Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service Software

About Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT

Financial Edge NXT delivers complete fund accounting features so you can streamline financial processes and demonstrate accountability.

Learn more about Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT

Showing 154 reviews

Joanna G.
English Teacher
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/04/2020

"Blackbaud"

Comments: Benefitted from ease of use and general aesthetic appeal.

Pros: Used for the first time this past year in the recommendation process for students signing up for classes. It was easy to recommend multiple classes and students would be able to choose when the registered. It integrated well with the structures we already were using, but allowed it to be a one-step process, rather than multiple. It's also an aesthetically pleasing software, which is a nice change.

Cons: I don't have any real complaints. It was very easy to use, with little guidance needed. However, I can't speak to what it was like to set up the structures, or what it was like to use from the student end.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/04/2020
Parker W.
Vice President
Religious Institutions, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017

"Blackbaud's Vast Functionality"

Comments: We are a 501c3 and just started utilizing Blackbaud. Overall, we are quite impressed by the functionality. The Queries you can create from your database of contacts help to reveal crucial information about giving trends and communication updates. It's a pricey software, but the fact that they allow you contact their support directly for immediate assistance is a rarity and highly beneficial. This is why we dropped Salesforce and went to Blackbaud.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017
Lisa K.
Grants Manager
Philanthropy, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018

"Accounting and Budgeting Software"

Pros: - easy to use
- lots of custom features to fit to the organization
- there are many segment to allocate and to analyze

Cons: - only 10 years in budget can go into system
- Budgeting tool is optional so it will cost more than basic plan

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018
Robynn C.
Accounting Clerk
Philanthropy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2018

"Super easy and fast"

Pros: Everything is on one screen when entering an invoice or adding a new vendor which makes it super fast to use. I also like the fact that I can start typing in a GL account and it will pop up with a list.

Cons: I am not able to use papersave with it just yet so the drag and drop/ upload feature is obsolete to me.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2018
Jaclyn L.
Controller
Philanthropy, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2017

"Evaluated system to replace legacy general ledger system"

Comments: Do your homework when looking for a new general ledger system. Make sure to ask a lot of questions and ensure you get the answers you are looking for. Also- check references for the system to ensure it can do what the developer tells you it can do.

Pros: The system seemed slick and able to integrate with other vendors (they had marketplace partners that they integrated with). I also liked the system in that it linked with the Development software that we currently use. The system also offered nice dashboard capabilities and reporting that appeared to be easy to customize. In addition, the system was cloud based on would come with frequent updates (that would not result in software changes on individual workstations and data transfers etc.).

Cons: When evaluating this product I found that the customer support was less than stellar (and that was when they were trying to sell me the system). I asked several questions related to system capabilities surrounding specific processes the agency had (and whether the system could make those processes more efficient). I did not receive timely responses or in some instances any response at all.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/06/2017
Jody M.
CFO
Civic & Social Organization, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2018

"Easy transition"

Comments: Very user friendly and love reports.

Pros: easy to use and set up company with multiple funding streams. I am able to run multiple reports that work well with my financial statement requirements.

Cons: I am unhappy that I cannot scan invoices and attach as backup to bills as I can do in QuickBooks. I have to have my own scan file to use instead of using the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Donor Relations Assistant
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2018

"One if the easiest of the Black Baud software."

Pros: It tracks every transaction that you have made from online donation form, Raiser's Edge, and Raiser's Edge NXT. You can search by dates, batch numbers, names, and eve amount. So it is very versatile with how you would like to search things. Financial edge is really straightforward and easy to set up.

Cons: If you are in a work place that is really large Financial Edge sometimes goes really slow. i spoke to our tech about it, be he said it is just the website/software and our building.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2018
Samantha S.
Primary/Secondary Education
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2014

"Financial Edge is servicable, but not outstanding"

Pros: It is a useful product and, including the Whipplehill brand that Blackbaud recently acquired, it is one of the only tools that fulfills this purpose in the school market. It runs reliably and rarely crashes. I like that information can be easily added to data tables (titles, grades, relationships etc).

Cons: Financial Edge is not very user-friendly or intuitive to use. There are so many tabs and fields, and they can get very confusing. Also, there are some required fields that can be frustrating (I might not know the gender of a child with a gender neutral name). And while the looks of the program don't actually affect its functionality, the program looks very outdated which does not inspire confidence in new users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2014
Lisa M.
Owner
Civic & Social Organization, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/06/2018

"Integrated with Raiser's Edge and other Blackbaud software"

Pros: From my fundraising office perspective, using Financial Edge simplifies the back office administrative work as recording gifts, reconciliation and budget tracking are streamlined. No need to translate data back anbd forth to between two or more systems.

