15 years helping Emirati businesses
choose better software

About Datadog

Datadog is a service that helps increase uptime and maximize the performance of services through centralized monitoring and alerting.

Learn more about Datadog

Pros:

It's expensive but the pricing is easy to understand and keep track of.

Cons:

Filtered tags is very Slow. The integration with another tools is difficult.

Datadog ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Datadog has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 241 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Datadog before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (241)

Dnyanoba
Dnyanoba
Deputy Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Datadog for log analysis of cloud

5.0 last year

Comments: Till now we have one of the good experience with the data dog as it is helping us a lot in monitoring our cloud and database server. A support from datadog team is also good thing to consider.

Pros:

The best feature of data dog is real time monitoring of logs and vulnerability scan which stands unique to save the server and cloud from further damaging

Cons:

The datadog user interface is very hard to learn and with the minimum training anyone cannot operate it fully also a lot of integrations are very difficult to operate.

Shayla
Shayla
Human Resources Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Using Datadog to guarantee bug-free software

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: It's an intuitive program that provides users with comprehensive records of all recent actions. Displays success or failure of the process. If the attempt fails, identify the faulty stage. It explains everything from beginning to conclusion.

Pros:

All of Datadog's basic building blocks are top-notch. Their data ingestion is lightning fast and (usually) dependable, their graph widget is adaptable and usable in a wide variety of contexts, and they have a good track record of introducing products that combine these features.

Cons:

Our experiences with Datadog support have been continuously negative; the company goes out of its way to avoid direct communication and offers irrelevant answers.

Pankaj
Software Engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best Monitoring and Observability Tool

5.0 last month New

Comments: Best and good experience with datadog tool.

Pros:

Experience with Datadog is Best. Using this Tool since 1 year. I worked on many monitoring tool but this is the one best for cloud and infrastructure monitoring. Datadog provides many third party tools integration, we did many integration and monitored many services. we can setup the alerts on our services for let us know before any unusual activity happens. and main thing is we can redirect that alerts to our notification channel and our teams to work on that. We can integrated our frontend and backend applications and we can collect logs also for our application and we can more debug it. They have built in dashboard feature we can manually create dashboards according to our use case. we can also create synthetic scripts and synthetic monitors such as ping for testing our website is available or not or its properly working or not. we can query our data and fetch it accordingly. Talking about AWS and azure services integration, Its totally easy our teams hasn't fetch any issue, its easy as it is. overall experience is good while using this tool best for keep our application and services up to date and running. They have active customer service.

Cons:

Nothing to dislike about Datadog, pricing is quite high but this tool has providing you lot more integration and active customer support so you can raise your query and You will get feedback fast.

Craig
Owner in Australia
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Couldn't install

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: If you can get it running I am sure it's good.

Pros:

Looks like it should do the job, less log limits than other products.

Cons:

Spent days trying to get it working on a pretty vanilla Windows VM but never could get it up and running. Support pretty much just told me to read the documentation which wasn't really helpful after going over it ten times already. Had similar problem with another product and they could tell me the exact lines of the config and registry that needed changing.

Benson
IT Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Valuable Data Safety App

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Datadog has improved the data security procedures, and it gives companies the right operational support.

Pros:

The security measure from the program has been well implemented, and it resolves all the data needs.

Cons:

The most efficient data resolving needs are well captured by Datadog.

Srinivas
Srinivas
Vice President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Application Performance Monitoring tool!

5.0 last year

Comments: Datadog helped us solve a critical reliability and traceability problem we had with one of our customers. There was not clear visibility into the root cause of an issue when it happens and that caused finger pointing between teams. While there were other monitoring tools being used, they lacked the capabilities that Datadog has which provided much greater visibility and helped us improve the reliability of our system landscape. Onboarding was a breeze and customer service top notch!

Pros:

Service Map, Session Replay, Custom metrics and monitors

Cons:

We had a sticker shock after onboarding, as the was the hosts were counted for certain infrastructure was not clear from the documentation.

Sandeep
Sandeep
Systems Engineer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One Consol for everything related to monitoring

5.0 last year

Comments: Excellent.

Pros:

I need not have multiple monitoring solutions for different Applications. So, creating combined Dashboards/Monitors/Alerts is very convenient.

Cons:

Pricing is a little on the high end, but it's definitely worth it .

Yaniv
Yaniv
Director, QA & Processes in Israel
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good service for logs management and analysis

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We used it for querying and analyzing logs in case of problems in our platform (bugs, stability, performance, etc.)

Pros:

The searching and filtering capabilities where quite convenient

Cons:

The stability issues in the last year got more often than usual, which is quite problematic when you need access to you logs in real-time

Aiovino
ICT Manager in US
Utilities, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Determined Solution for Data Enhancement

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: The analytical options from Datadog gives a reliable performance and analytical option.

