Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.4 /5

About BambooHR

BambooHR features integrated applicant tracking (ATS) as part of our award-winning cloud-based HR information software package.

Learn more about BambooHR

Showing 1,214 reviews

Chris G.
Owner
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/01/2020

"Worst HR Company Provider EVER!"

Comments: Since moving to their new Payroll service (Trax Payroll) BambooHR has been in the business of keeping us from HR compliance and has made processing payroll much more time consuming and frustrating. All with a lack of professional and effective customer support. They have mishandled payroll taxes, W-2's and account access once we notified them of changing to a better HR management solution. This has truly been a nightmare that won't end.

Pros: The software does have some nice features like Performance Management.

Cons: The worst payroll software in history! Sold me a bill of goods that everything was integrated, however, they use a remote link which is clunky and extremely frustrating to use unless everything is "just right". Do your research - there is better out there along with excellent customer support. I had to manually add employee PTO each pay period as their system was not integrated with their Payroll software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/01/2020
Keyana K.
Internal Operations Assistant
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2018

"This might just be my personal all-time favorite software EVER."

Pros: Where do I even begin? All other HR systems out there should take note: BambooHR is how you do HR. My company was in need of software that dramatically cut down our paper usage, particularly for the onboarding process. The paperwork folder that I'd hand each new hire on their first day, was far too much and too overwhelming. With BambooHR, we are now able to have that onboarding process be completely electronic and have each new employee complete their new hire packet before their start date, at their leisure. That way, their first day (really, just about their entire first week) could be spent participating in valuable hands-on training sessions. No one wants to be bogged down with a massive folder of documents on their very first day at work, and the likelihood of employees retaining any of that information while a ton of other thoughts and nerves are flying through their heads on that first day, is VERY low. With BambooHR, new and veteran employees can revisit that information anytime they'd like. The PTO feature is top-notch: employees can view a time-off calendar within the software and request off without having to physically check-in with HR or their direct reports, first. All that's needed from me or directs, is approval or denial of such requests. Job benefits, bonuses, raises, and a whole slew of other job-related information can be tracked in BambooHR, making it the most comprehensive, easy-to-use HR software that my company has ever used.!

Cons: There are, in all honestly, absolutely no cons to this software. It'll fit into any company's budget, and I promise, your employees will enjoy it just as much as your HR team does.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/04/2018
Craig S.
Process Manager
Law Practice, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/01/2021

"Very Satisfied With This HRIS"

Comments: We've been with Bamboo about 2 years, and are satisfied with the product. The company is constantly deploying new features and their customer support are patient and client service driven.

Pros: As a web-based solution, Bamboo was easy to deploy and allowed a high degree of customization. The ability to easy create custom fields was critical for our organization. Also, we were able to centralize various types of data by using Bamboo's import functionality. Bamboo has allowed us to simplify employee files.

Cons: The solution has some limitations, especially around custom fields and reporting. That said, their development teams are open to feed back. One specific area where custom data is lacking, is on mobile vs web browser. The mobile app is great for end-users, but not as useful for manager/administrators. This is primarily because the app only displays canned fields, customs fields do not appear on the mobile app.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/01/2021
Jane J.
Computer Software
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2014

"Overall good experience"

Pros: I like that it's fairly simple to use for a smaller SaaS company (like we are) and that it puts tools in the hands of the people who need them (managers, employees) without HR needing to be gatekeepers. Implementation was great. They are rolling out things pretty quickly, and the software largely works for what we want it to do. I love the Small-Improvements integration! I love the dynamic org chart, the granularity of permissions, and how easy it is for our tech-savvy crew to pick up intuitively.

Cons: While the team was really hands on with us for implementation, support since then has left something to be desired and basically just sends us links to tutorials - even though we've usually watched them and have a more specific question. We've been trying to change an accrual with our PTO, watched the tutorials and have set it up accordingly, but we just want 60 seconds with someone on their team to look at it and say "yup, this will be fine and do exactly what you want when you change over to 2015". Instead, we have a constant back and forth of emails and links to more tutorials which is completely inefficient. Instead of a quick call, we're going to have to use our entire staff as guinea pigs for the new accrual, and see what happens to their balances on 1/1 and fix it from there. We're a really tech-savvy company, a SaaS company, and a big customer service team, so I admit I have a bias coming into this in terms of my expectations. They aren't bad by any stretch, but I'd like the option of calling.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 29/12/2014
Jeff A.
Marketing | Recruiting
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2019

"Bamboo Rocks!"

