achieve the top uses of this powerful platform, but the expectation is that it will be very worthwhile.

Pragnesh
Principal FAE in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Use Workday HCM to manage human resources

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Overall a nice software. We have not used the leave tracking and management feature but that is something we will evaluate in future. Other than that, a nice software for managing human resources that are spread across the globe.

Pros:

Easy access to employee profiles, easy process of onboarding new hires, easy way to split direct deposits and easier to understand one's compensation package that is made up of base salary, stock options, RSUs or bonuses.

Cons:

Splitting of salaries. For example, I don't have an option to split based on percentage. I can't do 50% or 40% of salary into one account. I have to put in a whole number for first account and the remainder would go into second account.This is fine for some time but after increments or pay rise are kicked in, the process of finding exact $$ for 50% split needs to be done again.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Workday is an industry standard and for good reason

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: I use Workday as part of my company’s software solution for HR, finance, payroll planning. I’m able to update all my information related to HR benefits and payroll electronically and also update my self-reviews and reviews of my colleagues all in one place. it’s nice because everything is electronic and in one place.

Pros:

In my opinion, I think Workday is a great software suite because of its user-friendly interface, flexibility, and advanced capabilities for tracking HR and performance reviews. I appreciate how easy it is to use and customize making all things HR efficient. I believe that Workday is a leading enterprise software solution for organizations of all sizes and industries, and I look forward to using it in the future.

Cons:

I think the user experience could be better in that you have to know where to find some items such as goal setting, etc. However, I think that is minor given the overall pros of Workday. it’s and the time required to learn and implement. Also, it may not suit all industries or types of organizations, but like I said, the pros outweigh any cons in my opinion.

Douglas
Business Development Strategies Advisor in Canada
Insurance Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Tool for People Management and is Very Easy to Use

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Workday HCM has been excellent. Very easy to use, lots of capabilities, and allows employees and team members to use the software to learn more about themselves and opportunities. It has been great for learning about my performance and seeing how I can grow and succeed. Whenever I see my payroll, I also always check the breakdown to see if everything is correct. I love the transparency and all the good documentation in the software, so nothing is lost on your employee file.

Pros:

I like how intuitive the software is in the company and how easy it was implemented and adopted by the company. There are many, many features that are very useful for the day-to-day or week-to-week activities of our employees and team. I really like how every step is transparent and it shows you the hierarchy each decision goes through. For example if you are taking time off, it shows you who needs to approve next and the chain of command. This software is really a one stop shop for all Human Capital management in terms of performance, payroll, expenses, time off, training, and career management.

Cons:

I actually don't have any negative things to say about workday HCM. It is really easy to use, and the documentation is really good on my employee file. If I need something, I can find it on my profile.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The worst portal for employees I've ever experienced as an employee or as a teamlead

4.0 last year

Pros:

Has a LOT of features, tons of integrationsYou can basically do whatever you need HR connected within this one tool

Cons:

It's the worst UX you can possibly meet out there among HR tools.Because there is a ton of features it takes literally minutes to find your thing.There is no search for the functions existing so if you need to change the title of your employee good luck finding that page!Time tracking like vacations requesting is a hell.Mobile support is another hell.

Seeba
Seeba
Biomedical Engineer/Project Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Makes it so much easier to apply jobs

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

All professionals know how exhausting the application experience can be. Despite being skilled, knowledgeable, and experienced and reaching to the last level of the interview process, for some unknown reason it is always given to some brown-noser or somehow was already promised the job to someone else and thus professionals are back to square one in the application process. This makes it so easy as it carries over the information from your resume and is intelligent enough to fill the entry fields accurately.

Cons:

While very accurate, I wish it would also carry over my skills, languages, certifications. Workday would be the number one option. I also wish that Workday increases its marketing to make it a household name for applications - all companies should be using this software to recruit employees.

Jennifer
Property Manager in US
Real Estate, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Workday makes it very easy to choose which benefits work best for your family and your needs.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I feel like worday is a great program to use. Especially if you have a large business and you want to deliver a wealth of information to all of your employees at their convenience vs. a time you want to select. The platform can also allow for users to access it from their own home PC's so they can truly do what they need to on their own time. As an employee, I felt like that was a great feature.

Pros:

I used workday benefits for over 7 years with a property management company that I worked for. Each year we would log into workday to view the current benefits available and choose which benefits worked best for our needs and our families, if any. IT was super easy to use. They would show you on workday side by side what benefits provided which coverages, and at what costs. You could even use a comparison to see which benefits were going to work best. It also showed all the different types of benefits the company offered such as medical, dental, 401k, LTD, STD, vision and what not. It was very clear what you were selecting and you had to double and triple confirm which benefits you selected. Also, once open enrollment was closed, there was a way, where if you had a qualifying life event, you could change your benefits. It was a very easy, straight forward program for us to use.

Cons:

Sometimes while using the software, it would "hiccup" when switching between coverages and I would have to re log in and get to where I was. It was truly a mild issue which wasn't frustrating. This also my have had a LOT to do with the internet I was using and not the actual program itself...

Chelsey
Account Management in US
Environmental Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Work-harder

5.0 last year

Comments: Workday makes my workday harder...

Pros:

There's a lot of features, there's a lot of things to check, to do, to fill out.

Cons:

Theres way to much, its not simple, its a complex, and lengthy. It has way to many options for just a standard clock in clock out. Uploading sensitive information for HR through the platform is sooooo annoying. Relabeling files on it, resubmitting, it just doesn't save or show up for others like it does for you. Way to complicated.