Web Help Desk Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.1 /5

About Web Help Desk

Web Help Desk is an on-premises ticketing and asset management solution that simplifies your IT help desk processes and reduces costs.

Learn more about Web Help Desk

Showing 109 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Implementation & Support Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2020

"Web Helpdesk from Solarwinds"

Comments: It was an ok tool for me, as I was not working on it as an administrator but for a day to day ticket management, it was very easy to use and our customers were also able to reach out to us with their day to day support queries and we also used it for internal task management.

Pros: The most positive point which I liked about this product was that we were able to use it from anywhere, either when we were on the client-side or in the office. Our work was fieldwork and to have a web-based solution was very helpful to track complaints and provide response to clients and management about the work done.

Cons: I did not use this tool as an administrator, so I am not familiar with its cons, only used for ticket management.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2020
Verified Reviewer
Network Support Specialist
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019

"Full Featured Help Desk Solution"

Comments: We have streamlined our process for reporting issues in our district which in turn has made our response times come down. Having a history of issues is also beneficial for training purposes and for staff to see how to fix a recurring issue they may have. Overall has made us much more efficient.

Pros: Ease of use. I have had new techs that havent had any experience with a ticketing system sit down and be able to use this product within several minutes. Also it has been a godsend for our staff as we require them to log in to the system to create tickets.

Cons: Inventory function. I was hoping for an easier way to track our device inventory. I believe it would do the job, but the initial setup has to be comprehensive to make things work smoothly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019
Robert M.
I.S. Operations Manger
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017

"Web Help Desk is a highly customizable product for both the client and the technician"

Comments: I can control the entire ticketing process. Create approvals and auto escalations. The flexibility is beyond comparison.

Pros: Web Help Desk is so stinking flexible it drives me crazy. Fields can be made hidden, visible, editable at every level of user (client/technician). You can even create your own custom fields. Escalation path, approval processes are all there. You just select what you want to use and how to implement it.

Cons: Web Help Desk is so stinking flexible I some times have trouble keeping track of all the options. I've now manged to turn off a feature that I can't figure out how to turn back on!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017
Tom R.
ITSS Tech II
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017

"Great all in one solution for NOC Management"

Comments: Easy, centralized help desk and infrastructure management

Pros: Integration across systems for a true live enviroment. We're able to pinpoint network usage or a downed node within seconds. Custom map utilization helps us view our environment as we see it.

Cons: Sometimes setup isn't as straight forward, support has always been helpful though. We use this software 24/7 for our HelpDesk.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017
Dustin H.
Senior Help Desk Technician
Publishing, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017

"Excellent setup and function. Provides a great and easy interface for clients and techs."

Comments: Auto assignment of tickets. Time tracking resolution and escalation. Email interface for clients and ability to reopen.

Pros: The automation of alerts and escalations. The ease of setting them up and how easy it is to maintain and update the system.

Cons: It seems a little difficult to pull reports and maintain ticket history for users or techs that have been deleted.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017
Ryan S.
IT Analyst
Publishing, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2018

"Slow, buggy and an intense memory leak"

Comments: We are using it to manage tickets across multiple sites.

Pros: The layout is simple so it can be picked up easily without much in the way of training and it's cheap.

Cons: Not sure where to begin. - It's slow
- It's tremendously buggy. Parts of the page just disappear while inside a ticket, the onhover sometimes brings up completely unrelated content.
- There has been a memory leak present for years, the only fix we have found is to restart the machine once it becomes completely unusable.
- It severely lacks in functionality that other help desk systems provide
- The UX is atrocious - e.g. if you want to perform a bulk action you'll need to scroll down to the bottom of the ticket list after selecting tickets before choosing the bulk action from a single drop-down menu. Just pray that while you're scrolling the tickets don't refresh because otherwise you'll need to find the tickets to select all over again.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2018
Byron A.
Systems Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2017

"WebHelpDesk has provided us a simplified yet powerful ticketing system to streamline our workflow."

Comments: We were looking for a replacement solution to streamline our workflow and provide a better client experience for our clients. WebHelpDesk was able to do all of these things at a significantly lower cost and with better support than our previous solution.

Pros: Ease of implementation and use
User friendly UI
Easy to create dashboards for management
Incredibly easy to manage

Cons: Lacks some more advanced features that larger solutions have but nothing I find I miss; it certainly makes up for this in simplicity and cost.

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds on 23/05/2017

Thank you for sharing your satisfaction with Web Help Desk. We appreciate your support!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2017
Andrew N.
System Administrator
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017

"Decent Ticketing System"

Pros: Hosted locally for added security. Inventories machines. Ability to RDP within ticketing system. Will text alerts is added plus

Cons: Updating application can be sometimes time-consuming.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017
Stephanie W.
Lead Support Technician
Information Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017

"Easy to navigate and Analyze"

Comments: Wonderful Analytical data and easy Admin interface

Pros: I enjoy being able to custom build reports, have an amazing dashboard in the NOC for all to see. One with soft helpdesk technical skills can easy navigate and self learn. Wonderful mobile interface with iPhone.

