ConnectWise Automate Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    3.6 /5

About ConnectWise Automate

Automate Backup and Storage solutions can provide data protection and recovery from physical and virtual machines. Get your free tour!

Learn more about ConnectWise Automate

Showing 106 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Network Supervisor
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2021

"A great tool for VARs and MSPs"

Comments: Overall connect-wise automate is a great tool for our environment to monitor our customers systems.

Pros: What I really like the is the granularity of alerts that can be set up for customers systems. Also being able to group similar systems together makes it easy once you do the initial setup.

Cons: Omce the software is great overall The main issue we had is the learning curve curve for employees.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2021
Jared M.
NOC Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2019

"RMM to the stars"

Comments: We used this tool when it was LabTech - and even in those days there was no comparing this to any other RMM platform. For years it had the edge in so many ways. To those willing to learn it this tool was capable of being the entirety of your platform for doing business!

Pros: The feature set has been astounding from day one.
With the big rebrand and integration with ConnectWise Manage the duo are now all that much better, complementing each others previous, non-focused features.

Cons: Truly forward progress was the main issue. During the time we actively used LabTech/Automate was during the transition years of the name and aesthetic. Things are definitely driving into the right, unified direction for all of their tools and that is exciting to see!
Learning the tool, like most ConnectWise products, can be daunting but there are lots of resources to pull from and well worth the investment.
Again, I suspect due to the years of bringing the tools together, Automate seemed to somewhat stall/lag on added features for awhile. They certainly had the most initially so it wasn't a drastic fall-behind, but new tools were taking the slow moving to catch up and the market is certainly competitive again.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2019
Jeffrey B.
Escalation Technician
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/11/2018

"Fantastic system for remote management, scripting and much more"

Comments: Used Kaseya before switching and love the overall layout, features and in-depth information you can retrieve very easily. Wish I could set a few things with some customization, which might be possible by working with connectwise engineers but that would be above my paygrade.

Pros: Set up monitoring alerts, script automated processes, control end user and servers remotely with a couple clicks. Ad-hoc sessions allow admin access remotely, even if the user does not have rights. Fantastic experience overall and only have minor pieces I wish I could see

Cons: Wish there was some more customization is some of the views. Would like to see some more basic information on the main screens, as opposed to having to dive into the properties to find. Seems that it can get a bit slow and unresponsive with certain actions. Not sure if this is our server or the software though.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Technical Consultant
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2018

"The best tool I've used in desktop support."

Comments: With this software we are able to not only sort users by client, but also location. The network scans and ability to distribute software is killer. When working I am able to easily assist multiple people because of the features of this product. I can remotely connect to a computer, run command line scripts, create custom scripts, and check general health. That's all in the console view. If you want to setup the alerts to prompt you for specific actions, it's all there.

Pros: The amount of features that you have at your fingertips to remotely assist users is phenomenal. I can't count how many times this software has made life so much easier.

Cons: When the app is slow to load, it's slow to load. It's the only downside I've had with this application.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2018
Grant H.
IT Services Technician
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/12/2018

"Really powerful tool"

Comments: We chose Automate over everything else for a reason; Price and functionality simply could not be beat.

Pros: - Mostly intuitive GUI
- Packed with tons of functionality; Been using the product a little over 2 years now and still learning neat tricks/tools to use
- Great asset management
- Great at pushing remote commands
- ConnectWise University offers tons of training on their products

Cons: - Because it is so powerful, there is a lot of training that needs reviewed to become proficient in working and navigating
- Been experiencing an issue where I need to re-launch the control center because otherwise the agent tree will refresh forever
-

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/12/2018
Pat M.
Data Center Manager
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/03/2021

"Large MSP View"

Comments: My complaints aside, Automate has been a good investment for us. Although I must point out that support, while never the best, seems to have gotten worse over the past two years. This is a significant disappointment. Calling in a ticket seems to have vanished. Chat support rarely is able to resolve an issue on the first attempt. Indeed, it's pretty much a given that opening a case in chat will usually end up with the case being escalated.

Pros: The inclusion of ConnectWise Control is the single greatest part of using ConnectWise Automate. It is amazing.
The scripting features are very good. The ability to create custom processes is exceptional.