Comments: Bamboo helps us manage applicants in one place. Ads are "pushed out" to multiple job sites for greater effectiveness. Saves time and makes us more productive.

Pros: I like how Bamboo ties all of our applicant and current employee information all in one place. Very helpful when researching candidates for jobs. Bamboo has great templates set up . Super easy to use and very intuitive

Cons: I'd like to be able to customize templates. Haven't been able to figure it out yet - might be ME and I just need to try harder.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2019
Beverly M.
Director of Admin Services/HR
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/07/2017

"Very user friendly for both Administrator and end user! Their customer service is unsurpassed!"

Comments: Place for general company information and forms; onboarding of new employees that are off-site; automated time off requests/approval; data and set or custom reports at your fingertips and will convert to excel with click of a button! Track turnover; very easy to give access to certain people or give people only access to certain documents.

Pros: Easy to use and the help online is extraordinary! The on line videos and information is great and if you cant find what you need its easy to send an email and their response has always been within 24 hours and spot on!

Cons: Right now no option to cut and paste in to an Announcement. Not really a big issue, I simply post it to a file folder and refer employees there in the Announcement. Our benefits have a lot of options and right now it can't update all relevant options for us. But again, I have send a request to review and I'm hopeful I will be able to do it with our upcoming open enrollment!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/07/2017
Christina A.
Accounting & HR
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/09/2017

"Middle of the road software that needs improvement"

Comments: We are currently researching other HR software. I'm not sure which is better, software that contains the modules needed with obvious and crippling flaws or software that is easy to use both by admin and employees with limited modules.

Pros: The idea of on-boarding a new employee electronically is a huge plus. It engages employees before they start and makes it so that they come in with paperwork already filled out and spend their first day doing more than just paperwork.
Most of the framework is in place, but EACH area needs improvement, both in the functionality for administration and the ease of use for employees. The sections offered are vital, but aren't complete.

Cons: The benefits area is lacking a lot of common sense tools - like the ability to attach plan documents to an insurance plan (only a link can be used), display plan cost information to an employee BEFORE they sign up (the pricing is only available AFTER they sign up and become eligible). Many things like this create double the amount of work for the administrator.
The actual on-boarding process was a struggle because even though the forms were done properly by the employees (I sat with a few and watched them), it didn't save all information in completed fields. Employees were frustrated when they had to fill out forms multiple times because you cannot edit once saved.
I love that employees can e-sign documents, but preparing the forms is cumbersome and they can't be customized easily. For instance, if you need to update a form because something has changed or didn't save properly, you have to delete the task and resend to any employees who need an updated form.
When I discussed a few very basic items with support, they just offered a work around that many clients use. These are obvious flaws in the system that need to be addressed, but aren't necessarily a priority. Bamboo HR seems to focus more on flashy design than actual content. It makes them seem like a leader in the industry, but as soon as you dig in, the flaws are obvious.
For the price, there needs to be more development in the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/09/2017
Chris Y.
HR Director
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2016

"Fantastic Software for all sized companies"

Comments: Setting up my personal information was simple. I do like the approval-based functionality that restricts users (including myself) from saving personal information updates without admin approval. I have worked for companies in the past that did not require approval. Where accountability lacks, employees will always push the boundaries of what is exceptionable. I also like that this provides a platform where important documents can be distributed, signed, and stored. The tracking of signed paper forms is always a bit unnerving.

Pros: Deciding whether or not to implement BambooHR is going to be a pure value-added evaluation. If you do not have very many employees, BambooHR may be a bit overkill. For small businesses, I would recommend researching simple HR practices. Manual processes will more than likely be adequate. However, as your business grows, those manual processes will prove to not be scalable. It all depends on the business owner, but when you feel you have reached the point where the manual processes are no longer sustainable, look into BambooHR. It is a great solution for keeping your business's HR practices legal and organized.