Cons: Would like a training session on digging deeper to create specific reports and in the Dashboard. A shared dashboard among all users would be wonderful instead of user specific.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017
Marc M.
system support
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2018

"web help desk itsm"

Comments: this helps with project control as well as user support. it helps us keep tabs on everything.

Pros: we use this product for trouble tickets as well as change management. once users adapted to the process it provided clarity to who truly owned a project and allowed the approval process to be streamlined

Cons: the cost for user licenses wasn't cheap. some customization options are not as clear as they could be. It took a while to find the features we wanted.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2018
Carl B.
IT manger
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017

"Great management tool for our organization"

Pros: Email-centric the users have the option for webforms or email.
Goes as deep as you need - you can create a simple ticket system or integrate with asset management and other tools.
Easy to manage

Cons: online help could be easier to use, sometimes i have to go hunting for a tool or screen to manage.
Asset management should do discovery and keep itself up to date.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017
Russell P.
president
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017

"Basic Helpdesk that needs a lot of work to be brought up to industry standards"

Comments: Full ticketing system for the last 12 years.

Pros: Basic ticketing works fine. Easy to use and solid once it's been properly setup. Like any product, setting up correctly from the start is needed.

Cons: Vendor (Solarwinds) has not done any real updates or feature improvements since they purchased the product about 5 years ago. It is obvious they don't take this product serious.

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds on 23/05/2017

Thank you for your continued use of Web Help Desk, this loyalty to the product means a lot. Though you stated your piece about its progression, let us reassure you things are moving... and fast. Check out the Web Help Desk Product Page on https://thwack.solarwinds.com to access our product roadmap and see what coming down the pike.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017
Rudy F.
Systems Engineer
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2018

"Great option for help desk software"

Comments: as usual for the folks over at solarwinds they have a great product that shows they understand what IT departments today need in order to be efficient

Pros: a rich full-featured help desk software that integrates nicely with alot of solarwinds many awesome programs.

Cons: It can be complicated to setup for a large organization if they require a bunch of customizations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2018
Jose V.
IS Support Technician I
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017

"Easy to use, but search functions are terrible."

Comments: Its simple to use and easy yo navigate...

Pros: The software is easy to use and navigate... There are many mediums of data collection that can be create and customized.

Cons: Searching the application isnt so great. The search area is limited to ticket numbers and specific names... There really isnt a way to find a quick search method for key terms or anything like that.

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds on 26/05/2017

This is really great input. Have you added a feature request for this advance search functionality? We strongly urge you to visit the Web Help Desk Product Page on https://thwack.solarwinds.com, there you can submit this suggestion and if it gains enough steam from our online community, you could someday see this enhancement, in-product, in a future release.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017
Mohamed R.
sales head
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2019

"Easy to use for technician issue"

Comments: Essy to create ticket, and solve the problems. Good support desk. Can generate reports

Pros: EAsy to use, and give access for team mates.

Cons: 14 days trail, if can increase it to 30 days

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2019
Fernando C.
Director
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2015

"Amazing"

Comments: A complete software for Help Desk.
Easy to use. Friendly interface.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2015
Dave D.
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/12/2016

"WebHelpDesk is a great tool"

Comments: We have been users of WebHelpDesk before solar winds bought the company. It was a great tool 8 years ago but doesn't seem to have caught up to the times. That being said, it is reliable and the support is fantastic. It is a great value for the money for a non profit.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/12/2016
Sergey M.
Manager, Technology Infrastructure and Compliance
Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2019

"Make your end user support structured"

Pros: I started using this software 4 years ago. From a very first moment I could really see a difference from other products. I liked an ability to have multiple locations, with each location having multiple points of contacts. With that, I was able to set up routings of my tickets so they would always reach a correct IT person. This is very useful, when your business is spread through multiple timezones. Another feature that I really liked is LDAP authentication. This allowed me to restrict access to only authorized users, eliminating a possibility of phishing emails reaching the system.

Cons: As the company grew, at some point my AD structure become very complex - multiple ADs not connected to each other. Unfortunately, at that point, I had to stop using this solution because it couldn't handle more that one AD efficiently.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2019
Carsten M.
Senior Support Engineer
Medical Devices, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017

"Very good experience setting up a system from scratch, from sales to Customer Service."