Cons: Takes time and effort to get the set-up right. Make sure to keep notes on procedures and train long-term staff well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/06/2018
Verified Reviewer
Controller-Retired
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/09/2018

"Financial Edge by Blackbaud"

Comments: Overall had a very positive experience with it.....used it for years. Hardly any complaints.

Pros: Functionality.......covers just about everything one would want an Accounting software to do.

Cons: Times out on the user sometimes. A little complicated to learn but good once it is mastered.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/09/2018
Matt P.
Materials & Facilities Manager
Philanthropy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2018

"Overall a very good experience with this product"

Pros: Best feature with financial edge is that you are guaranteed to have assistance throughout your process

Cons: The cost factor is more on the pricey side compared to other competing products. If you can spend the extra money then go for it

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2018
Dlynae B.
Accountant
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2019

"Save yourself a lot of trouble"

Comments: This could be such a great product but I'm so very disappointed with the service and unwillingness to help, since we decided to leave blackbaud, that it doesn't even matter how good the software is.

Pros: Blackbaud is quite comprehensive, flexible and useful, unfortunately the poor customer service and outrageous cost does not qualify it to be a good choice for any institute.

Cons: Once blackbaud lures you in you are trapped, then they raise the prices , sometimes by three times the original amount, and your company suffers. Absolutely not a good option for non profits!!!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2019
Lakeisha B.
Financial Coordinator
Civic & Social Organization, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2017

"Game Changer"

Comments: Blackbaud products are so innovative

Pros: FENXT is next level. I love the professional design and the fact that nearly every accounting feature that you could possibly ask for is available in the software or as an add-on. It makes reporting and compliance a breeze

Cons: I would like more report customization, but I know this is coming in the pipeline. This is the only con...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 26/10/2017
Paul-etienne R.
Analyst
Fund-Raising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2017

"Blackbaud NXT is the way to be"

Comments: First of all, the FE previous version was quite good at first but was Windows 95 kind of good. Now, with NXT, it's a gigantic leap forward. What I like more is the API so I can download all my info into a data warehouse on the cloud (Azure) and I can connect it to Power BI.

Pros: Designed for nonprofit organizations

Cons: Been mostly solved by the API.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2017
Rebeka S.
Program Director
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2019

"Financial Edge NXT"

Pros: Financial Edge NXT is fairly easy to use in that the search functionality is intuitive and the software has the ability to be quite comprehensive, depending on how familiar you are with working in it and how much information you choose to input. The more you put in, literally and figuratively, the more you will get out of it.

Cons: I wish that all of the Blackbaud programs would integrate easier across the platforms. I find that I need to open several programs to get comprehensive information.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2019
Julia S.
VP of Internal Resources
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2017

"Great for reporting, adds some nice ease-of-use and efficiency features"

Pros: We upgraded from Financial Edge 7. The NXT interface is clean and very easy to learn and navigate. The reporting features are MUCH better than in the old Financial Edge, and many of the other new features they are adding (like setting up a bank feed to automatically download transactions into FE NXT for ease of transaction matching and reconciliation) are increasing our efficiency.

Cons: The roll-out of new features has been slower than I had originally anticipated when we moved to this platform over a year ago, and that's made it a little harder to get some of our staff to adopt use of the new platform over the old "classic" database view. Would be nice not to need to go back into the old view to perform some functions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2017
Stephanie U.
Philanthropy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2017

"FE and all"

Pros: Easy to use and similar style across all Blackbaud products. Many different features and functionality of the product line.

Cons: Reporting can use some upgrades. We are needing to build crystal reports for some of the items we need to report on

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2017
Crystal B.
Accounting
Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/03/2018

"We Love Blackbaud's Products"

Pros: Blackbaud has created a real community. You can talk with people in your industry, from others, and anyone who works for Blackbaud. Support is great and their followup is refreshing.

Cons: I wish they were based here in Atlanta. BB HQ is awesome and I wish they were closer, but it gives me a destination when I am looking to go to SC.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/03/2018
Heidi T.
Business Analyst
Primary/Secondary Education, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2018

"Database Administrator"

Pros: The FE NXT webview is a great improvement over the database view and I am looking forward to the continued delivery of new features as they role them out.

