eXo Platform Reviews

4.6 (108) Write a Review!

About eXo Platform

Open-source digital workplace solution that helps you connect your teams, tools, and knowledge.

Learn more about eXo Platform

Pros:

Good tool to focus everything in one place. It has a good interface making it easy for users to use.

Cons:

In the beginning, when we start working on Exo Platform, it service is quite slow. Another issue is that when one wants to extract data from data base, it is not that much flexible.

eXo Platform ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

eXo Platform has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 108 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used eXo Platform before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (108)

Òscar
Òscar
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Your open source enterprise social network

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: This great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile. Some Features: 1. Microblogging and Activity Streams
Activity Stream displays text messages or multimedia content posted by employees , customers, suppliers. It is where you'll find all your company's activity.
2. Document Management
Take advantage of version history, rollbacks, votes, comments and more. It lets you store files in a private and secure environment, in other business systems like SharePoint, or in other cloud storage solutions, such as Google Drive or CMIS repositories.
3. Knowledge Management
Wikis, Forums, Calendar, Answers & FAQ
4.- Profile Management
It's possible to manage and organize all the contacts in your organization in a single directory, together with information on their professional profile.
5.- Groups
Create your own collaboration spaces complete with dashboards, discussion forums, wikis, calendars, and documents. Allow any user to create a collaborative space and invite other users to join with different permissions according to roles
6.- Search
eXo includes an ElasticSearch based search tool segmented according to the sections and contents in your intranet, indexing other contents published by other systems, making it a federated search tool for your organization's entire knowledge base.
7. Add-ons Marketplace
Apart from its native features, you can also integrate eXo with other business applications, productivity tools like BonitaBPM, JasperReports Server, etc.
8.- Mobile
Native iOS and Android app.
The Cons:

Pros:

eXo is an Enterprise Social Network that will improve productivity across the board in all members of the company. It's very feature rich so if you want your organization's knowledge, private, secure and organized then you have to try it!

Cons:

We not found any except the lack of a feature found on other enterprise social networks like Yammer (gammification).

Junior
Junior
Senior System Analyst in
Verified LinkedIn User
, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Everything you need for building a social network niche in on place

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: I have been worked on a personal project where I intend to create a niche of social network. I looked for frameworks available on the market that could provide a complete infrastructure to run out my business and I found it at eXo. EXO plataform provides all basic features for developing a niche of social network, such as authentication, active streams and others features you can imagine for a social network. Particulary, one of the reasons I have decided by using of eXo is because it is written in Java, basically ( JSP - you can extend to JSF, Juzu ...) and works over portlets, i.e., you can built modules and apply them over your portal. If you are looking for a framework for build a social network I strongly recomends you at least do a trial with eXo before going deep into your project.

Pros:

- Documentation; - Active community, I've got answers for all questions I've done at eXo forum; - Customizable portal; - You don't need touch any line of code to launch a social network;

Cons:

- Server is too slow during start up, I believe that is due to the amount the packages that it have to load; - No so flexible for extracting data from database. EXO uses JCR (Java Common Repository), i.e., you will need to use an API to extract data

eXo Platform Response

8 years ago

Thank you for the detailed review! Your feedback is very much appreciated. Let us know on eXo Community when you project is live and make sure to connect with us if you have further questions but it looks like you are already an active forum user :)

aliah
Malaysia
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

not an open source platform as advertise in the search engine.

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: Your product is very good but no download option for open source platform as result in the google search engine.

Khothatso
Khothatso
Freelancer in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The best solution for Employee Engagement.

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

eXo Platform offers everything you need when it comes to optimum team collaboration and communication. I like because it has everything you need in one solution, from document sharing to video and instant messaging, there is absolutely no better way to ensure workplace productivity than by using this platform. I can organize my work and share and exchange them with my team and we work well together using it, it really is amazing when you looking for a solution that offers employee engagement.

Cons:

The interface is not exactly beginner friendly so It will help to be patient when first using it. Too many update notifications can be annoying.

Ashleigh
Ashleigh
IT Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Marvelous software for all sorts of Collaboration.

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Exo Platform is an outstanding software that provides an excellent platform for collaborating for our projects. It consists of powerful and effective tool that helps a lot in our business. It comprises of perfect features and functionality is fantastic. This software gives best solutions for communication problems and provides good opportunity for easier and effective cooperation among the co-workers.

