Costpoint Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4 /5

About Costpoint

Industry-leading project accounting, labor management, manufacturing and business intelligence solutions

Learn more about Costpoint

Showing 192 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Contracts & Subcontracts Lead
1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2017

"Use daily reports work well"

Comments: Just in time reporting

Pros: It combines accounting and contracts. Easy to use and run reports and pull data from system. Love the real-time reporting

Cons: The contracts model needs more attention. It could be more robust. It is really not functional out of the box

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2017
Nastazija B.
Linguist
Government Relations, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2020

"Not a big fan of this program"

Pros: Accessible (once you have your credentials) from any computer. Easy to track your hours worked and if they were approved or not. Also the feature of used/unused leave balance is really helpful.

Cons: If you are not assigned to a project for a while, the whole access needs to be reset by HR, which is completely unnecessary. It is a bit annoying that every time you put in your hours worked you have to save the changes otherwise if you sign out and sign back in from another device you have to start all over. If HR has not uploaded the correct project code - you can't put any hours in at all. If you need to make changes of the hours worked, it is a hassle, because it's throwing error messages all over.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/09/2020
Matt M.
MAPA
Security & Investigations, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/12/2020

"Brief Overview"

Comments: Overall, I like Deltek. It is an easy system to use and little training to be able to know how to use (very user friendly).

Pros: I like the display for the calendar, it is easy to add a new line for additional hours billed and keep track all hours. I also think it is easy to navigate the branching time charge. Some companies have a very complicated branching system making it very difficult to locate the correct time charge to add.

Cons: I think it would be helpful if time off, holidays, sick leave was able to be displayed from the main timesheet. It would make a one stop location to have all the information in one place compared to opening up other tabs to trying to locate your balances.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/12/2020
Ernesto L.
Buyer
Defense & Space, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019

"Fair Weather Application"

Comments: Fair weather - not good nor bad just a system I have to use.

Pros: They're a govt approved system which is a requirement for companies in the defense and contracting industry

Cons: The platform is not intuitive nor user friendly and it's hard to get customer support w/o being charged extra. Not an open source.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
Advocacy Relations and Communications Manager
Research, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/03/2019

"Employees won't love it"

Pros: There isn't much to like about this software. It does let you save time codes to favorites, but that's the bare minimum and doesn't do much more to make the work of someone entering a daily time card easy.

Cons: The loading times seem slower than peer software I've used and the features to populate saved time codes aren't as good. Requesting time off is especially burdensome and requires several steps where it should really only have one.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/03/2019
Vicki P.
Vice President
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2017

"Costpoint is an extremely powerful project based accounting system"

Pros: The flexibility it provides. With both private and public clients, we are required to provide invoices to clients in many different formats, and some project setups can be quite complicated. Costpoint allows us the flexibility we need to manage our projects effectively and also meet our client's needs. We also love the extensibility tool introduced with Costpoint 7 that has allowed us to customize the software in order to enforce many of our internal procedures and business rules.

Cons: Because of it's flexibility, it can be complicated, which leads to errors. We hear from our new users that systems they worked on previously provided more of a standard workflow that guided them through the project setup process. We realize this is very difficult to do with some many different project setup requirements, and we've tried to accomplish some of this through the extensibility tool.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2017
Nicholas L.
HR analyst
Defense & Space, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2018

"Deltek Costpoint Review"

Comments: It has been a decent system overall but there is a lack of customization, predictive features, poor reporting features and no updates for several years so other HRIS systems are way ahead of this particular system.

Pros: It is a pretty simple to use software for HRIS data and has a lot of fields to enter. It is great that there is a reporting system to allow for standard and custom reports. There is an immediate entry into the system once changes are made so it is great to get an immediate response.

