15 years helping Emirati businesses
choose better software

About PagerDuty

Cloud software that connects people, systems & data into a single view for visibility and actionable intelligence across operations.

Learn more about PagerDuty

Pros:

Good features, integration with third party monitoring, customization on monitoring and alerting modes.

Cons:

Confusing why there are schedules, teams, rotations etc. too much burden and it’s not simplistic to setup for first time use. Setting overrides and viewing on call schedule should be at the forefront.

PagerDuty ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

PagerDuty has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 210 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used PagerDuty before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (210)

Corey
Corey
Manager, Incident Management in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Bye Bye to old school on-call practices

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Issues that use to "fall through the cracks" or receive no attention/acknowledgement at all have been almost eliminated totally. The time for a technical resource to be alerted to an incident and acknowledge it has gone from 15-25-35-45mins to 5 minutes or less. Teams are now proactively alerted to issues that may turn into something big before the customer notices any impact.

Pros:

PagerDuty is incredibly easy to setup and use. Creating new teams, on-call schedules, and escalation policies can be done in a matter of minutes. You can go from manually looking up people via a google calendar or an excel sheet, to engaging an on-call resource in 2 minutes or less from the great app while you are on the beach. The integration with Slack is great, no other way to say it. Very useful for incident notifications for those teams that rely heavily on Slack.

Cons:

The reporting functionality of PagerDuty needs some further enhancements. Obtaining certain data such as "what users are using which contact methods" for example still needs to be provided by contacting their Support team. The filtering of the Visibility console needs work and is currently limited to "All Teams" or a single team.

Boyang
Junior Data Integration Developer in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A Modern and Reliable Incident Management Platform - PagerDuty

5.0 last year

Comments: We have been using PagerDuty for a few months now and have been really pleased with the experience. The incident response capabilities have been invaluable in helping us quickly address any operational issues. The user interface is easy to use and the integration capabilities have been especially helpful. We have experienced a few hiccups with customer support, but otherwise our experience has been positive.

Pros:

PagerDuty is a modern and reliable incident management platform that has simplified the way our team deals with operational issues. It has an intuitive user interface that makes it easy to navigate and manage all aspects of incident response. It also provides detailed insights on incidents and their root causes, allowing us to quickly identify and address any issues. The integration capabilities have been especially helpful in allowing us to quickly integrate into our existing systems and processes.

Cons:

The only downside we have encountered with PagerDuty is that the pricing can be somewhat expensive for smaller businesses. Additionally, the customer support could use some improvement, as responses are sometimes slow.

M. Serhat
Senior Software Engineer in Germany
E-Learning, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

On-call software with rich features

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: I have been using PagerDuty for 1 year now, and I'm with the product so far. The only negative thing about the PagerDuty is the big latency during the incidents.

Pros:

PagerDuty does the job. It's gonna wake you up in the middle of the night, no matter what. The number of ways they are providing for acknowledging an incident is great. You can get a call, an SMS message, a push notification on the browser, or a mobile notification for an incident.

Cons:

PagerDuty has some latency when it comes to acknowledging incidents. After acknowledging an incident by using the mobile app, getting an additional phone call about the incident is a little bit annoying.

Brian
Brian
Senior Network Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Top tier alerting system

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

It allowed me to setup any kind of complicated 24/7 scheduling across the team with backups and escalations.

Cons:

Some parts of the interface were a bit hard to navigate, but this was minor and not that bad.

Kenneth
Devops Engineer in US
Financial Services Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

PagerDuty : A solution to almost every problem you didn't know you had yet

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The software just works. We have had almost thirty thousand alerts flow through PagerDuty since we first started using it. The software completely replaced a rather broken SMS / Email alert chain overnight and has been by far the most valuable product we have purchased for keeping our system uptime levels where they need to be. Lastly a personal experience which I will always cherish. It's a snowy winter day and you're on call, but you needed paperless, and cat food, and pedlyte and diapers and other bits, so you took your 2 year old to a big box store. You're all the way at the back of the store and your phone goes off with "Something's broken... Something's Broken... It's your Fault! ... It's your Fault!..." In the box store, with a full cart and a toddler. Next thing you know... you're flying through the box store to the front, diapers falling out of the cart, sippy cup lost, toys missing, and toddler singing along with your phone since he now knows the words quite well. Get to the front, abandon the cart, the two children's voices still going full tilt, and get out to the parking lot just in the nick of time to production by ninja resizing a set of boxes as they are almost to the point of falling all over themselves. No one noticed. Thanks to PagerDuty. And now I'm *still* known as "The Something's Broken" dude by the managers of that store. They sing it to me every time I'm there 2 years later.

