15 years helping Emirati businesses
choose better software

About Sage 100

Sage 100 is an ERP platform for growing and medium-sized sales and manufacturing companies.

Learn more about Sage 100

Pros:

The production management module helps us keep track of all inventoried products and our built product. It can be easy to use if you know what you are doing.

Cons:

You'll notice lag in the system regardless of the hardware resources assigned to it.

Sage 100 ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.7
Features
3.9
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

7.2/10

Sage 100 has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 316 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Sage 100 before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (316)

Hillary
Hillary
Sales Assistant in Romania
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Sage 100 is an Intuitive Accounting and Financial Management Tool.

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Sage 100 compliance management functions are impressive and its and effective project cost management platform with nice budgeting capability.

Pros:

Through Sage 100 tools is very effective to track project expenses and create clean and accurate financial data reports. The tool also allows easy project financial management and its billing and invoicing capabilities are excellent.

Cons:

Easy Accounting tool and nothing for me to dislike or underline as a usability issue. Very functional and powerful.

Blake
Blake
Ecommerce & Consumer Products Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Mining & Metals, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Huge improvements over earlier Sage products

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: We've been able to greatly improve how our manufacturing processes across various locations are reflected in our budgets and accounting practices. It's saved us thousands of hours per year in terms of extracting the data, manipulating it, and putting it back into Sage for final reporting. You can now do that within Sage 100.

Pros:

Our organization moved from Sage 50 to Sage 100 and wow, what a difference! We thought Sage was the issue, but really the business had just outgrown the more base version of the software. Sage 100 can fully handle complex costing and processes present in a modern day manufacturing business. It can collect data at various nodes in the process and roll them up for budgeting and forecasting.

Cons:

We use a lot of agile software platforms on our sales and ecommerce side of the business, and Sage 100's API catalog doesn't really keep up with what's needed to move quickly in 2020.

Renee
Senior Accountant and Head of Office Administration in
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Fortunately this version has been upgraded

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: I work in the manufacturing industry, specifically a foundry in Chicago.
Several factors bias my experience with MAS90/Sage 100. I was introduced to the software with no training or reference guide because the woman before me left suddenly and without any documentation. In a certain perspective that speaks well of this product in that simply by internet research and experimentation, as well as a few call to our highly paid "Sage" support line, I have been able to work with the system adequately.
I would love to upgrade to a new version of this Sage product and imagine that it is very likely a much cleaner and straight forward operating system
For instance, the difference between reversing a check and simply reversing the G/L transaction are two different procedures and a third procedure to void a check that has never been issued is a different procedure entirely from voiding a check that you have placed a stop payment on. In a sense, these five distinctions would be ideal for a precise audit trail if the procedures themselves were not extremely complex and vague to distinguish.
The General Leger reports are clear and are in themselves user friendly in offering the opportunity to easily make accrued and adjusting entries.
I would certainly encourage anyone to investigate the newer versions of Sage in consideration of their industry specific needs.
We have not created a direct interface between our receivables data base "Exact" directly into MAS 90 due to the particular need to maintain specific Alloy/Customer information and our small company simply lacks the time and technical understanding to do so.
Again my situation is severely biased due to my particular circumstances and I believe a newer version of Sage may very likely be an excellent ERP.

Pros:

If I can figure out a highly antiquated version of their product without internal direction and assistance, I suspect the newer versions of Sage can only be fat superior.

Cons:

A complete mire of ambiguity when it comes to the Accounts Payable component in this ancient version by Sage:MAS 90

Krystle
Revenue Cycle Accountant in US
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The All In One Accounting App

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

I do a lot of financial reporting and I find that the reporting options are excellent. I’m able to create reports quickly and easily for all accounting needs.

Cons:

It’s a small con but the overall look of the application could be better.

Stosh
owner in US
Sporting Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

To many steps to do simple daily process

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Sage works, support companies and eide bailey sold it to us did not do there due diligence in my opinion selling us the software we needed that would handle what we do. Integration problems and being told to use a certain card processing that did not work without a bridge with fusion costing us more money and have had it out 4 times in the last week.

Pros:

The accounting portion is probably the most complete.

