15 years helping Emirati businesses
choose better software

About Dayforce HCM

Dayforce is the global people platform for the modern workforce, providing organizations of all industries and sizes.

Learn more about Dayforce HCM

Pros:

Ease of setup and onboarding. Integration in all areas of the product.

Cons:

The Customer Service is really poor. I have been asking for this report that I used with the system that I used with the system I had used prior to Ceridian Dayforce.

Dayforce HCM ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
3.8
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.0

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Dayforce HCM has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 966 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Dayforce HCM before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (966)

Lillian
Lillian
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of the most advanced HRIS platforms

5.0 last year

Comments: I like that it works with Microsoft Office and that we can connect it to other systems via several different application programming interfaces. Their most recent updates have been great, and I can't wait to try out the next things they've been hinting at.

Pros:

Dayforce HCM is used for new hire processing and health insurance enrollment. Our company processes three different payrolls for its different employee types (Union, Exempt, and Non-Exempt).

Cons:

There is a unique Employee Number for each worker. It combines the two into one cohesive whole while making reports. To properly divide them, I must always use the Text to Columns function in Excel. If they could be separated straight away, it would be great.

Megan
VP Operations in US
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dayforce Review

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

The full integration. It is amazing to have all components in a single system. The customization opportunities are a blessing and a curse. It is amazing to truly take the system and make it what you need it to be, but on the flip side, it can be cumbersome to have unlimited options.

Cons:

Dayforce isn't for everyone. It is a complex system that requires a sys admin that is well versed to manage the day to day operation. If you do not have this and rely on Dayforce for assistance, you will be waiting for a while.

Helen
Payroll & Benefits Mgr in US
Wholesale, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Dayforce - Implementation Beware

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Bumpy at best. Some days I actually say I miss ADP.

Pros:

I like the 'one' database aspect the best.

Cons:

Implementation was very lacking. Nearly a disaster. I am over 2 years in and still have not been able to get everything we originally intended to do up and running.

Tina
Manager, HRIS and Payroll in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dayforce Review

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Dayforce has many great features. The HUB is a great new additional in the last 2 years. It provides a great place to house important information easily. Onboarding is really nice and streamlined. It is easy to navigate and set up. If you have the Onboarding HUB, visibly it provides a new start to the candidate experience. I have worked with the Performance and Compensation module the last 3 years and it has a lot of neat functionality and pretty easy to navigate.

Cons:

Dayforce is very technical. It is nice to know you can build customize forms but not coming from an IT background, trying to learn SQL has been a challenge. There are a lot of nice reports but it is very challenging to set up certain reports utilizing custom fields. Dayforce is constantly enhancing their products but continually to have to pay for each new enhancement the majority of the time is challenging especially coming from a Non-Profit world when we already utilize most of the system.

Karine
HR Director in Canada
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

La Vie en Rose creates a designer employee experience program

5.0 last month New

Comments: As the world continues to move forward and the retail industry adjusts, will continue to partner with Dayforce to engage employees and improve their experience with la Vie en Rose.

Pros:

Everything is in one application instead of five. The schedules, payroll, recruiting, training, everything is there. So, it's much easier for us to work with Dayforce.

Cons:

Recruiting module, this module need to be review to be more flexible

Dellanne
Lead Payroll Administrator in US
Automotive, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dayforce HCM Review

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Features with-in Dayforce are easy to use and navigate around.

Cons:

There is delay in response from Dayforce time through the Support Portal regarding tax notices being reviewed and answered.

Ming
HRIS Manager in Australia
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fully Integrated HCM solutions

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

Fully Integrated HCM solutions with strong integration capabalities

Cons:

Talent features can be improved to close match best of breed products in the market

Jazmine
Customer service associate in US
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Dayforce management

4.0 last month New

Pros:

I love to see my paystubs and daily hours

Cons:

When the system is down and we cant access important tasks

Rebecca
HRIS in US
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

DF HCM Review

4.0 last month New

Comments: Overall, good experience with the HCM as a whole.

Pros:

Easy to learn new modules and configurability. Updates in areas where compliance reqs change.