Cons: There are several cons with the system. First, it has not been updated over several years and no upgrades have been made to keep up with the times. It feels like the system is dated back to the 1980's. There is no predictive searches for employees, there are too many windows for different types of employee data so it is hard to find certain employee data. The reporting is also hard to create custom reports as you have to understand extensive knowledge of Cognos, hard to search fields for employee data and it is clunky. There are no workflows or business rules that can be setup in order to allow for notifications for certain events regarding employee self service.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2018
James B.
purchaser
Aviation & Aerospace, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2018

"COSTPOINT IS LAZY AND STUPID"

Comments: There is not a day that goes by that I am not pissed off at this software. It's 10:00 A.M and I have stopped working to come here and post about how awful cospoint is. Example: While creating a Purchase order costpoint tells me there are 10 PR's total for the PO. I continue to the PO and start pluggin in the information and realize there are only 9. What hapenened? Did I do something wrong? So I go back to create the PO and run it again and it says that 1 is processed. No problem right? sure, but this kind of thing happens all the time. Why would software only do part of a task? why does it get lazy and decide it doesn't want to do it. This happens all the time and it isn't always so simple. This can cause huge problems on a larger PO. Another example I am going through right now is when costpoint is assigning PO's it will do it with multiple people so someone cannot use it. They won't know until later when they open the PO that it was assigned to someone else and have to back out everything they did and start over. I have to back out 30 PR's right now but wanted to say how absolutely awful this software is. If you are working you need to save after each thing you do or every couple things. yyou can't just work through something and hit save at the end because you will confuse cospoint and it will generate an error. then you have to refresh the screen thus losing all data input and start over again. you have to realize that cospoint is lazy and stupid and you have to work with it slowly to avoid doing things twice. This is the worst software I have worked with for inventory and everyone I work with will agree across all departments. It is like an ongoing joke. I left working for my current employer and then returned a few years later and when I returned I realized I had forgotten what a piece of crap costpoint was and should have held out for more pay due to having to deal with it again. It will put you in a situation where you will look like you made a mistake countless times. It will create more work for you over and over again.

Pros: There really isn't much that I like about costpoint except that it is an online database that can be accessed from the internet instead of being hosted on a server at the company. however this also limits it as well so I remain neutral on anything positive. Over several years of working with it my hatred of the software has grown to the point of me not seeing any thing really that good about it. It completes tasks sometimes.... which is unacceptable. it should complete them all the time.

Cons: You cannot work fast and have to save often because the program will get confused if you do too much at one time. It creates extra workload due to the time it takes to undo the problems that it created. program seems to be lazy and does tasks intermittently. When you click the save button it is like a gamble as to whether or not it will carry out the task. it will assign key tracking numbers to multiple people at the same time without the users knowing and they will have to back out all their data.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2018
Stacy H.
Senior Accountant
Architecture & Planning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2017

"CostPoint Software User"

Comments: I first used Deltek using CostPoint. I found it relatively easy to get around. It was pretty clean cut. The only issue I may have had was how the paid when paid worked, it never seemed to work right. The consultant helping us set up really didn't know what she was doing, and never came back to tell us her findings after she took notes and said she would look into it. Then I left that company and started using Vision. It was real easy to convert having worked in CostPoint.

Pros: It was real easy to get around the system and work in different windows.

Cons: Paid when Paid never worked correctly, never could get a reason why.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2017
Heather S.
Sr. HR Director
Aviation & Aerospace, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2017

"The system is very straight forward and easy to navigate."

Comments: It meets all my HR Technology needs.

Pros: From an HR standpoint, the system is very easy to use and well thought out. The reporting is easy to do for mandatory compliance. It makes our jobs easier. We just starting using the Talent Management last year for applicant tracking and onboarding. Once we go live with the integration from Talent Management to Costpoint, it will create efficiencies for HR and payroll departments.

Cons: Once some is entered and saved in someone's record. It can be hard to remove that person. There also seems to be a lot of hotfixes, but it does make the system better in the long run.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2017
Jason W.
Managing Director
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/12/2017

"Ultimate GovCon Compliance"

Comments: Deltek pushes this ERP solution to all Government Contractors now, no matter the size of the business. As a GovCon accounting/business system SME, I would not recommend this system to businesses with less than 100 FTE / 5M annual revenue.

Pros: The Costpoint ERP system is well integrated depending on the features/add-ons you purchase. It drives compliant practices if you've set it up correctly.

Cons: Setup and maintenance is not for the average user. Training is a bit scarce unless you hire a consultant. Very expensive if you want full integration. Support from the manufacturer is fair at best.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/12/2017
Laura K.
Business and Finanace Manager
Research, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016

"User since 1999"

Comments: From the initial setup till now a strong asset in the Project Setup and Billing Modules. I look forward to the continued enhancement in CostPoint and improvements that allow us to meet the DOD requirements.