Pros:

Integration with CloudWatch, webhooks, Jira is outstanding, functional, and reliable. The application has gotten better over the years I have used it. Handles real issues in real time with everything you need Allows on-call individuals to customize their notification scheme to fit their life. Having full control over when, where and how you are "dinged" is just awesome.

Cons:

It's a little expensive per user if you need simple API things. The rule set for routing isn't as good as VictorOps for the same price point. PagerDuty is missing a "default route" option like VictorOps has. This is minor, because it's rather trivial to setup an extra account and use that "extra dummy account" as the "Default". I'm counting this as a "con" since we have had to do this for every single deployment of PagerDuty I've worked on where we wish to have alerts go to a team, but not actually notify anyone. Lastly, business-hours-only alerting is a little weak. (Maybe it has gotten better.) Every implementation I've found, we need to have some sort of queued' alerts which we don't want to wake us up in the middle of the night but we want to or need to know about next business day situation we have had to work hard to implement in PagerDuty.

Derek
Incident, Problem and Service Level Manager in Australia
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great solution for on-call and incident management for any organisation!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have implemented PagerDuty across our SRE and Support organizations and are beginning to roll it out to our engineering teams. This is providing us rapid Incident response and rapid engagement of teams to assist during incidents, no matter what time of day it is or where the teams are geographically located.

Pros:

PagerDuty very easy to configure and use, I've given access to team leads with no instructions and they've been up and running that day.

Cons:

It'd be great if PagerDuty could integrate with all versions of Jira natively without a 3rd party plugin.

Tom
Tom
President in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Helps me sleep at night

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: PagerDuty keeps my entire team in the loop when something goes wrong with our app. We couldn't deliver the level of service that we do without PagerDuty

Pros:

I love that Pagerduty has integrations with all of the application monitoring tools that we use. If anything starts to act up, Pagerduty makes sure we are aware of it.

Cons:

Nothing really. The pricing is fair, the reliability is flawless.

Chris
System Engineer in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Pager Duty

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Helps monitor critical systems and alerting

Pros:

The alerting, even when you turn the volume down on your phone if an alerts triggers the volume will get turned back up for that alarm

Cons:

After a few years the price started to increase.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

PagerDuty make it feel more like a pleasure than a Duty

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Surprisingly easy to setup rotating schedules, schedule maintenance window exceptions, and have alerts triggered from many sources including email. No one on call can say they didn't hear their phone anymore.. you will be phones, emailed and SMS messaged.. and it will loop until you (or someone else on rotation) knowledges the issue.

Pros:

Easy to setup. Trigger alerts via emails. Good interface. Integrates easily with MS Teams. Rotating schedules for multiple team members. Easy to make schedule exceptions. Easy to acknowledge alerts via email, phone, app or SMS.

Cons:

I can't really think of any Cons. I really enjoyed getting this setup and benefiting from the easy alerts.

Monish
Monish
senior software engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ensure High availability of your product to the end user by integrating it with PagerDuty

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: PagerDuty helped our product to become highly stable and it ensured high availability to the end user, overall had a great experience with it.

Pros:

PagerDuty is used to send alert notifications to developer, We can use it in a way that when ever failure occurs notify the developer who is scheduled to be on-call, Even a customer escalation to a email can trigger a pagerDuty notification alert, when the receiver email ID is subscribed with PagerDuty, PagerDuty has escalation policies , in which multiple users can be in different level, if level 1 failed to resolve the issue, the level 2 dev gets a alert etc .. and the dev's can be scheduled to rotate there levels in fixed time intervals, like weekly bases, It Dose a good job of maintaining the issue states & the alerted issue has different lifecycle such as triggered, acknowledged , resolved, snoozed, It maintains analytical dashboards on dev's which shows the responsiveness of the developer , like how many issues they have resolved and what is the average resolution time or have they escalated it etc .. it maintains history of alerts, it has good customer support, the resolution note's can also be added against the alert, We can configure the alerts as Low and High Urgency , based on which we can have different type of notifications, types of notifications are phone call, message, email, push notification in pd app etc ... pagerDuty deduplicates the alerts with same message, if a incident is in open state and if same incident occurs again and again , it will not be raised.

