Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.3 /5

About Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT

Financial Edge NXT delivers complete fund accounting features so you can streamline financial processes and demonstrate accountability.

Learn more about Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT

Showing 163 reviews

Victoria W.
Director of Finance
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2020

"Financial Edge is indispensible for us"

Comments: We have been able to run a very busy finance office with only 1.5 employees for several years now. We also have been able to do much more efficient and flexible reporting to business units (detail) and to board management (summary).

Pros: The NXT online service is very easy to use and very flexible to our needs for reporting. The support is good, most reps are very responsive and I love Blackbaud University.

Cons: It's really expensive. And requests for customization are hard to get through. But it's overall so easy to use that we can live with the small tweaks for now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2020
Verified Reviewer
Development and Marketing Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2018

"Financial NXT is a must!"

Comments: We use multiple Blackbaud products within my company, including Raiser's, NXT which is very intuitive, WordPress, TeamRaiser, Merchant Services.

Pros: Overall great foundation for management of accounting, grants, other projects. They give you the ability to customize your dashboard and views. Easily monitor accounts and generate detailed reports. Allows you to process financials in smoothly, not manually. You could even set budgets for next several years.

Cons: All Blackbaud products are very pricey but it's worth the cost. We use so many different Blackbaud products. Customer service could be improved. They send you lots of video tutorials and knowledge base articles and some of the features are kind of cumbersome to understand.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2018
Dennis W.
Director of Technology
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2018

"Moving your database to the cloud?"

Pros: The actual move from our local database to the Blackbaud servers was seamless: Have everyone logout, make a backup, upload. Easy as that.

Cons: We did find that the citrix receiver is a bit slower and cumbersome to connect to the servers. In hindsight, we would likely have stayed with an on premises scenario and continued to access our local compy via Remote Desktop Connect (even though it was not supported by Blackbaud).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2018
Cain F.
Controller
Civic & Social Organization
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2016

"The best nonprofit accounting software, period."

Pros: FE is quite flexible, especially its chart of accounts and the number of segments you can report on. Setup is easy, and unlike other packages, you're not glued to what you set up originally. If down the road you find you need to add a segment to your chart of accounts for reporting purposes, you can do that on the fly. And you don't need to be concerned at set-up with adding future account segments. But make no mistake: you've got to have a basic understanding of accounting in order to appreciate this product for all it can do. Customer support, through annual maintenance contracts, is excellent.

Cons: I too would like to be able to export financial reports into Excel without having to re-format when I get to Excel. That's a mild inconvenience, but there are times when you want to put stuff, data onto financial reports that can't get there any other way than through manipulation in Excel.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/07/2016
Verified Reviewer
Donor & Community Engagement
Philanthropy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2018

"FE and RE are standards for managing your data"

Comments: RaisersEdge allows my organization to keep track of tens of thousands of individual records. Without these we wouldn't be able to interact successfully and efficiently with our clients, donors and partners. Financial Edge allows us to produce accounting reports and maintain our large assets.

Pros: RaisersEdge is easy to use and store data. RaisersEdge has vast capabilities and reliability. FE makes the process of accounting and check printing very easy. Both products integrate well with other software

Cons: Even though RaisersEdge has many different tools - you may not be likely to use many of them regularly. Instead I find I reuse the same tools and end up bypassing a lot of what I could do, instead sticking to the essentials. Those extra functionalities just are not that useful to me

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2018
Claire X.
Accountant
Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2017

"A top accounting software for non-profit"

Comments: Blackbaud really values users' opinions. It connects all non-profit users together. It also emails me helpful tips every week.

Pros: Very good customer service. Comprehensive training program. I took all courses and mastered the software within 3 months. Those courses gave me an in-depth view of the software and simplify my work process. Financial Edge has easy-to-use features that meet our organization needs. I like the query function, VCO and various reports. VCO allows me to build reports in certain format, and query allows me to extract data quickly. The query function helps me survived this year's auditing. When an account was off, I used query and easily found the problems to fix it.

Cons: It logged me out and ran very slow sometimes. I'd like it to be able to communicate with excel easily.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2017
Lawrence W.
Database Coordinator
Philanthropy
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3.5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2016

"An holistic way to view your financials."

