AIM Reviews

by Tri-Technical Systems

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.1 /5

About AIM

AIM is a complete point of sale, inventory management, accounting and business software for the retail industry. (AIM is EMV-ready)

Learn more about AIM

Showing 160 reviews

Holly V.
Owner/Operator
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2020

"Pleased!"

Comments: Overall we are very happy with AIM for our business. The tech support is awesome! They are always ready to help and super friendly. I love that they can remote in and show us what to do.

Pros: We have been using the contract module side of AIM for our instrument rental contracts to keep track of monthly payments since the beginning of our business in 2004. We pulled away for a brief stint to try another company and it was a disaster. The instrument rental contracts are the bread and butter of our business. If it fails, we fail. If the customer doesn't feel like they can trust us with their personal info because the system fails, we fail. It's a reflection on us. We came back to AIM in 2019 and went all in with the full point of sale system and we've never looked back. We highly recommend AIM.

Cons: We do wish that there weren't so many steps to follow. Seems like there is a huge learning curve to this program. Once you live it and breath it like it do it's one thing. But my employees tend to make mistakes often because they miss a step.
And for example: having to get out of one frame and into another one for the same customer with a different question about their account is sometimes frustrating.
Also. I really wish that an email went out immediately to my rental contract customers on autopay when their card is declined. The ability is there, as they receive an email immediately when the payment goes through, but not when it declines. This would help our collection dept out tremendously if this option was implemented.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2020
Georg L.
CFO
Sporting Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017

"AIMsi Does it All (almost)"

Comments: Been using the software for two years now, and it seems to provide a solution for everything. I wish there was a bit better integration across the different modules, such as allowing station rentals, short-term rentals, long-term rentals, and contract payments to all be made on the same checkout as regular sales orders, instead of needing to process them all at once. The payroll area also needs some improvements, it is good for recording payroll expense, but you will need a separate application to actually do the real payroll tracking/deductions/taxes. Otherwise it handles everything from rentals, bay/station rentals, it has full accounting, chart of accounts, general ledger, integrates to your purchasing/receiving, has full inventory tracking with multiple locations. Basically you can run your business with a few minor outside resources, from this one package. Even managing employees/time tracking etc... Pros: Accounting, Rentals, POS Touchscreen support, Integrated Credit Card, Employee Management, Membership Modules, Integrated Gift Cards, Inventory Control, Invoice Management Cons: The systems don't all share one checkout - each type of transaction (rental, station, contract payment, merchandise sale) must be rung up separately - The payroll is not very robust

Pros: Accounting
Rentals
POS Touchscreen support
Integrated Credit Card
Employee Management
Membership Modules
Integrated Gift Cards
Inventory Control
Invoice Management

Cons: The systems don't all share one checkout - each type of transaction (rental, station, contract payment, merchandise sale) must be rung up separately
The payroll is not very robust

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017
Steve J.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2021

"Ok for small-scale non-ecommerce shops"

Comments: It was a good starting point, but we outgrew this software within 2 years of starting the company. Our eCommerce portal was functional, but cumbersome.

Pros: The tracking data on products was quite helpful. Serial numbers were regarded as individual numbers with unique purchase order receiving data that could be cross referenced with customer service records and trade-in information. Backorder protocol for Purchase Orders is the one thing I do miss about this software.

Cons: Local server based. This made it very difficult to process transactions remotely (tradeshows, etc) or work remotely.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2021
Miles S.
manager
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2018

"Very updated interface"

Comments: Expensive!!!!! Time to "update" to the newest version? Expensive!!!!

Pros: Solid database. Features specifically designed for our industry like lesson billing, rent to own tracking

Cons: Crashes daily because it isn't fully compatible with newer versions of windows. Not easy to use at multiple locations. Requires arcane network setup like environment variables because you have to pay for a total number of "terminals." Very clumsy user interface because you have to start from the master look up process for every piece of data you need to enter. Autopays are only semi automatic because they only run when you tell them to and once again you have to start from the master look up screen multiple times to: generate an auto pay list with manually input dates, transmit the autopays, post the autopays, cancel the denied auto pays, print out a denied list. Lesson billing is usable yet clumsy, lesson scheduling is a joke.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2018
Sharon M.
Retail, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/09/2014

"Best product available to Music retailers at this time."

Pros: That it captures customer info; examines things like staff sales, top customers, sales totals so I know how my business is growing.

