Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    3.4 /5

About NCR Silver

NCR Silver delivers the tools you need to drive your goals. Cloud based ePOS, actionable insights, marketing tools, and more.

Learn more about NCR Silver

Showing 142 reviews

Jerry M.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/07/2019

"Solid software but not as versatile as hoped"

Comments: The POS system, like others, allows me to track business flow when not in the store.

Pros: NCR's back office is easily navigated. It is feature rich in many areas, excelling in variations. The modifier portion of the software is decent, but could use some work so that it could be used as a single add on for several items as well as modified price times quantity.

Cons: Can not customize the customer information that you wish to have at a glance.
Can not set up tax exempt customers for automatic tax exemption.
Can not readily link inventory to my existing website.
Can not set up scannable customer ID cards readily.
Can not see inventory at a glance for quick inventory checks on items.
Will not print directly to Dymo Labeler for price tags from back office as Square will when receiving inventory.
Can not set up coupon codes for printable coupons, must set up an offer to apply to everyone.
Sales team said these were all included in the purchase, but were not.
Expensive software, overall less feature rich than Square but 33% higher per month.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/07/2019
Chris O.
Owner
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2019

"Still the "GOTO" program for my business...."

Pros: NCR Silver has been a great program for my business as its reliability is incredible- I don't think NCR has ever been down in the years I have been using it. The user interface is very intuitive and even when off-line (ISP down), once it connects up it re-sync's with their main system and all is well. We highly recommend it to all who ask who we use.

Cons: Honestly, the issues that it has, in my opinion, I have submitted general inquiries and they have actually corrected them in a format that helps all connected- haven't found any issues that I dislike enough to warrant a "dislike".

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/07/2019
Steve G.
Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2019

"Pros and cons about NCR Silver"

Comments: Overall a very good system, as an owner of the business it has made life easier

Pros: Easily programmable, I have a restaurant and getting the program running and keeping it up to date is very easy.
Time clock feature is easy for payroll. Having a report for payroll is very important for accounting.
The ability to go into back room and change item prices on the fly or add new specials instantly

Cons: The only problem I’ve had is the time frame for employees to either ring in a customer or the logging out for employees so they don’t overlap each other. The time it takes to log in with machine number and then employee number when it’s very busy takes those extra seconds that customers always notice.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2019
Kathy C.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/07/2018

"NCR"

Comments: The system and software itself is good. It does what I need it to do and it does it efficiently and easily. Their customer service, however, is not always so good.

Pros: The software is easy to use for both employer (inputting information, printing reports, etc.) and employee (operating daily transactions).

Cons: The system only keeps transaction data for 13 months. While it is easy to understand that not keeping a lot of information will help the system run more efficiently, there are times when it would be an asset to be able to pull a customer's previous sale no matter how long ago it was.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/07/2018
Jara P.
Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/07/2018

"NCR Silver with Scale Use"

Comments: My overally experience has improved once we got the right equipment for our store. I can always reach a customer service rep when needed. I think that the price for the equipment and monthly service is fair.

Pros: It is very easy to use the menu at the POS. The back office is very user friendly as well and can be accessed from anywhere on any device.

Cons: The problems we have had with this software are mostly with the scale integration. The software does not fully support all the scale features we would like so we have had to work around those things. We had issues with the small scale and NCR Silver Quick Service. However, once we switched to NCR Silver Restaurant Pro and the GRS-60 scale we have had much more success.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/07/2018
Leigh H.
Owner
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019

"No Longer Flying Blind"

Comments: I now have information on sales and inventory movement. This is helping me with staffing and supply chain management.

Pros: The software is so intuitive and user-friendly that my staff had no adoption issues. They were productive in minutes. I found it very easy to set up, and I love the back office functionality.

Cons: I have no complaints about this software. And I used to implement software for a Fortune 20 company.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019
Theresa W.
Store Manager
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/07/2018

"NCR Silver is Awesome!"

Pros: The ease of use for employees is what I like best. It is easy to teach new employees to use this system and they all seem to learn it quickly which makes training them so much easier. The back office portion is easy to navigate and run reports. My inventory is always accurate due to this system.

Cons: I wish the software had more options for management on the POS screen versus always having to go to the back office part.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/07/2018
Shamus G.
Owner
Hospitality, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2018

"Bent Wrench Roadhouse Review"

Comments: It used to be awesome, but we are experiencing lots of errors with our credit card processing lately. After contacting customer service, we have received ZERO follow ups.

Pros: Ease of use. It is fairly easy to navigate through all of the back office items.

Cons: Inability to delete a variation after you have added it to an item. This is only a problem when you are trying to delete the only remaining variation from an item.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Cashier
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/10/2019

"Easy to use software!"

Comments: It makes placing orders for customers so easy because everything is right in front of you on the screen. We are able to take multiple orders at once with this software.

Pros: I like that it's so easy to navigate through the different pages and areas of the software. Everything so self explanatory on the different pages that training someone on it is a breeze!