Pros:

The platform helps in managing data, and this increases on performance.

Cons:

There is no discouragement from the platform.

Lucia
HR Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Solution For IT Management

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

It has amazing network monitoring and IT management features Setup and understanding it is easy.

Cons:

All smooth with Datadog. No serious concerns

Khatibur
Platform Engineer in India
Restaurants, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Real time Platform Monitoring Tools

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: DataDog is the best observability monitoring tool to detect any type of error in the system. The user interface is very simple and customer support and account help our teams in providing training and guidance in case of any issue. It can easily integrate with all third-party tools like Jira, slack, opsgenie

Pros:

The most like features of datadog are it provides real-time monitoring of any happens In the system and it is easily customizable. With the help of logs, we can easily create the monitor and dashboards. It can easily use all other third-party tools and can create alerts. It also provides anomaly which works on past data and it is sensitive and useful. Datadog is also AI capable, There is a feature called Datadog Insight which can easily detect any error in the system.

Cons:

Datadog is a fairly new application, Learning advanced features we are not able to find much documentation and learning on the internet. It also stores limited historical data and licensing is fairly high compared to similar monitoring platforms.

Henry
SRE in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

New Aged way of Monitoring

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall experience has been great overall as our account managers will always do their best to try to meet our requirements and needs. They have done a good job at planning out all meetings with senior engineers when required.

Pros:

I truly enjoy the integrations that datadog provides. It allows us to view more metrics that are more of a deep dive into specific applications. These metrics help us understand what is widely monitored in the industry that we did not think about monitoring ourself. Another key item is that datadog comes out of the box systematic checks that we normally had to add in manually for a newly onboarded host.

Cons:

The item I dislike least is that when you decommission a host the application requires up to 24 hours for that host to officially disappear from the list rather than being removed immediately.

Shagun
Cloud Engineer in India
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

"Data-driven insights for smarter decision-making."

4.0 last year

Comments: I've been using DataDog for a few months now and I'm really happy with it. It's a great monitoring and analytics platform for applications and infrastructure. It's easy to set up and configure, it's reliable, and it provides a lot of useful information to help me troubleshoot and monitor my applications. The dashboards and graphs are easy to understand and are great for getting an overview of how things are performing. The alerting and notifications are very useful, and I'm able to quickly identify and address any issues. Overall, I'm very satisfied with DataDog and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a reliable and comprehensive monitoring and analytics platform.

Pros:

Datadog provides real-time insights into the performance of applications, servers, and services. It helps you quickly identify and troubleshoot issues before they become critical.Datadog is easy to set up and use. It requires minimal configuration and supports various cloud services and integrations, It provides a comprehensive monitoring system for both on-premises and cloud-based applications.

Cons:

Limited Customization Options: While Datadog provides a lot of pre-built dashboards and visualizations, it does not support extensive customizations.Datadog is a high-end monitoring platform, and its pricing reflects that. It can be expensive for small businesses, especially those who don’t have a large budget for monitoring software.

Isaac
Principal SRE Architect in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best in class APM that can meet all APM, Monitoring, and Logging needs

5.0 last year

Comments: I love it - i use it for work, I use it for home. I find it amazing for finding problems and monitoring systems.

Pros:

I can handle ALL things in Datadog. I have an answer for CI / Pipelines, arbitrary metrics, trace data, logging and more.

Cons:

There are a lot of specific costs. Compare, if you will, with NewRelic (all features are free) or Dynatrace (cost on retention and davis units). If you enable "all the things", it can be costly.

billl
dir of platform engineering in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

datadog stuff

5.0 last year

Comments: i have a great account team that really partner with me. the service is very useful and reliable

Pros:

the ease of implimentation and the ability to capture meaningfully info easilyquickly

Cons:

it's super expensive....almost cost prohibitive

Michael
Engineering Lead in US
Computer Games, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Datadog is best in class

5.0 last year

Comments: Love it, could not imagine better.

Pros:

Easy to use and gives us the data we need to understand what is happening in our applications.

Cons:

It has taken us a while to implement. Ebs support is not as intuitive as others.

Jahiezer
Desarrollador in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

one of the best software for monitoring in the market

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This software allows to monitoring all you need and also can find lots of solutions for a high gama of cases. by using this app i be able to see the problems that me and my team have, so we can solve it by utilizing all the data that datadog provides. Works in differents OS and that make things more easy

Cons:

The proces to instal and put in march this softwre can be a nightmare if you have not experience, it is really complicated. Though the software have nice tools, the price is not the best in the market, is posible to find something good for lowes price if you know what are you loking for. And finally haved some problem with some data transfer working with this app but i really dont konw what was the razon why

Mohammad Rabiul
Freelancer in Bangladesh
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Datadog Review

5.0 last year

Comments: Making the decision to utilize Datadog really facilitated my job. One of the finest tools that I can use to keep an eye on the performance and health of my projects is the study of the logs. This gadget works nicely and is quite practical. Real-time logging is effective. Definitely essential.