Cons: the fees that you charge for anything extra that could support us.The fact that any type of webinar, workshop or video costs so much even though we pay monthly fees for support. I don't like the fact that even if we pay a monthly support fee we're screwed on the weekend if the system errors and you can't use it. paying an extra fee for the weekend seems like a another gouge. Not enough free tips and support about general usage, considering you only get a month of "free" support to learn how to use the system. If there are other places to get info then you need to get that info out to your customers.
The email module having no support in the way of setting it up - you're on your own having to know outgoing info and whatever else. I had it working once and now it doesn't and when I ask support that admittedly say that's not there area to help with and you have to call your internet provider. Plus when it does work, depending on your provider you can end up getting blocked from using your email for 24 hours.
That I can't look up a serial number to see it's repair history.
That you didn't ask your customers how they felt about your product and get their input -thanks for listening to my request in the email I sent a few weeks ago.

Vendor Response

by N/A on 16/09/2014

Our Support Manager spoke with Sharon and showed her how to look up the repair history on any serial number, and also stepped her through correcting her port number for emailing out of AIMsi.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/09/2014
Brian H.
Owner
Music, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2020

"One stop POS system"

Pros: I chose AIM because it had everything I needed in one place. I am an old school small town music store. Retail sales, private lessons, rentals and repairs are all part of the store. AIM allows me to do all those things in one program. I can look up a customer and see history or whatever I need and it will all be there. I also like that I own the program and it is not a subscription based service. Customer support is very helpful and they can even customize the program for me. Highly recommended!

Cons: There is a lot going on in the program. It takes a long time to understand and get up and running. Don't expect to get it and be up and running in a day. Once you learn how to operate it you will be happy with it

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2020
Aaron B.
Owner/Manager
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/08/2017

"It's a shame - good ideas, bad execution."

Comments: There are a lot of good ideas in this software, but things like a staff that's not on the same page, and a long-awaited refresh of their base tech keep AIMsi a frustrating software package. We stay because our lesson program is to big to be handled by any other solutions we looked at, but I would advise others to hold off until their promised rebuild is released.

Pros: Lesson management is good. Inventory management and sales are serviceable.

Cons: Built on outdated technology, which means the system will get slower and more bloated as your business grows. Simple ancillaries (like date lookup) require Googling to find outdated Microsoft files when you replace computers, and support won't have those files available. E-commerce is excruciatingly complex to execute; why must it be this complicated when options like Squarespace and Shopify exist? They don't require the user to learn XML to take full advantage of their features. The PO system is convoluted, the workflow makes no sense. Inventory management could stand to lose some processes to speed things up and make it more understandable. Reporting doesn't make much sense, either. But the most frustrating part for us has been the staff. Calling support is rarely a good experience; it often sounded like someone was paging through a manual to find a solution. Recently, I found out why: support is tiered, and we are on the lowest tier. I've been using this software for 5 years, and no one at TriTech offered us an upgrade. Online help files don't offer much more in the way of assistance. Navigation is clunky, and entries are often incomplete or outdated. We've also experienced the classic "sales promises features that developers say can't be done" routine. The most recent involved running their product on a Windows tablet - sales said it could be done, but later, support said it was only possible using Remote Desktop Protocol (a thing I wish I knew before I purchased the Windows tablet & an additional license). More than once, I've been scolded by sales for "not understanding how [their] software works." They require you to buy gift cards & hardware through them, at a substantial markup. I'm getting frustrated just thinking about this stuff...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/08/2017
Roger B.
Owner
Retail
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2016

"After ten years, I work with the system reluctantly."

Pros: You can open the system multiple times on the same computer. In the middle of entering a sale, cust wants to try on a helmet or gloves, or just gets distracted; you can switch to another copy of the system until the customer is ready to continue. When using the computer to work on customer information or inventory, you can switch to another copy to verify or copy something. For instance, combining two customers into one, can copy email and then compare or enter.

Cons: The system is absolutely opaque, not intuitive, and byzantine. To deal with a product, it is impossible to find S/A Maintenance unless you know how to find it. Way too many arbitrary clicks and decisions to find anything in the system. Especially annoying is the inability to go back one level, if you make a mistake in these decisions; you have to go back to the beginning, and you might not even remember which decision was the wrong one. The lack of a training program to teach new employees how to use the system is something I have been thinking about for ten years. The rental module does not lend itself to quick service, renting 100 bikes on a busy day. If you suspend a sale, you can't open it and suspend it again; therefore you can neither edit, nor even reprint it. You can't analyze sales data from a sector of the customer data base. For instance, you can't separate the customers from A to M and compare them to the customers from N to Z. This would be useful to analyze the effectiveness of advertising. We could contact all the customers from A to M, but not N to Z, and then compare the results. There's more, but that will do for now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2016
Andrew H.
Technical Director
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2019

"A Small Music Store's Best Friend"

Comments: I used this software as a salesman at a local music store. It worked great to keep track of inventory (sales/ordering/receiving), salesman commissioning, time cards, and it made band rental season easy to manage.

