SolarWinds Service Desk Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.6 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.7 /5

About SolarWinds Service Desk

SolarWinds Service Desk provides businesses of all sizes an easy to use and affordable ITSM solution that can easily scale with you.

Learn more about SolarWinds Service Desk

Showing 514 reviews

Jeffrey J.
Support Supervisor
Utilities, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/09/2020

"New to SolarWinds Service Desk--Perfect fit for us!"

Comments: I am Super Happy with this software. I am the administrator and I love having the ability to make changes and customization on the fly. The user friendliness of it is well above our previous software we used.

Pros: Efficiency--There are so many things that can be updated from the main page that lists your incidents. Very easy to learn and to use.

Cons: Integration with Active Directory. We were able to setup Single Sign-On, but it wasn't as smooth as I would've liked. But it does work, so it's not really a con, just the complexity of it was a little more than the rest of the setup.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/09/2020
Jodie K.
Director of Technical Services
Higher Education Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"SolarWinds Service Desk"

Pros: SolarWinds Service Desk is an intuitive, robust and dependable service management platform. It is cloud based (big plus) and continually has new feature/functionality roll outs.

Cons: The mobile app could use some work, it is a little cumbersome from a technician's stand point.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Brett H.
System Engineer
Retail, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/10/2019

"Great Cloud Service with Many Features, Expensive for the Full Version"

Comments: Incident, problem, and change management are all extremely easy to set up and begin using due to the cloud-hosted nature of the product. As it is fully web-based, low-level training is not required for techs or users.

Pros: Easy to deploy as it is a cloud-based system. Initial setup requires low effort and detail. Branding is easy to apply, functionality is easy to test out of the gate.

Cons: Information on asset discovery, connections, and scanners feels lacking. Connecting to SCCM via the database has very little information, and after a month of attempts, it is not functional. Support has been a bit slow on response when inquiring regarding this issue, even after purchase.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
SharePoint Administrator/Developer
Higher Education Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020

"Practically Perfect in Every Way"

Pros: It has a clean, easy to use, and intuitive interface. We have only scratched the surface of what it can do.

Cons: I haven't really found anything I dislike. Our previous solution was that bad.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2020
Ronald K.
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2014

"A great solution"

Pros: They do not provide a cookie cutter package, but rather a sandbox approach, where you can make it what you need it to be. If something you want is not in there, chances are good they will add it or help you find another way.

Cons: The reporting functions are a bit inflexible at this point. It is not a deal breaker, but there are times it does not fill the need or allow as many options or format capabilities as needed. The amount of data provided about the software installed on the various systems is second to none. Their agent does an exceptional job in this area Based upon this and because of this, the system needs to allow more options for software categorization and organization. Sometimes, too many differing programs are all clumped together and are too difficult to sort. I realist that this is in part due to some software vendors and how they package their programs. But with a system as robust as this one, there should be a way to allow for more where needed. Sometimes, their instructions are a bit lacking. Too often, I am provided with an overview rather than a step-by-step instruction that at times would be a bit more helpful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2014
Brian T.
Systems Administrator
Market Research Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2018

"A Great Replacement for Our In House Service Desk!"

Comments: We've replaced our outdated, cumbersome in-house service desk with Samanage. We're already seeing higher productivity because of the SLAs we were able to set. The automations available within the system help streamline ticket submission and remove a lot of the back and forth when information is missing.

Pros: We've had great support from day one. The support team answered all of my questions about features when we trialed the system, and they've continued the great support after we officially signed up. There are also improvements made to the platform all the time. The platform offers way more than we use it for, but it's affordable and it's something we can grow into over time.

Cons: Some basic features are missing. For instance, I can't set the system up to alert the entire team when a trouble ticket is closed. This was an important feature on our old service desk, as it let the team know when someone else sorted out an issue. This also helped share solutions among the team. Now, when a ticket is closed, it simply disappears from queue without team learning. The emails that are sent out can't be branded, and the customization of the emails is very limited. It's nice to be able to open tickets via email, but I'm a bit disappointed with the lack of customization. Some sorting/filtering options don't seem to work properly. Tickets always sort by ticket number by default - not by status. This can't seem to be changed for some reason.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2018
Jason L.
IT Service Desk Support
Consumer Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2020

"User Friendly"

Comments: Easy to upload a Solution Article and based on the employees that are using this on our company it's very interactive because all of the information is already displayed on the interface.

Pros: First of all, I really like the GUI of this Ticketing Tool compared to my previous ticketing system we are handling which is Service Now. This is very easy to use and all of the information is very efficient to find

Cons: The Chat response from an agent on Solarwinds takes time to respond. If there's an outage the email delivery is slightly delayed for the announcement

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2020
Zechariah L.
QA Lead
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2019

"Great inventory management software"

Comments: We do not use their app for mobile devices, we utilize their "Other section" for our device inventory.