Cons:

Sometimes when i resolve the alert on web, i still get a call on phone, If the incident was resigned by the developer to a other user who is not in the escalation policy and if he did not answer the alert the escalation chain stops, instead it should be thrown back to older escalation policy from ware it begun

Danny
Sr. Software Engineer, DevOps in US
Marketing & Advertising, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

An Excellent Service for Orgs with complex alerting needs

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: PagerDuty has met all of our needs to-date. We reassess vendors regularly, and have yet to try someone else.

Pros:

PagerDuty has an incredible featureset that spans just about every "on call" use case you could dream up. They highlight new use cases regularly in blog posts and Account Management is pretty solid.

Cons:

Pricing is far higher than competitors which makes it a tough pill to swallow with annual billing. There's not much focus on controlling costs and very little leniency on things like prorating user seats if we have a new hire (it appears to be billed as a full month). With the highest price point in the industry, Account Managers usually have leniency to retain customers by avoiding these nickel-and-dime approaches to billing.

MANAS
Senior Software Engineer in US
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Get alerted when your services go down or on urgent mails from the customer, and track it

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: PagerDuty has continually helped us in identifying the unusual issues and edge cases, now our product is stable, and we ensure high availability of our services , it has been a great experience with it

Pros:

You can use pager duty for different purpose to get alerted and track the alert till the alert was addressed, we use it for the alert on service down and failures, so that the product issue can be addressed and fixed at the earliest, Pagerduty serves this purpose good, it alerts in different mediums and at different levels, and there is a rotation policy, if a level 1 user dose not addresses then it alerts the level 2 user and this rotation gos on till the issue is properly addressed, and there are good features like time tracking, historic analysis , team groping, different alert policies, scheduling the users to be on call, snoozing the alert, escalating to other user, etc

Cons:

some times the web UI becomes slow, the app version dose not have all the features that the web version has

Mahesh
Lead Analyst in US
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Be alerted when your process or application fails, to ensure high avilablety

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: This is a good way to keep our applications in a highly available state, it is really useful and great tool to have

Pros:

This Tool is simple and effect, the sole purpose of this tool is to alert the developer, and keep track the alert was resolved or not, so , there are escalation policies that can be defined, such that when a primary user dose not acknowledge the alert, it wold be escalated to a other user in the list ,order wise there are different type of alerts hards and soft, so we can set different notification methods for both, supported notification mediums, phone call, SMS, app notification, email etc.. We can add note for all alerted insedents, we can see the history of alerts and to come to a conclusion and fix it for a long term, they have a great support team

Cons:

I don't see any issues with the service, some times even if we resolve the alert in the web UI, we still receive the call

Danny
Product Support in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Product

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Having PagerDuty set up to trigger alarms to will notify my team is truly priceless. Whether we are on duty, or in an On-Call scenario, PagerDuty is always around to let us know when things go wrong.

Pros:

I love how reliable PagerDuty is. My company has PagerDuty implemented for not only our On-Call regiment, but also with alerting. Since we've been using PagerDuty, we've ALWAYS been notified of issues that we've created alerts for. Sure, it's not always fun to receive a call when On-Call, but we can always rely on PagerDuty to be functioning correctly to ensure we are informed in the most critical of moments. Keep up the good work!

Cons:

No cons to report, honestly. Other than having a critical moment where PagerDuty is having to be utilized. However that is no fault of the PD Team!

Kristian
CTO in UK
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Powers our on-call engineers

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Without PagerDuty we could not run our on-call rotation. The learning curve is pretty steep, but once you have things configured correctly its a fantastic tool

Pros:

- Love the on-call rota, the ability to schedule overrides and multiple call out hierarchies - The wide range of alerts and abilities to interact with the product via multiple channels - Integrates with most tools natively, and there is always email alerts to fall back on - Ability to customize alerts based on email content

Cons:

- The learning curve is pretty steep - Suffer from alert overload and the AI features are extra

Philip
SE in US
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good On Call Platform

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Easy implementation, good support

Pros:

Great two way communication with LogicMonitor. Only product we found that would stop the on call alert when the LogicMonitor alert cleared.

Cons:

There is no way to notify a non licensed user when the on call schedule. We’d like to have our team DL emailed whenever an on call changes.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple, but powerful...

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Our experience has been good, but it all depends on your implementation. If you don't plan your implementation and set your rules properly, you're going to have a bad time. Read through the implementation guides and best practices before you pull the trigger on making this product live.