Cons:

In the beginning, when we start working on Exo Platform, it service is quite slow. Another issue is that when one wants to extract data from data base, it is not that much flexible. In order to start video conference, it takes long time to understand the issues.

Divyang
Divyang
Java Developer in
Verified LinkedIn User
, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

eXo Platform - Suites for Social Collaboration,Crowd and intranet based application

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: eXo platform provides features that match requirement of social collaboration,intranet and cloud base application.I am working on eXo platform (1+ year) it is easy for portal customization functionality. It is easy for admin to define users with roles,permission and group management.

Pros:

eXo platform provides features like calender for defining tasks,events and meetings with reminder functionality, chat application with video confrencing, Blog engine for writing blogs and sharing information, WebDAV support for sharing of documents.

Cons:

In Older version of eXo platform some time it distorts UI and UX but after releasing new eXo platform 4.1 version they are fixed and lots of new functionality added.

eXo Platform Response

8 years ago

Glad we could fix your issues with the new version. Thanks!

Alex
Alex
IT in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Military
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great way to interconnect. Very well put together.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: I am able to save time at work

Pros:

Love the UI. Big number of add-ons and features. Very reliable. It was very easy to use once I got the hang of it. A little intimidating at first but doesn't take long to get used to.

Russ
Russ
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Awesome!

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I am a huge fan of eXo Platform. The software is the easiest to install and use, from the install/admin side, as well as fluid from the user's perspective. Many of my staff where this has been implemented have an aversion to computers, but they were able to pick up interacting with eXo easily. I would recommend this to anyone who manages an intranet or needs a collaboration suite.

Pros:

Easy to use, easy to install

Cons:

Plugins/add-ons are limited and can be confusing.

abhishek
abhishek
SME in
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp
5.0 8 years ago
Marco Marcello
Marco Marcello
Director de Innovación in
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Evaluating alternatives

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: eXo Platform is really a userfriendly software, you only need a few hours to be familiarized with the different tools. I warmly recommend it for your organization!

Pros:

Very Intuitive Good Look and feel Very complete integrated communications platform

Cons:

I´d want to see more interactions, integrations, with things like CRM, HRMS, ...

Òscar
CEO in Spain
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Your open source enterprise social network

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: This great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile. Some Features: 1. Microblogging and Activity Streams
Activity Stream displays text messages or multimedia content posted by employees , customers, suppliers. It is where you'll find all your company's activity.
2. Document Management
Take advantage of version history, rollbacks, votes, comments and more. It lets you store files in a private and secure environment, in other business systems like SharePoint, or in other cloud storage solutions, such as Google Drive or CMIS repositories.
3. Knowledge Management
Wikis, Forums, Calendar, Answers & FAQ
4.- Profile Management
It's possible to manage and organize all the contacts in your organization in a single directory, together with information on their professional profile.
5.- Groups
Create your own collaboration spaces complete with dashboards, discussion forums, wikis, calendars, and documents. Allow any user to create a collaborative space and invite other users to join with different permissions according to roles
6.- Search
eXo includes an ElasticSearch based search tool segmented according to the sections and contents in your intranet, indexing other contents published by other systems, making it a federated search tool for your organization's entire knowledge base.
7. Add-ons Marketplace
Apart from its native features, you can also integrate eXo with other business applications, productivity tools like BonitaBPM, JasperReports Server, etc.
8.- Mobile
Native iOS and Android app.
The Cons:
We not found any except the lack of a feature found on other enterprise social networks like Yammer (gammification). Anyway, It's open sourced so you can extend it easly!

eXo Response

8 years ago

Hi Oscar, Amazing to read so much details in your review, thank you very much! About gamification, it's a topic we are currently working on so we would love to get your feedback and ideas on eXo community website. Feel free to use the request feature section or open a topic in the discussions forums. Cheers, The eXo Team

Oscar
CEO in Spain
Information Technology & Services
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Your open source enterprise social network

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Open Source software and a good knowledge management system are mandatory nowadays. eXo is a social collaboration platform packed with a lot of features for organizations wanting to add a social dimension to their existing information system or build a social intranet.