Cons:

Support can take extended time to get back to customers. Projects are costly if using DF support for implementing.

Hamood
Project Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Excellent System for Gobsl Solutions

5.0 last month New

Comments: Excellent system based on customer feedback

Pros:

Very comprehensive system and option of using Dayforce Wallet. Excellent Ai features

Cons:

New system in the market, therefore finding contractors to implement can take longer

Jeffrey
executive director in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

We use Dayforce for all our payroll activities.

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: Our entire organization has been using Dayforce now for several years. It is user friendly and can be learned quickly even by our employees who are not very tech savvy.

Pros:

Dayforce is a "one for all" program that handles all of our workforce time tracking and scheduling needs.

Cons:

I have found that management approvals through the app are not quite as easy as they are online.

Kim
HR Manager in US
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Dayforce

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: Customer support needs improvement

Pros:

Real time payroll calculation is extremely beneficial.

Cons:

Customer support is very difficult, often a language barrier.

DeChelle
Sr HRIS Analyst in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Dayforce

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: Overall, Dayforce is a great product and we enjoy having the control over the system to use the product in a manner that is effective for us. However, at times, it feels like it is a payroll system that added other modules as an after-thought

Pros:

I appreciate the support community and education center. I like the design of the product and the overall intuitiveness of the system.

Cons:

Reporting can be cumbersome as some reports that we must custom build should be standard; US compliance reporting could be more robust. Also, some of the HR modules are disjointed and it's inefficient to have to navigate to several different screens to process updates.

Bethann
Payroll Manager in US
Pharmaceuticals, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Expect the Unexpected

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: We are overall extremely pleased with Ceridian and our vendor partnership with them. They truly take the time to get to know your business and your needs and help decide what the best solutions are for your business - which may not by the newest product they are selling. We have a very complex payroll, and we have the right solution for us at the present time. We also continue to find new ways to leverage the WFM platform to capture as much information as possible about time, labor and attendance. If you are considering making the change to Dayforce, you can't be prepared enough. You need to understand your own policies and procedures like the back of your hand as well as have the ability to explain the same to the implementation team. They will do their best with the information you provide, but it is up to you to ensure they understand and to test everything multiple times to make sure it is what you need. Keep in mind, the platform is highly configurable. As mentioned earlier, we have a rather complex payroll. We have six separate payrolls that combine hourly, salary, weekly, biweekly, union, non-union, etc. A little of everything. The policies for each payroll are entirely different, and both Ceridian HPL and Dayforce handle it without any problems. Here and there we have had to be creative - but it was still able to be accomplished. I have been working in HR and payroll for 15 years and have used numerous different vendors/software over the years. None of them are 100% perfect. But Ceridian comes the closest. It is the most configurable and provides the best ad-hoc reporting tools out there. We have been able to automate many processes that used to be manual systems. This has freed up our HR staff to be more hands-on with employee onboarding, engagement, and development instead of stuck behind their desk completing transactional tasks.

Pros:

It is highly configurable. It handles changes due to union contracts with ease.

Cons:

The new HTML timesheets have some quirks. I feel hopeful they will be worked out.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Dayforce has completely changed how we do life at Kern Health Systems HR.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: HR efficiencies, ROI by 60% over our other provider in the first month and a support team that truly supports their clients efforts. I feel like we have gained a partner not a vendor.

Pros:

We love that we have been able to go paperless in all of our HR processes from application to termination. We no longer use paper apps, compensation change forms, benefits apps, or onboarding documents. Everything is paperless. We can look in the system and see where approvals are sitting. This has made our HR flows and processes so much easier and efficient. We also love the one employee record. From application to hire we only have to enter their information once. We have significantly cut down on our errors and the spreadsheets we used to keep to follow all of our processes. Our Onboarding is streamlined and professional. New hires can fill out all of their documents prior to the first day of work, so that we can maximize our first day with them. And finally Support. The Support Team is world class. I can't speak highly enough about the responsiveness, expertise and efficient way the support team works with their clients! Ceridian gets an A+ for their support.