Cons:

To me there is several cons we have found after the purchase. My biggest complaint being the amount of time it takes to do simple process. Example: when we have price changes and adjustments to make, it can not be done from a central place. As a dealer that is retail and wholesale both, we have to change retail in one screen, wholesale on another, and finally cost in a completely different location. When you have 30k items this takes 4 times longer than other systems. My other major complaint is dealing with several different companies to get everything you need to support sage for daily operation. We have experienced finger pointing back and forth from the support companies of whose problem it is and nothing gets corrected for months. As I say we are over 2 years from our sign up and it has been a multitude of issues and we are still not complete. Delays on large orders put into fusion portion are a time killer.

Jim
CFO in US
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage 100 Review

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We migrated from QuickBooks Enterprise to Sage 100 in 2015. We have had no regrets on this migration and believe we have much better control of our inventory which drives our financial results.

Pros:

Sage 100 has all of the features that our small business needs. We require inventory management with bills of materials and work orders. Sage does an excellent job handling this.

Cons:

It is not a case of dislike but more of under optimized. The general ledger system is not fully developed for drill down capability. All of the information is in a relational database but accessing inquiring type information is more cumbersome than it needs to be. We have written Crystal reports to accommodate this need.

Shawn
VP in US
Construction Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 100 Love Hate Relationship

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: It has been a mixed bag. Having used since Mas 90 4.05. We are "comfortable withe the software and it does the job for us. Currnetly running Sage 100 2019. Upgraded from 2017 because we had to due to payroll module support. For a small business this is very expensive software and I often feel that we could do what we need with less expensive software. For what we pay annually to Sage and what we pay every 2 years to a Support company for basically mandatory upgrades, I am not sure we get our moneys worth. This will probably be the last upgrade we do for a Sage product. Will start looking for an alternative, more modern feeling cloud based solution with plans to rollover in 2022 unless something changes with our current platform.

Pros:

There are a lot of features that help us run our business

Cons:

Many of the features are inconsistent in the implementation. Lack of standardization in reports.

Kathryn
Acctg & Benefits Mgr in US
Construction Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

waiting for many enhancements Sage 100 Contractor

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: been a struggle and had to create many manual systems outside the software to operate and manage the business

Pros:

covers all the basic functions

Cons:

missing many key functions, has too many restricted areas that need to be more user-friendly, that were not designed by real life users

Chris
VP in US
Facilities Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Long Time User

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Customer support is usually goo

Pros:

The day to day use of the software works well

Cons:

Every time we update the software or move to a new version, we have glitches and have to call for support. It's also harder now to make custom reports for payroll (since it is a stand alone module)

Rochel
Freelancer in US
Consumer Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Business Accounting Software Tool

4.0 last week New

Comments: I see that sage is very competitive with the features and easy to install

Pros:

Sage is way cheaper compared with competitors in the market.

Cons:

It has less user-friendly compared with quickbooks.

Kenneth
Vice President in US
Maritime, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 100c 2017 - 2019 review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Company replaced Platinum for DOS which had been in place for 20+ years. So moving to Sage 100c and having the ability to drill down into the data is a great feature. Being able to email invoices/purchase orders have improved the productivity of employees (they no longer have to go look for hard copies).

Pros:

First off is the User Define Fields (UDF), if a field is not in the software or you have something unique that needs to be captured, as an end user you can add the field without custom programming or use of a VAR. The next feature would be Visual Integrator (Import/Export utility), this feature is great for either uploading data into Sage or exporting data for analysis. Memo Fields are great! Paperless Office is great along with the ability to email invoices, purchase orders, etc. Sage Intelligence is a love/hate relationship: Very easy to build reports, but the runtime for running reports takes a long time (i.e. most of my reports 1-2 minutes) versus the standard Sage financial reports of 10-15 seconds.

Cons:

The Extended Description for inventory items. For the life of me, not sure why Sage still uses the Extended Description in inventory. This makes it very difficult for data imports or exports. If your company does drop shipments then really understand how it works. On the inventory side you end up with a black hole. Moving invoices from one batch to another is limited utility due to no one can be in the batch, so we end up moving invoices after hours. When running the Period End process for a module locks users out, so this normally has to be done during none business hours. Sage is weak in the inventory physical count area (i.e. cycle counting).

Bill
Controller in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Software that is easy to customize to fit your exact needs

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: All in all, this is a good product with options for growth as your business needs change.

