Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.8 /5

About Engage

The best in class employee engagement and feedback platform, Betterworks Engage enables leaders to build trust and drive engagement.

Learn more about Engage

Showing 39 reviews

Aleta M.
CHRO
Food & Beverages, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2019

"Excellent Platform"

Comments: Loved how helpful customer support was, and how willing the company was to modify for what we were looking for. The team at Hyphen really want to deliver a product that is easy to use and they are willing to talk through any issue to find a resolution that works.

Pros: Hyphen is super easy to use for all of our employees. Text surveys that all can answer in less than 2 minutes from the ease of their phone. Clean display of information for admin is also amazing.

Cons: Takes a bit to learn how to navigate back end, however once you get it, super easy to launch surveys.

Vendor Response

by Hyphen on 16/12/2019

Hi Aleta, thanks for the review, we're glad the platform has been a benefit to you all. As for the back end navigation, we tagged that as an item to make more user-friendly for the future. Thanks again, we appreciate it!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2019
Verified Reviewer
Human Resources Executive
Consumer Goods, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2018

"Hyphen User Experience"

Pros: Hyphen, with its AI technology is extremely user-friendly and has given me the ease of access to understand the employee's voice as well as the sentiment about existing topics of discussion. The deployment of surveys and the analysis of the surveys are extremely easy and the scope it has for modifications and customization

Cons: The fact that the app and insights app are two different things becomes a little bit of a concern as having two separate formats can become confusing for users

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2018
Jeff K.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017

"Simplicity, speed... and great outcomes"

Comments: Really friendly company interested in meeting our needs and making the workplace more human. Excellent mobile and web product for company-wide or more targeted engagement surveys. And cool analytics and alerts for top management but also middle management subreports (love that!). Minimal effort to get started and get to know top areas to work on on an ongoing basis.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017
Pankaj G.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017

"Powerful hub for feedback throughout the company"

Comments: "While listed in the Employee Engagement category, it is interesting that Hyphen can be used for soo much more than Employee Engagement Surveys or Pulse Surveys! For instance it's very relevant for Diversity and Inclusion, Event Preparation, Change Management, Idea Generation, etc. Try it for one use can and you'll start wanting to use it for more stuff!
"

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017
Alex S.
CEO
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/01/2016

"Easy and useful"

Comments: We started to use Hyphen a few months ago. It is an amazing tool to get an overall view of our employee satisfaction which is crucial to our business considering the high turnover in our industry.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/01/2016
Stefen P.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017

"Five star employee engagement + great app!"

Comments: The Hyphen team has a true passion for people and the employee experience. The app is great, super intuitive, responsive and easy to navigate! Thanks!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017
Phillip A.
HR Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2019

"Hyphen - Absolutely worth the investment"

Comments: Hyphen gives our employees the opportunity to have direct access to leadership. It provides them the ability to ask questions, make suggestions on process improvements and get real time company announcements. Our initial Hyphen survey roll-out was extremely successful and since then our survey participation rates have significantly increased. The data from our survey results is extremely eye opening and allows us to easily identify problem areas, either by position, region or manager. In addition to being, in my opinion, a superior product, Hyphen’s customer support staff is always there to assist and make recommendations.

Pros: Hyphen is extremely easy to use - especially the phone app. It’s intuitive for all users.

Cons: It’s very minor and will probably be resolved in future updates. When attaching a file to a post, pdf files aren’t supported.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2019
Jacob C.
People Development Associate
Financial Services Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2019

"A great system to identify employee trends and attitudes!"

Comments: We use Hyphen to conduct our twice annual employee survey. Overall, our experience with Hyphen has been good. The ease of setting up surveys, response from their team, and roll out of the surveys has been fantastic. Gathering and reviewing the data is also very easy but time-consuming. I would recommend this company!

Pros: Hyphen is an easy to use system. I would also like to highlight the tireless efforts of the Hyphen team in answering any questions we have. They go above and beyond to ensure our use of the system is as seamless as possible!

Cons: While the reporting features present the data in an easy to read and accessible manner, it is slightly limited in it's exporting features. It can be hard to download the relevant information you need into excel without having to contact the company with questions. However, they are also implementing ongoing changes to this!

Vendor Response

by Hyphen on 19/12/2019

Hey Jacob, thanks for carving out some time to give us a review, appreciate it! Yeah, the exporting can be tough, we brought this up to product to map out and look for areas we can smoothen it out a bit. Your comment there is a good validation that this is still a market need for us to work on. Thanks again and reach out if you have any needs or ideas or initiatives we can support on!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2019
Jean-baptiste P.
Director Of Engineering
Marketing & Advertising, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2017
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2017
Chethan S.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017

"5 stars experience!"

Comments: The Hyphen platform has a great user experience from survey design all the way through to completing the survey on mobile or desktop and allowing employees to express themselves openly through the bottom-up channel. It is a pleasure to work with the Hyphen team and they are constantly making improvements to their product based on our feedback. I highly recommend Hyphen to any organization considering not only measuring but also driving employee engagement.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017
Dhanyakumar G.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017

"Hyphen is a partner for people success"

Comments: Hyphen helped us re-energize our employee engagement initiatives at a critical time for the company. The team goes above and beyond to drive adoption and engagement, brainstorm with us, present results to staff and to our leadership. System is easy to use and customizable. Real time updates and details are available at all time. Data can be drilled down, from overview to details - stopping only when confidentiality might be compromised ;)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017
Taylor C.
Marketing Communications Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2019

"Employee Engagement Tool"

Comments: Hyphen has been a great tool for our business to hear insight from all of our employees and improve upon areas that have been uncovered through the survey. The customer service has been great and very supportive to what we are looking to achieve.

