Mixpanel Reviews

4.5 (103) Write a Review!

About Mixpanel

Powerful, self-serve product analytics to help you convert, engage, and retain more users.

Learn more about Mixpanel

Pros:

You can easily create segmentation and target the audience easily. You can automate the campaigns and push notifications with the help of funnel.

Cons:

No advanced feature for email tracking, which adds the need of other tools for more detailed marketing campaigns.

Mixpanel ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

8.3/10

Mixpanel has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 103 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Mixpanel before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (103)

Sushant
Sushant
Co-Founder in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simple & effective product analytics tool

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Overall, I'm pretty happy with the product. Since we had just launched the product in the market, we were not expecting too much from the analytics perspective. We were just looking for basic cohorts, funnels and customer-wise events data across different channels. All these can be solved via Mixpanel and the price point is definitely attractive. We also applied via startup program which saved us 1 yr fees as well.

Pros:

I always liked the simplicity of Mixpanel and the level of support & document available to make the entire integration fast & smooth. The feature of Funnels is very good and it definitely gives the ability to understand a lot of data points.

Cons:

Customer segmentation and the ability to slice & dice the cohorts data is something that can be improved for sure.

Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Analytics tool for Decision Making

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It was a great product we use it on daily bases to track the user activity on our site and based on the research we plan our future goals.

Pros:

1. It is highly useful for those products which are based on customer service over web like hotel bookings, resume creation, etc. 2. You can easily create your own events for evey page or action and track user experience on mixpanel that where are they mostly using and viewing on their site which helps in decision making to upgrade their products. 3. You can easily access the mixpanel data form anywhere just login to mixpanel site and you can see the realtime data. 4. It is also easy to implement on the source code of products . We just need to include one script and we are able to add events where ever we like to define.

Cons:

Sometimes we face issue in profiling of the users.

Hasin
Data Analyst in US
Higher Education Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best web analytics tools

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: - Web analytics
- Mobile Analytics
- Marketing Attribution

Pros:

The best part about this app is that I able to track a mobile and web user of my application under the same umbrella.

Cons:

The user interface is not the best for non-analytics or non-technical users but it is better over time with the new updates.

Pius
Founder in Uganda
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Mixpanel

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Satisfactory! Mixapanel has helped me improve my product faster with more in-depth analysis and reporting. Tracking sign-ups from the server-side for example enabled me to get more accurate hypersensitive information without the Ad-block interruptions. Mixpanel is as key for my business as it is right now. It gives me a birds-eye view of everything I need to know about customer interactions.

Pros:

The dashboard reporting is amazing! It is really easy to read and interpret even for a non-technical solo founder. With this, you can easily identify how your users are interacting with the product and how to streamline the processes. These easy-to-use reports make it easier to you to make adjustments to increase retention, engage more, and get better numbers

Cons:

Setting it up is not easy in comparison to Google Analytics! Setting up server-side or client-side, or a hybrid of both needs a level of expertise to fully leverage the benefits of the platform. You will have to watch a couple of intense YouTube Videos and go through the support articles to set up the events to get it up and running smoothly. You'll probably make a few mistakes and correct them. As a non-technical founder, it was quite frustrating setting up at the beginning but worth it eventually.

Amit
Associate Product Manager in India
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Awesome tool for In-depth Product Analytics!

5.0 last year

Comments: 1. Understanding the Drop-off & Conversion across different funnels in the product.
2. Measuring the product usage analytics across different plans to know the customers better.
3. To seek feature adoption by the users via usage analytics.
4. Creating a cross-functional dashboard to consolidate and present the crucial metrics, keeping stakeholders informed hassle-free.

Pros:

Seemless event and funnel segmentation analysis with a lot of crunching functionalities. Readily downloadable in CSV o PNG format. Integrating tracking code is hassle-free as well, given the exhaustive documentation & video tutorials available. Overall a pleasant experience!

Cons:

No auto-save feature in the Dashboard. You need to click on save every single time you add a report to a dashboard. Pop-up is damn annoying. It also has some sync issues where some of the events don't show up and need a hard refresh before it starts showing up again. No option to create a team/squad to collaborate on a specific dashboard. Doesn't have an extensive integrations bucket.

Caren
Assistant Sales Operations in Jordan
Financial Services Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An innovative tool that provides more comprehensive search and data collection options

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: Our team's productivity has increased as a result of using Mixpanel, which has reduced the amount of time it takes to interpret massive amounts of data and better understand customer interactions.

