15 years helping Emirati businesses
choose better software

About CMiC

CMiC Accounting & Financial Controls offers core functions such as: Budgeting, Forecasting, General Ledger(GL), AP/AR.

Learn more about CMiC

Pros:

It is very powerful if you plan well, set it up well, and find an experienced internal resource to manage it.

Cons:

The interface is very out-dated and hard to use (particular on mobile browsers), it requires constant maintenance, patching, and testing. It's expensive to integrate with things.

CMiC ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.0
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

7.9/10

CMiC has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 171 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used CMiC before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (171)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for project teams

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall CMiC has been beneficial in my current role. With this system I am much more efficient in tracking documents and project financials all on one platform.

Pros:

CMiC has a tremendous amount of tools encompassed in the software. The ability for project teams to work within the software simultaneously helps to enhance the user experience. This comes in handy when you have multiple subcontractors and/or project team members who all need to view the same documents.

Cons:

Although a great tool, CMiC is a fairly robust software. New users should be prepared to spend a good amount of time learning the ins and outside of the software to really become proficient with it.

Rachel
Business Intelligence Analyst in US
Construction Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

CMiC

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: After several years on CMiC software I would say that it is absolutely the best integrated project management and accounting ERP available. The implementation can be time consuming, but the benefits are definitely worth it. Everyone is up to date with the latest information on our projects, so it makes collaboration a breeze. Our management loves the ability to get real time accurate and detailed reports of exactly what they need to make business decisions. Great company and great software.

Pros:

CMiC's greatest contributions to our organization are that it provides a powerful and scalable infrastructure that allows everyone to collaborate, stores all our organization's data and documents in a central location, and has excellent reporting capabilities to analyze our data. CMiC is great at getting our company to collaborate and share data. No more calling around for information or searching through files. We believe that the reports from CMiC are a significant contributing to our organizations ability to make decisions and be successful. Tip for Success: Taking the time to thoroughly review and understand the settings for each module will greatly improve your organization's experience with CMiC. Don't guess at what the settings do. Try recording the training sessions with your CMiC implementation team, so that you can review it later. Ask questions freely. And be sure sure to join CMUG, the CMiC users group. They have forums, monthly calls, demos, and are a great help.

Cons:

The implementation process can be long. The distribution and segregation of the software settings to multiple locations makes it difficult to manage the system and troubleshoot issues. One central control panel would make it much more user friendly.

Karen
Accountant in US
Construction Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

CMIC is cheaper but not user friendly

2.0 last month New

Comments: My company had Spectrum which we really liked but was getting very expensive. So they decided to switch to the cheaper CMIC. This was a mistake which was realized after about 6 months but by then it was too late to switch back. No one in the company liked it since it was not easy to learn and did not have the capabilities that Spectrum had. I would not suggest this system to any company.

Pros:

Lots of training during and after implementation. Did not need Procore (where subcontracts are set up) because it is included with CMIC.

Cons:

Not user friendly. You need a lot of tutoring on this system because it is not easy to navigate. Very messy system with not much organization.

Hedaia
Planning Manger in Jordan
Construction Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best integrated contract management tools, very suitable for construction projects

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: by using CMiC in your projects, you'll be able to track the progress of the project tasks, as well as the reasons for delays, so that we can arrange all of the project's activities more effectively. A well-organized database for a project is critical to its success. By documenting everything you issue or receive, you ensure that you know everything about the project and can then devote yourself to addressing lingering issues and directing your team in a proper manner. I strongly recommend CMiC.

Pros:

When using a workflow management system like this, everyone is on the same page, which makes it much easier for them to provide input. It's easy to tailor the software to meet your project's specific business requirements, and it plays an important part in coordinating the work of your team. Subcontractor contracts, drawings, material requests, job requests, pour permits, modification orders, and other papers that are utilized in the project can all be managed through a single system. There will be no lost data thanks to CMiC, which organizes the project database and makes it easier to find information when needed.

Cons:

I didn't have any issues while using CMiC; it was easy to understand and utilize for all of the project's disciplines.

Alexandra
Application Engineer
Construction Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

My Review

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Well integrated system overall, but everyone needs to pitch in to make it great!

Pros:

- Business Process Integration - Job Billing module is fantastic from my experience. We can customize our contracts/bills ALMOST any way our users need (with the exception of some change order options). - Gords passion - Constantly trying to evolve/innovate CMiC to keep up with what people. No one wants users to go and find another program to do something that they feel CMiC cannot do. Mobile and BI are some of the newer things that have kept us from having to explore other options.