Cons:

eXo Platform creates real business value as it enables faster communication and better decision making across our whole organisation but it's difficult to engage employees without help.

Bhoomin
Self-Employed in India
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

eXo Platform

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I have been exploring features of eXo Platform while trying to develop an Agriculture Based Business Portal. eXo is a great Open Source Collaborative-Social-Enterprise-Content & Knowledge-Management-Platform that offers complete Portal Life-Cycle Management facilities like: 1. Intranet & Extranet
2. BPM & Workflow Management
3. Folksonomy/Taxonomy Support
4. Cloud Ready
5. Mobile
6. IDE, Template Editing & Output
7. Easy Content Migration
8. REST services
9. Multi-Language Support
In my experience, eXo does simplify the development, customization and maintenance of Business Portals. Bhoomin Pandya

eXo Response

8 years ago

Hi Bhoomin, Thank you for your review and good luck with your agriculture portal project. Let us know when it's live and we will happily get the word out ;) Cheers, The eXo Team

Lan
Vietnam
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

An interesting and useful platform

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: In my point of view, eXo is a great solution for both social and portal service demand based on its various features. I must say that it just likes a combination of everything from intranet, social network to blog, wiki,... everything in one. Therefore, with eXo, maybe I dont have to think of any other website since it has covered all what I want and all what I need.
However, yes, everything has two sides, perhaps due to such a rich diversity, its processing speed gets troubles and makes people feel uncomfortable when using. I thought that, eXo now should focus more on refactoring its platform so that it can serve customers better. Having many functions is not yet good, but a quick response at least never causes people get mad.

Loreto
Inventory Analyst in Philippines
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Nice software!

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Exo Platform helps us to properly collaborate project or task.With this, the team can have different views to contribute in making project successful.

Cons:

None at this time, Exo Platform has many functionalities to use.. its really helpful to us!

Stévan
Product Manager in France
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

The Platform for Enterprise Social Collaboration!

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Social collaboration tools for Enterprise! This is a big deal and eXo Platform is nicely succeeding on the tools they are providing. It has a wiki, a calendar, an instant messages with video conference tool and document management system - all (and a lot more) integrated in one extensible platform. I particularly like the overall experience, with the UI, the UX and the integration between all the tools provided. It is really easy to get started with. The icing on the cake: it's open-source cooked ;)

Russ
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Amazing

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I am a huge fan of eXo Platform. The software is the easiest to install and use, from the install/admin side, as well as fluid from the user's perspective. Many of my staff where this has been implemented have an aversion to computers, but they were able to pick up interacting with eXo easily. I would recommend this to anyone who manages an intranet or needs a collaboration suite.

Divyang
Software Consultant in India
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

eXo Platform - Perfect suite for social collaboration and intranet types projects

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: eXo platform provides the features that satisfy requirement of social collaboration and intranet projects. eXo chat application is very good with providing video conferencing. eXo Calender features is also vast for defining events,tasks,meetings with reminder.eXo blog enging is very helpful to share ideas and thoughts to social networking.

Digambar
Digambar
Assistant System Analyst in India
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

easy to use eXo

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile.

chandan
chandan
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp
5.0 7 years ago
Michelle
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Well designed

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: eXo is a well designed platform that contains all the communication tools often available across distributed systems. It solves many communication issues with one tool. The system is easy to use.

stanton
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great social engine!

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: It's very interesting has a lot of features i've been looking only issue i have is the steep price. but hey try before you buy! overall i have to give this a 4 star rating. it's decent great even but not perfect. though nothing is perfect.

Pros:

super easy to setup beautiful design layout good support friendly community

Cons:

haven't found one yet maybe the price tag but understandable.

Danna
Danna
Socio Networker in
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Excelente

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: The user interface is very clear, users were put in control instantly. The system of groups and activities are well designed and helps to engage people from all levels of the company.

Sanjay
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Awesome platform with rich collaboration features

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I liked the UI and the flexibility of the eXo platform. Also, rich collaboration features such as forums, wikis, documents and calendars around social networking, activity streams and workspaces.

Ambarish
Ambarish
India
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

What a greate learning platform

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: A full-featured collaborative / document / social networking suite. Awesome support from their teams.

eXo Response

8 years ago

Thank you for the great feedback Ambarish! :)