Pros:

Sage 100 Advanced ERP allows you to create data fields that are unique to your business and have the data flow through the various processes and data files. We have added over 100 fields to our invoicing forms, and the data flows from the sales order to the invoice, to the accounts receivable history. The data entry screens are easily modified to add any custom fields you need. The forms for printing documents are also easily modified via Crystal Reports. We utilize Crystal Reports to perform error checking at the order entry point to alert the order entry and billing clerks if there any issues with the order that needs to be corrected. We check to see if purchase orders are required. If they are, is one on the order? We check to ensure the sales tax code is correct for the shipping address. There are easily a dozen things we check, all utilizing the tools built into Crystal Reports. We have been using this software since the mid-1990's and have upgraded year after year. The upgrades are much easier than they used to be and the features that have been added over the last few years are great additions to the software.

Cons:

Some of the processes are more complicated than they need to be. Recording pre-payments on A/R or A/P invoices is a prime example. The process for both should be re-evaluated, and the process should be the same for any pre-payment that needs to be recorded. Some of the module pricing doesn't make any sense. The asset module is way too expensive when compared to other options available.

CHERRY
OFFICE ADMIN in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

EXCELLENT SOFTWARE

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: ALOT

Pros:

EVERYTHING EASE OF WORKING .. BALANCING BOOKS

Cons:

PAYROLL - YOU HAVE TO RUN 2 DIFFERENT PAY PERIODS SEPARATE

Kimberly
Marketing, Director in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Well Travelled Work Horse

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Its a great product for the small business client looking for audit-compliance, reporting and a trust-worthy product without spending a lot. If mobility is not a huge concern for you and you want to keep your operating costs low, choose Sage 100.

Pros:

Sage 100 is very well suited for financial record keeping, distribution management and reporting on these business operations. Functionally, it is very reliable and straight forward to use. It was the first accounting software I ever used in a professional setting and I continue to think in terms of the way items are processed in Sage 100. Because it has been around for decades, there is a substantial amount of knowledge available to new users by way of Sage City and the number of consultants available for support is also a huge asset. The subscription pricing makes it very simple to purchase and include as an operating cost for the lifetime of the business and there are great integrations available in the channel.

Cons:

I wish there was a mobile app that gave access to the approval functions and other areas of the product that would be convenient when traveling away from the office - or even just working remotely. Remote accessing a server is very inconvenient and there are so many browser-based systems in business already. Sage 100 feels behind the times without this functionality.

John
Director, Finance and IT in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very good software. Has gotten better over time. Still room for improvement

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I've been using Sage 100 for more than twenty years and it's a great tool most of the time. Databases were improved module by module several years ago and that made a huge difference in stability and reliability. Work flow is consistent across modules. Once you understand Sage's way of managing workflow, it translates to other software modules, so there is less to learn.

Pros:

Full featured. Has what you need in most modules to run a typical company. Decent implementation of Paperless office. Print and linking PDF copies of most documents is great.

Cons:

Workflow can be frustrating or cryptic in rare cases. Implementation of paperless office, particularly for PDF invoices and uploaded documents is really good, but not great. Needs better inventory work order management. Basic integration is terrible, GREAT integration is too full featured. We need something in between. Just a basic Work order process that actually works.

Denyse
Business Analyst in US
Apparel & Fashion, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Moderately ok ERP

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: Having been administrators for multiple ERP systems, I found Sage 100cloud to be an entry-level ERP system with limited functionality for a company our size. It might have been ok when they first started with this ERP system, but the technology was too old compared to other systems and common sense functionality was not applied (for example, to change a bin location in inventory, a warehouse person would have to access the inventory maintenance screen whereby they could change costs or pricing or more; bin location changes should occur as a transaction record outside of the inventory maintenance screen).

Pros:

Sage100c was relatively intuitive to use.

Cons:

Data integrity was an issue. Our VAR was excellent but even when they couldn't assist and I had to contact Sage direct for assistance, even they struggled to resolve the data issue (in one case it had to do with correcting average costs on an item held in multiple warehouses).

Ross
Owner in US
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SAGE 100C - robust solution

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Stable, well-built product with good interface and functionality. Good 3rd party customer support. Recent better pricing.

Pros:

Complete end to end ERP solution with robust modules scaled for massive implementations - now fairly priced for smaller companies without the loss of functionality.