Cons:

Prior to the newest upgrade to 53, Reporting was a bit clunky and difficult to understand. As a busy HR Leader, I don't have extensive time to take a bunch of classes to learn how to run reports. They need to be easy, user friendly and intuitive. Prior to the upgrade they were not. The new Reports module has come a LONG way in improving this. The reporting module is now in HTML and much easier to understand and use. Other than that, I cannot think of one other Con to the Dayforce system. I came from a very different provider that I was extremely displeased with, so it makes it a little more challenging to find Cons. I am very happy with the decision to move to Ceridian.

Erika
Director, HR Systems & Operations in US
Building Materials, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Creating a partnership for the 21st century and beyond!

5.0 last year

Comments: For the first time, we are able to provide our Executive team an HR Scorecard with data that is trusted. Because the system is fully integrated each process can feed the next. For example, Salary Planning is completed after performance reviews. The performance ratings pull into the compensation planning feature, which when completed and approved, get posted to payroll without human intervention or possibility of data entry errors. When errors affect employee data and pay, we are not providing the best employee experience. This system mitigated the risk of errors with the ability to integrate so many of our HR processes.

Pros:

We came from an environment that used 7 different systems and did not integrate well. Dayforce's fully integrated HRMS has made a wolrd of difference within our organization. Not only has it alleviated administrative burden on HR, but our managers have more information at their fingertips that allows them to make sound decisions and perform efficiently.

Cons:

I can't say that there is a feature that I like least. We implemented the full suite (minus benefit administration) at the same time, so there is definitely a learning curve when configuring that many modules at the same time. In fact, there are modules that we are still learning the full capabilities of and have yet to fully maximize every aspect of this system.

Stephen
HRIS Administrator
Logistics & Supply Chain, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Dayforce HCM is a great, single database cloud software, that is constantly adding new features.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Having used Dayforce HCM for over 5 years, I can honestly say that it is an incredible piece of software that is ever-expanding, and the developers are always hard at work creating more modules. As opposed to previous systems where it required multiple file feeds internally, which would constantly update one place such as the HR record, but would not update in Payroll, Self Service, Benefits, or wouldn't update in any of them; with Dayforce however, there are no longer such data integrity issues, as it uses one database to house it all. It also also far easier on the eyes than some previous systems, and the ad-hoc reporting along with topic builder make creating custom reports quite easy (once you get the gist of how it works - there is a learning curve if you don't take the training - but if you're savvy, it's quite robust). The key with Dayforce is IMPLEMENTATION. If you are not diligent, clear, and thorough with the discovery stage and throughout implementation, it will haunt you down the road. Make a team, dedicate someone to nothing but testing and making sure you've got it doing what each team/department/manager/user needs it to do, just do something to make sure you are comfortable with the application and get what you need, otherwise you will spend a lot of time fixing issues with upset employees . Ceridian has grown their teams vastly, so the support reps can be hit and miss, but if you are techy and willing to learn the system, it is far superior to the others out there, and can be very low maintenance.

Pros:

One database means data is always consistent throughout modules. The flexibility within the configuration is unmatched. Beautiful appearance and very user-friendly.

Cons:

The switch from SilverLight to HTML has been slow and each release has been somewhat buggy initially after upgrading when using the new HTML pieces. Aside from that, the system is as good as your involvement and motivation to learn (especially during Implementation - be diligent and thorough in your discovery and scoping, or it will be painful when transferred to support).

Stephen
HRIS Administrator in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of Dayforce HCM

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Having used Dayforce HCM for over 5 years, I can honestly say that it is an incredible piece of software that is ever-expanding, and the developers are always hard at work creating more modules. As opposed to previous systems where it required multiple file feeds internally, which would constantly update one place such as the HR record, but would not update in Payroll, Self Service, Benefits, or wouldn't update in any of them; with Dayforce however, there are no longer such data integrity issues, as it uses one database to house it all. It also also far easier on the eyes than some previous systems, and the ad-hoc reporting along with topic builder make creating custom reports quite easy (once you get the gist of how it works - there is a learning curve if you don't take the training - but if you're savvy, it's quite robust). The key with Dayforce is IMPLEMENTATION. If you are not diligent, clear, and thorough with the discovery stage and throughout implementation, it will haunt you down the road. Make a team, dedicate someone to nothing but testing and making sure you've got it doing what each team/department/manager/user needs it to do, just do something to make sure you are comfortable with the application and get what you need, otherwise you will spend a lot of time fixing issues with upset employees . Ceridian has grown their teams vastly, so the support reps can be hit and miss, but if you are techy and willing to learn the system, it is far superior to the others out there, and can be very low maintenance.