Cons: While Bamboo is user-friendly, the look and feel of the interface could use improvement. I know this is a bit nitpicky, but the interface is pretty bland. Since the software is built to be accessed directly by employees to an extent, it would be nice if the interface was a bit more vibrant.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/12/2016
Verified Reviewer
Marketing Account Manager
Financial Services Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/07/2018

"Used this as our main HR platform"

Comments: Everything HR all in one place that looked good and was easy to use.

Pros: BambooHR looks good, is easy to use and comes with a lot of nice-to-have features. We used this in posting jobs which made it very easy to syndicate job listings across a number of sources and keep all of the information we gathered in one platform. The software also had some really neat features like masking paystubs when your cursor wasn't over a certain section on the page, that way your payment information was kept private. It was very easy to see who was going to be in or out in the month and what anniversaries or birthdays were coming up. Overall, it had a great layout, easy functionality and lots of neat features.

Cons: There isn't a lot not to like in this software. It wasn't super fast but didn't I wouldn't go as far as saying that it was bulky or slow. There were a few times when navigation seemed odd our out of place, but really it was a great piece of software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/07/2018
Steve J.
IT Manager
Food Production, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2020

"All of HR in one spot"

Comments: It has been really positive. Especially in times like the pandemic, information is crucial and getting everyone on the same page can be a health issue. Asking for time off is easy and termination is much easier as you can set up tasks to get things checked off.

Pros: This is a great program to be able to see all types of employee info such as date of hire, pay rate, department, paid time off, benefits, among others. It is also a great way to communicate with the entire company as there is always an email address attached to each profile so that the employee can get the information from the app or by email.

Cons: There isn't much to complain about. Set up was a bit of a pain at first but that was because they had done some things incorrectly on their end. Once that was sorted out, it was easy.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2020
Verified Reviewer
Operations Analyst
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2018

"Our experience with BambooHR has been great."

Comments: Bamboo does a great job by presenting all the information in an easy way to use.

Pros: BambooHR is a tool who help small/ midsize businesses to have the employee information all together in one source. It is easy o use, friendly user, it can be integrated with other platforms.
With bamboo, you can keep track of your employee's information but also keep track of time off. It is easy to submit and accept requests. It also helps you to keep track of the remaining time off in a transparent way.

Cons: Price is a bit high, which may not suit with a smaller company that only has a certain budget. But in overall is a great software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2018
Neal B.
Human Resources Manager
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2017

"User-Friendly and Loads of Features"

Comments: It's multi-functional. Although it has a number of issues, even just paying to use it for job postings and on-boarding has been a cost-effective alternative to posting directly on Indeed, LinkedIn, etc., or using a dedicated recruiting platform such as Workable or ZipRecruiter

Pros: Easily my favorite part of this software is the on-boarding functionality. Being able to auto-generate an offer letter and attach W4s, I9s, etc. for signature drastically cuts down on my time, as well as time that normally needs to be set aside for employees on their first day.

Cons: When refreshing job postings after 10 days, BambooHR does not prevent people that have previously applied to reapply for the position. Unlike some software that is more ATS dedicated, like Workable, there is no option to just auto-filter out these repeat applicants. At times, this has led to a rejected candidate being contacted for an interview after having already interviewed and being passed on.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2017
Neil G.
Head of Product
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/04/2021

"Starting point for all HR needs"

Comments: BambooHR is a good fit for both startups and enterprises a like for basic HR requirements.

Pros: BambooHR has excellent UI and offers HR management, org chart, and hiring tracking capabilities. The dynamic org chart is great as a starting point for new employees. Time off management is straightforward and easy to manage. Pertinent files and documents can be shared with all employees. Holiday calendar and vacation time makes it easy to see who's out. The employee breakdown by department and region is also quite useful.

Cons: The hiring section is a bit sparse and doesn't offer a good way to setup the interview pipeline. There's no way to configure an agenda and have detailed review templates. Feedback is limited to basic comments and a star rating system. For those looking for a more detailed interview template, you'll need to consider other recruiting systems.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/04/2021
Irina S.
HRM
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2018

"Great HRIS for small to medium companies"

Comments: Overall, BambooHR saves time of HR Team & employees data organized.

Pros: - Intuitive design.
- Flexible settings per group/user.
- Sufficient Reports section: almost everything is covered by biuld-in reports; and ability to create customizable reports on your own.
- Mobile version covers basic needs to find contact of a person, request Time Off and see own personal data.
- Fast Customer Support.

