Document Control Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service Software

About Document Control

Streamline your document authoring, editing, approval, and employee sign-off processes.

Learn more about Document Control

Showing 121 reviews

Marlene F.
Lead Medical Technologist
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/05/2018

"Great program; makes document control much easier"

Pros: I like that our Pathologist can review and approve even though he is not onsite. This is very beneficial if a change needs to be made quickly. I also like that it keeps track of the most recent revision.

Cons: I would like to have more users for the price. We were only allowed to purchase enough for the lead techs. We still have to print copies for the generalists to read. A cheaper cost for non-editing users would be great.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/05/2018
Moira J.
Transfusion Service Section Chief
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/05/2018

"I have only seen this in action. I cannot wait to have it fully implemented at my institution."

Comments: Saves time, many options available.

Pros: Click it open; read! I love how easy it is to access SOP's with Inspection Proof. This will make training, inspections, and assessments such much easier than our current processes.

Cons: It will take a while to implement, but will be entirely worth it! We have no started to enter any SOP's in Media Lab yet. I will be starting on this ASAP.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/05/2018
Steven H.
Admin
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/05/2018

"we are early in our process"

Pros: The software's potential is great for us. I hope that it works out. There is a huge learning curve and a huge shift in how our industry traditionally does things. I hope it works out.

Cons: The user interface is extremely confusing. More emphasis needs to be put on which division you are in. All menus are too similar and confusing. There could be a lot of improvement to the user interface. There are too many options for designating properties for employees which makes the whole thing extremely difficult to work with. Inspection proof is glitchy and not very intuitive. We are a huge company with many labs and getting this thing to integrate with everyone is impossible since each lab is different.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/05/2018
Juxhin S.
Lab supervisor
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018

"A must have for any size laboratory"

Pros: It does the job. Its full of features that are relative to regulatory agencies.

Cons: Intuitive ease of use for persons not activly engaged in it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018
Alessandro R.
Infectious Diseases Chief Scientist
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2018

"First time user implementation"

Comments: We are a Public Health Lab and it is the first time we try to implement a document control system. Most of my employees had a favorable opinion of MediLab.

Pros: It has everything we need to run the lab. Pricing is extremely competitive to other competitors.

Cons: It is not very intuitive. Sometimes it takes a while to figure out a function.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2018
Marianne M.
Director
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/05/2017

"MediaLab is very willing to help and work with you"

Comments: Staff wanted more CE opportunites
Ability for standardized controlled SOPs.

Pros: Ability to put documents and CE in the hands of staff easily. Ability to track documents, staff CE use.

Cons: I wish there were more written down loadable user manuals with sections for the various user levels. Some training records on basic use for staff would also be helpful so we could get up and running quicker.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/05/2017
Nathan K.
Lab Manager
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018

"Document Control Review"

Comments: It has a been a big project moving everything over from our binder of procedures to the system, but now that it is online it should simplify our document control process immensely.

Pros: I like that it is a one-stop-shop for all of our labs essential documents.

Cons: The software is not easy to navigate. Having a quick guide for uploading new documents, making changes, and routing for approval would have been helpful from the get-go.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018
Donna D.
Point of Care Coordinator
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/05/2018

"I love it! It makes procedure reviews and revisions a breeze."

Comments: Uniformity and consistency.

Pros: The software is easy to navigate. I like the function tab that allows you see what your options are when dealing with a procedure.

Cons: The constant notifications that are sent daily via email about procedure reviews even though I am not a required person for review.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/05/2018
Madison D.
Medical Technician/ ADPAC Support
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"Easy to use"

Pros: This software is very user friendly and easy to navigate. I like how useful document control is as a reference in my daily work.

Cons: The only con I have is that as an administrator the lay out of seeing all the amdin tasks and my regular user tasks, get confusing sometimes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Susan S.
Microbiology Technical Supervisor
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2018

"MediaLab Document Control"

Comments: Able to keep up with compliance, documents all in one place including forms, no more sheets of paper all over the lab that are outdated

Pros: The software is easy to use and made the inspection process much easier. End users like to be able to look up current procedures using the software rather than finding what they need in a large technical procedure manual. The email reminders are great and help keep the users on track. Document control solved!!

