Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.5 /5

About ART

Month-end close and account reconciliation automation solution - the financial controllers tool for a faster close and better controls

Learn more about ART

Showing 25 reviews of 101

Matt G.
AVP, Assistant Controller
Banking, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/09/2020

"Great tool"

Comments: This drastically improves our reconciliation process. Our month end close was already fairly quick, but all recons hadn't been reviewed. ART allows more recons to be reviewed quicker and the tasks tool allows us to see where we're at as well as know what needs to be completed when someone is out. We've also started adding tasks for all the miscellaneous items audit asks for. They have access to ART so they can pull these as well as all the recons, limiting the time my team needs to gather all these items for them.

Pros: Implementation was fairly easy, just fill out some templates and SkyStem takes care of setting up your site. The GL reconciliation tool allows for flexibility in how each account is reconciled, but all with a few different templated forms so recons are still fairly consistent (and more consistent than the various excel ones we had been using). The tasks tool is fantastic. Between tasks and reporting, it's easy to see where the close is at and what still needs to be done.

Cons: There are just a few tweaks in the interface that I think would make it more user friendly and more beneficial. The SkyStem team seems to openly accept feedback though and is willing to take suggestions back to their team for future enhancements.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/09/2020
Glenn L.
Staff Accountant
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/12/2020

"ART Review"

Comments: Overall my experience has been positive. It has saved time from the way our organization had been preparing reconciliations.

Pros: I like the ability to copy the previous months support and updating for current month.

Cons: I like the Embedded Excel feature, but sometimes it can be difficult to use. Normally it should save time but it can take additional time to use with adding supporting worksheets. I have been updating the Lead Sheet manually and then adding the Excel spread sheets to the support instead of copying the support worksheets to the Embedded Excel.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/12/2020
Lisa S.
Accounts Receivable Administrator
Automotive, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2020

"Accounts Receivable ART comments"

Comments: Overall, I think ART is a good product and would be beneficial to any company. The accounts are well defined and assigned. Any outstanding items are easily identified and you always know if you are in balance or not. It helps finding miss-postings, mistakes which is obviously essential to any accounting department.

Pros: Coming from a company that did account reconciliations manually, ART definitely is a huge step up in the process. It helps to identify outstanding items at a glance and is a reminder of those items that need to be addressed. Because accounts are assigned to a specific person, it also forces you to take ownership of those accounts assigned to you and held accountable. Another plus is there are several different formats and the best format is chosen for each specific account. Most of my accounts, listing the outstanding balances, and supporting documentation is all that is required so the simplicity of the set up is useful. Another advantage is that the information in ART rolls over from Month to month so you are not starting over.

Cons: I think ART could be more user friendly in general. I think subscribers of ART could also benefit from tutorials. For example, for those accounts that need to balance to a spreadsheet, a tutorial on how to upload a spreadsheet in Art that would upload automatically each month would be useful. I believe there is a way to do this but I do not know how to. For more complicated accounts, ART is a bit too simplistic. Another point is that you can not put a note to the approver prior to submitting the account. Also, if you want to change the description only for an entry made in the previous month, you cannot do so. You need to close the entry and add a new entry. Now that we have been on ART for a while, I new training session would be beneficial.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/06/2020
Amy M.
Financial Systems Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/06/2020

"Simple Reconciliation System that gets the job done"

Comments: It's like that older but reliable car, it starts up everyday and gets you from point A to point B but doesn't have all the flashy bells and whistles.

Pros: Simple, nothing complex, ability to update frequency of recon, good basic documentation for any newbie to figure out, few errors/issues/down times

Cons: Recon view is not user friendly or easy or easy on the eyes. It would be nice if it was easy to see any variance and explanation right at first glance and know where to go to view a document. The ability to customize a report, no great out of the box reports. It would be nice to have the ability to deactivate/remove accounts (rather than just set to not reconcile), just in case they were imported incorrectly to begin with.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/06/2020
Rhonda C.
VP Accounting
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/06/2020

"ART simplifies reconciliation process & retention"

Comments: ART has saved us time by not having to shuffle paper around for approvals, and has saved us paper and storage space. We are able to allow auditors to look at recons in the program, which has saved us many hours pulling and scanning reconciliations for them.
Electronic review & approval of recons cannot be circumvented, which ensures that nothing gets overlooked and provides proof for auditors.

Pros: I like the review/approval process in ART, and the flexibility to use the reconciliation item list, or to attach an excel recon. I also like the ability to upload line items.