Cons: The ability to monitor and manage network devices is not good at all. Automate struggles to manage devices across subnets that other platforms seem to be able to do with ease. So bad that we had to bring in Auvik to do this task. It was money we would have rather just spent with ConnectWise. Reporting is also a disappointment. The included reports are very simple and not geared toward a C level. They are also not easy to build or manipulate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/03/2021
Alex L.
System Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/01/2017

"Best Thing Ever"

Comments: We've been using Labtech to manage our 70+ computers across multiple clients for a couple years now and it's been very worth the price to have a remote management software to take care of windows updates and be alerted on hardware issues from the event logs. The integration to other software is pretty flawless as well, such as webroot AV and ScreenConnect. It's cut down management time by 80%!

Pros: I like that the management of a lot of computers

Cons: Not really much to not like about it, but sometimes the windows updates aren't always working correctly, and sometimes it reports disk space critically low when there's is 50+GBs left on the system

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/01/2017
Steven D.
Helpdesk Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/08/2020

"CW only tool you need"

Comments: We use this tool in our everyday work day and it helps us get organized for the day and throughout the day.

Pros: The format of the software and also how it keeps you updated to current events going on. The layout of the product is great and easy to understand.

Cons: Some of the reporting is off but mostly it pretty accurate. Also noticed when a user is inside a ticket and they change it the notes disappear.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/08/2020
Marc L.
Senior Systems Engineer
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2018

"Great option for the managed services firm"

Pros: It does a lot of things and helps us keep tabs on hundreds of clients. Remote access, patch management, remote diagnostics, integration with ConnectWise PSA and a host of other third party products.

Cons: Setup time can be cumbersome and some of the advanced features you really need to work with a lot in order to become a master at it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/03/2018
Maribeth R.
Finance Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2021

"Keeps us organized"

Comments: I have worked in ConnedtWise since day one with the company.

Pros: The software is fairly easy to navigate. The system keeps Finance and Sales in touch with each other.

Cons: Sometimes I have issues with the setup of Invoices and how to change the template.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2021
David R.
Tech Services Manager
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/08/2018

"Great for keeping track of our client computers!"

Pros: This program tells me everything I need to know about a client computer at a glance! Very easy to use and has a simple user interface!

Cons: Occasionally the software locks up and I need to close out of it and reopen to get it working properly again.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/08/2018
Corey P.
IT Support
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2020

"When it works, I think it's fine"

Comments: It's like being a cook, but you're only allowed to use tin foil to hastily create all your cooking equipment, such as pans, spatulas, etc...

Pros: I like that when it works, some of its features like remote connectivity, accessing cmd without controlling the user's screen, and scripts make my job easier.

Cons: Once every other week I have to uninstall and reinstall the control center app to get it to load on my screen. I can log in, it will hang on "Building Searches" and disappear. The only fix I've been able to find is uninstall and reinstall, and I have to do that at least twice a month. The rest happen often despite multiple uninstall and reinstalls: Locks up in the middle of a job. Crashes in the middle of a job. Sometimes hitting control does nothing and I have to reboot to get it to work. Scripts also will work when they feel like working. 75% of my time, I have to use the online version because the desktop version is just way too buggy.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2020
Verified Reviewer
Network Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2020

"Great RMM Tool"

Comments: Connectwise Automate has helped my team manage our clients environment with ease.

Pros: Automate is feature rich and great for managing our clients desktops and servers. We love the ability to do patch management with this tool.

Cons: The learning curve to learn the tools and setup alerts does take some time. We had support hours with Automate to help use get up the speed and that helped.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2020
Verified Reviewer
Junior System Administrator
Information Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2019

"Connectwise automate, awesome if you can script"

Comments: Managing thousands of windows servers

Pros: Remote installations of software, scripting and webroot integration

Cons: No ssh interface, the linux agent makes server load

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2019
Fred B.
Director of Managed Services
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2017

"Best RMM Tool for our MSP Busniess"

Pros: Fantastic automation and loaded with features. Our clients are benefiting from all of the monitoring and automation while we benefit with a more streamlined support flow.

Cons: Steep learning curve and outdated UI. They're continuing to update the UI so this will get better with time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2017
Riccardo F.
Business Process Manager
501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2018

"Uninvasive Patch Mangement Software"

Pros: Fairly low package size and easy to manage
Requires small scripts
Gathers asset data, etc and works well with Connectwise packages

Cons: Expensive
Hard to uninstall (even for administrators)
Sometimes not silent and causes issues with CPU usage

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
Video Game Tester
1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2018

"LabTech is a great program but they want extra for every feature so it can cost a lot."

Pros: I love the reports and information it gives me about each PC. It is also much faster to install SOME programs though LabTech because it will push it to every PC.

Cons: The lack of things actually working. Many items are setup and do not work or do not work the way that Labtech says they will. The software doesn't really work on Mac's even though they say it does.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2018
Daren A.
President
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/12/2019

"Connectwise Automate"

Comments: We are using Connectwise Automate for taking care of customers on a managed service contract.