Cons: - File Storage is not that big (only 4 GB)
- API for integration with other systems is basic. It took a lot of time for our developers to intergrate with BambooHR.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2018
Dr. anne S.
People Operations
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2019

"Powerful HR tool allowing slim processes and a great UX"

Comments: * who wants to work with excel sheets in the 21st century?
* we can track employee engagement, but also people managers' engagement easily and visualise results, respectively
* alert / notification function lead to awareness about little things as birthdays or company anniversaries
* I love the BambooHR's product team's humor

Pros: * clear structure of all relevant people data
* ability to pull reports
* employee self service
* onboarding & offboarding

Cons: * here and there I am missing the opportunity to fine tune workflows as approvals etc
* overall funnel reporting in ATS

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2019
Danielle T.
HR Administrator
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/06/2017

"Automates HR quickly & easily"

Comments: Ease of having all employee info at your fingertips; automating things like promotions & compensation changes; quick access to reports to provide information to higher-ups

Pros: Cloud-based HR database collects all your employee information in one spot; you can view contact information, personal information, job information, and employee documents all a mouse click away. Task lists and e-signed documents make it easy to keep track of what has been completed by who and what still needs to be done. Super robust reporting function for numbers nerds.

Cons: For some reason it doesn't automatically enroll full time employees into things like your PTO or benefits. Requires a high level of compliance by employees , otherwise things just don't happen. Only allows for 10 job postings before you have to upgrade, which means if you have several "always open" positions this is a problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/06/2017
Jessica H.
Director of Administration
Hospitality, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2017

"BambooHR is amazing!"

Comments: I love using BambooHR! It holds and organizes all of our HR paperwork automatically! We have been using BambooHR for a few years now and I really love all of the changes that they have made in the last year or so! It has made it easier to use and give me more functionality I love it!!

Pros: How easy it is to use and all of the extra functions that they are coming out with.

Cons: The customer service is a little lacking when I have to call and ask questions. Their staff is not as knowledgeable as I would like or expect. I do always get my questions or problems worked out but it can be a little time consuming.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2017
Patty B.
Chief of Staff
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2017

"BambooHR is wonderful, a great addition to any organization."

Comments: This provides a secure way for us to store sensitive employee paperwork, while also providing us with an extremely useful goal setting and performance evaluation tool for our employees.

Pros: I love the goal setting and performance review tool. It's so helpful for keeping our employees on track and helping our supervisors manage their teams effectively. The interface of BambooHR is also very clean and user-friendly. I also love that the BambooHR support team is super responsive to any questions or issues that arise. They always get back to me within hours, and are very helpful. The company culture is very focused on constantly improving and communicating those improvements to their clients. They welcome feedback on suggested new features.

Cons: As a nonprofit organization, I wish the cost was lower, though they do offer a nonprofit discount. We also use the software to handle paperwork for incoming volunteers and visitors, and I wish it was a little bit more customizable for that purpose, instead of using employee-heavy language on all its materials.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/10/2017
Michael L.
Staff Training & Development Manager
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2019

"BambooHR takes the headaches out of employee time off!"

Comments: If you aren’t using BambooHR - you should! Give it a try and I can promotes you’ll never go back to your old time-off solution.

Pros: Tracking time off is always a chore. Employees don’t like it, employers don’t like it - it’s usually a no-win scenario! That’s where BambooHR comes in. It makes requesting time off easy and tracking time off even easier. Our employees LOVE it - from the easy to use app, to the simple to use web interface - BambooHR is top notch!

Cons: This is a hard one, I really can’t think of any cons. The app is perfect, the website interface is just as nice. My team and I can’t stop gushing about it. It’s that good!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2019
William T.
Comptroller
Medical Practice, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/08/2019

"Great value!"

Comments: The setup was seamless. You simply upload some HR reports and devote an hour a week to chatting with your designated setup/training consultant. During this time they walk you through the basics. Loved working with ours. Great experience overall.