Pros: Financial Edge offers a holistic way to view your organizations financials from payroll to charitable contributions and accounts payable to fixed assets. Because the product can integrate with Raiser's Edge it's a great way to improve efficiency and communication between your finance and development departments while eliminating duplicate work in terms of data entry. It's a robust system that can replace less flexible systems such as Quick Books.

Cons: Initial set-up and integration with Raiser's Edge can take a very long time. Before you're up and running smoothly, it's estimated that you'll need to invest 6 months to a years worth of work. While comprehensive, Financial Edge is inflexible in terms of account coding. You have to know your financial structure before beginning to set up. This isn't a learn as you go type of software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2016
Jennifer J.
Philanthropy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2017

"Cloud based software with your needs as their top priority"

Comments: Blackbaud is very customer focused. It is important to Blackbaud that the client voices are heard. Every year they hold a conference that not only addresses the software but also gives us tools that we need as non-profits.

Pros: I love the fact that I can easily extract data. I also like that I can setup account restrictions and distributions to make sure data is correct and accurate, not to mention it saves time!

Cons: Currently, accounts receivable and payroll are not in the cloud. I look forward to when all the modules are in NXT.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2017
Nancy M.
Senior Database Specialist
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2019

"BB Financial Edge - a Perfect Solution for non profit accounting"

Comments: So many ways in which FE is the best solution out there. I love how it integrates and makes each task seamless.

Pros: Ease of use. Ease of implementation. Ease of customer support.

Cons: AS our company has grown, we have become accustomed to finding work arounds to use because of the integration with Raisers Edge. Attributes in Raisers Edge helped us so many times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2019
Heidi T.
Business Analyst
Primary/Secondary Education, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2018

"Database Administrator"

Pros: The FE NXT webview is a great improvement over the database view and I am looking forward to the continued delivery of new features as they role them out.

Cons: Cost. The software does allow for more complex reporting than some others I have used but the cost continues to rise and due to the development and we continue to review the ROI year over year.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2018
Nora I.
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/04/2013

Comments: I work for The ALS Association Greater Philadelphia Chapter. We provide support and services to persons with ALS and their families. We also support research to joining in the fight to defeat ALS. We've been using Financial Edge for over 10 years. We also use The Raiser's Edge and other Blackbaud products. We moved from an old DOS based accounting system so we could use a real chart of accounts and produce great financial statements. We researched many options, but decided that FE would meet our needs best. I think we are somewhat unusual in that we moved to FE before we chose RE. We keep up the patches to stay on the latest version of FE and RE. The two systems are integrated and provide a great way to assure that we get our revenue from RE into FE. We have a wonderful audit trail and good processes. The implementation went very well. In fact, we were so impressed with FE it helped make our decision on using other Blackbaud products. Blackbaud's excellent support and customer service convinced was one of the convincing factors. Other benefits come from ease of use and the link between applications. In the last few years, we moved to accrual accounting and really started to use FE fully. We even purchased F9 to allow our new Controller the ability to write custom reports for our Board that update every time FE is changed. We're very happy with FE and all of our Blackbaud products - we now use BBNC, Sphere FAF, ResearchPoint and many of the data enrichment offerings. We also benefit from using partner applications such as Papersave and Import-O-Matic. It's a total solution for us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/04/2013
Karyn B.
Controller
Philanthropy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2017

"Blackbaud Financial Edge is easy to use."

Pros: Financial Edge is user friendly, and offers a variety of customizable reporting formats. Built in links from sub-ledger to general ledger allow for drilling to move along quickly.

Cons: We recently upgraded to a hosted database from housing on our own server. There have been some issues with processing delay and getting kicked out.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2017
Joyce W.
Payroll Clerk
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2018

"Previous User of this product"

Pros: This product works great for fund accounting. Also like the features available for tracking or researching GL items.

Cons: The only problem we had was with uploads from other software programs to Financial Edge. We used this product for several years and it served us very well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2018
Latonya B.
Accountant
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/06/2018

"Streamlined Accounting"

Comments: I am positive this tool will be the excellent complete package once the transition in completed!

Pros: -Ease of Navigation
-Intuitive
-Multi-level Filtering on Displays/Dashboards
-Detailed Filtering in reporting
-Ease of Report Export
-Inclusion and detail of Accounts Payable Subsidiary Ledger (Module)

Cons: -Slower transition from Database version, forcing the switch between the two versions to complete all tasks.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/06/2018
Debra T.
Accounting and HR Specialist
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2018

"Started with Fundware, now Financial Edge ready for FE NXT"

Comments: It gives us the information required to invoice for our grants.

