Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.9 /5

About Calamari

Calamari is integrated with Slack, JIRA, G Suite and Office365. Track your HR records, vacation, PTO, attendance and manage timesheets.

Learn more about Calamari

Showing 363 reviews

Avishkar P.
Project Director
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2017

"Effective timesheet and leave management - we have a very happy HR Department!"

Comments: My review pretty much covers it. Resource planning in the Calendar view. Monitoring leave applications and clock in locations. My HR Managers now have confidence in the timesheet information as they can review it in real time and not just at month end.

Pros: We have decentralized operations, and our managers and HR love being able to see presence and location statuses of our employees in real time, and at a high level.
The Calendar function in the leave module allows for great oversight and enables more efficient resource management and allocation.
The time-sheet and leave reports available are robust and we love the download to excel feature, this perfect tabular format allows for deeper dives on trends, pivot tables etc within Excel.
It really is simple to use for employees and managers. The app keeps things simple to enable clocking in/out and applying for leave.
Really just very easy to navigate, after training our managers, no one has had to come back to us on how to navigate the system.
There are several clock in methods which allows for flexibility, eg smartphone clock-in, QR scans, and browser check-ins.
I must also commend the support team for providing excellent back-end support for our administrators! Keep up the great work and service

Cons: A few improvements could be made, such as allowing for attachment uploads from a smartphone for leave applications and for locations to be tagged when clocking in with a QR code.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2017
Parker R.
VP, People, Mission & Culture
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/07/2020

"Checks Every Box"

Comments: Couldn't have been better. Less than a month after identifying the need for a new PTO management platform we were launched. The reviews from our team members has been exceedingly positive as well. It is a major upgrade in terms of ease of use, reporting, and notifications from the past platform.

Pros: Months ago, we scoped out our requirements for a PTO management tool. Calamari checked off every box! Coupled with outstanding and responsive customer service, we couldn't have asked for a better experience. The process of requesting and approving time off requests, particularly the Slack integration, are a MAJOR upgrade from our previous platform.

Cons: The .csv upload tool can be a little tricky to figure out, but the customer service response is immediate and helped resolve the issues. Onboarding couldn't have gone any more smoothly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/07/2020
Jimz ..
Project Manager
Media Production, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2017

"the sign-up system is faulty, and no one cares in "support""

Cons: i signed up. received the email, followed the link and only get a green screen asking you to "wait for a while". and after a few HOURS ( you get it right, hours ), that so-called "while" is still there. refresh / quit browser do no help. same link goes to same screen with same words. i received the mail at 0100, tried it on 0300, get the same result. so i contacted them via the webform. i checked back on 0700. my mailbox got nothing - not even a acknowledgement of receiving my email, and surely nothing about why the while is still staying. and yes - same signup link still goes to the same page with the same words. i'm still hopeful, so tried again on 1900 on the same day. now the best part arrived - the same link i tried said "my license expired and my account is blocked". so, what Calamari suggesting, is that my signup license is "looking at their green screen and wait for a while" - but hey, i haven't looked at that for 14 days yet, why have my license expired SO SOON??? is Calamari a hoax for getting my email? the other "positive" reviewers sound SO TRUE, i just can't tell how can that be. i'm not suggesting fake accounts with fake reviews, but i doubt for this kind of performance and stability, how can i handle the attendance / leave management thing of my whole company to it ?

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 20/08/2017
Scott G.
Director of Digital Ministries
Religious Institutions, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2020

"Makes scheduling time off a breeze!"

Pros: It’s easy to use from both the admin and user side. I can easily set parameters for versions levels if workers based on years experience or area they work in.

Cons: Can’t think of any cons. The customer service is great and it’s a fair price for a great product

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2020
Jay C.
HR Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/03/2020

"Excellent HR Management tool"

Comments: On the few occasions that we have required support or assistance they have been extremely attentive both through the live chat feature and over emails. We've received 5 star service at every turn. Our thanks go to their team for being so responsive.

Pros: We use Calamari for a range of HR activities. The most useful features that we use on a daily basis include:
1. Absence Requests: Employees are able to request paid time off / vacations / unpaid leave etc in a formal and structured manner. The approval process is easy to calibrate and set up for managers. Provides an easy process where documentation can be added to support requests (such as medical leave notes).
2. Calendar feature: When payroll exceptions need to be considered, the calendar feature is an easy way to make any adjustments that need to be made. It also enables you to plan for staggering of vacations for employees inside the same department. 3. Employees: Easy to create a database of all employees where information from starting dates, salary etc. can be recorded and quickly accessed. 4. Reports: Functional and and easy to prepare using this feature.

