Netwrix Auditor Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.4 /5

About Netwrix Auditor

Gain complete visibility and control over IT infrastructure changes and configurations

Learn more about Netwrix Auditor

Showing 138 reviews

Kyle M.
Director of Internal Audit
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2020

"Great Website, Slick Interface. Awful Support"

Comments: IT reported the technical support was responsive, but my experience with customer support was very negative. I had several instances of emails going unanswered, sometimes but not always because my contact left the company and our account was never handed over appropriately.

Pros: The website trial shows off the features of the software while also teaching how to perform a user access audit. The user interface is very clean, user-friendly, intuitive, and snappy. The software comes with a lot of explanations for the built-in reports to help users understand what the report is used for. The software also makes it really easy to monitor the organization, with alerts for unacceptable actions or for unusual behavior above thresholds.

Cons: Our IT department spent a long time working on getting some of the features and reports working, with some success, but many reports and features were never fixed after a whole year of working with support. Apparently Netwrix support was responsive, but their fixes often failed to work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2020
Waqas S.
DEPUTT MANAGER ICT
Computer & Network Security, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2021

"SYSTEM ADMINS AUDIT TOOL"

Comments: Overall great experience and we are using it on daily basis.

Pros: Very easy to implement and support is readily available online. Integrat with Microsoft products and Windows.

Cons: Linux machines can't be aduited with it and SAP is also not covered, only Microsoft softwares supoorted.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/02/2021
Verified Reviewer
Lead System Administrator
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2019

"If you are held to a number of regulatory governances, Netwrix Auditor is for you"

Comments: If ever anyone is requiring a software that will audit their systems, I immediately recommend Netwrix because of the community presence (I have dealt with them primarily on the Spiceworks forums), and their amazing canned reports.

Pros: The amount of data you can collect about security events, group changes, object moves and deletions, system and file access (and much more) is astounding, especially considering the price. If I need to track something new that I wasn't thinking of when I bought this software, I only need to dig a little and there's something there already for me to utilize. The variety of things we can monitor from a system level is fantastic too. Windows domains, file servers, Office 365, VMWare, SharePoint, SQL and more...each type of audit task yields the same types of reports as the other. Easy color coding for quick visual assessment. Setting up is a cinch. The documentation has just about everything you'll need to get running, and the knowledgebase handles all the extra gotchas that you may run into if you have a temperamental environment :) Probably one of my favorite things about Netwrix Auditor: no-nonsense licensing.

Cons: I think that the UI change from the prior major version to the new was the most jarring. I suspect it wouldn't have been as difficult to understand had I started with the newest UI.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2019
Matthew G.
IT Manager
Government Relations, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Use this software to monitor, alert, and create reports for Government IT Audits"

Comments: Easier domain management, real time security alerts, it is a wonderful piece of software.

Pros: The fact that Netwrix always includes new and better features all of the time. Great price for the software and once it is in place and working it is very stable and solid. The new 9.0 version really allows for so much more than the old versions.

Cons: Some of the plugins are hard to use. I have a hard time figuring out what is causing errors sometimes when it runs its nightly scans of my systems. But customer support is always very good in helping solve the issues.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Paul B.
Technology Coordinator
Aviation & Aerospace, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Netwrix Auditor for Dummies"

Comments: We got this product to assist with our NIST 800-171 compliance with our aerospace customers. The logs and information it provides are invaluable.

Pros: It's very easy to configure most of what you'll want to log directly out of the box. The parts that are a little more confusing are easily done with talking to support. This is overall a great product and one that I've needed for years.

Cons: When you don't work with the setups on a regular basis it's sometimes time consuming to go back and make changes or add/delete things. Since it basically runs itself I haven't touched the setup in months.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Azhar M.
Control System Coordinator
Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Now a days changes in AD is very important"

Comments: Like I said real time change alert is the best part of using this product

Pros: Real time notification of any changes in AD and successful and unsuccessful logins to machines, which tells administrators of unauthorized login tries and legitimate user problems even before users approach administrator

Cons: There has to be exception reporting options which lets administrator know as some thing is not right for example I particular user is not supposed to be logging into a particular server and if such action happens then administrator should be alarmed - such relationship database should be there

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Shola A.
ISO
Education Management, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/07/2017

"Highly resourceful tool"

Pros: Ease of Use, depth of visibility to AD changes, realtime SMS alert and password change notification alert. Above listed requirements and key reasons why the tool is resourceful to Howard's team.

Cons: Task scheduler failure (sometimes) and interpretation of forwarded logs to SIEM. There are few items that can be improved upon to maximize resourcefulness.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/07/2017
Dan C.
Infrastructure Manager
Medical Devices, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/03/2020

"Netwrix Elevates Your Security Posture"

Comments: My experience with Netwrix has been awesome. It is easy to start up and get going, but you can do an endless amount of things with it as your environment and/or your policies change.

Pros: The visibility, insight, alerting, reporting and response time it gives you to watch and respond to security events in your environment.

Cons: It is very expensive. They get you with the entry price then jack up the price at renewal.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/03/2020
Stephen K.
IT Manager
Law Practice, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Very easy to use! Real deal!"

Comments: Was able to meet auditing needs and compliance issues.

Pros: It catches things that you need to catch! You can set it and forget or you can generate all kinds of reports.