Cons:

- Performance/Speed is overall a bit slow - We have BI in our DEV environment. It is on its way to becoming very useful for us, but it's not quite there, but I know it's still being developed. I wouldn't say that it's really the least favorite of mine, just that I am really excited to see what else is coming.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

CMiC Review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall i enjoy using the software not only for change order needs, but also submittals and RFIs' which makes it nice to send notifications through one system and not have to exchange multiple emails.

Pros:

I use CMiC on all of my projects and what I like most is being able to arrange different projects and have all the respective subcontractors. To be able to handle all change orders between the owner, the GC and the subcontractors makes the project run smoothly, along with being able to determine what is proceeding, what is pending and what has been completed.

Cons:

What I like least is that the CMiC software is very sensitive. There tends to be issues with the forecasting when a change order or Potential change item is posted which can sway the budget and what it actually is.

Christina
Project Accountant in US
Construction Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Review

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Reports are not running properly. Program is extremely slow and not efficient. Some of the reports do not work properly. Wish there was a way we could view the invoices in Invoice query rather than imaging.

Pros:

Program is easy to use and navigate and is compatible with Textura Payment Processing program

Cons:

Very slow and some functions do not work properly which is frustrating when your brain works faster than the programs and reports.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I use CMIC every day.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Everything we do, from accounting to document management is completed in CMIC. We are able to save everything in CMIC for years, so this also helps with document storage.

Pros:

Once there is an understanding of the product, it is very easy to use. The functionality is very useful for large construction companies.

Cons:

Upside down question marks when copying and pasting from word documents. Also, the Java sections are a bit dated.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Tricky Customization

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We've been using another similar software for many years and recently switched to CMiC. The transition has been time consuming but the end result should justify the cost. We're looking forward to having the software fully implemented.

Pros:

I love that we're able to replace 3-4 different softwares with 1 (CMiC). We were able to combine most of our company's departments into this one software which allows more seamless distribution of information. It's a powerful software that can be customized to meet our company's individual needs.

Cons:

Customization was a very long process and we're still discovering issues as we roll it out to our employees.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

CMICProd

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Cmic gets the job done. We’ve been using it to collaborate with our design team and owner reps and everyone has gotten through the initial growing pains of the program

Pros:

It is the only software I’ve ever used for project management. I like that everything is in one place from documents and invoicing.

Cons:

The software appears to be very outdated and can be glitchy. You may also have to click through 5-7 things before getting to the thing you need.

Eugene
IT Director in US
Construction Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Single Source of Truth

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: It has been a good 10 years

Pros:

Single database has a lot of power and provides a wonderful platform for reporting and queries. The abundance of different modules gives us the flexibility to keep most of our processes in a single platform and illuminate integrations

Cons:

As a large system it has an incredibly complex backend. Patches can cause issues that don’t show up in testing because of all the use cases that customers have for this particular software

Mary
Administrative Assistant in Canada
Construction Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

CMiC - Powerful Construction Management Software

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I have been using CMiC since 2009 and was a member of the Pirtle Implementation Team. I assist with training, procedure and reports of the Project Management module. At first some new trainees can be overwhelmed, but they soon find that this software can automate many tasks and improve efficiency. Employees who have moved on to "non-CMiC" companies have expressed how much they miss the software.

Pros:

CMiC has the capability to capture as many details as the user desires and then provides exceptional reporting capabilities. I especially appreciate the uploading of documentation to CMiC and linking it directly to applicable records.

Ryan
Project Accountant
Construction Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall good software

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Overall, CMiC is more user friendly than other project software I've used. 1) The AP Module is straightforward and user-friendly 2) The lookup module for AP and Subcontractor invoices are effective 3) The filters within the program allow for quick searches

Cons:

There are idiosyncrasies to parts of CMiC that are not user friendly and can result in a frustrating experience. 1) Error messages provide no helpful guidance on how to correct and proceed 2) Ticket submissions often sit idle for months before resolution

J-Ashley
CMiC Systems Analyst
Construction Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Ashley's CMiC review

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I have been using this software since 2004. CMiC has come a long way not only on functionality but in customer
service. From day one I have recommended CMiC to other Generals. I am looking forward to all the new functionality
we have yet to implement and what the future holds for CMiC and our company.