Pros: Hyphen has been a great tool allowing us to connect with our staff and learn areas of improvement across our organization.

Cons: Some of the formatting options could be improved to allow for more customization to the surveys.

Vendor Response

by Hyphen on 19/12/2019

Hey Taylor, thanks for your review and thanks for the business! I'll send a note to the product team about those formatting options: we try to be very customer-centric in getting a sense for what users like you need instead of just our random good ideas so great tip ;)

Always reach out if you want to get more out of the tool or have other ideas for us! Take care!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2019
Cindy S.
Area Vice President
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2016

"Hyphen is a great tool for engaging employees on a personal level."

Comments: Pros: Easy enough to use and when there's a question, the Hyphen team is very responsive. Cons: The ranking/order of the topics isn't clear. Spell-check would be nice, too. It's been a great way to get employees interacting with one another even when the posts are anonymous. It's fun.

Vendor Response

by Hyphen on 18/02/2016

Thanks Cindy for your kind words. Order/ranking should become more clear in the next release, don't forget to upgrade ;)
Arnaud

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2016
Eugene P.
CEO
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2016

"Love the ease of use"

Comments: Great app to keep tabs on what folks here at WalletIQ think about different topics. We also use the Pulse Surveys to check in on few key items and the trends view gives us a quick sense if there is anything we need to act on.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2016
Gert L.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017

"Hyphen - great tool to learn about your employees and foster positive change"

Comments: I love that Hyphen is "enterprise-grade", very flexible and allows for a lot of configurations so you can really get the information you're after. The latest reporting UI has been a great improvement.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017
Martin K.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017

"What a great employee listening solution!"

Comments: My experience with Hyphen is very positive. The team is very responsive and supportive. The software is very intuitive and I love the bottom up which really differentiates Hyphen to its competitors.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017
Soumil K.
VP Comms
Education Management, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2017

"State of the art solution to the biggest workplace problems!"

Comments: Hyphen helped me understand the pulse of my organisation in real-time which has helped us take decisions which matter.

Pros: Simple to use
Simple to implement
Great engagement and reengagement
Always on and on mobile
Improves management and leader visibility to address issues

Cons: Nothing as of now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2017
Mary A.
Revenue Manager
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2016

"Great tool to hear what coworkers think"

Comments: Since we started using, love seeing ideas, feedback, concerns etc from my team. Gets me to be proactive in solving them - as opposed to waiting to discover months later.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/04/2016
Anastasia B.
Talent Development Lead EU
Financial Services Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2019

"restrictive for the fast-pace growing organization"

Comments: see above

Pros: I like the insights function - this makes eNPS analysis easier for the team leaders

Cons: Some of the things in the tool set up are quite confusing: there are 3 ways of checking participation and users have a lot of questions about that.
As we have a lot of changes in the org structure, every time we need to update the database, which is cumbersome and full of errors - I have a feeling that data isn't overwritten. And sometimes our Success Manager disappears without absence notes or doesn't follow up on the tickets, created. This makes it challenging for me to "sell" the tool internally.

Vendor Response

by Hyphen on 16/12/2019

Hi Anastasia, thanks for taking some time to share your thoughts with us, this kind of feedback is really helpful for our development and CSM team. We, too, want to help you "sell" this internally and make this an impactful tool for the business. I met with the team this morning to go over your comments and identify issues we can fast-track to get resolved (and resolve for future users as well). Thanks again for your honesty, it's sometimes hard to hear for us, but this is how we get better and better day by day, with good feedback like this. Take care!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2019
Diane S.
CHRO
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/01/2020

"Great product but need more reporting capabilities"

Comments: Positive!

Pros: Setting up was easy and having templates was great!

Cons: When going through the data at the end, I can’t Let each leader into the system easily to see their results. I have to do the reporting and capture it elsewhere in order to share it by each leader.

Vendor Response

by Hyphen on 07/01/2020

Hey Diane, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We share each review with our Customer Success team as well as Product team and its valuable intel for us to get better at what we do :)

Dustin tells me he's meeting with you in 20 minutes so I'll let you two cover the reporting capabilities comment more then, its a very valid point of improvement. Thanks again Diane!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/01/2020
Malaika N.
Senior Executive - Human Resources
Sports, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/11/2018

"Good"

Comments: We use it so that our employees speak their mind

Pros: Its user friendly. Wide range of surveys.

Cons: The scales cannot be reversed while making a survey.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/11/2018
Sarah M.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017

"Hyphen helps listen more, understand better, act faster"

Comments: Before Hyphen, we were knee deep in comments with no additional insight; which put us in a terrible place. We'd given our employees a voice, but we didn't know who was speaking. Hyphen allows us to not only identity our issues, but who is being affected. Issues are raised- all while allowing our employees to remain totally anonymous.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2017
Karthik J.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/02/2017

"Big thumbs up!"

Comments: Hyphen is not only an excellent pulse survey system (engagement, diversity, change management, etc), but it has a ton of value in encouraging employees to express themselves without fear of judgement, start topics that they think are important, and comment on topics created by others.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/02/2017
Bernard H.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/02/2017

"Moves culture forward"

Comments: I have not stopped raving about Hyphen since we started using it nearly a year ago. I love how incredibly easy it is to use. The robust reporting allows us to view our data in every way imaginable and managers have easy access.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/02/2017
Debra K.
SVP, People Success Lead
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/04/2016

"Great way to engage employees and build connection"

Comments: Hyphen is a fun, easy to use app that enables organizations to quickly measure employee engagement. It also provides a vehicle to surface ideas and concerns and to build connection among employees.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/04/2016