Cons: At this time I can only say good things and I am still exploring all the features

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2018
Jean P.
Chemistry Supervisor
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"It was a little confusing to get started using it due to limited training"

Comments: It was interesting to see how well this would keep our documents organized and up to date. The inspection proof aspect will be extremely helpful during an onsite inspection.

Pros: Once you familiarize yourself with it you can quickly move around to its many functions.
The tutorials were very helpful.

Cons: At first, it seemed a little too busy on any given screen. Too many options and confusing as to where you wanted to go.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Joe T.
Hematology Lead Tech
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"Good Product - Easy to Learn"

Pros: The ease of use. Editing current documents or adding new documents is pretty straight forward. As a Team Lead being able to see the sign-off status of users is a also a plus.

Cons: I wish you could open some items in a separate window - like having the parent document and a related attachment open at the same time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Aaron K.
MLS
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2018

"Excellent choice for compliance!"

Comments: We use document control for all of our document sign offs. It keeps everything in one place and keeps us organized. I love it!

Pros: I love how it helps us prepare for JCAHO. Our Medical Director has easy access to everything from IQCP, Policy and Procedures, Linearity and more. Easily traceable for inspections.

Cons: Some things aren't easily apparent in the ways they connect.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2018
Molly T.
Lab QI/Education Coordinator
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018

"FeedbackCHW"

Pros: Ease of access, user friendly format, responsive customer service

Cons: Additional features that could be customizable (i.e., include manual name in your to-do list, ability to organize to-do items when you have multiple roles - approver, director, etc)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018
Randi S.
Medical Technologist II
Hospital & Health Care
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/05/2018

"Overall has been useful/fairly simple to use but sometimes locating what you need is a bit difficult"

Comments: Standardization of documents and good for preparation of inspections (JC, CAP etc..)

Pros: procedures organized easily searchable
changes/signoffs easily tracked
the quick links to things that are needed to be completed/addressed

Cons: as an admin it is difficult sometimes to find the task you need (print, assign, upload, ask for a sign off etc...) and you may not have access to a certain task and not realize it.
it has been mentioned that the alerts are sometimes confusing to users about what exactly it is that needs to be completed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/05/2018
Adrienne G.
Business Development Assistant
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"This has been a really good tool for our small lab to become more organized and efficient."

Comments: Greater organizational efficiency and streamlined document control monitoring.

Pros: I most enjoy the ability to automate document review. It makes what would otherwise be a time-consuming and confusing process something that we hardly have to think about once it's set up correctly.

Cons: What I would like to see in this software is an easy-to-use section that reports on emails that have been sent out by the system. Sometimes I am only made aware of certain employees receiving too many emails after they tell me, and I wish there was a way to monitor the frequency within the administrator page for all employees.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Bridget G.
Quality Assurance Analyst
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"Great system! Very user friendly and intuitive."

Comments: Made my life 1 million times easier!

Pros: Very easy to use and requires very little instruction for new users.
Workflows are quick to set up and easy to follow.
Applying quizzes for revision changes.
Very easy to link related or dependent documents together.

Cons: No table of contents for large documents, would be nice to have a ToC that functioned as a navigator to jump to specific section in a document.
Too many windows to click through for some options.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Tracey J.
Manager, Quality Assurance
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2017

"Document control with MediaLab has really helped improve life in our lab."

Pros: This product is very easy to use. The ability to assign users to groups and groups to manuals has made it easier to keep up with performing employee sign-off.

Cons: Sometimes if you are adding additional approvers to a document, there is a bug that sometimes inhibits the user being added to sign from seeing the correct version.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2017
Larry B.
BS, MT(ASCP) Lab QA and Compliance
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/05/2017

"Setting up document control was a challenging experience, however one well worth it."