Comments: Better customer service

Pros: Software is very easy to setup, everything you need to get a support system up and running is there. Solarwinds Support is very prompt to respond to questions or issue that you may have. The reason I suggest Solarwinds Helpdesk was that I had been a user / admin on a system before. Thicket history is great, asset management is very good

Cons: The report module and the part and billing feature is weak.
Generating reports is not that intuitive and there is things that you cant get an report on.
Parts and billing, missing pricing features and invoice / packing list options.
Solarwinds is not so god at coming back to with feature request that you have submitted nor to let you know that bug have been fixed. There is to long between bug fixed / new releases is being released .

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017
Jeremy M.
IT Director
Mining & Metals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2018

"Web Help Desk simply put saves your bacon..."

Pros: End to end is one of the best Help desk solutions i have used. I find the ticketing straight forward, the asset tracking awesome, the integration with AD and Solarwinds is great, it even does Knowledge base and surveys.

Cons: I wish it did a better job with parent / child tickets. The calendar is kind of pointless. It needs to sync with the technicians Exchange calendar, and there is no customization of the admin interface for like a Skin, you can not for admin purposes change the Logo. The users side can be modified but not admin.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2018
Kory M.
Systems Administrator
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2017

"Great Product! Does More Than Expected / Necessary"

Pros: SolarWinds is great for being a helpdesk ticketing system which is what we purchased it for, however, it does much more than that! It is a very useful tool for inventory, as well as purchase orders, and other items. It definitely has more features than we expected and we've been slowly incorporating more and more of these as we've used the product. I like the ability to add custom fields, a lot of products you are stuck with how they are configured out of the box, SolarWinds is definitely not that product.

Cons: The only real downside to SolarWinds has been the fact that some of the more advanced things such as Single Sign On (SSO) / ADFS were not very user friendly to configure, but we have successfully done it, and it does work quite well. The only other issue we have had is some off / on issues where if we reboot the server we have it hosted on, it will go back to being a trial license, but a simple call to Customer Support and the issue is resolved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2017
Ross B.
Network Support Specialist
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017

"Has the features we need to make our support experience painless for our end users."

Comments: Time savings, and a good handle on what opportunities we have in our organization.

Pros: The ease of use is what has sold me. I was able to customize the experience to my liking without to much effort. We are able to track the metrics that we desire and it helps our team have a clear sense of what needs to be accomplished in a given day. From the techs to the staff, it has been a great tool that has eliminated a lot of time waste that we used to have.

Cons: Probably the biggest con that I would have is that there isn't a remote desktop client built in. Of course we are in an education environment, and cost is always an issue. We'd love to have the integration without the additional cost, but I realize that's not always an option.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017
Jonathan S.
Educational Technology Systems Manager
E-Learning, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2017

"Solarwinds Web Help Desk is awesome and has tons of features!"

Comments: Asset and Help Desk Ticket Tracking

Pros: Web Help Desk (WHD) has two main features that I love. You can create help desk tickets and you can track assets.
WHD ticket system has a dashboard that you can create many different widgets on to see beautiful and detailed graphics. It also also has tabs to see your tickets, your group tickets, flagged tickets, and a search tab to see all tickets.
WHD assets system allows you to input your devices or anything that used like to allow users to borrow. Then users can request usage of the devices.
WHD has a very clean user interface. It is very easy to navigate and it is mobile friendly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/05/2017
Kevin M.
Systems Administrator
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017

"We moved from TrackIT! to Web Help Desk, and it is much easier to use overall."

Comments: Easy deployment and configuration. Were also able to use the ticketing system for departments other than IT, such as HR and Maintenance. Our users were also able to adopt Web Help Desk with very little training. For users without an email address in our company WHD gave us a way create users so they could submit tickets, we did not have this option with other software.

Pros: Ease of use and access. Covers everything we need for a small/medium business, and runs great a virtual server. If you buy other products from SolarWinds it integrates with those too. The emailing of tickets is seemless, and it is easy to keep all communications within the tool. Integrates nicely with Active Directory.

Cons: Asset tracking is not as good as other tools. The reporting has a learning curve, and needs to have more options.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017
Scott S.
IT Support
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017

"We use and set up this ticket system several months ago, and very pleased with functionality."

Pros: Easy setup on own server, good customization if your familiar with how java works. Easily add current environment with LDAP detection for domain objects. Can also easily set up assets via wmi, or even straight IP detection.

Cons: We've had a couple issues with software losing license key seeming inexplicably. Resetting and fixing this issue one time was simple fix, the other required a couple days waiting for support to reply, for it needed to be fixed on their end. Only other complaint with company comes in the sales team. Once purchasing a product form them, of which many are great, we all use remote support software from them which is fantastic. However, be expected to be bombarded daily with spam about future products. Also had experience with a slimy sales rep whom called office stating to the receptionist that I had contacted him for help with something. I had not.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017