Pros:

Mixpanel As long as you can track the data accurately from reputable sources, you'll be able to see how and how much people trust your ad, all without having to learn too much about it or rely on any prior expertise. You can get from raw data to actionable insights in a matter of minutes with this tool, thanks to its quick search feature and all the options it offers. Mixpanel provides many options for sorting results based on various classifications, such as your product type, target groups, and behavioral patterns. Customers may see all of this on personalized panels, along with reports that are easy to interpret. Every tiny change can be shared with my coworkers, which extends the possibility for finding solutions and leveraging that information to establish precise timeframes.

Cons:

The platform's master requires lengthy training before he or she can use it to its full potential. There are instances when there are errors in the data that have been gathered, or when you do not receive what you are looking for, and this may be due to the fact that the data has not been set up correctly by the user, which can be quite distracting.

Swati
Swati
Digital Marketing Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Experience from a Digital Marketer perspective

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: Overall I have had a super positive experience with MixPanel. It fulfils all my data analytics and visualisation needs and gives me the ability to slice, dice and present data in an easy to understand format. With MixPanel we establish effectiveness and efficiency of various marketing channels and their campaigns by viewing weekly/custom range retention, session time, end funnel events and other conversion rates of different channels.

Pros:

MixPanel provides well segmented data in a consumable format (after applying various event or other filters). We can analyse each step and level of user engagement in real time and identify various funnel metrics and the major funnel drops. This helps us in making product changes by understanding user pain points and the challenges the are facing with the product and also in scaling/pausing marketing campaigns.

Cons:

To be able to use MixPanel is a skill in itself, having said that it is not an easy tool to use at first. It can be challenging to use for users belonging to non tech backgrounds.

Maxim
Maxim
Co-Founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Tracking user behavior is a must but we're still figuring out Mixpanel

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We build a SaaS product and need some way of tracking and analyzing user behavior. Everyone talks about and recommends mixpanel, so we're trying to figure it out.

Pros:

The new UI is really nice (visually), I love how graphs look like Mobile app is super snappy Integration is easy Automatic insights are actually useful

Cons:

Building useful graphs can be challenging and sometimes counter-intuitive. Of course, I could watch all their education videos, but I simply don't have enough time. I think there's a lot that can be done in the "getting started quickly" category. Also, I somehow can not pin a flow-diagram to the dashboard or even save it

Francesco
Francesco
Chief Operating Officer in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Management of digital marketing

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It helped us manage the push and the DEM allowing us to do a / b testing and improve the performance of our instruments.

Pros:

The ability to send push notification and DEM directly from the same platform. The constantly improved features and support assistance.

Cons:

The difficulty of implementation and the non-accuracy of data

Magnus
Magnus
Customer Service Team Lead in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best user tracking tool

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: The experience has been great. Although, I requested a refund once and it took a while.

Pros:

Mixpanel is best user tracking tool I have experienced. With Mixpanel, you can tell the last location a user used your product from, last action, last login - You can track so many things with it.

Cons:

Mixpanel is very expensive from my experience but then I guess it is so because it is a very good software.

Aleksandr
Aleksandr
Principal Software Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

There are a lot of analytics tools. This one does work.

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall mixpanel is one of the best solutions on the market. It is realiably, offers wide range of tools and libraries to satisfy both administrators, marketologists, developers and managers.
It is somewhat costly and sometimes you would like mixpanel to think more about the edge cases.

Pros:

Tracks both events and profiles. Collects wide specter of attributes, some of them automatically. Provides quite comprehensive documentation, including some obscure use cases. Mixpanel supports mobile, web, server side analytic events, and for that offers a number of implementation for different languages and platforms, including JS, Ruby, Python, PHP etc. Dashboard offers dictionary, event and field renaming, live events and profile updates stream, various graphs and insights. Built-in visualizer uses mixpanel own query builder, it works perfectly and requires just a bit of reading. Again. the documentation, examples and how-to's are very helpful. Mixpanel does not lose updates in most of the cases, but they might be delayed. Heat map is there but sometimes it works a bit strange and it is hard to tell whether it can be trusted.

Cons:

Mixpanel does not document the whole protocol and this is VERY inconvenient when server-side events are to be implemented, or your application requires proxifiying to work around adblockers. The protocol itself is not suitable for seamless proxifying. Documentation may be slightly outdated. Some obscure moments in it are just there for like forever despite discussed numerous times on the internet. Tech support is mostly useless. Most of the time it is possible to sort thing out without technical support, though, but still - this is something that could definitely be improved. Until recently there was no reliable debug tool to check updates to profile. Now, though they are rendered as operations, it is still not exactly what is expected. Latency sometimes is an issue. Price is a bit too high.