Pros: We use this software to manage remotely deployed devices, and with the ability to pull our device IDs and ICCIDs in directly from a downloaded CSV from our MDM, it has saved us a ton of hours. The sales staff was incredibly accommodating and worked with us, as we had a very short deadline to get this software up and running. Any time we've had to call in they've treated us very well. I would definitely recommend you give them a look.

Cons: The product look, is a bit out-dated, doesn't really display well on our high-res monitors, but other than that I haven't found any cons as of right now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2019
Adrian T.
IT Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2020

"Easy to use service desk, with many great features"

Pros: I like the amount of information that the agent gathers and reports back to the service desk. Having an abundance of information at my hands makes my job infinitely easier.

Cons: Sometimes the agent will report software that no longer exists on the device. This can cause some inaccuracies.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2020
Chad B.
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2014

"Ease of Setup, Configuration, Use, Modification, and Deployment"

Pros: Samanage has not only been painless, but it's actually enjoyable to configure and deploy for our Enterprise. The staff at Samanage is quick to respond to issues or questions and went the extra mile to provide multiple demos for our organization to maximize its exposure and approval to purchase. We have found the community engaging, intelligent, and helpful. Many of our situations have been rapidly addressed with helpful advice or probed deeper to determine possible features for the product.

Cons: The product is still developing, so while there are no failings, there are some areas where it can be expanded to allow more in-depth reporting and issue routing. The application is very robust in dealing with incidents, but could use some of the incident features expanded into other modules.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2014
Tom R.
IT Helpdesk Manager
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/03/2017

"Excellent System - Got us up and running"

Comments: Samanage has been a huge help getting out IT environment off the ground. We need a simple, configurable system that we could quickly get into and start running tickets out of. Samanage has been excellent for this. I will always recommend this product to small IT organizations and organizations that need a fast and easy to implement solution. Their support team is fast and responsive, the support chat functionality in the tool is the best implementation of a chat tool I have seen in any product.

Pros: Fast and easy to configure

Cons: Could use some more customization of tables and routing fields between records- but that's a pretty high-end request and Samanage does basic ticketing very well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/03/2017
Verified Reviewer
Systems Engineer
E-Learning, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2015

"A fantastic ITSM solution!"

Comments: We have been using Samanage for over a year now, and we are very impressed with this software. We set this up as a new ticketing system for our internal users, and it has exceeded our expectations.

Pros: The customer support is fantastic; the people at Samanage are very helpful and respond promptly, which is great. The app is very customisable, and there really is a lot more that it can do than meets the eye. I particularly like the way that Samanage tracks our IT assets using a companion application which goes on each computer. This has proved very useful when trying to match kits to tickets.

Cons: The only way that I think Samanage can be improved is if there was an option to automatically change a ticket's status when somebody responds. Apart from that, this app is perfect!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2015
Jared B.
cloud system administrator
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2018

"ease of use, intuitive and friendly to learn."

Pros: Implementation of ITIL and ease of use. The SLA integration helps keep our customers happy. Change process is easy to use and attach incidents.

Cons: notifications bell is glitchy and not mouse wheel friendly. Having multiple tabs open does not sync well with each other.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2018
Vijay D.
Recruiter
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/03/2018

"Best asset management and benchmarking"

Pros: The Asset management portion functions smoothly and the utility was easy to push out via GPO. The Workflow engine is great too.

Cons: Would like to see reporting around purchasing. I personally can suggest more portal customization and ability to customize messages.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/03/2018
Maria R.
Account Manager
Medical Practice, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2017

"Tool is very easy to use & navigate . Took very less time to understand right from the start"

Pros: It is intuitive, simple display easy of use and general flow. I also found it fast and easy to configure. The support chat functionality in the tool is the best implementation of a chat tool I have seen in any product.

Cons: Portal does not have an Alert messaging and limited workflow tools within the app. Some additional workflow customization features would be helpful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2017
Stephanie O.
Support Center Manager
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/03/2017

"Easy to use"

Comments: I like the layout. It makes sense and is easy to use. Currently the only thing I would suggest to change is I don't like how when your mouse rolls over the top left menu and automatically opens it. I would rather just like to click on it when I need it. Sometimes it pops open when I don't need it to. Other than that, so far, so good! I don't know much about the back-end of things, but when adjusting users, I hear that you cannot delete an old account, so when we were making some changes there were a few bugs to work out. That's all for now!

Pros: The ability to manage issues in a way that can be tracked.

Cons: The apparent issues setting up permissions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/03/2017
Andrew C.
Assistant Vice President - Information Technology Systems
Financial Services Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/09/2020

"Powerful, complex system"

Comments: We utilize this as our master repository for IT Operations.

Pros: Integrated service desk, issue tracking, inventory (software and hardware) management, and change management.