Cons: As far as the requirements of our business go, Calamari offers all the necessary features (and additional ones) that we need. We have no complaints regarding the software that have come up in the time we have been using it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/03/2020
Anjula M.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2019

"Leave Management Made Easy"

Comments: Hassle-free leave and attendance management system with always smiling customer support team.

Pros: As a startup, I was looking for a perfect solution for leaves and attendance management. By using Calamari,
you can approve your employee’s leaves from your fingertips. And every detail you need is available on their dashboard.

Cons: Having issues sometimes with the attendance management as the beacon system doesn't work with us well yet. Hopefully, they will fix it in future as I have faith in them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2019
Lucie M.
Financial & admin Manager
Events Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2020

"Satisfied"

Pros: very easy to use and set up
the website is well designed

Cons: some features missing :
- birthdays missing, it should be something asked and mandatory when an employee create his/her account
- birthday of employment announcement missing on slack

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2020
Anja V.
Administrative Assistant
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2018

"Calamari is very easy to use, is transparent and our employees love this software."

Pros: Transparency, choice between different groups and the approval flows. Easily adding new employees to the system and editing employee data. Easy transfer of data into excel tables.
Modeling the types of absences is very easy and transparent.
Everyone is equally accessible.
We like the quick response of the Calamari Group!!
We recommend this software to all types of companies!

Cons: The price could be slightly more optimal, otherwise it is OK. We would like to have a chance to insert collective holidays, to put all employees in the calendar at the same time. However, the Calamari group always helps.

Vendor Response

by CHROBRUS on 14/03/2018

Thank you Anja for a great review!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2018
Aaron Y.
IT & Communications Coordinator
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2017

"A very user friendly system, for both young and old"

Comments: Smoother HR in leave application and approval and also reduction of paperwork and head count in HR.

Pros: Calamari is an easy to use HR system, with easy and simple setup for any organisation. It convenient and easy to access as it is a web-based system. The system can cater for both local and international organisation with option to customize according to the country's holiday requirements.

Cons: They still lack in their mobile application but they are improving with each update. They have bug fixes off and on but their customer service are swift to tackle the bugs in the software.

Vendor Response

by CHROBRUS on 18/08/2017

Hey Aaron! It has been great to work with you. Thanks to your suggestion. We are in touch! Ewelina

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2017
Jason H.
Sr. Developer
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2020

"Why Moonstone appreciates Calamari"

Comments: So far, we at Moonstone are all enjoying Calamari. The initial set-up was fairly easy and ongoing changes are super easy. Logging PTO can be tricky for some of our employees when they're only requesting a few hours a day, but nothing to stop us from using the tool

Pros: As we began reviewing software to meet our PTO tracking needs, Calamari stood out as an easy to use web-based tool. And when we began implementation we discovered even more benefits than we were previously aware of, like the ease of modifying entitlement at the click of a button! And it's so easy to modify a single user's accrual policy, and audit all user's monthly allotment.

Cons: The biggest issue we faced when implementing the software was my assumption that the integration into Jira also included Jira Cloud, this is not the case so we're using both systems simultaneously and have to perform a few manual tasks at the end of every month.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2020
Daniel N.
CEO
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2017

"Great cloud software"

Comments: I use calamari leave software since 2015.
As IT company I was thinking of developing my own leave module to manage employee absences. But calamari came just in time and saved me money and stress of developing my own tool. Calamari has all I want and need from leave management system. It is easy to use and continously equiped with new features and enhancements. And their technical support is just great. I wish other software supliers were so fast. One remarkable example: I had an issue on 31st of December. A few hours before New Year's party. I have posted an issue to calamari team and even didn't expected to have any answer before 2nd or 3rd of January. But I got an anwer within 30 minutes!!! Just great! I really do recomend the software.

Pros: easy of use. Fast technical support if needed.

Vendor Response

by CHROBRUS on 06/03/2017

Thanks Daniel! We are thrilled working with you, and other customers from Poland! Happy customers are the greatest reward!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2017
Kaycee H.
HR Coordinator
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2020

"Such a great company to work with!"

Comments: All great!

Pros: Ease of use is what really sold us! Also it works across different countries and keeps us all connected on when someone is out of office. There are so many customizations you can do to make it even easier.

Cons: The only thing I think that could improve would be more demos on using the product better.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2020
Nicholas G.
Business Development Director
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2020

"Works"

Pros: Overall once you understand how to use it, Calimari is very straightforward to use

Cons: It would be nice if the price was a little bit less, there are other packages that do not cost as much

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2020
Matt D.
IT/Purchasing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/02/2018

"Keeping track of vacation is a real pain! Calamari has really helped us in this task."