Pros:

One database means data is always consistent throughout modules. The flexibility within the configuration is unmatched. Beautiful appearance and very user-friendly.

Cons:

The switch from SilverLight to HTML has been slow and each release has been somewhat buggy initially after upgrading.

Diane
Diane
Payroll Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Our experience with Day force has been great from Implementation on. We never felt alone.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Before Dayfore, we were using three different systems. One for payroll, one for time and attendance, and another for HR. We had to import data from one system to another so there was the potential of data dropping off. We were able to combine three systems into one with Dayforce. Since Ceridian uses one solution, once an employee is hired they are visible in all parts of the system immediately. No more waiting for overnight updates. Ceridian cut my payroll processing time by 40%, which allows me more time to audit my work. There are some great audit reports built into the system, which I run every payroll. They point to problems with can be corrected before we finalize for the week. The ability to run wage and tax registers, and W2's anytime of the year, allows me to fix any potential problems, which in turn make year end a breeze. My employees now are able to manage some of their own data, which alleviates the burden off HR and Payroll and allows the employee to update their records when it is convenient for them.

Pros:

I love that it is one solution. No more imports, no more worries about data dropping off. The test portal allows us to set up new deductions and earnings, and test them before putting them into production. The future dating feature works really well. It allows us to enter increase early and test them in a future payroll to see how the employees pay check will look, and gives us more time to audit our changes thus relieving some of the stress that comes with year end. The education portal is a big plus. It allows us to learn at our own pace, and to schedule that classes that are helpful for each administrative role.

Daniel
Head of Workforce Services in UK
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Empower your workforce

4.0 9 months ago

Pros:

Workforce Management and the data from scheduling has empowered our organisation to understand staffing costs and enable savings.

Cons:

There is a need to bring ED&I information relevant to the UK to Dayforce

EMILY
Digital Editor in US
Newspapers, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good if you need basic, cheap software; a joke otherwise

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: I had a love/hate relationship with it. It was easy to log in and out, the basis of the system to track employee hours. Many times in 2016/2017, the software wouldn't read those clicks though, so myself or colleagues would be working for several hours or off work for several hours only to realize our logging in or out hadn't took. Then we'd have to bother our boss to do it, who was hostile about doing so. Having worked in tech, I understand bug issues, but this is a big one to have. The software is affordable, which is why our company chose it. If the bug issues were resolved for good, I'd feel more confident recommending it.

Pros:

I liked that the buttons were big and accessible and easy to see, and that they later modified different types of clocking in and out (lunches, etc). When they updated the software, you could tell they tried (and succeeded, partially) in simplifying some of the screens for users.

Cons:

Past versions of Dayforce would freeze up a bit. Also, any time anything went wrong (sometimes a log in or out didn't take, sometimes a time would need to be edited) the manager or boss would have to personally modifying these issues. Under good management, this wouldn't be an issue. Under bosses who can barely handle stress and take systems errors out on their employees, it's a complete nightmare situation. This is where Dayforce could really look beyond coding issues and consider how to socially engineer better customer service solutions so even technically challenged supervisors can use the system easily.

Khristan
Training & Development Manager
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Empowering Team Members

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Overall, we have truly benefited from partnering with Dayforce. Our team members are excited about the user friendliness of the program, the accessibility from their mobile devices and the functions that empower them to submit requests & changes electronically. Our managers have raved about being able to schedule within labor guidelines and team member availability. Time Off requests are easier to track, schedule, approve/decline. Personal Action Form items that require approval are now electronic, which has smoothed out our process. We have seen a decrease in the amount of paperwork that was being processed & tracked, we have seen an increase in managerial productivity, we have seen a time savings in our payroll processing and an improvement in our reporting capabilities.