Cons: Some functions feel a little obscure if you don't use them often. Also, once a recon is reviewed it moves to the reviewed list, and it still has to be submitted for approval. It's easy to overlook that submission step. It would be nice if when you accepted a recon a question would pop up asking if you're ready to submit it. Or better yet, if when you review the last recon remaining in your list, the system recognized that and popped up a reminder that you have items waiting to be submitted. Or, if the next time you signed in to ART it would pop up message if you have items that are either in process but haven't been submitted, or reviewed and waiting to be submitted.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/06/2020
Karen S.
Finance Project Manager
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/02/2017

"ART Rating"

Comments: The ART software was a perfect solution to help automate our company's 400+ balance sheet general ledger reconciliations. The implementation was easy and completed in just one month! The customer support has been excellent; from implementation, training users, and ongoing maintenance, they have been responsive and helped every step of the way. ART is easy to use, has excellent reporting capabilities, and has customizable quality control features. We have been very satisfied with the product!

Pros: Ease of use, customer support, and reporting capabilities.

Cons: Within the individual recons, we cannot edit the date of an open item, so items begin aging when they are input, not when they occur. As a result, the aging of items is not truly accurate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/02/2017
Austin S.
Director of Internal Audit
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2019

"Satisfied User - Internal Audit Director"

Comments: From an Internal Audit perspective, ART works well as an archive facility.

Pros: Ease of Use. Setup was a bit challenging in terms of the re-occurring / auto-reversing transactions that are necessary.

Cons: The ad-hoc reporting is a bit primitive / not as sophisticated as needed. Unable to traverse across fiscal periods for reporting. Hyperlink functionality between tasks would be welcomed and would assist in our productivity.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/03/2019
Irina R.
Sr. Accountant
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2018

"The system works very well for our needs"

Pros: Ability to store reconciliations online. Eliminates need for paper storage and filing. Ease of uploading excel and other documents.

Cons: Uploading tasks could be less complicated. Previewing an attachment you uploaded without having to download it first would be a big plus.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2018
Sue M.
Accounting Specialist
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2018

"I went from hating ART to seeing the definite value in it."

Pros: As a user I like how you can organize your accounts by who does the rec, what has been prepared and what still needs to be done, and it's easy to navigate. It also helps to find coding errors and accounts that have balances that otherwise you might miss.

Cons: At first it seemed very time consuming and it was very slow moving between pages. I have noticed a difference in that regard and it is much better. And, because I had so many accounts it seemed like I spent one whole day doing nothing but ART, but since I have learned to net some of my accounts together and I'm hoping this month will go very quickly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2018
Randy M.
VP Commercial Operations
Banking, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017

"ART System Review"

Comments: I had the opportunity to use the ART Skystem system for a couple of years. It was a great system for us being accountable for all the settlements we were responsible for. It was also a great system for our Comptrollers department as well. The system training was top-notch. The customer service was also excellent. Response time would be same day on the occasions we needed assistance. I had the chance to meet Customer support representative and was very impressed with the knowledge she possesses! If you are considering this system I would highly recommend it...!

Pros: The ability to attach matching balanced settlements in the system making it easy to research and compare totals.

Cons: Sometimes the staff would get hung up on where to attach a settlement. Once they got used to it they became comfortable with it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017
Christopher R.
ADOF
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018

"Great reconciliation tool, easy to use and review"

Comments: This is a great substitute (upgrade) from old Excel workbooks. Very user-friendly and easy to learn and use.

Pros: Attaching back-up and showing monthly accrued items works very well. This is a great tool to replace the old Excel files we were using.

Cons: My only issue is when updating balances is happening I cannot get my recs completed. Too often I log-in, start to work and get a screen saying the system is busy, try again later. If all upgrades and updates were done overnight I would be 100% satisfied.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018
Cathy H.
TASK FORCE DOF
Hospitality, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018

"Sky Stem (ART) is a great system"

Pros: I like that you are able to attach all of the documentation needed and it is all in one place. The ability to go back and find something in the documents makes it very convenient.

Cons: the actual saving and attachment process are a bit time consuming because of the slowness of the system most times. The convenience of having everything in one place makes up for the slowness.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018
Verified Reviewer
Tax Accountant
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/02/2018

"It is very nice tool to save your all GLs at one place and reconcile all the general ledger."

Pros: It is very user friendly. Processing time of this software is very short. New user can operate this very easily. Reconcile in standard reconciliation forms and in multiple currencies.
Reconcile multiple periods simultaneously.
Utilize system algorithms to perform up to 35% fewer reconciliations each month.
Electronic sign-off. Paperless review process.
Transactional matching between data sets.
Real-time dashboards to monitor status and exceptions, and more.