Cons:

It is a full featured product that is clearly designed for large organizations with dozens of users. In a small company it is a bit burdensome as there are no quick transactions or shortcuts. The Crystal reporting suite is also full function - but it takes a true Crystal expert to easily create reports. There is no ability to quickly create an ad hoc report, and unless Crystal is your second language, it often takes too long to build a report for a single use.

Mary
Office Manager in US
Building Materials, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to teach new employees

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: The payroll program works very well with our time clock program. The AP and AR modules are easy to navigate.

Pros:

Our program is very customized to our specific needs. We have several different price levels based on customer pricing and species pricing (for which type of lumber is used). It is very easy to teach new employees the proper procedures with this software.

Cons:

For some reason, the program shuts down on its own. I've been told it's "because the user is clicking too often, which then confuses the software so it shuts down."

Jim
Property Manager in
Real Estate, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Simple to use, yet an accurate accounting tool

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: We are a mid size property management company located on the Northshore of Massachusetts. Our condominium client list is a composition of business and residential complexes. The Sage product gives us the flexibility to manage the day to day account activity, along with the accountability and flexibility to oversee the billing aspects which occur as a result of the various service request we receive daily. Our staff consist of management professions, account and billing personnel. Everyone in our organization has exposure to the Sage product even our administrative staff, who are often required to utilize the Sage product to verify client billing and invoices. It is a simple yet effective accounting and administrative product that works well for a company of our size.

Pros:

Effective, yet simple to understand and utilize

Cons:

Doesn't have the fancy looking categories. It's just plain and simple

Victoria
Accounting Manager in US
Media Production, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good, could be better

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: N/A

Pros:

Themes capability is cool. Should be more available.

Cons:

Job Cost lack of features. A/P not intuitive, e.g. voiding checks.

Brenda
Controller in US
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 100Cloud

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Sage is a good product with an excellent support staff.

Pros:

The product walks you through most of the modules with ease. It allows me to give ownership to the departments that work their modules and monitor their progress. Thankful for Sage University, bundling the training so that individuals get a better feel of what their use of Sage effects within the whole organization.

Cons:

The number of redundant stops in updating. The lack of ability to reopen completed items like sales orders and work orders. The inability to utilize recurring invoicing through AR, as it does not have the capability of tying out the ship to address with sales tax.

Brett
IT Director in US
Wholesale, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

10+ Years of Sage in a mid-size manufacturing / distro environment

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Sage has worked well for us for almost 10 years however as the company grows we find that we are "outgrowing" Sage and it can't keep up with our workload.

Pros:

Sage is old and the core functionality is solid. It "just works" for most smaller companies

Cons:

Sage really isn't intended for large / complicated environments. Once you've gone above 50 simultaneous users and add third party integrations for taxing, credit cards, warehouse management, etc... you'll notice lag in the system regardless of the hardware resources assigned to it.

Bernard
CPA in US
Logistics & Supply Chain, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Wholesale consumer products distributor

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: A Sage Business Partner who knows exactly how the company's processes function is the best option for support if multiple add-in modules are used.

Pros:

Sage 100 Advanced ERP is fully functional for all steps in a wholesale consumer products process. The Reports Explorer allows custom detailed report writing to support general ledger balances. MAS Intelligence reporting uses an Excel BI add-in for financial reporting.

Cons:

Standard reports require knowledge of Crystal Reports for customizing. Adding multiple third party modules such as Scanforce, Multi-Bin, etc. greatly complicates upgrades to new releases.

Grace
Grace
Accounting /Customer Service in US
Consumer Electronics, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 100

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Over all we are very happy with the software and support received.

Pros:

We use Sage100 for AR, AP, invoicing, inventory and month end reporting. The software is rather easy to use and can be customize for your business needs.It is very easy to train someone to use SAGE 100. Another feature I like is that I can pull reports out into excel. Also the support given from the SAGE staff is high quality. Good software and support overall.

Cons:

The only con to this software is, it is slow at times.

Kathy
Consultant in US
Accounting Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Director of Finance

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Master programmers and software support is available across the US. If you don't like your support group, you can easily hire another. No need to convert software solutions.

Pros:

This software is easily customizable at install AND it is reliable. The software updates are rarely a problem; no need to wait for other users to test and work out the bugs found in some software updates.

Cons:

Module pricing is a little more costly than other software, but then again how much is data integrity worth? I like to sleep at night, so it's a good investment.