Cons: Sometimes it is a little slow at getting the reports to pull - it gets what I need but would like to be faster.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Benjamin S.
NISO
Financial Services Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2019

"NISO"

Comments: Fair. I do get some benefits from the product

Pros: The ability to detect multiple lockouts or login attempts

Cons: Very cumbersome to setup reports. No basic best practice templates to utilize.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2019
Chendra D.
Sr. Desktop Technician
Commercial Real Estate Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Netwrix Auditor"

Comments: We've been using NA for years and so far it's great.

Pros: Ease of use and interface. Preset auditing set up.

Cons: Database can be large and sometimes the KB are obsolete.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Chris W.
Senior System Administrator
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Easy access to log data"

Pros: Gathers logs from all your servers, your AD, etc. The global search is very useful, and you can filter the results quickly. Alerts and daily reports allow you to spot anomalies quickly. The included utility to identify inactive accounts can also disable them to reduce attack surface.

Cons: Searching can be quite slow. Reports look good, but are many pages longer than necessary the way they're formatted.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Dave D.
IT Manager
Design, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"This tool has been invaluable in tracking down who makes changes to our critical data"

Comments: It easily allows me to identify who made changes to my data and records any changes to my AD that I need to be aware of.

Pros: I like the comprehensive scope of the software's capabilities. It allows you to expand as your needs grow. The automated processing and reporting

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Gregory W.
ISO
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Fantastic Value"

Pros: Very Easy to Use
More Reports than you could ever want
Findings are as detailed or concise as you want them to be

Cons: Nothing really stands out to me for negatives. I've been happy with Netwrix.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Christopher J.
Network Admin II
Financial Services Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Netwrix for Credit Unions"

Comments: Visibility and a single pane of glass for auditing

Pros: Ease of use
Reliability
Licensing model works well for our needs

Cons: Support often is a lengthy process. Once reached they are helpful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Michael B.
IT Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/12/2019

"Probably The Best Tool For AD Auditing You Will Find"

Comments: It's been a great product to help us with AD, SQL, and VMware auditing. It's allowed insight into things that you wouldn't necessarily get from a SIEM tool.

Pros: I love that I can get insight into AD, SQL, and VMware all on the same dashboard. This allows us to see what's going on both from an operational standpoint, but also from a security standpoint. It facilitates the need for both groups.

Cons: The thing I most dislike about the tool is it's not very intuitive. The UI/UX of the product isn't the best, but it's workable once you get some experience with the product. I also wish it was installed without a web component that I need to worry about patching.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/12/2019
Matt R.
Network Services Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Great value for the money!"

Pros: It is very easy to use. Very intuitive user interface. I have used other products before and they are just not as easy to use.

Cons: Can't think of anything now. Perhaps the setup needed a bit more attention than I would have liked, but overall it wasn't bad. Certainly better than most!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
David H.
Systems Administrator
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2018

"Very easy to use, setup moderate"

Pros: Very easy to run audits on users
Report templates very informational
Interface easy to navigate
Simple installation

Cons: Error messages are very vague. When running into problems with domain permissions, the error messages displayed did not really point anywhere but the installation PDF, which was of no help either relating to the problem. Would like to see an expanded knowledge base on the product. When running large data sets, performance is very slow even on current hardware. Would like to see Netwrix offer other options to use different reporting engines.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/06/2018
Mike A.
Dir of IT
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"MHI Dir of IT"

Comments: Once set up works well for what we need it to do.

Pros: That it can Audit Folders and Admin Accounts .

Cons: Not user friendly in setting up some of the advanced features

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Roger N.
Information Security Specialist
Oil & Energy, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2020

"Netwrix"

Pros: Ease of use and functionality of the product

Cons: Automated reporting was a bit cumbersome to setup.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2020
Jojo S.
it network and security mgr
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2016

"Netwrix Auditor"

Comments: server requires a lot of memory. running on virtual guests and it choked up once a month. requires a lot of hard drive space as well.

Pros: none really

Cons: console crash all the time (at least once a week) especially when you use it. version 8 GUI was redesigned and it worst than the original one.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2016
Candice R.
CIO
Higher Education Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Netwrix has the ability to do real time reporting which is needed greatly in our environment"

Pros: The program does Real-time reporting, Detects changes in policy (group), monitoring of AD, particularly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Justin F.
IT Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Satisfactory"

Pros: Once it's setup, there is little/no maintenance required.
Super convenient screen recording when someone logs into a server.

Cons: Getting truly useful reports can be cumbersome if you have lots of qualifying events. A more convenient method of setting up exclusions would be appreciated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Benjamin W.
Information Systems Analyst
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Basic reports are good.. Hard to customize"

Pros: The agents collect a vast amount of information. This allows any investigations to get to root of issues well after the fact.

Cons: Difficult to create ad-hoc reports. Not very intuitive, because data 'names' aren't described well when trying to filter data

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Phil H.
it specialist
Financial Services Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Works great, when it works. but trying to put in a ticket is hard to get everything corrected."

Pros: reports what is going on my network. Sends out easy to understand emails for everyone that needs them.

Cons: correcting issues with our application is difficult sometimes. I put in a ticket and it will take several days sometime for them to get back to me. I wish the reports were more like the emails. easy to build.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017