Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About MantisBT

Written in PHP, this free issue tracking software is written under GNU protocol.

Learn more about MantisBT

Filter reviews (92)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Usage

Sort by

Have you used MantisBT before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (92)

Daniel P.
Daniel P.
Consultor de BPM in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

If you want to control bugs, MantisBT is the best solution.

5 4 years ago

Pros:

Suitable software to track errors, inform the team through fault reports. It is important to highlight that MantisBT has a free license that allows multiple options to carry the day to day of the software that is already in the test stage. For the user, it has a nice interface and the team can be notified of each stage of the test cycle.

Cons:

Your options are limited when it comes to customizing and creating new reports and more accurate tracking of manual test cases. Does not allow direct interaction between users.

Andrew B.
Andrew B.
Business Coach and Head Strategist in New Zealand
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for tracking features, bugs and managing a distributed team.

4 last year

Comments: Have been using it consistently, does the job and is great price for a small team.

Pros:

Easy to customise system, could add workflow and structure to it suited to our specific use case and set up. Works well with easy customisation.

Cons:

Notification and feature management through pipeline doesn't have the best visibility - at least not obviously out of the box.

Julián M.
CIO in France
Telecommunications, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A customizable issue tracker, but requires advanced setup

3 2 years ago

Comments: This software was our very first option to manage our company's tasks. As our business grew, we needed to fit the program into our business logic. Each customization of this software lasted a couple days until it fit. It was a permanent time-consuming task.

Pros:

The flexibility of the issue tracker is powerful. It can fit all logic business only with the core features, and it can be hooked to external applications that may exists in the company environment.

Cons:

The installation and customization process can be very complex. If the company needs special workflows or external integrations, it may lead to write own add-ons or modify the program at code level to accomplish it.

Verified Reviewer
Senior Project Manager in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Bug Tracking Extended

5 3 months ago

Comments: It does bug tracking well but the interface + features provided could improve inline with their competitors

Pros:

If Bug Tracking is what you want to do, MantisBT has you covered on all aspects of tracking an issue, from identification up to fixing and verification. The workflows and structure can be configured to how your team works and the team composition and it also has all the tracking/documenting features needed on a normal QA process. The Roadmap and Wiki features are great for management and planning aspects of bugs/issues and delivery.

Cons:

Installation (Standalone) and customization to fit your specific organization/project can be a bit of a hassle especially if you want specific workflows or if you rely on external integrations for bug tracking/reporting needs. For someone who is new to MantisBT, it will take some time to get used to the user interface + there won't be easy 'wizards/tips' to guide them through the flows.

Jose miguel S.
Jose miguel S.
Software Development Team Manager in El Salvador
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

MantisBT, basic control for basic dev teams

4 2 years ago

Comments: We needed a basic bug tracker system, based on that and we actually work using the predefined workflow: if your needs fits with ours, MantisBT is a very solid, stable and easy to use BTS.
Included Workflow:

Pros:

Version 2.x came with a bunch of much needed UI changes. Now MantisBT has a modern look and feel. Also, it maintains its core functionality, so create and manage tickets for your projects is a breathe as always.

Cons:

Even in version 2.x, you still have to setup your development workflow using text files, which is not optimal and a very dated way of doing this and makes you take the setup a little longer.

Shubham S.
Shubham S.
Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Bug On the Way

4 2 years ago

Comments: We are resolving our issue that were found during testing. The tester assign the issues or bug to he developer and after that developer will fix the issue and simple re assign the ticket to the tester with the status changed to the fixed state.

Pros:

With this we can easily assign the bug or issue to the developer with the details regarding the issue. It opens a ticket on the name of the assignee. You can also track the issues of the developer and can be helpful in counting the overall performance rate of the developer.

Cons:

It's not that easy to use and with multiple tickets or issues opened at the same time it's very confusing.

Bharat S.
Bharat S.
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Bug tracking tool

4 3 years ago

Pros:

Mantis is very easy bug tracking tool. Users can easily submit and tracking daily tasks and bug on mantis. Most of companies using this software to testing purpose. Tester assign bugs/issues found during testing over different project. A tester can attach screen shot, documents of bugs. Mantis feature are very simple to use.

Cons:

The User interface looks older. Bulk data uploading in mantis is not happen at once sometimes.

