Quickbooks Point of Sale Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.9 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    3.5 /5

About Quickbooks Point of Sale

QuickBooks Point of Sale is an all-in-one solution with the software, hardware and payment service you need to sell online and in-store

Learn more about Quickbooks Point of Sale

Showing 159 reviews

Christopher S.
Independent Distributor
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2019

"My swiss army knife"

Comments: Its my go to book keeping tool I have used it I "Trust" it and would highly recommend it to any business no matter the industry or size .

Pros: Easy to understand so its easy to train new users I have used this software in my construction business and
a store manager it easily helps me manage multiple pos devices both in store and in the field making tax forms and reports quick and easy to create .

Cons: There is a learning curve for some uses of the software

Vendor Response

by Intuit on 19/01/2019

We're proud to be backing Pace Products inc, Christopher. Thank you so much for sharing your lovely review with us, as it's wonderful to hear that you find the program so easy to use.

I want to ensure you have all of the resources you need to help those you train get past the learning curve that is usually associated with a new program. For this reason, I encourage you to check out the QuickBooks Community website. It's a resource hub filled with a wealth of self-help knowledge articles that cover a wide range of QuickBooks-related topics. The following link will take you there: https://quickbooks.intuit.com/community/US-QuickBooks-Community/ct-p/community-us

Additionally, here's another link that will take you to a list of video tutorials that also cover many of the various features QuickBooks has to offer: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLVxBmyedTVhTRQRYeZJfVBpz_12zwHc6Z

Thank you again for reviewing our software, Christopher!

Clay, The QuickBooks Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2019
James C.
IT Manager
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2020

"Best and Easiest POS"

Comments: We use QuickBooks point-of-sale at work every day. It holds our inventory of over 2 million items. It’s rugged, and never let you down. Finding mistakes that your employees made is super easy, and easy to rectify. Whether you are computer savvy, or just using a computer for the first time, You’ll be able to use QuickBooks point-of-sale you’ll be able to use QuickBooks point-of-sale

Pros: I love how this point of sale is fully customizable to the customers needs. It offers everything you could want in a point of sale system. From sale orders to layaways, with QuickBooks point-of-sale you’ll be ready to sell within hours of super simple setup.

Cons: QuickBooks point-of-sale was quite costly to purchase all at once. But you only have to pay once.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2020
Lisa M.
business owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2021

"bugs in the system"

Comments: I am so disappointed. I have logged 50 hours on the phone with customer service since August 2020. The engineers obviously released the new updated system too soon and my business suffers because of it. I also found that the pin pad freezes and then reverses your sale even though you think it went thru. awful!!

Pros: I love that it is easy to use and has good reporting ability. Links well with QB Bookkeeping

Cons: I was told to upgrade from QB 12.0 to 19.0.. I have had nothing but problems. The first day we set it up there was an error and there continues to be same error message even though i have spent numerous hours on phone with customer service. I am on my 3rd pin pad and had the system uninstalled and re-installed twice. They want to do it again but I refused as they just keep trying different things instead of really figuring out what the problem is. Today I tried to process a $400 sale on applepay and was told that they have an issue with this type of payment (even though this new pin pad was supposed to take Apple pay) They never let you know of issues. You just have to experience them and then call in.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2021
Brian B.
Owner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2018

"Great tool for business, has some irritating features."

Pros: This software can handle TONS of inventory. We have used the software for over 12 years, and now have over 15000 unique items. Each one is able to track purchasing history, selling history, even details down to the name of the customer who bought this item in march of 2005, what he paid, and what else he bought on the same ticket! We use it a lot for warranty issues, as we're able to see if someone truly bought an item from us, or if they bought it online, and are just trying to get us to fix it for free. Super useful!

Cons: Once you start, you cant stop... Well, that's probably true of any POS system. You end up with too much data to lose, so I couldn't change now even if I wanted to, not that I do. The real problem with being stuck is that you have to pay up for it. Every year, they stop supporting the version from 3 years back. I.e., in 2018 they stop supporting the 2015 version, in '19 they will stop suporting '16, etc. So, you're just fine until windows does some auto-update in the middle of the night. You come in to find out you can't run your business. So, you call support. Support tells you that your version is no longer supported, and it'll be cost per register to upgrade to the current version. Then you're good for another 2 years. We've done this for over 12 years. It's the same song and dance every time. Now I know, and I can budget for it.
All in all, it's worth every penny. I've yet to find anything else that can handle such a large selection of inventory, with so much adaptability, for the price. Just know that the price is hardly a 1-and-done thing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2018
Lisa B.
Accountant
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2017

"It's OK and can be worked"

Comments: We are currently running Quckbooks 2008 and I do not know if newer versions of Quickbooks have improved some of the current issues

Pros: Sort of intuitive to USE for the cashier. If set up correctly much can autofill at the time of sale.