Sapph
Marketing strategist in Canada
Professional Training & Coaching, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful, comprehensive tool to track and analyze user actions and behavior patterns

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's a powerful analytics and marketing tool that helps you track and understand user behavior (who are your power users? which sources did you acquire them from? what's your churn rate? etc.) and make important business decisions about what you should do more of, what's working and what isn't.

Pros:

Once you set it up properly, you can use Mixpanel to track every granular user action. You can save numerous details with each event that's important for you to know such as device, browser, country, campaign UTM, etc. Mixpanel provides you with several types of reports you can analyze data with such as Insights (break down user actions to show how many share X, Y or Z detail such as campaign UTM) and Funnels (conversions between user actions). You can also use Mixpanel to send notifications (email, push, in-app) to users based on their actions. It's a very powerful analytic and marketing tool.

Cons:

Lately, Mixpanel has made quite a few UI changes. Some have been helpful, others less so. Example with a recent funnels UI change: if you add a breakdown (which breaks down each of the funnel steps by a specific detail like country), Mixpanel adds several different colored bars to the funnel, which makes it very difficult to visually see the conversions between each step. I'm not sure if they do any testing with users before launching new features or UI but their user experience would benefit a lot from it. Mixpanel also does get expensive as you track more user actions (events), but it's only powerful and useful when you track every user action, big and small. Otherwise, your analysis would be based on an incomplete picture and cause incorrect findings.

Nolan
Merch Analyst in US
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mixpanel Review

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: As an e-commerce retailer, it's imperative to have a solid engagement tracking software program. Mixpanel makes a solid product to help customize the different areas you want to focus on. For a retailer, seeing where our engagement stems from and how our customers are behaving onsite is vital to the success of our business. This tool offers so many customizable interfaces and is overall very intuitive to use and helps drive business in the right areas.

Pros:

My favourite feature about Mixpanel is the ability t create and utilize funnels. By creating a vast array of funnels, it makes it possible to track how a customer interacts with the website and what steps they take to get to the end results. This is super helpful for pinpointing things like user drop-off. Where and why did they abandon their shopping session? How can we get more customers to complete their purchase thus increase demand? With Mixpanel you don't have to do any guesswork, just setup your specific funnels and the data is right there!

Cons:

It might just be me, but I find the event tracking dashboard can be a little convoluted at times.

Verified Reviewer
Advisory Board Member in Denmark
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Data tool for more established companies

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: When working Mixpanel is fantastic. It can help companies see their acquisition, activation, retention, revenue and referral. But I think the product is primarily for more mature companies that have used queries and excel sheets in the beginning to make their initial KPI's. Don't use this from the get go as a startup. But use once you know exactly what you want to track, and get somebody on your team to be the super user of Mixpanel (data scientist) and do the same on the development team.

Pros:

Mixpanel can tell you a lot of things about your users. Especially the Signal feature is great – we've used it as a guideline instead of having a full time data scientist. You can also follow different cohorts of users and create funnels to see where these users fall of or not.

Cons:

The dashboard function is not great. Besides that the system is pretty complex, so you really need to dive deep into the tutorials to understand how to use it.

Robson
CTO in Brazil
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

MixPanel the best Software Analytics Tool

5.0 last year

Comments: We use MixPanel to measure all the resources of our Software. With the collected data, we set up visualizations and dashboards to make decisions in our product, and in our sales proccess, because we use MixPanel to tracking our Free Trial.
For Product Analytics, I do not doubt that the MixPanel is The best choice, even more, than we are a Startup and we have been counting on the startups program for some time.

Pros:

Mixpanel interface is excellent. For anyone who works with software as a service, this tool is essential! Distinguished product teams use this tool. MixPanel have too many resources, all you need when the subject is Product Analytics you can do with Mixpanel. I'm CTO on [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and use at least once on a week MixPanel to taking product decisions.

Cons:

The initial configuration of data tracking is a bit complicated, especially if you want to evaluate everything that is possible. You will take some time to setup the events, mainly the custom events of you product. Of course you need to evaluate the points the make sense to track, and if you love data like I, I'm sure that you will want to track everything.

