Spiceworks Reviews

by Spiceworks Ziff Davis

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 /5
  • Customer Service Software
    4.2 /5

About Spiceworks

Download free IT help desk software for IT pros & sysadmins around the world in all businesses. Support & mobile apps also free.

Learn more about Spiceworks

Showing 488 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Business Improvement & IT Manager
Wholesale, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2020

"Amazing for the Price (FREE)"

Comments: I don't know why I didnt try this soon, i think you presume if something doesnt have a high price tag then it wont be any good, but i was very wrong.

Pros: I love the ease of the ticketing system and the professionalism of the emails that come out from it. I have used some other IT help desk platforms but this one works really well.

Cons: The app isnt particularly slick but it works. I think in they could spend a bit more time on the app it would increase their portfolio tenfold. For the price it is a gem and you cannot go wrong.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2020
Verified Reviewer
Manager, Business Systems
Wholesale, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2019

"SpiceWorks does the job, for free-ninety-nine."

Comments: Prior to SpiceWorks we relied on emails from users with issues, and each IT person might manage those emails in their own way - flagging for followup, marking as unread, subfolders of their inbox, reminders, etc. Issues often were forgotten before being resolved as they moved further down in the IT inbox. We would often work on issues that another IT person already knew the answer to, thus wasting time. Spiceworks has made it so much easier to keep track of issues and their resolutions. IT supervisors can see at a glance if any of their people are struggling, and how quickly issues are resolved. Each ticket is categorized (Phone System, PC Hardware, Network, etc.) so its easy to see if things are getting better or worse. You can reply to a ticket with a suggested solution, categorize it, and close it, all using the "Tickets Anywhere" keywords.

Pros: It allows us to prioritize tickets, identify recurring problems, and prevent requests from "falling through the cracks". It provides our employees a single email address for getting help without them having to know who in IT does what. It is fairly configurable to meet different needs - we use it for warehouse and logistics issues as well as IT Help Desk. Tickets can be assigned, categorized, closed, etc. using "Tickets Anywhere" keywords when replying to the email so you don't even have to open the site to work tickets.

Cons: Emails sent to Spiceworks are converted to plain text with attachments, so tables and in-line images are lost. Due to this we sometimes have to ask the user to forward the email directly to us in order to see the original. There is a delay of between 1 and 5 minutes after an email is sent to Spiceworks before the Spiceworks email is received by team members, so we occasionally have more than one person starting to work on a ticket at the same time - especially if the ticket can be resolved simply by replying to the email.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/10/2019
Amber T.
IT Project Assistant
Consumer Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2018

"Very User-Friendly"

Comments: It's been great. Since we've started using this (about a year ago) it has definitely improved our productivity, communication, and efficiency as an entire IT dept.

Pros: Oh, where to start! I love that anyone in our company can email a specific address that we have set up to forward from Spiceworks and it will automatically forward it to everyone on the IT team so we don't have to continue checking the actual software every 5 minutes. Also, when someone responds, it goes directly to the ticket assignee's email and we can respond from either the platform or our emails. It's also nice that it sends reminders of open tickets or things that have been untouched for a while. I like the dashboard to see the frequency of opened/closed tickets, as well as see which issues are the most prominent. The actual tickets have areas to specify the category of the issue as well as a 3rd party ticket# so it's easy to find. There is also a knowledge base that we can refer to people who have had similar problems as others in the past. And everything is in the cloud so we don't have to host anything to ensure that it's saved :) They just added a remote session option too which could come in super handy when troubleshooting an issue. Oh, and I like that it has internal as well as public notes and it saves a history of everything so can go back and revisit a closed ticket that was taken care of months ago.