Cons: Can be difficult to manage in regard to mapping for uploading of information to Quickbooks financial. Some reporting can be difficult and not customizable as much I would be beneficial. We tend to export and then manipulate the data in an office document.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2017
Susan C.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2017

"Quickbooks POS"

Pros: Simple to use, self explanatory, Easy set up- easy to talk an employee through over the phone if they need to use a new part of the system

Cons: It would help if there was a report that showed busy times of day, how many invoices per hour, -is good for staffing purposes and when looking at hourly changes-my old system had this and we used it quite alot

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2017
Ed K.
Director of Retail Operations
Building Materials, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2018

"Using outdated version."

Comments: looking possibly to upgrade to V18.

Pros: Using Quickbooks Accounting, so integrates well. Feels a lot like Quickbooks Accounting so is easy to use.

Cons: We have V12, which is over five years old, and we could not get any help desk support for this older version.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/07/2018
Mark W.
Head of Web Development
Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2016

"Good for medium-sized companies with plenty of inventory"

Comments: We've used this POS system for about 5 years now. It works great if you also are using Quickbooks as your accounting software.

Pros: Easy to Use
Good Customer Service department
Interactive

Cons: Expensive
Not Ideal for small businesses
Requires many accessories

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2016
Susan T.
owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 07/02/2020

"New version stinks!!!"

Comments: My previous version was great. The newer one is not great. I actually tried to see if I could revert back to my older version but was told I cannot convert my data back!!

Pros: My previous version was amazing! That was the whole reason I trusted that the newer version would be too but it is full of bugs, quirks and much more complicated user platform. I would not have purchased if I had known it was going to be so different.

Cons: To set up inventory items, it takes twice as long and you have to click around way too much. I am having trouble training my employees on using the newer version effectively which puts most of the data entry burden on me which does not help my business! It regularly freezes up and I have to back out of they system and restart the program which is embarrassing and unprofessional when ringing up customers. Beware and do not purchase this version!!!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 07/02/2020
Lonne M.
President, Friends of South Slough Reserve, inc.
Museums & Institutions, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2017

"Quickbooks POS is very powerful, but requires a paid IT staff person to set up and maintain."

Comments: As powerful as a jet fighter plane, and just as complicated to learn to fly! Requires a very high committment to training and a competent bookkeeping and IT support staff.

Pros: Very, very powerful features and capability. An overwhelming number of features for customizing and controlling inventory.

Cons: Exceedingly complicated and difficult to learn. Would not recommend this to any business or non-profit that cannot afford to hire both bookkeeping and IT professionals to set up and keep the system maintained. Although Quickbooks POS and Quicbooks Bookkeeping software is supposed to be fully integrated, classifications set up in POS do not automatically port over to Quickbooks Bookkeeping software. Many of the reports are not intuitive to generate or interpret. Fixing after-the-fact sales errors in POS is problematic and overly complicated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2017
Jesse M.
Co-Owner
Sporting Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2018

"Time saver"

Pros: This system is very easy to use. I like the time it saves me as it integrates with QuickBooks Online, so know daily manual entries.
Great customer service.

Cons: I have a unique industry in which we offer classes, repairs, annual equipment service, rentals and retail. There is no work order, or rental functionality.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2018
Rafiq ahmed W.
Director operatìons
Supermarkets, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2017

"Quicbook pos is great for retail business and also for restuarant business."

Pros: It is very easy to use.
Reporting is very strong
It is robust in its functions.
It is very helpful to ascertain the level of purchase from any vendor based on sales performance of the products.

Cons: In a network environment client get disconnected from server many times in a day.
Troubleshooting is not very easy.
In its GUI mode, there should be option to select discount in terms of percentage or in terms of dollor which is not like so in it at the moment.
Printing of customer sale history or his ledger is not very professional in POS.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2017
Marriah G.
Accountant
Wholesale, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2018

"Good for small business"

Pros: Fairly easy to use and teach others, such as accounting clerks or book keepers. I also likes the audit function to trace transactions through the program.