Pros: It's very easy to use for all point of sale needs including transacting sales, sales history, band rentals, gear rentals, powerful customer account features, ordering and receiving. We used it to track salesman commissions and it worked great for that as well.

Cons: No real cons from a salesman/user perspective. It functioned to meet all of the needs of a small, local music store.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2019
Warren B.
Golf instructor
Sporting Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017

"Veritable Jack of All Trades Point of Sale application"

Comments: With many small businesses operating more than one type of business in their store, the demand for more versatile point of sale programs increases and becomes difficult to find. Think about looking at software to purchase and realizing each software application only does a portion of what you need. Say you sell retail products, but you also want to help local artists and sell their merchandise on consignment, plus you take trade-ins, offer repair services, and you wish to maintain a customer database to let them know about future sales; How many points of sale programs are out there capable of handling all that and much more? AIMsi. I'm still looking for the iPad program or another PC-based program capable of handling it all and be completely integrated. What kind of businesses are we talking about? Retail stores, liquor stores, hobby stores, gun stores and shooting ranges, appliance stores, car washes, music stores, bike shops, golf courses, bars and restaurants, grocery and convenience stores, and the list keeps growing.

Pros: User Friendly
Continually being developed and upgraded
A true all in the box solution (point of sale, built in accounting program, built-in gift card program, contact management, B2B and C2B capable, and everything else a business needs to run the front, middle, and back office).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017
Del S.
owner
Music, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017

"Aimsi software for music stores"

Comments: We've been using Aimsi software in our music store for about 10 years now, and we couldn't live without it. It has streamlined our accounts receivable immensley, and made many other facets of our business much easier.

Pros: We've been using Aimsi software in our music store for about 10 years now, and we couldn't live without it. It has streamlined our accounts receivable immensley, and made many other facets of our business much easier.

Cons: The hsitory search part of the service module has some limitations

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017
Roger J.
president, owner
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2017

"pc poll software"

Comments: great customer support, however if I had concerns it would be cost effectiveness, for small business operation, I do not need support that often, but had to pay monies every month to be connected, one time fees should be available at reasonable price points

Pros: support team has vast knowledge of software

Cons: the cost to use this service, would prefer a smaller fee to use this support on a one time as needed order, software is not user friendly

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2017
Phyllis S.
Arts & Crafts, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017

"Johnson's Sewing Centre"

Comments: I have been working with Aimsi since 2005 and my #1 wish would have Canadian Payroll as part of the program. The Lesson module is geared only to music lessons, not for use with sewing and quilting stores. Even though the program is marketed to sewing and vacuum stores the Lesson Module doesn't work well. The purchase order module could be made better committed and in committed orders are confusing, and it's more time consuming to use the program than to hand write a PO. The number of accounts that are available for banking needs to increase as there are many more payment options these days. We take e-transfers, direct deposits, gift cards, as well as cash, cheque, debit, and 3 major credit cards plus gift cards from these various places. Since we deal with a number of outside agents that get stock from us we have had to be very creative with using the transfer in and out a program to keep track of the inventory that is sent to these agents.

Pros: The price point is very affordable and tech help has always been good Bryan is great at what he does.

Cons: Needs to have a more modern look and feel, and could be made more efficient, maybe being able to have windows open, when you generate a report you can not minimize the report and generate a second one without launching another Aimsi window this uses unnecessary server resources. Social media links and the ability to link to a website/e-commerce that you have built would also be nice.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2017
Tim S.
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2018

"This software does everything"

Pros: It handles almost everything under one roof. This is nice because we don't have to purchase multiple POS systems and record keeping software.

Cons: It can be a lot of steps to complete a task. Version 12 is supposed to be much easier though so I'm looking forward to it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2018
Tim W.
Owner
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2016

"Great software, great support"

Comments: We've used aimsi for years, with the upgrades it keeps getting better and I am always impressed with the support

Pros: It has a multitude of modules and we can customize it for our particular needs

Cons: No real dislikes. Ive been very impressed with all it does

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2016
Mark H.
President
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2016

"Deluca Music AIMsi review"

Comments: Probably the best software on the market for a store of my kind. There is a module for everything I need to run a retail music store and academy.

Pros: Seamless operation between modules

Cons: The price.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2016
Dianna C.
Billing and AIMSI management
Retail
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3.5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2016

"Good product, great service and capabilities."