Pros: Calamari makes it very easy to keep track of vacation. They are very responsive to questions and are always updating the software.

Cons: Setting up your initial vacation protocol for employees can be confusing but Calamari is helpful and will set it up for you if you tell them what you want it to do.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/02/2018
Justyna D.
HR admin
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019

"Excellent tool!"

Pros: All functionalities are available, useful for usage for any country ! And what is most important - it is very intuitive! I recommend 100% !

Cons: Report - Changes vs. last month could be useful for payroll purposes :)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019
Michel R.
SysAdmin
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2017

"Wonderful app! easy to use! very helpful!"

Pros: this app solve our hr problems! its very intuitive and help us always. all the team its very helpful and resolve any doubt we could have. Integration with google or office its very good
Works very well!

Cons: None, we are very happy with the product and has no complain. Keep working in that direction!
Thanks

Vendor Response

by CHROBRUS on 18/08/2017

Hi Michel! Thanks, we really appreciate your feedback. You just made our heart smile! ;D

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2017
Sherri L.
Owner
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2019

"Calamari"

Comments: Positive.

Pros: The ability to have employees request leaves online. The ability to track leaves, receive weekly notices reminders of employees out of the office.

Cons: Set up is a little tricky at first, however support is fairly responsive. notes They are not in the US so there is a time delay to getting a response.

Vendor Response

by Calamari on 30/07/2019

Hi Sherri! Thank you for your feedback, we've recently extended hours of support availability - feel free to check it :)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2019
Paula K.
Human Resources Specialist
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2017

"We are glad that we decided to use Calamari as a non-presence management tool in Right Hello"

Pros: 1) Calamari's team offers a effective and quick support
2) its very intuitive and user friendly
3) has integration with google calendar, what is very usefull for us
4) You can keep track of all the hours employees work, holidays, sick leaves. Good solution for a small/medium company :)
Works very well!

Cons: We are happy with the product, but it might be better if there were more useful reports and more detail on the report.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2017
Krzysztof W.
PMO
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2019

"Simplicity, Best customer service, Great price/quality ratio."

Comments: One and only app which have so fast and helpfull customer service. It's always on time and can implement any needed functionality almost immediately.

Pros: It's simplicity in combination with ensuring all user's needs.

Cons: Its design could be better but this is a secondary matter.

Vendor Response

by CHROBRUS on 01/02/2019

Thank you Krzysztof!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2019
Julia M.
Co-founder, Chief Revenue Officer
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2018

"excellent leave management system!"

Pros: * Easy to setup
* Intuitive dashboard
* Extremely useful for leave management for teams in different countries
* Really helpful support team (Customer Success Specialist)

Cons: * More features for mobile app (attachments, calendar, availability)

Vendor Response

by CHROBRUS on 05/04/2018

Hello Julia!

Thanks for a feedback, actually we are working on new features and improvements every day :) :) Eg. attachments from the mobile app are available now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Office Assistant
Construction, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/08/2018

"Made time management and team tracking easy"

Pros: As an office assistant, I was also tasked to keep track of our team’s presence for meetings, team building events, company assemblies, office seminars and other company official get-togethers. Calamari helped me track attendance and time in and out of everyone part of the team. I have also suggested this software to our HR officer for tracking leaves, absences and others. The software is easily learned and easy to navigate. Integrations are possible with some other software which makes it easier to monitor attendance.

Cons: Not much to complain about at this point in time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2020

"Positive review"

Comments: It is good.

Pros: Easy to use, integration with other services

Cons: I would like to have more features, without paying additional money. It is to expensive in my opinion.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2020
Grzegorz B.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2018

"okts okay but no app for boss"

Comments: counting moth raports is okay, planing is okay.

Pros: stable and work with no problems. Clock in on tablet is great option.

Cons: not using friendly Evidence scrollbar to view time of working hours, specialy on mobile phone its not using easy. There is no app for boss to see hours - when i pay every day i would like to check in easy way who works for how many hours. i must log in by browser - its very hard to do.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2018
Elie J.
Chief Administrative officer
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019

"Great Tool"

Pros: it is a very convenient tool for both sides, the user and the administrator.
the employees can request their days off from their mobile app and their supervisors can do the same when accepting/rejecting the request.
Being a construction company, we used to face some problems particularly with this as many of our employees would be out of office and on their sites. Making us rely on phone conversations, print outs delivered late or text messages.
With the mobile app things really got easier and the control is on another level.

Cons: The mobile app could need some development.
Not all features available on the web are available on the app like the calendar for example.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019