Cons: Not meant for large or complex organizations with many transactions. Also delays in syncing data with other add-on programs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2018
Sharad G.
Team Lead
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2018

"It is a Intuitive Program"

Pros: There are plenty of report options available and user can select the choice to generate it. i think its worth the cost.

Cons: I would suggest the tech support reach most of the time for minimal errors which can be rectified manually at the user level.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2018
Rosa S.
Senior Contracts Administrator
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2016

"QuickBooks Professional Services"

Comments: QuickBooks works well for our business as a contractor with several subcontractors. We use most features.

Pros: Quick and easy.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2016
John M.
Manager
Supermarkets, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2018

"Ease of use"

Pros: The product is easy to use very very user friendly and it really convinient good over all point of sale

Cons: Its not free there are some options that needs to be added but there is not alot of it i love this app

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2018
Nicole A.
Executive Assistant
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2016

"We love Quickbooks POS"

Comments: We have been using Quickbooks POS since 2012, and are very happy with the product.

Pros: Very user-friendly, straightforward. Syncs seamlessly with Quickbooks. Complete customization of receipts, item list, sales screens, etc. Allows for receipts to be held and notes to be stored along with the held receipt for instances when the internet is down.

Cons: Sales take a couple of steps if you do not have a touchscreen. Combined inventory across all stores as a whole is not an option, and if merchandise is moved between stores, a transfer slip must be created within the software (leaves room for human error).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2016
Chris M.
CEO
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/12/2018

"POS is a POS"

Comments: Painful

Pros: Absolutely nothing. It is overpriced and under featured. It does not work as advertised.

Cons: It does not function as advertised. Intuit doesn't listen to customer complaints, calls, emails, feedback via the app. It is like talking to the wall. They do not release patches or fixes, ever. Multi-store is absolutely terrible. Like who is going to upload and download files nightly between stores? What century is this? Come on Intuit, fix this POS.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/12/2018
Jared C.
General Manager
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2016

"WORST SUPPORT IN THE HISTORY OF BUSINESS"

Comments: If there was less there was less than one star for customer support I would give it that. I was down an entire week! And they didn't even care. You can't contact anybody that is of any help. I now have sales up and running but my item list and inventory list can't be tracked. This is the worst company on the face of the planet run away!!!

Pros: There are some nice inventory management features but other than that it is crap!

Cons: EVERYTHING IMAGINABLE especially customer service

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2016
Perry M.
President
Retail
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/06/2016

"Good leads on software for business"

Pros: Quickbooks is a proven product. Integrates with our Quickbooks.

Cons: Not flexible enough as we have 2 stores, sales and service. It does not handle the outside service techs well enough.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/06/2016
Ismail M.
IT Administrator
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 03/05/2019

"Quick Books Accounts for Retail Pro"

Comments: we uses many accounting software for lunking with Retail Pro , but finally we we use quick books to link accounting system with Retail pro , it’s easy to sync batch like vouchers, and invoices from Retail Pro, and very advanced functionality.

Pros: This software can very easily setup with Retai pro POS system for accounting,

Cons: There are many advance features like banking inside the application, Very powerful reporting,

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 03/05/2019
Buzz M.
owner
Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2017

"Cheapest option not always the best option"

Comments: Looking to replace at year's end.

Pros: Low cost of entry is the only thing is has going for it. Also integrates easily with QB financial, if that matters to you.

Cons: No option to shop for credit card processing companies. Must use QB which is 3x as expensive.
Customer service overall is unsatisfactory and expensive

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2017
Abdullah E.
Manager
Wholesale, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/08/2018

"A POS with your accountant in mind"

Comments: Did indeed help us in accounting fees, layout was already preformatted and combined with accounting software and you’re good to go

Pros: It automatically organizes everything for you even if you’re the most unorganized person. Almost like having an accountant as your assistant.

Cons: Marketing features are very basic like saving customer info, mass email, and text messaging as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/08/2018
Audrey H.
Administrative badass
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2017

"QuickBooks POS System"

Comments: I would have to say all in all QuickBooks Point of Sale is a great system, decently priced am very user freindly.

Pros: The QuickBooks Point of Sale system is a great option for a small or medium-sized business. We really enjoy the easy to access interface along with a simple layout.

Cons: The biggest con about QuickBooks point of sale system would be the customer service. It takes too long to get simple issues clarified.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2017
Naylet B.
Graphic Desiner
Wholesale, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2016

"Naylet review"

Comments: The product works perfectly, I'm never disappointed.

Pros: its easy to understand and work with.

Cons: When comparing it to other website's I saw that headquarters manager has more things to offer.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2016