Mark J.
Mark J.
IT Infrastructure Manager in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Job logging software

4 4 years ago

Pros:

The software is easy enough to use and you can log track and trace current and in progress jobs that have been created. Timelines and grades give you the capability to process logged jobs in the time frame required.

Cons:

For the average user this software will not be that easy to navigate around but once thy have had enough training on it they will be comfortable enough to use it.

Giorgia Z.
program manager in Italy
Machinery, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A useful tool for multiple functions

4 7 months ago

Comments: I'm using this tool to manager our quality system of a testing laboratory . And in particular I use mantis to manage system anomalies, to manage tests, and to manage the laboratory's instrument inventory.

Pros:

The best thing about the tool is that it is very flexible and allows it to be used for several very different applications. Within our company it's used as a database for anomaly management, for non-conformity and quality issues management, for patent portfolio management, for accredited test laboratory management.

Cons:

Nothing in particular, but a colleague of mine takes care of the "customization" of the tool according to our needs, but it is not entirely easy to implement these changes to the code. Obviously it's normal that it's like that and that to modify the code you need someone "expert" who knows the language in code

Syed A.
Senior Business Systems Analyst in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Syed Mantis Review

3 5 years ago

Comments: I have been using Mantis for my current company for almost 4 years. This software is being used for tracking and assigning issues/tickets to the team for different projects and you can follow up with your team members by manually going into the specific ticket what is due for that day etc. I gave Mantis 3 stars because there are limitations and have some boundaries.

Pros:

Easy to use. User friendly

Cons:

You don't have a way to track stuff automated way. Where you should receive notification if a person did not touch the ticket and the deadline is near. You have to go in and track all those things manually. Where a person who assigned the case and the person to whom the case is assigned both should receive automatic reminders and warnings.

Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Feature Rich bug tracker

4 4 years ago

Comments: Proper tracking of daily tasks.

Pros:

Can track multiple projects and multiple users working on it. The filters given are really awesome, it helps a lot to track the project and user workflow. Many functionalities are given with simplicity like forms, user tracker, project-wise tracking, road maps, user account, project details, etc. Various User levels are given to work with, so it's easy to assign, resolve and close the issue for higher / lower level user too. The detailing about any task gives in-depth info of any project, in which child task, parent task functionality plays the major role.

Cons:

The UI is not at all user-friendly, the non-technical person could not understand it easily. The concept of child class/ parent class is tedious to understand in the first view. The links for "Bug Update" page (Pencil icon) and "bug view" page (hyperlinked Bug ID) are located really very close, so while updating the task, it creates confusion.

James T.
Simulator engineer in UK
Computer Hardware, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product with lots of funtionality

4 5 years ago

Comments: I used this for my old place of work! and must say at the time it was easy to use, With tons of features!
I like the drop down list for different departments (sites) and how easy it is to track faults open or closed with different colors for different states!
I now use a program called Team support, which I have found easier to use, With the Sam functionality! unsure on prices of either product as I'm just a user! but mantis is definitely a handy little program that I would say is focused more on the technical user!

Pros:

Ease of use and functionality

Cons:

Looks a bit more technical for the nontechnician minded

Diane R.
National Sales & Project Manager in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Keeps my world running smoothly

4 last year

Comments: I've been using the product for over five years and it does the job.

Pros:

I use this product daily to manage all tasks involved in multiple online development projects. It is easy to use, keeps everything organized in one place and is easy to update and customize to my needs.

Cons:

It currently meets my needs so no critique at this time. It would be great to have additional training on features we may not be aware of.

Pamela A.
IT Support Analyst in US
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MantisBT for Support Ticket Tracking

4 2 years ago

Comments: We use MantisBT for our Support Staff to report, track and research problems our customers have encountered with our software product. At the same time, it is also used by our software development team to report and track issues and enhancements with our software. Being able to correlate the two is something that other support tracking software cannot do.

Pros:

It is easy to use, customizable and works well for integrating issues between support and development teams.

Cons:

Not that it is truly a bad thing, but there are just so many fields as options, it can be overwhelming.

Maria agnes C.
QA in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple but good bug tracking tool, serves its purpose

4 3 years ago

Comments: It let me tracking my daily tasks plus I learned all the basics of bug tracking process from this tool

Pros:

It's a good platform to track issues for multiple projects and users. It offer a good, user friendly interface not pretty but functional with all the features you would expect for a bug tracking platform. Overall, this is a small program, very straigthforward making it very handy and probably the best option for new users or startup operations.