Pros:

• Our team members are excited about the user friendliness of the program, • Great to have accessibility from their mobile devices and the functions that empower them to submit requests & changes electronically. • Managers have raved about being able to schedule within labor guidelines and team member availability. • Time Off requests are easier to track, schedule, approve/decline. • Personal Action Form items that require approval are now electronic, which has smoothed out our process. • We have seen a decrease in the amount of paperwork that was being processed & tracked, we have seen an increase in managerial productivity, • We have seen a time savings in our payroll processing and an improvement in our reporting capabilities.

Cons:

Implementation might drive you crazy, but your team will be elated & productivity improved. It would have been helpful to know more about what was required & expected for implementation so we could have made better decisions with assigning responsibilities during the implementation process.

Randy
Payroll/HRIS Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Dayforce HCM great for Payroll and HRIS

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Dayforce works great under the right circumstances, but they still have some work to do to gain a bigger market share.

Pros:

Dayforce HCM (DF) is a great product for payroll, which is the company's core offering. They have incorporated other HRIS modules into DF, some of which work extremely well. Dayforce does a great job of using only one employee record for everything, so there are no internal interfaces, and all changes are made real time. The company keeps up to date on all regulatory changes, and is quick to roll out updates and fixes to the software, which are seamless because they happen in the cloud. Works great for both our US and Canadian populations.

Cons:

Dayforce does not process payroll in Mexico, so we cannot use it for the sole solution in North America. The reporting on data is sometimes difficult; the tool is pretty robust, but some common-sense reports are almost impossible to build, due to the cumbersome process of linking data fields together. This is getting better, but still lacking. Support response times are usually timely, but support personnel are not always knowledgeable enough to fix the issue right away. Any extra work on the product is always billable, and never cheap. Due to the design of the product, any changes to the company's organizational structure will almost certainly result in a long, expensive project to update the product.

Becky
Payroll Analyst in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Dayforce (I love processing payroll in it)

5.0 last year

Comments: Implementation of Dayforce is a big project. I did not feel like we rushed it, which was important. Training for the payroll system was easy to follow and critical. When I needed help from Support, I had it. Continued training is important to fill in knowledge gaps. Using Dayforce for processing payroll for 15 months has been so much easier than our prior system. Audits and reporting have helped to make the process more accurate. The number of errors has decreased due to how easy it is to very all entries. I continue to work to find efficiencies in our processes as well as help to provide training to leaders and employees.

Pros:

Processing payroll is so much easier and less time consuming. making change and verifying the update takes minimal time. Auditing and reporting for payroll has been simplified. Having HR and payroll in one integrated system helps to make employee changes seamless.

Cons:

There is a lot of things the system can do for us. It will take time to determine what we want to use. Learning will be ongoing for the entire time I use the system.

Teresa Aminta
Teresa Aminta
Vice President Marketing in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Ceridian formulates our entire workforce

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Dayforce WFM extends across the entire institution. It is our primary workforce management (WPM) tool, encompassing attendance in all its aspects: hourly employees identify their income through biological clocks; contract employees use the web clock function to account for their working time; all employees use the Time Away From Work (TAFW) function to submit leave requests. It is also used by human resources and payroll departments to manage time worked and paid time off.

Pros:

I attended the new Dayforce FIT meeting as part of this year's Insights conference. You have significantly increased your ability to make changes to your product layout without the need to open many support tickets, this translates into significant savings. The attendance subsystem has decreased the amount of supplementary manual documents, such as spreadsheets, and has additionally gifted supervisors with an aid to observe the sum of points in real time, rather than waiting for a report to be finished and distributed in the week or month. We have 6 different handles, each with a different pay period end time and a different number of payments. Dayforce is able to accommodate different varieties without any drawbacks.

Cons:

The TAFW shard does not yet offer the ability to restrict the login of those who are not exempt to be able to perform tasks for their own interest. I would love to see Dayforce incorporate an FMLA add-on. Most of the information regarding specific tracking is already within the system. We conclude that it is better to continue with the written procedure or find a stand-alone program to assist with the complicated administration.