Pros: There are many, many features in Connectwise Automate that will help you help your customers with their computer needs.

Cons: Although the software is very feature rich, it seems very cumbersome and not easy to use from day one. In almost every step, we have had to take classes to figure out how to do things.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/12/2019
Chris T.
Senior Technician
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2017

"Great Software with a great learning curve"

Comments: I've been using it for 2 years now. Overall I'm impressed with the software. "Screenconnect" software is brilliant, fast and reliable connections to your managed agents. Pricing is competitive for what it delivers however it is expensive. Make sure you NEED all of it's features before investing otherwise your potentially just burning money you don't need too. However the learning curve required to get the best from this software is vast, documentation is sparse. The documentation that does exist is out of date. For example the knowledge base article regarding configuring the agent to utilise a proxy server doesn't seem to match up with the latest version. You're left either fending for your self on the forums or waiting in line for a chat with their tech support, which to be fair once you get there is very good. Looking elsewhere simply because of two price rises in 2016 with more likely in 2017.

Pros: Screenconnect - A real asset to the platform.
Scripting
Tunnel options - Can tunnel into your customer network using the agent.
Powerful Automation and patch management

Cons: Complex
Growing expense
Out of date knowledge base / manuals.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2017
James D.
CEO
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/05/2020

"Extremely Powerful MSP Software"

Comments: Automate is feature rich and I find it very easy to use. There's just so much that you can do to improve workflows and "automate" tasks. I highly recommend this for mature MSPs.

Pros: The automation that can be performed is amazing. This was deployed primarily on Windows machines. It does an incredible job at managing updates. The recent integration of Third Wall, though rough in the beginning, has made this the most powerful MSP software.

Cons: The desktop software can be sluggish. Rolling out Third Wall was very rough. After working out all of the kinks it's makes some fantastic improvements and adds some much needed solutions. Physical machines need a display connected. This can be annoying.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 28/05/2020
Shannon D.
Founder
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/06/2020

"Beware of working with Conectwise Automate"

Comments: Terrible. Your RMM tool is really important and you want a company that is trying to help your business grow by having great additions for the platform and services that you can then offer your clients and perspective clients. Connectwise has wanted to exact as many dollars out of my pocket and have no intention of having a business relationship what so ever. In my 24 years in the industry I have never had a company treat me this way but they did and continue to. I have heard from 30+ other companies ceo's saying similar things that there is not partnership just a money grab.

Pros: The remote program is really good. Very simple and quick when a caller has called in.

Cons: First year was good. At the beginning of the second year they doubled the cost saying "its in the contract" I said I want to cancel or fix the price and for a year we went around in circles. "ok we will do at the same price you just need to double your agents" I don't need more agents. Then I had a new person over and over. I then send a formal letter to cancel service and they say we won't except this. I have now asked twice to move to 25 agents and again the same thing is happening.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/06/2020
Chris M.
Manager, Technology Service & Support
Accounting Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2018

"Improved ROI on Manged services by 35% in first 3 years."

Comments: We have changed our business model based on this software and increased ROI on all services by 35 % in less then 3 years.

Pros: Once setup it does what it does well.
Very few issue after setup and config.
Gives a wealth of information on devices managed.

Cons: Can be a burden to setup and config
Takes a good amount of training to really use it well
Being good a scripting is a must

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2018
Adrian M.
Senior Storage Engineer
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2018

"we use internally labtech"

Comments: ease connectivity for my cloud environment

Pros: LT has big amount of great functionalities right out of the box. Lots of custom alerting and monitoring sets. It will allow you to completely automate patches and updates from Microsoft. A great built-in remote support tool with screen connect.

Cons: normally to make the complete setup takes a while due all the custom options of alerting and patching but I think is normally in this kind of tools

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2018
Justin L.
Account Managaer
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2018

"The capabilities are amazing, but slowness is not fun"

Pros: we love that we are able to do so much with the computers that we manage on this software. Also love that we can find out hardware information through this secure application.

Cons: do not like the time it takes to load, but it makes up for the capabilities that it does.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
System Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2019

"RMM"

Comments: This program helps us bring together all of our management abilities without the guessing game. Update and scripts works like a charm, ability to audit end user.

Pros: This RMM Toll will integrate with nearly every tool available. One pane of glass for management. Great support through implementation and afterward.

Cons: This can be costly and I would not suggest it for a small company.
It takes a 2 to 6 months to be fully deployed depending on what your needs are.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2019