Comments: It has made managing our laboratory documents seamless and paperless!

Pros: The features and functionality meets all our needs for document management. It's obvious a lot of thought went into programing this software, very impressive. Also, MediaLab's customer service is exceptional. All the customer service personnel are very knowledgeable and patient when addressing our troubleshooting needs.

Cons: Although the functionality is stellar, sometimes I feel there are too many ways to accomplish a single task.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/05/2017
Tiffany H.
QSII
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2018

"Love MediaLab's Document Control!!"

Pros: Prior to using MediaLab's Document Control we kept hard copies of procedures. ML's Document Control allowed us to go paperless and be able to access all of our documents online which is very convenient. It keeps track of pervious document versions which is nice too.

Cons: So far, no major issues with the software. There was a delay in hearing back from a representative to have questions answered. Once we did get in contact with someone they were very professional and supportive!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2018
Lauren V.
Specimen Processing Trainer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"MediaLab is not very user friendly. It's known throughout the company as kind of a pain to use."

Pros: Software keeps SOPs and PRCs updated. I enjoy that I can edit my email settings and that I can add content and DOCLs to assignments.

Cons: Not user friendly or intuitive, changes settings without alerting us often (switching people's permissions, etc), courses can get lost after creation. Reports are not always helpful to pull with courses that have multiple competencies/DOCLs associated with them (exporting the report in Excel does not show status of each portion of assignment, only how many activities have been completed)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Terry W.
Blood Bank Section Head
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/05/2018

"Very useful once you figure it out."

Comments: I really gives new employees easy access to procedures.

Pros: Great for inspections and documentation. We allow inspectors to look at the manuals. Inspection proof is also a very good product. It minimizes the time they have to search for documents.

Cons: Not the easiest software to navigate. The learning curve in my case was not to steep! Some changes to the icons might be helpful especially for us old dudes.....

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/05/2018
Christine M.
Sr QA Specialist
Medical Devices, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"MediaLab is easy to use & contacting MediaLab personnel is simple. It lacks additional functionality"

Comments: Benefits include ability to easily pull reports, make changes quickly, assign training and enter documents for training without problems, and navigating the system with ease. However, because we are using the system for training only, it has its limitations.

Pros: Note: Our company uses MediaLab for training only, not document control
- Easy navigation of system (straightforward on how to train on documents)
- Easy to input information (personnel information, documents)
- Customer response is quick
- Having the functionality to assign Group Supervisors and assign special employee signoffs
- Great traceability within the system (change history for users and for permission changes)

Cons: Note: Our company uses MediaLab for training only, not document control
- Unable to customize reports (would like to pull reports within specific dates (not full list), list of personnel with their assigned manuals)
-Unable to customize due dates for Performing Employee signoff (we have different requirements for PE
- Assigned dates are incorrect (since we are using the software for training only, it has been problematic that when a document with a minor revision is signed off, the assigned date is changed to the signoff date - our metrics for training compliance is signoff date minus assigned date so we have inaccuracies in our data)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Director Of Laboratory Operations
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2017

"I utilize MediaLab's Document Control software at my laboratory to ensure compliance with CAP regs."

Comments: It ensures compliance with industry standard practices and regulations.

Pros: The ease of use and comprehensive approach it takes to document control makes the software easy to use and easy to stay in compliance. We also use its sign off features for our off-site Laboratory Director to sign and approve documents quickly.

Cons: I wish the software allowed digital signatures to be applied to uploaded documents rather than just the summary sheet.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2017
Heather W.
Laboratory Manager
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support Software
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"Overall, positive. Becoming more proficient as I become more familiar."

Pros: Inspection proof: I like that our CAP checklist is imported and it is easy to link procedures to it. We will see how good it is during our upcoming CAP inspection. This will be our first inspection using Media Lab software.

Cons: There is definitely a learning curve with this product. There are some features "hidden" in places that don't seem logical to me. The interface is a little "old school" looking, but maybe that's why it's so cheap. I don't even know where to begin with Compass.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018