Pros: Allows us to meet government requirements both in CLIN, ACRN and contract limitations.

Cons: Does not maintain Zero Invoices that are required by DCMA, The retroactive rate adjustments still need improvements to work in the system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016
Barbara Y.
Controller
Telecommunications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017

"Controller"

Comments: Costpoint is a dynamic system with many features that are automated. We use it for not only our accounting system, but also our budgeting and reporting. It is complex and able to do many things, but the right people must be in place to ensure the system works for you and is used to it's fullest. We are only using some of the capabilities of the system, and have only started to unlock all the possibilities of the system 2 years into implementation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017
Jim K.
Director, Federal Reporting and Analytics
1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 02/11/2017

"Good product, good customer experience"

Pros: Good product that continues to evolve. The customer experience is excellent and their annual conference is a great opportunity to learn more about how to better use the product.

Cons: Some things, like expense reporting are lacking. They are making progress, but this is one area that needs improvement.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 02/11/2017
Verified Reviewer
Business Analyst
Military, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019

"Costpoint from a Programmer's View"

Comments: It works well, it is easy to learn and run.

Pros: Ease to select rows of data and export to excel and vice versa. Help information is great as well

Cons: Error messages are not clear as to the real issue is. It lacks some of the report functionality.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019
Joshua H.
principal financial analyst
Defense & Space, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019

"Costpoint Review"

Pros: Ease of use. Thank you for letting me take the survey.

Cons: Iter-database iwo functionality with single employee doesn't function per the help screen.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
Talent Manager
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2018

"I've used CostPoint to track recorded work time."

Comments: It makes it easy to keep track of your recorded work time.

Pros: Once you get the hang of it, it's fairly easy to update your time keeping and sign, as well as check what your available leave balance is.

Cons: Adding new programs to your worksheet is not that intuitive, and some of the menu's can feel a bit complex and unclear as to what they accomplish.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2018
Charles B.
Director IT
Defense & Space, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019

"Deltek Review"

Pros: Industry standard software; continually improving. High level of flexibility

Cons: early growing pains; can be difficult for users to adopt

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019
Anne B.
Data Analyst
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/02/2019

"Use costpoint for timesheet"

Pros: I really like how I can format my timesheet daily by project on costpoint. It allows for me to stay organized on what I’m working on and I can keep track of my available leave.

Cons: I wouldn’t say that I have any cons about costpoint, maybe if it came in a mobile version that would be really helpful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 25/02/2019
Tara R.
Deltek IT Systems Consultant
Government Relations, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016

"Great Solution"

Comments: Costpoint is the best solution for government contracting! No other software comes close to fulfilling all the requirements needed for tracking costs for the government at the great price Deltek offers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016
Nicky O.
Lead Accounting Manager
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016

"Deltek Costpoint"

Comments: Costpoint is a great software with a lot of features and functionality. However, the features are all sold as separate modules making it non affordable to small companies. We were sold on a great product and wanted to be able to use the features but were informed after the sale that those features were separate modules. The features we use now are good though.

Pros: Flexibility

Cons: Not intuitive

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016
Zhi Z.
accountant
Telecommunications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2017

"good for big project driven companies"

Comments: CostPoint have many great functions, where you can track your expense, revenue at the different project level. In addition, the built-in formula format allows you to follow different rules.

Pros: Software drills into the detail of each project and each labor. It allows you to have more thoroughly analysis of your project.

Cons: Kinda of over complicated to small/medium size company.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2017
Aparna M.
Business Analyst
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019

"Experience with costpoint"

Pros: Being a newbee, it's easy to use, self explanatory. Adheres Complianace

Cons: Soo far it seems awesome, only the thing I would like to explore is the accounting side, pools.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019
Ryley S.
Project Coordinator
Environmental Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2017

"Really enjoy all the options available"

Pros: I like how multiple applications work together. Really enjoy the ease of access working between two companies in CP.

Cons: It would be really nice to have a keyword search to find charge codes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2017
Lane D.
Controller
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2016

"New to Costpoint"

Comments: System is easy to use, but care needs to be taken that when setting up the system, all steps need to be followed. It allows steps to be input even if they are not according to processes. Training is highly recommended.

Pros: Easy to use. Works well with projects and accounting.

Cons: Easy to break if you aren't careful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2016