Cons: I dont like that the software freezes up multiple times a week. When it acts up on one tablet, its messed up on all of them. That can be very inconvenient at times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/10/2019
Veronica B.
Owner
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019

"Buyer Beware"

Pros: ease of learning the product, which is good because there is no real good instructions and the tech support can't seem to point you in the right direction. The internet search is you best bet and even then you don't get the real technical side, just how to use the features.

Cons: Unstable, we had so many issues with the product going down at least every other week and the support is so difficult that it literally would take hours to get it back up. One time it took 2 weeks due to the errors from technical support. You ask them a simple question and they put you on hold for 20 min. to get the answer.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019
Desiree O.
Operations Coordinator
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2019

"Functional"

Pros: It does everything backend software should do (basic reports, inventory management, etc.) It is very user friendly.

Cons: The software is often slow to load and crashes. When changing inventory counts you have to save after 200 entries which slows the process down and can create room for errors.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2019
Kirby P.
Owner
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/07/2018

"Works well for most needs"

Pros: The software is fairly easy to setup. It uses iPads so you are not locked in to proprietary and expensive point of sale terminals.

Cons: The reporting and export functions leave a lot to be desired. All the basics are there, but there is no mid to advanced report sorting, filtering, custom querying, etc.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/07/2018
Belinda B.
Owner
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2019

"Pain Relief Natural Remedies"

Comments: I love NCR, I wish that the cost per month was a little less.

Pros: This software is easy to use and understand. This software is easy when it comes to training my team members. You can actually walk yourself through the steps and not get frustrated.

Cons: This software does not allow me to see what products I have on hand after selling. Having this feature will save me a lot of time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2019
Joel V.
District Manager
Tobacco, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/07/2019

"Review of NCR Silver"

Comments: My overall experience with NCR is OK.

Pros: I like that it is easy to add and remove items with a couple of clicks here and there. The overall POS System is easy to use.

Cons: Talking to customer service is a nightmare. They take a lot of time to get answers to the questions that i had. I don't like that i cannot run a report for the items that i have received into the system for each vendor. I don't like that i cannot run a mass report of the customers that i have in the loyalty program with their total points. I can only see them on a per customer basis.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/07/2019
Megan H.
Operations Manager
Museums & Institutions, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2018

"NCR Works Great for Museum Admission"

Comments: Overall, it was very easy to get started with NCR and it's always been easy to get help when I need it. Usually, the help section of the back office answers my questions for me.

Pros: NCR is very easy to use, both at the iPad and in the back office on the computer.

Cons: Because it's geared towards shops and cafes, sometimes it doesn't do or have exactly the feature I want, but it's pretty easy to figure out how to make it work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2018
Yésica L.
Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2019

"ALFREDOS"

Pros: It easy to navigate! Easy to take off and add on items without having to call customer service !

Cons: The least that I like is that when you cancel a order it does not print in the kitchen printer!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2019
Frank P.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019

"Gets the job done, most of the time"

Pros: The inventory tracking ability ncr silver has

Cons: Ncr silver Service is not always reliable

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019
Atul G.
Owner
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2019

"Owner"

Pros: Easy to use and. Good customer service

Cons: None of things I can find for anything else

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2019
David M.
Owner
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2019

"Easy System to Use"

Pros: Easy to set up, Technical support is quick and always there to help promptly.

Cons: The mobile app lacks detail. Really only good for seeing the sales for the day.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2019
Murray J.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/07/2018

"Decent POS"

Pros: Ease of use, reporting, Interface is simple.

Cons: bugs take awhile to address and remedy once reported.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/07/2018
Jennifer S.
Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/06/2019

"Good"

Pros: It’s easy to use and I love to be able to track everything

Cons: Customer service is a struggle to deal with sometimes

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/06/2019
Jufi A.
COOWNER
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2018

"Overall workable system"

Pros: Made for restaurants, many features can be tailored easily to fit needs

Cons: If the internet is finicky, you're in trouble

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2018
Alyssa R.
Owner
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2019

"Pros and cons with NCR"

Comments: The NCR program is nice but issues with the swiper does not out way the positives.

Pros: Easy to use and has lots of nice features

Cons: The card swiper has lots of issues, we have to reset the machine multiple times during business hours.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/06/2019
Jamela R.
Owner
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019

"Best out there!"

Pros: - modifier functionality
- reporting
- coachable
- back office

Cons: - doesn’t group modifiers
- notes doesn’t appear on receipts (only on KD)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2019
Tammy L.
owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2017

"Not too helpful"

Comments: I don’t like that they say 24 hour customer service and live chat. I cannot tell you how many times they don’t answer the text help line they brag about, NOR do they offer 24 hour Live Chat. Further, the system doesn’t even do things like calculate over time. And everytime I call for help I don’t always get anyone who knows how to actually help. I will say also if you aren’t too experienced with computers they talk down to you and get over the phone visibly irritated with you. I would not recommend this system just yet for what they charge per month

Pros: Not big upfront costs like if you have a hard wired system.

Cons: There's a lot you cannot do VS a hard wired system and the customer service is lacking along with their tech knowledge on how to help you

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2017