Pros:

Integration: Accounting, Human Resources/Payroll and Project Management Collaboration with the project team (internal & external users)

Cons:

It is not always easy to extract the data into 'reports' Changes/enhancements to the software can sometimes be a tedious process

Bob
Project Manager in US
Construction Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

A system that functions

1.0 6 years ago

Comments: I used many software, and I would rather create my own spreadsheets than suffer with this software any longer.

Pros:

It combines project management, accounting, and other aspects into one location with one log in. That's really it.

Cons:

It is extremely slow, I mean really slow, you can hear your clock tick as the circle rotates. The system is extremely difficult to follow. Terminology is inconsistent, owner billing module is extremely slow and lacks basic filter or shortcut features. I could go on for days.

Kaitlyn
Sr. Project Engineer in US
Construction Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Kind of a Utilitarian Dinosaur

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, my CMiC experience has been fine, but I am definitely open to use newer, more innovative software competitors.

Pros:

CMiC has a lot of great features and lets you bring multiple tools and functions into one software platform, so it is nice to be able to access these tools in one location.

Cons:

With all of the new softwares coming out, I feel like CMiC is not evolving to match other innovative softwares. It can feel clunky and seems more utilitarian than innovative and user friendly.

Will
Project Controls Manager in US
Construction Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

2015 Cloud User Review

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: We’ve been using this for 4 yrs. Our users are now satisfied and used to the software, but I’m still not satisfied that the setup is complete. The BI Dashboards are however allowing us to see results of data entry.

Pros:

The customization ability, it’s an all in 1 program.

Cons:

The double entry requirements, difficulty setting up users, complicated to setup jobs.

Tim
Application Engineer
Construction Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

WT Review

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Whiting-Turner has been live with CMiC for a few years now and I would say that it has resolved our dilemma of managing data within multiple software. In the past we used a 3rd party for Project Management and Accounting and now we can safely say that CMiC has answered that need. We can manage everything that we use on a daily basis with CMiC. The way the system integrates AP with Project Management is a huge win.

Cons:

Basic understanding of bid items/billing codes and billing contract can be confusing to many.

Lauren
Assistant Controller
Construction Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall very pleased with the software

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

We have been using CMiC for over three years now. The software was a great fit for our construction company. Once properly set up the system is very user-friendly. The reports run nicely and could be easily converted to Excel or PDF.

Cons:

Frequent updates and sometimes reports won't run when needed. Invest time and money in the initial set up- you won't regret it!

christina
project accountant in US
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Helpful

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: For the most part, it has been pleasant and productive

Pros:

Textura is easy to navigate and there are lot of functions that you can build to your preference for billing and construction management

Cons:

The system is slow and after a certain time we experience slow than others. There are some functions that stop working and needs to have CMIC Technical team fix which sometimes take a while

James
VP, CTO
Construction Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

James Farrell's Review

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: If you need a highly customizable ERP for a large general contracting application, be sure to consider CMiC.

Pros:

CMiC is a highly customizable, versatile ERP for General Contractors. High level of customization, in an integrated solution, specifically targeted to general contractors.

Cons:

The scope and complexity of the platform create difficulties in accessing data and makes updates labor intensive.

Alex
Project Engineer in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I use CMiC daily for managing money associated with construction projects.

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The feature that I like most about using CMiC is how much information associated with my project is easily accessible in the program. Contracts are stored in the program and multiple financial reports are easy to collect with a click of the button.

Cons:

If you are new to using the program, it is hard to utilize the software right out of the gate. Getting started with CMiC is not the easiest to navigate. This program is very smart and there is a lot of information stored within it.

Jerry
Project Manager in US
Construction Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good Value

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

CMiC is a great value pm/payroll software we have been using for many years. The connection with the software and our database is instant and never had a problem.

Cons:

The software needs some time to get use to, once pass that phase, it will make everything you do with it much easier.

Rosanne
Accounting Manager
Construction Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Exceeds needs

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: The CMiC support group is great. I can always count on getting my problem resolved

Pros:

I have had about 2 1/2 years experience now and I feel things have come a long way even since then. The constant updating and making it easier to see everything you need while in the module.

Jennifer
Office Accountant
Construction Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Jen's Review

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It took awhile to get used to but I feel comfortable with it now.\ I like the logs, which are exportable to excel. I like that it runs at a good speed most of the time. I like that it seems to have plenty of room for data/doesn't get bogged down.

Cons:

1099 module not useful. Lack of links to additional information within data points. Pay attention to the variable choices for reports.