Pros: Comprehensive system with great support. We currently use the rental contract module and sales invoices the most, but plan to expand to several other modules in the near future. It's very helpful to be able to slowly implement different modules at our own pace to fit our store's needs.

Cons: Lesson module is not flexible to handle teachers who collect their own payments and pay store rent, only set up to handle payments handled by the store.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2016
Jim H.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2014

"AIMsi- highly recommended for music store software."

Pros: It's rock solid and stable. It doesn't give us problems on a day-to-day basis. I do the back end part where we put instruments and accessories into the system for our rental and leasing module, and it works predictably and well. The vendor is awesome. We have received nothing but top-notch service and support from Tri-Tech.

Cons: The only problem I know of is inconsistent and erratic success when emailing invoices and approval sheets directly from AIMsi. What we do when it has to be right the first time is print the document, scan and email it as a PDF attachment to the customer. I also find the service module more complicated than it needs to be. It can be learned, but it takes a while. We have no complaints about the vendor; Tri-Tech is terrific!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 04/09/2014
Christopher H.
president
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/10/2020

"Great software for the firearms industry"

Pros: We use this software everyday for the gun shop. it is great at keeping everything in one place and easy to use.

Cons: the software has problems like everything but the difference is the tech staff helps you through it or fixes it quickly with updates

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/10/2020
Mike D.
Owner
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2018

"It helps run all the segments of my business"

Comments: We have been using the program since 1998. The DOS version

Pros: The modules that correspond to each segment of my business work well. The fact that I can purchase as few or as many as I need is nice.

Cons: The program procedures are not always intuitive
Web design in the program that interfaces with AMSi is difficult

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2018
Jessica R.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/09/2019

"Poor support, lost data,"

Comments: There is little help for setting up the system. There are so many options, that it was hard to set up. When I called to get help, they wanted to charge me more than I already paid for tech support or they wanted to charge me to have someone fly out and set it up for me. When I had problems, they made me feel like I should know everything they do about computers. After having the system for over 2 years and trying to make it work, losing all my data and having to start over and paying for their top tier tech support the whole time so I would not loose any updates, I have given up. I spent thousands of dollars on software, hardware and tech support and then found out this system that I never even rang a single sale on, cannot be transferred to another buyer.

Pros: It was manufactured by a small company so I thought the support would reflect that.

Cons: The system crashed a few times. It is difficult to learn. The support was not great.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/09/2019
Brent B.
Service Manager/Programer
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2017

"Great Software"

Comments: AIMsi software has all the features you need and works just like you would want it to, not so complicated that you need to go to school to learn it. What you need to know, you learn through a very good one on one session with a trainer form Tri-Tech who will answer all your questions and show how to do what you how to do anything you do not understand. Tech support is great and very affordable. I would highly recommend it.

Pros: Covers just about any retail situation you can think of and has grate tech support when needed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/01/2017
Stefanie S.
Manager
Retail
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2.5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2016

"Tech support is not knowledgeable"

Pros: It is the only software specifically designed for the needs of a music store. It is convenient that you can call and get assistance with a question on how to use the software.

Cons: Their tech support. They are polite but clueless! The service we were getting years ago with the standard support was much better than what we get now for the same money. We feel that the people we talk with do not know the software very well and are making wild guesses on how to solve the problem we are inquiring about. Many times we are given conflicting advice from different tech guys on the same issue. Numerous times we have been on hold for up to an hour waiting for their tech guy to figure out how to solve a problem or just answer a question we have about using a certain feature from their software. It is very frustrating and it is waste of our time. Also, you have to pay for every single new module or improvement they make. Unfortunately once you buy their software and start paying every year to add a new module, you do not have a choice to cancel since you have invested quite a lot of money.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/07/2016
Julie P.
Vice President
Retail
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2.5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2.5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/07/2016

"Review of software from P M Music Center"

Pros: Product is appropriate for our business and an industry standard
Vendor - not much to comment on here

Cons: Product does Not have enough hands on training
Vendor is very difficult to give helpful advise

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/07/2016
Joel M.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/10/2012

Comments: AIMSi has been an integral part of our business since we converted to their software in 1995. As a multi store school music dealer that relies heavily on rentals and repairs, the school service modules of the software have been extremely flexible and accomodating and have served our needs well. We've used the Point of Sale and Purchase Order modules since the transition as well, and they've both offered efficiencies in our sales and ordering. The dynamic Inventory Management Min Max system has allowed us to cut between 30-55% from our inventory levels in our different product categories, creating cash that we've redeployed for business growth. All in all, a great business tool that we've been delighted with since our transition.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/10/2012