Pros: Allows a one stop shop for HR/employee relations. The layout is easy to navigate and requires VERY minimal training for employees and their supervisors. The automatic accrual of PTO even when it changes is the whole reason me and my company chose the software and it does an impeccable job in this regard. We do not use it for time and attendance but we may switch over. The software is very easy to customize based on the type of employee and their accrual rates. Automatically calculates the rate based on longevity of the employee's tenure. Cost of the software is very fairly priced.

Cons: If an employee takes LWOP according to our policy, they do not accrue PTO during this absence. Bamboo currently does not allow for such a nuanced rule in their PTO policy set up. Salesmen at this company often don't know the actual capabilities of of the software and will tell you otherwise.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/08/2019
Michael P.
Accountant
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2018

"Very helpful for employees"

Comments: Bamboo HR is an excellent HR software. The software is very functional and easy to navigate as well as very helpful in providing a variety of information.

Pros: This software is very helpful as a hub for anything HR related. Whenever you need to know or access something such as benefits information or an employees information, bamboo will be able to provide it for you. Booking time off as well as reviewing time off is easy and allows you to view your past history as well as upcoming time off. The employee directory is very helpful by allowing a quick search of all employees and allowing you to view a variety of information relating to them.

Cons: The ability of other employees within the company to request that you provide feedback to them or someone else. I get notifications and reminders to complete these reviews periodically and have zero interest in completing them. Although this function is important for many companies, I would like a way of deleting them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2018
Spencer E.
HR Generalist
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2018

"BambooHR"

Comments: BambooHR allowed us share important data with Managers and Directors. It provided us with up to date information about our company that allowed us to make good business decisions. BambooHR helps employees know what is happening within the company. We loved the company directory and org charts capabilities, and we loved how customizable the product was.

Pros: BambooHR is simple to use and has a beautiful user interface that employees love.

Cons: The integrations are poor, and the customer service isn't always great.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
CTO
Consumer Goods, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 13/05/2020

"Ok with limitations"

Comments: We only ended up using it as a glorified Excel to hold our employees data and holidays requests.
We tried to use it for employee evaluations and it failed us miserably.
To manage the hiring pipeline is ok but nothing expectacular, it does what pretty much any other software of this type does.
Is not a piece of software that you'll enjoy using it neither as a manager or as an employee.

Pros: Is not that expensive.
For basic employee control is ok, keeping employee information and manage basic holidays requests.
To manage your hiring pipeline is also ok but nothing inovative or particularly interesting.

Cons: This software kept letting us down.
First the internal NPS is limited and is confusing who should i review or is reviewing who, the software imposes artificial limitations like you can only review people thats under you in the hierarchy, so useless for 360s. Their time limits and locking of editing is also confusing.
The site is overly zealous with "security" logging you off in the middle of a large text edit and after a timer has run out. I mean this is HR not banking, seriously this is more paranoic to the point of being hurtful.
The job listing is plain ugly, little or no styling control, it looks like a 2005 site. I was ashamed to use this as the face of my company to new hires.
The user permissions structure was confusing also. I added a new employee but they don't get access to the site by default for some weird reason.
If you ever decide to leave, like we did, you'll find that the export of data is very very limited. You won't be able to export the documents, notes of your active employess. And absolutely nothing of your inactive ones. And forget about the applicants csv, that is not included on the export. I had to do a long and tedius combing of every section and tons of copy pasting.
Making it impossible to leave is good enough reason not to use such a critical piece of software for a company.
BambooHR has not aged well and their product decisions.
You can't see their pricing options, that in itself should have stopped us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 13/05/2020
Verified Reviewer
Technology Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/12/2019

"Good basic software, holiday booking sometimes a bit difficult"

Comments: Good piece of HR software, very easy to use. Some improvements needed around the calendar

Pros: As an end user it's easy to use, can view all your information in one place. Good UI, good for tracking employees

Cons: As a team lead, it can sometimes format the holiday calendar in a weird way, sometimes what someone has booked doesn't reflect on the calendar. It also starts a week on Sunday with no option to customise

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/12/2019
David K.
HR Director
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2017

"Easy to use, customizable, best customer service"

Comments: daily management of human resource needs

Pros: This software is very easy to use; you can customize many things; they have the best customer service around. They help you figure out the best solution to your problems

Cons: There is not much to say about the downsides of this software. I would may love a little more integration from this software to others, but that is often an issue in the other software

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2017