Pros:

PagerDuty makes it so easy to set up your paging rules and schedules as well as integrate it with your monitoring solution. We use it with What's Up Gold and it does a wonderful job of making sure that the right people are informed of an outage.

Cons:

Sometimes if there are multiple alerts in a short amount of time, you can get overwhelmed with notifications and phone calls. I've been in the situation before where when being paged multiple times at once, I couldn't actually acknowledge the pages because my phone kept getting called over and over again for different alerts.

Sahil
Lead Software Engineer in US
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of those products that solves one key problem really well

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Reliable. We rely on Pager Duty to keep our downtime to a minimum and we've never had complaints with it and PagerDuty itself always seems to up and alerting us in a timely manner. The alert channels are highly customizable and there are enough options to suit anyone's communication style. On top of this, they keep innovating without disrupting the core functionality.

Cons:

I would like to see more breakdowns and slices in metrics and charts by service, alert type, alert source, etc.

Jeffrey
Infrastructure Administrator in US
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great solution - Been using it for years!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Very reliable (too reliable sometimes) and easy to configure.

Pros:

Very reliable (too reliable sometimes) and easy to configure. Integrations to large monitoring solutions make it a breeze to setup with other solutions. Mobile app makes responding to alerts even easier than pushing buttons on a phone call.

Cons:

Wish there were ways to specify certain alerts would only be a text message while others are a phone call per user. Would also like a way to remove users from all schedules at once when needing to remove a user from the portal. Very tedious process of removing them from each schedule individually.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PagerDuty review

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We have been using PagerDuty for more than 6 years. It is a great product in terms of availability of integration, timely alerts, mobile version, ability to select your teams info only, scheduling, and setting up services.

Pros:

PagerDuty helps in everyday business by providing fast and accurate notifications and alerts for live systems. It has integrations with Slack and email, which helps a lot in notification and resolving incidents collaboratively. The mobile version is a great help as well.

Cons:

PagerDuty mobile version lucks some essential features that are available on a full version, like scheduling a maintenance window.

Imran
EMEA ITS Manager in UK
Human Resources Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Positive Experience

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Its been great the OOH team knows they wont be woken up for stuff not related to the and we see accurate data. We can manage rotas and shifts much better and its overall improved the perception of the team and their ability out of hours.

Pros:

The ability to to have the information displayed and on the go with the App is great for us as we can engage with stakeholders and its bought in consistency for out out of hours team on alerting.

Cons:

The reporting could improve it can give better detail when we are granular on different services but this has improved form when i first used the service.

Barnaby
Lead Software Engineer in UK
Gambling & Casinos, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Does What It Says On The Tin, And Very Well

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use PagerDuty for our on call rota. It was my first experience of such software and I would recommend it to others for its list of features and general ease of use.

Pros:

Schedules and rotas are easy to set up and administer. Call outs are easy to receive and acknowledge. The app makes it easy to respond to an incident.

Cons:

The app is a little limited. If a user gets a lot of callouts (e.g. multiple services go down) then I don't know of a "select all" option to ACK. Also I believe that users must go into the web version to administer rotas etc...

Christina
Sr. SRE in US
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Beep Boop

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall it's a great and mostly reliable product

Pros:

Not having to carry a physical pager, separate phone for being on call The ability to see who's on call when easily Overrides API management of configuration

Cons:

Lack of an undo feature or revision history It's difficult to configure a business hours rotation without creating a separate set of configuration, it would be nice of the escalation policy section included some time based logic Outages mean missing critical alerts

Dmytro
Cloud Engineer in Japan
Financial Services Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I have no idea how to title my review

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It solves many of our problems for alerts escalation. I used PagerDuty so far in 3 companies, and it solves many problems.

Cons:

Web interface is a bit difficult to use. For example: when editing on call schedules — for each edit there's no way to return to previous screen, always I need to go to the top menu, select menu item, another menu item. It can be quite time consuming.

Mark
Senior Systems Administrator in US
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Pagerduty lets members of your team have some rest, and lets other teams have a priority contact

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Positive experience with maintaining an on-call rotation so others know who is the priority contact at any time and members of the team can all expect some time off-hours that they can be truly at rest.

Pros:

Complex scheduling and calendar sharing Multiple vendor integrations user identities

Cons:

no problems that are likely to be caused by limitations of the service, it is complicated to get right, but works great once it's been properly configured.