Pros:

From my opinion, with the most excellent features that Datadog has as user can track and take after logs in real time, something truly imperative to have within the case of extend is live. I usually like the idea of creating custom sees of sets of logs (with custom channels, information parsing and a parcel more) which user will share them together with the user group.

Cons:

Setting it up for the first time, seems like is a little challenging which is not at all simple to use or understand all the capabilities that Datadog provides at first. Interface is challenging and occasionally a roadblock. Then, filters are not very helpful if user fields are not properly mapped.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Monitoring for senior developers / platform people

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use it as a primary monitoring system. I'm a senior developer in charge of my team and I use it a lot. Dashboards are used daily in order to monitor what's happening, usually when deploying new features or changing some endpoints. We can trace the improvements we do by measuring response time, amount of errors, etc. I, as team lead, also use notebooks a lot to elaborate the QBR (quality business review) each quarter. I can create custom reports easily using the custom metrics we have configured across all the microservices. In comparison with New Relic, from my personal experience, Datadog is much better.

Pros:

Dashboards. Custom metrics. Ruby integration. Notebooks. Monitors & alerts.

Cons:

It takes time to understand each part and understand how to use it. It's a complex thing and if you're not familiar with monitoring systems it could be difficult to figure it out how you can find what you need.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Monitor full stack app performance with Datadog

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

For our AWS deployment, we use Datadog for application performance and server monitoring as well as synthetic HTTP tests . DataDog enables real-time information and measuring engineering-specific metrics and allows you to control how you trace and diagnose data. If you are looking to track the time it takes for a web hook to fire after an asynchronous request has been made, you can store the time the request has been sent in your database and when the webhook fires for that request, measure the delta and send it to DataDog. DataDog integrates with Slack, which allows for alerts on average and max thresholds.

Cons:

Datadog has a mature product but features are limited, the tool feels dated and the UI is very plain.

Žymantas
Platform Lead in Lithuania
Media Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Platform observation tool

5.0 last year

Comments: We are happy to use

Pros:

We do like easy management and analysis of logs, tracing .

Cons:

Helm charts is bit hard to understand. Configuration might be hard for non experienced person

James
Senior Manager, Engineering in US
Market Research Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

maintain observability with Datadog

5.0 last year

Pros:

Ease of use and flexibility. Beginning teams can leverage out of the box but you can grow into this product as it is quite feature rich. The product just works.

Cons:

It is so expensive that we consistently have to trim usage when not needed. Also due to this we have to justify the product constantly

Kevin
Software Architect in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great metrics and monitoring

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall Datadog has given us great insight into what is going on with our server infrastructure, it has opened our eyes to some issues we weren't aware of. On top of that it's helped send alerts when things are going wrong.

Pros:

Datadog has integrations with pretty much every main software service you can think of. It has pretty robust support for Windows machines and the custom metrics support is great, so you can track anything you'd like.

Cons:

The usability could be improved in some areas, the custom dashboard features are powerful but the syntax can be hard to work with.

Amiril Rahmi
TPM in Indonesia
Entertainment, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good tool for APM

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is very useful tool and we hardly getting any downtime issue with the Datadog itself.

Pros:

We use Datadog mostly for our infra monitoring and log management. These features are very useful as they are real-time, helps to make sure our services are up and running, provide alerts whenever there's anomaly, and we can always trace back using their logs.

Cons:

Pretty pricey and their UI is not easy to understand, first time user will need more time to adjust.

Agustin
Head of Infrastructure in Argentina
Logistics & Supply Chain, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A very complete tool for website monitoring

4.0 last year

Comments: We use it to discover errors in our apps.And we are now testing the RUM service to find out how our customers experience our site.

Pros:

We discover Datadog as a better alternative to NewRelic which was extremely expensive.We found that Datadog is a very powerful tool with tons of features and services. It provides very detailed performance insights such as speed, latency, uptime, potential threats, etc. We use it mainly for Application monitoring and Real User Monitoring, and we found out that it correlates events between different services which makes it very easy to pinpoint issues with our apps.

Cons:

It was a little hard to installed all the integrations.And because of a lack of communication with our account managers we ended up paying much more than we thought when deciding to switch to Datadog.The integration with AWS resulted in all host from all environments to appear in Datadog, many of which we didn't need to, and that resulted in a very expensive bill for that specific month.