Matylda
Content Specialist in Poland
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Very easy to navigate and pull your data

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Mixpanel will be ideal for you if you need a simple, yet powerful tool for your SaaS product. One of their features that I've found most useful (and I haven't really seen it in the competitors' apps) is Signal. Once you apply it to your events, it shows you which ones you should encourage your users to do, and predict behavioral trends within your product. A must-have for a modern product marketer!

Cons:

I wish it would be easier to implement your own data to the user profiles and events there. You also can't collaborate within teams.

Bhaumik
Product Manager in US
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

All your product Analytics in One place

5.0 last year

Pros:

Help us craft the best funnels to optimize product decisions

Cons:

Saving dashboards and retriving them sometimes acts wierdly

Shrishtee
Software Engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

An Exceptional Analytic Tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have been tracking user events and Mixpanel has proved a great ally for that. It's easy to use features had made it stand out than other products in the market. I have been using this more for than six months now and not for once I faced any difficulties. It wasn't any arduous for me and I would suggest people who are looking for a great analytic tool to try this one.

Pros:

Intelligible software it is, with user friendly interface. A new user doesn't have to be perturbed much to understand the functionality of this product. All the features are quite comprehensible.

Cons:

There is nothing in this product to dislike. The price might bother a few people but in the comparison to the other analytic software out there the price of this product is very much acceptable, making this product affordable than others.

Zeeshan
Fraud Analyst in Pakistan
Computer & Network Security, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Analytical tool

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Mixpanel provides you best analytics. You can easily integrate it in your app, website, member area etc. It also offers email campaigns and push notification. You can easily create segmentation and target the audience easily. You can automate the campaigns and push notifications with the help of funnel.

Cons:

Pricing is too high. Should support dynamic dashboard support for reporting.

Aman
Aman
Business Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Go to tool for Dashboarding

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall I am really satisfied with the software for my daily use. It really is a value for money and makes working really easy.

Pros:

This software gives you the functionality to fetch data directly using SQL for the charts. The ability to calculate the ratios of metrics helps make the dashboard really informative. Apart from this, the user UI is really easy to use and also it loads the data in real time really fast.

Cons:

There is not much to dislike in the software but yes some more features/charts option can be added to get the maximum from this.

Fayssal
Fayssal
CEO in Tunisia
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I use Mixpanel every single hour a day, 7 days a week and 365 days a year !

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: It's the simplest way to track app usage.

Pros:

Sign-up was too easy and the free tier is very generous. Installation was time consuming but this is mainly related to our codebase. Segment integration is working like a charm. The best app for setting up analytics for SaaS apps.

Cons:

Emailing user experience should be reimagined and made much more intuitive to match the amazing user experience of the whole app.

Viktor
Co-founder, VP of Operations in Canada
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazing platform perfect for data needs(specifically for eCommerce and phone applications)

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Incredibly strong application for assessing data and customer behaviour - perfect for serving notifications and emails to customers and this is often overlooked to Mailchimp and other strictly-email marketing competitors

Pros:

-Incredible ability to send messages and emails with relatively no limitation -Very robust reporting on success and outcome of particular events coded into platform -AI and alerts activate on irregular activity -Very, very secure in keeping data safe -Many variables available to store and to track

Cons:

-Somewhat difficult for new users and for trainees to use -Very difficult to maintain parity between users and their account on other software through any changes(ie. wrong email address gets fixed) -Reports are a bit tricky to create

Verified Reviewer
Co-Founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Go-To Analytics

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Mixpanel is the cleanest, most accurate analytics tool our team has used. We've tried Google Analytics, and other free services that have consistently shown us messed up data. Mixpanel is super easy to set up, it gives you the data you need in a digestable format and allows you to make quick decisions.

Cons:

To be honest, I used to be quite upset with the pricing of this software but they have recently lowered the monthly costs and it is on-par with what I would expect to pay. Good job Mixpanel.

Verified Reviewer
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Basic analytics software for simple companies

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall this product was easy to integrate and use, but ultimately did not provide the level of detail needed to run a successful data-driven business.

Pros:

This product provides easy-to-integrate code and some very basic metrics for your digital products. It is easy to use for beginners in data & analytics.

Cons:

There are many better visualizations and analytics metrics that could exist, but do not for the sake of simplicity. If you want to be more advanced in your ability to measure your data, look at other analytics platforms.

Ciprian
Senior PHP Developer in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Alternatives Considered:

A great user research tool

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

A great user research tool for generating highly-targeted audiences and identifying user activity on-site. If properly set up on a high traffic site, it can separate valuable traffic from noise in less than 30 days.

Cons:

Events get registered a bit late or not at all. This issue might be fixed now.