Cons: Limitation of size for uploading the file/attachment . You can upload max to max 15 mb file. There are so many files which size become more than 15 mb so we can upload that size of file in this system.rest all is good.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/02/2018
Scott F.
accountant
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2019

"Preparer and backup preparer for reconciliations"

Comments: Goal is to reconcile and record account reconciliation for our internal and external auditors. We are more organized and consistent.

Pros: The software allows many accounts and tasks all to be in one place. I know when they are done or partially done. Organized and consistent.

Cons: It is possible to ADD a task where might not want it, because the headers are small. ADJUSTMENTS TIMING DIFFERENCE SUPPORTING DETAILS are too small, and time gets wasted.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2019
Joel D.
Accounting Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2017

"ART is a definite improvement from what we were using before for our monthly BS account analyses."

Pros: The software is straightforward and easy to use both from an admin and user perspective. Set up and monthly maintenance is simple. The different monthly reports are helpful especially when it comes to tracking work status and keeping track of who and when changes are made in the system. What I like the most about using ART is the customer service. The response time is quick no matter what time I reach out to them for help.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2017
Chad F.
Analyst
Banking, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019

"ART Recon"

Comments: Would highly recommend for banking

Pros: Ease of use and functionality make it so repeating similar processes are no issue

Cons: On occasion the system can have lag loading time

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019
Trang D.
Senior Accountant
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2018

"Customer rep. was quick to resolve my issue."

Pros: The ART software is easy to navigate and user-friendly for first timers. I had no issues before and currently.

Cons: The only con I recognize is that every year I tend to forget to change the FY for the new year. I just wished it had a select field like the Reconciliation Period.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2018
Kathleen B.
accountant
Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019

"ART review"

Comments: ART is a very helpful tool. the only problem I run into is having to adjust some files that exceed the uploading file maximum so that it will be attached can be a pain.

Pros: easy to navigate through the screens and easily see month end totals

Cons: having attachments too large to upload so some files need to be adjusted to be uploaded. Meaning, the big companies don't have entire back up in the system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019
Kathryn W.
Controller
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/01/2018

"Exciting product, great people. Implementation was smooth."

Pros: It is forces thoroughness when closing out a month. Ability to store data for a long period of time. It is easy to store and retrieve the data.

Cons: Reference manual does not have enough detail. Sometimes the it takes a long time to load the account balances and sometimes the processing will get hung and will only clear when program is exited and reopened.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/01/2018
Myrna C.
Associate DOF
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018

"It is very interactive and friendly user software"

Pros: It is very easy to learn and to use. Need little training to use it. The system is very interactive and easy to complete the reconciliations online.

Cons: The system will always pause when information are refreshed. It is always timing it when we are busy completing our reconciliations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018
Matt G.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2016

"SkyStem User"

Comments: Skystem was the first reconciliation system that I have used. It was a big step up from 3 inch binders.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2016
Julie L.
VP/Finance Division Controller
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/07/2018

"It's nicely organized and a great way to document that all recons are done for the month."

Comments: Organization of our reconcilements and one place to find all reconcilements prepared and reviewed for a given month.

Pros: All of the reconcilements and backup documentation are organized by month making audits a breeze. I also like that you can verify that all balance sheet accounts have been reconciled and reviewed for a given month.

Cons: I wish there was an option for daily or weekly reconcilements for certain accounts and not just monthly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/07/2018
Benjamin A.
Finance Specialist
Banking, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/06/2020

"The Monthly Slog"

Comments: I took over my departments bank accounts in January. So I have limited experience/knowledge with the ART system.

Pros: I really enjoy the import functionality. I will take the extra time to set up an excel sheet for each of my accounts to easily import my transactions to balance the account. and I say "extra time" but the less than one minute of extra prep time per account saves 2-3 minutes of time I would spend putting one transaction in at a time.

Cons: Very slow load times, when adding transactions or supporting documentation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/06/2020
Susan H.
Accountant
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2018

"ART seemed slow compared to using Blackline, taking a long time to process"

Pros: I like the home page with the graphs and the task manager ability. I like the fact that you can see the review notes and you also receive an email with the review notes.

Cons: Recon page is too broken up between adjustments and support sections. Too many items to check off once you have completed the recon. One statement to certify should be sufficient. Also don't like the fact that you can't go back and edit adjustment items the next month.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2018
Negede G.
Director of Finance
Accounting, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/02/2018

"I use SkyStem for balance sheet reconciliation and it has been fantastic"

Comments: Timely balance sheet reconciliation. Able to load reports to third party auditors, and able to assign different tasks to multiple users.

Pros: Easy of use and multiple features for download/uploads and preparer and approver features. It's also accessible from anywhere with internet and web browser.

Cons: It takes time for the system to update. Sometimes it also takes time to download supports and documents.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/02/2018