Cons: It's pretty complex. I would really like to see better end-user / admin training available to fully capitalize on all the features.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/09/2020
Steven H.
Systems Administrator
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2015

"3 Months into our Samanage install"

Comments: We moved from Fogbugz, which was used primarily by our developers, to Samanage 3 months ago. We reached many limitations with Fogbugz from a reporting and support perspective and there was no way to track assets with it so we need to move on to a different solution. We are a 450 eCommerce company with a team of 5 support techs.

Pros: So far so good with Samanage! We have been getting tickets in like crazy and the end users are loving the portal. The asset management portion is working well on it's own. We haven't tweaked with it yet. It was easy to deploy the utility via GPO though. We have been working on work flows and categories lately to help with the service desk and reporting. Samanage Stars is Fun!!

Cons: Would love the iPhone app! I know they are working diligently to get that out to their customers. The only complaint we have so far is that it appears you need to manually manipulate the asset data after it is pulled with Owner names, locations and company asset tags. It would be helpful to know where each field is pulling info from so that we could map it accordingly. Other than that, Samanage has been a great solution and their support has been spot on.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2015
Aziz K.
Information Systems Lead
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/10/2020

"Samanage for Non-Profit Visually Impaired Employees"

Comments: We had no issues until towards the end of the contract when the account representative wasn't willing to help us.

Pros: The ticket management as well as inventory management features met our needs and were simple enough to operate.

Cons: The pricing for us from a non-profit point of view was high. They have/had a policy of informing them 30 days in advance that we wouldn't renew for a year. We informed them 29 days ahead of time, and the account rep simply wasn't accepting that and we had to needlessly pay for another year for a service we didn't use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/10/2020
Verified Reviewer
Manager Telco Operations and Information Technology
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2018

"Fantastic Product"

Comments: Samanage is helping us to truely provide the level of service that we want to offer, as well as streamlining our tracking of assets. I cannot say enough good things about Samanage.

Pros: Samanage is by far the smoothest ITSM and Asset Management tool that I've ever used. The UI is intuitive and powerful without being cluttered, such as I find some other solutions. The integration between service and asset management is seamless and easy. The pricing is very reasonable for the benefit that we receive.

Cons: The setup is perhaps the hardest part. Getting the workflows and automations set up is a bit cumbersome, but I would expect this with any solution.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
IT Support Specialist
Real Estate, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2018

"Great ticket software"

Pros: Easy to update tickets, easy for the user to just reply to the ticket. Quick loading and nice tracking system.

Cons: Updating tickets is a hassle sometimes, to assign users you have to click edit if you are in the ticket instead of just selecting a drop down from the service view.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2018
Jasom B.
Contract Graphic Designer
Medical Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2016

"Great project management software"

Comments: As a contract designer, I am not in the office. My boss can easily assign tasks to me and give me all the content, deadlines and details I need in order to fulfill a design request. My boss is able to view the progress of the request without having to be directly involved by looking at the comment trail and proofs that I upload. I can easily communicate to the job requestor and stay on track. I wish more companies I work for had a job tracking software like this.

Pros: able to directly communicate to the job requestor, able to reply to responses via email, tracking, file upload, set deadlines and meet timeframes

Cons: changing categories, not able to change the order (from left to right) of the columns on the service desk

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2016
Raju P.
IT Applications Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2017

"good for small team, but multi-team use has some draw backs for moderate/large IT departments"

Pros: I like that Samanage is all web based and easy to submit/open tickets by email--very customer friendly.

Cons: The problems we experience with Samanage are related to teams within IT that have to cover components of the ticket. The Search functionality requires macros which is too complicated. Each status change sends a message to everyone, way too many emails go around--should be consolidated to a single message every ten min or so--or leave it up to the user to send a message. There is no Private Messaging within IT team, so we are constantly leaving comments, and then reassigning tickets to each other, but this leads to numerous emails going around.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2017
Verified Reviewer
IT Support Manager
501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2018

"Overall successful and happy"

Pros: Ease of use and deployment. Their deployment team worked hard to get everything we needed setup and working

Cons: missing some features such as active searching of solutions while submitting tickets. As well as support is scarce after implementation

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2018
Grant C.
Deskside Support Engineer
Logistics & Supply Chain, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/03/2017

"Very Easy to Use"

Comments: Samanage is nice because it is very easy to use and there are so many features that you can customize. The price is very fair for everything that you are able to do with it. End-users appreciate how easy it is to use as well. I needed help on a couple things when setting it up and I was able to get a hold of customer support very easily and they stayed in contact with me throughout the set up process which was nice. Overall my experiences so far with Samanage are great with a nice price.

Pros: How much you can customize it and how straight forward it is to use. Even for people who are not tech savvy at all.

Cons: The service level agreement portion was rather confusing and sort of difficult to set up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/03/2017