Pros: Ability to run many reports, view different scenarios. Tracks our expenses by funds, projects, sub projects for various account codes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2018
June S.
Asst Accounting Supervisor
Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/05/2017

"Accounting Support"

Comments: The exporting from the cloud requires multiple steps.

Pros: The dashboard and real time updates enable us to get an accurate update on accounts. We can get an immediate picture of budgets etc.

Cons: Exporting excel spreadsheets and crystal reports is an issue. Files must first be saved to a cloud folder and then opened and processed on your hard drive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/05/2017
Chelsea W.
Program Director
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2018

"Good software"

Comments: For my work, I don’t need pretty screens. I need the numbers to be easy to find and correct. This software does just that n

Pros: I like the ease of use of this product for financial management. It is simple and to the point with easy page to page layouts.

Cons: It is very basic. It gets the job done but doesn’t have any wow factors or a very visual appealing interface.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2018
Kaleigh L.
Administrative Assistant
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2019

"Exactly What We Needed"

Comments: We are able to better project our budget and plan for the future.

Pros: It is user-friendly, but the training options and customer support are excellent.

Cons: Data must be consistent and clean, or you may find reports a bit skewed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2019
Matt P.
Materials & Facilities Manager
Philanthropy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2018

"Overall a very good experience with this product"

Pros: Best feature with financial edge is that you are guaranteed to have assistance throughout your process

Cons: The cost factor is more on the pricey side compared to other competing products. If you can spend the extra money then go for it

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2018
Tonia P.
President
Accounting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    1.5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2016

"Sophisticated accoutning system"

Pros: I find the technical support staff informed and willing to work with us on a problem until it is resolved.
It can talk directly to Raiser's Edge.

Cons: The wait time for customer support has never been less than thirty minutes and usually more.
The program is very sophisticated with strong reporting functionality. However, that functionality implies a level of knowledge that most accounting staff do not have. It took me four hours to set up a simple balance sheet report format--with help from technical support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2016
Monica H.
Controller
Fine Art
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/03/2016

"I like the way it works."

Pros: very flexible and powerful. you can make it do whatever you need

Cons: a few glitches along the way. we're hosted and had to deal with some issues, but that was in the past.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/03/2016
Yanli Z.
Finance Manager
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2017

"Financial Edge for Non-profit"

Comments: I have been using this product for several months. It is a great product, I really like it.

Pros: The product has a lot of features for fund, grant and project management which is totally necessary for our organization. The learning resources are rich, the technical support team is fabulous. Almost everyone I had talked with is very knowledgeable.

Cons: I like the import feature for any module, however the data has to be in csv file, you end up to switch from excel and csv a lot.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2017
Julia K.
Accounting
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2015

"Over 11 years of learning, growing and delivering with Financial Edge."

Pros: I absolutely love the depth and breadth of services offered by Blackbaud, especially Financial Edge. As our organization has grown, Financial Edge has continued to provide the level of functionality and service we have needed to take ourselves to the next level. My favorite part, though, is that Financial Edge is always improving. As we have grown, it has grown.

Cons: This is a tough question. I would say that integration of products is not as easy as one might think or hope it would be. Thankfully, the support staff is great and helps you make it through to the end!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2015
Lisa K.
Grants Manager
Philanthropy, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018

"Accounting and Budgeting Software"

Pros: - easy to use
- lots of custom features to fit to the organization
- there are many segment to allocate and to analyze

Cons: - only 10 years in budget can go into system
- Budgeting tool is optional so it will cost more than basic plan

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018
Debbie M.
Owner
Philanthropy
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 02/04/2015

"Unstable! Coupled with horrific quality customer care/service."

Pros: The colors. As at this time I cannot be positive about this product. It is so horrible that it cost us over $5,000 more for our yearly audit.

Cons: It's expensive, and Blackbaud did nothing special to offer quality service. It has been problem after problem, and when you talk to someone, you get "That's not included in your scope of work." Our database had an index problem. They took it early October 2014, and to this day, we have not received any contact in regards to our database. It is so unstable, when you use payroll pay out Vac/or Sick leave you have to manually deduct. They also don't tell about the 3rd-party for reports for payroll taxes. So many issues to list. Do not purchase this product. It is unstable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 02/04/2015