Cons: Cost. The software does allow for more complex reporting than some others I have used but the cost continues to rise and due to the development and we continue to review the ROI year over year.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2018
Amanda L.
Accounts Payable and Administrative Coordinator
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2019

"Simple to Use"

Pros: We use both Financial Edge and Raiser's Edge and both are set up the same way. It's very user friendly. It's very easy to search for an invoice. I like how you can quickly access a recently viewed vendor.

Cons: Sometimes when the same vendor sends more than one invoice and the invoice numbers are just slightly different, F.E warns you that it might be a duplicate invoice when it's not, the numbers are just similar to each other. The online support link from inside FE does not open.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2019
Nate R.
Accountant
Government Administration, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2018

"Good Software but Pricey"

Comments: Financial Edge does everything we need in office except for a few minor things. However, because the annual cost has gotten so high, it does not feel like we get much value for what we are paying anymore.

Pros: Software is powerful and fairly easy to use. Support is generally quick and helpful. Can do everything from payroll, to AR to AP.

Cons: Very expensive. Annual cost has gotten to the point where it almost matches what it would cost us to implement another software suite entirely.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2018
Mark H.
Registrar
Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 26/09/2017

"FENXT is Getting There"

Pros: It's web-based format is simple to use and navigate. The product is quick and responsive and their GUI does a good job at delivering content in an easy to see/read format. The chat and email support is very helpful and their response time to initial inquiries is one of the best in the business.

Cons: FENXT is a step up from the Education Edge product but it is still in its infancy. Blackbaud's development model is sound, but they need to continue to develop their current products in lieu of adding additional features. The data support team can get bogged down, causing delays of days before data can be corrected.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 26/09/2017
Verified Reviewer
AP/Payroll Administrator
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2018

"Great cloud based accounting system for non profits!"

Pros: I've been using black baud for almost 10 years, I love the ease of using the AP side. It's very easy to get from viewing a vendor, to adding a new invoice and checking for purchase orders, all in one window (with tabs).

Cons: The only thing I don't like, it seems there are updates (which is great, but sometimes complicates things). It loses the alignment on my checks pretty drastically and doesn't save the alignment for a new run. I'm not sure if there's a glitch. It does time out kind of quickly if you aren't constantly using the system.

Vendor Response

by Blackbaud on 06/09/2018

Hello Reviewer,

I appreciate you taking the time to review Financial Edge NXT! As you may know, we listen to our customers' feedback for updates - I have let our product team know about your issue with check alignment.

Please let me know if you have any other issues!

- [email protected]

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2018
Emily P.
Director of Finance
Civic & Social Organization
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/09/2016

"Great product for Non Profits"

Pros: The versatility of the product was great. You are able to track data on several levels using account numbers, and several transaction codes that you are able to define yourself. Despite all of that information that was housed individually, the software also would allow you to consolidate information across multiple entities. Report writing was fairly simple as were day to day processes of entering journal entries, AP invoices and AR invoices. A nice feature of the reporting was that you were able to create one report and filter it by the transaction codes before running the report. This meant you did not have to have 100s of reports for different scenarios. Instead you could create one report and filter it each time by the transaction codes or entities you were interested in viewing. We also integrated the software with PaperSave which allowed us to go paperless.

Cons: The support was not always the best. If you had an issue, sometimes the support had a difficult time understanding your issue and resolving it in a timely manner.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/09/2016
Sharon E.
Business Manager/Staff Accountant
Philanthropy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 26/06/2018

"Maximizing Time and Effort - Minimizing Paper"

Comments: If you are having issues, contact support staff. Work with them. If you need to refine your initial setup do so earlier than later, you will appreciate it the long run.

Pros: The integration between Altru (our sub-ledger), BB Merchant Services and FE/NXT is superb in my opinion. You have the ability to track a transaction backwards and forwards. We use the visual chart feature to create our budget in five different views - relating to the grants we are using, thereby eliminating errors in data collection by excel spreadsheet creations not getting updated.
Someone mentioned that thinking about the creation of your organization and GL was a big con for them. I disagree. We came on board with expert advice from BB and created a cohesive database that allows us to close the month within two-three days. I think the effort that is put into creating a tool should be as important as the information that you hope to receive from its use.

Cons: A few spotty delays when I an running an exceptionally detailed report as you watch the Jeopardy button go around in circles.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 26/06/2018