Cons:

Though its UI is clear and concise, need to improve on some graphical look and feel. It's also not as customizable as other bug tracking tool/project management like JIRA

Arpit G.
Team Lead in India
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Wonderful and very fast Bug tracking tool

4 4 years ago

Comments: Since it is easy to use, we are easily able to help our QA & Dev team to use the bug tracking & reporting tool. It is best option for Start-ups and new users

Pros:

It provides easy bug tracking covering all basic things required fo ra Bug tracking software. It can be integrated with all the build and task management tools. We have it integrated with TFS & SVN

Cons:

Reporting & Filters should be improved a lot. if both these things are improved people will find it an ideal solution for bug tracking

Esther C.
It Team Lead in Spain
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

My first issue tracking and bug development tool

5 3 years ago

Pros:

Mantis was the first issue tracking software that I used several years ago . It was easy to install, setup and deploy through all departments involved from development to QA release of product. As all open-source tools is widely maintained by the community

Cons:

I love free version of MantisBT, but professional version is really expensive comparing to other options on the market

Verified Reviewer
CEO in Singapore
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ugly but free and works

5 3 years ago

Comments: I've been using Mantis in both companies I cofounded. Everyone was horrified at the UI, but I never had a single issue with managing it.

Pros:

Free Has everything for bug tracking and project management Simple enough to never break

Cons:

The UI is, as they'd put it in the action movies, "one ugly m.er" - aesthetics of a service elevator Configuration must be done by editing PHP files, not cool

Amandeep K.
Software Developer in India
Accounting Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

User friendly Open source bug tracker system

4 3 years ago

Comments: The high functionalities fulfills the purpose of bug tracking, thus, management of a project becomes more efficient.

Pros:

1. Helps team members in project collaboration and to track the progress in software development within team or with clients. 2. Automated email notification system which notifies project members regarding issues updates. 3. Issues can be filtered according to status, priority, assigned to user, date etc. 4. Each user can view his/her own unresolved issues.

Cons:

Very simple interface - Can be improved.

Verified Reviewer
QA Automation Lead in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mantis Review

4 3 years ago

Comments: overall it good for small companies

Pros:

Good Bug tracking tool. Can be integrated with other tools easily. Can track multiple project at the same time Different roles for different users search is very easy to use and multiple options are available for search

Cons:

Boring UI Reporting is not much strong compared to other tools

Robin M.
Testing Team Lead in India
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It's an easy to use bug tracking software and can be used for tracking multiple projects

4 4 years ago

Pros:

Customizable issue workflow , Notifications , Search and Filter tools , Various levels of users Access

Cons:

It is an amazingly simple tool to install but the included download file does not contain any documentation. Instead it redirects to the on-line documentation from within the /docs/directory.

Narine B.
QA in Armenia
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the best bug trucking systems

5 2 years ago

Comments: It has a good UI, amazing and adorable green mantis logo))

Pros:

I've been using Mantis for a very long time, it is easy to use, user - friendly, simple and understandable.

Cons:

Can't remember a thing that was not too good. I've been using Jira as well, but no difference for writing a good bug))

Warren james B.
IT Support Engineer and SharePoint Admin in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Was not hard software to learn and work through

4 4 years ago

Pros:

You can tack jobs logged relatively easily. Works well in a software dev environment where you are tracking bug related jobs and creating release notes for techs.

Cons:

Every now and then the job submitted would not log properly and you would have to start the whole log again.

Verified Reviewer
Test Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Takes some time to get used to. But totally worth it

4 last year

Comments: Ive been a user of jira for three years. To be honest, it wasnt a smooth transition. But the customisation mantis provides was worth it.

Pros:

As a user of this software, i have been pretty much basically been able to customise it to the max. I can pretty much make the tickets look the way i want.

Cons:

Sometimes there are the occasional hiccups like missing token error mesage. Its very annoying since you have to go back in the browser to submit the ticket again

Abdelli S.
Abdelli S.
Student Ambassador in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

great tool to truck bugs

4 3 years ago

Pros:

I like how it's easy to install and use since the interface is very simple but not modern. Also you can customize it to your needs. I highly recommend it.

Cons:

there are some customisations aren't possible so you will have to change the core by yourself..