Cons: The attachments are a little finicky. As in, it doesn't allow "inline" attachments (for when I want to show a screenshot in the middle of my explanation). And if I want to download a screenshot from a ticket, I have to right-click it and save (not a big deal) rather than just click on the print icon that's usually present in other attachment previews on different sites (like Gmail, per say). But honestly, I haven't really dealt with many other IT ticket help desk platforms so I don't really have anything to compare it to. The only other things I don't like are things that are user-error based. Like how if we don't update the category or the ticket type in the actual ticket, the proper stats won't show in the dashboard.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
Technology Manager
Higher Education Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2019

"Free help desk and ticketing system with integrated AD-compatible inventory"

Comments: We have used the Spiceworks ticketing system for a few years and have been very pleased by the customization options, support, and overall performance of it. It has helped to streamline the efforts of our tech team and help us to effectively organize and delegate. From the ticket overview, you can see what tickets are new, outstanding, and who their owners are (if any). The customer portal side and automated responses are very customization as well, which helps to get your tech communications effectively branded for your organization.

Pros: The fact that it is a free product helps it to stand out. Beside that, when we did have an issue, the support was fantastic in helping us to track down and remedy the source of the problem. We really like the amount of detail you can see at a glance when using the help desk because it can aggregate the data from inventory which can include hardware devices and users. There are also many very handy plugins for Spiceworks that can help in countless ways.

Cons: Since our users had a habit of submitting tickets with numerous large attachments, the ticket database became kind of unwieldy and there wasn't a clear way to actually delete tickets or their attachments from the database. This is good and bad, in that there's no accidental deletion of ticket history, but it can be frustration if space on the hosting server is very limited.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2019
Dustin M.
Field Technician
Computer Hardware, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2018

"Simply essential to every day I.T. Life!"

Comments: There is really nothing to say but this software is excellent. I use it daily for ticketing, tracking, research and even I.T. related news clips. It's an essential one stop HUB for everything I.T. and best of all it's free.

Pros: Spiceworks is the software that my company uses for ticketing and a secondary asset tracking system. Since I've been using it I've found that it's infinitely more helpful than at first it seemed. The ticketing system is very simple to set up and tracks and assigns tickets very well. Besides the ticketing and asset tracking I love all the plug-ins that are available as well as the Spiceworks community. There are very few resources where you will find a more helpful bunch of users who have real world experience and can answer anything you might need to ask. I always find someone who has broken down extremely technical knowledge that makes it easier for me to learn and expand.

Cons: The software can sometimes be a bit slow to respond. There will at times be an odd lag in the software even though there is nothing taxing happening on the server and resources look fine. This is a minor occurrence and can be fixed by restarting the service on the server.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2018
Verified Reviewer
Google Trusted Independent Photographer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2019

"Perfect starter IT Help Desk software with additional tools for Small Business sysadmins"

Comments: Our small 3-person IT team needed a basic and easy-to-use helpdesk software for our technicians and end-users. Spiceworks was easy to install and meets all of our requirements, with a little bit of feature bloat (but it's free!). While I am sure we could pay money for a more customizable, modular, ad-free system, its simplicity and reliability is incredibly valuable in our IT department.

Pros: -Offers basic helpdesk features - email to ticket, email notifications, simple reports/metrics - and a simple interface for L1+ technicians. No training is required
-Knowledge Base is a great place for documentation, and to refer users for duplicate tickets
-No frills, easy to setup, requires virtually no maintenance when hosted on a Windows server (we do not use the cloud version)

Cons: -Inventory and Network Monitor just seem to add bloat for the minimal usefulness that they are - we can do a better job with other free tools like The Dude
-Paying to remove ads still won't reclaim any screen space that they take up, just a replacement with your own graphic - I don't believe this is worth it

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/02/2019
Tim M.
IT Manager/Systems Administrator
Real Estate
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2018

"A System Administrators best friend"

Pros: Spiceworks is a totally free piece of software if you choose to self-host. Getting things up and running is pretty easy, and it doesn't involve a huge amount of upkeep to keep the inventory data up to date. It also comes with access to the Spiceworks online community. This is a gathering place for a large array of computer savvy folks who help each other out with questions, answers, and access to pieces of software that make life easier. I have reached out to the community many times, and gotten some great feedback on issues I have had, and suggestions on hardware and software purchases. I also like the ability to build my own help desk portal where end users can submit tickets for easier tracking and resolution.

Cons: I have had some issues with the self-hosted software crashing from time to time. I have not been able to figure out why it needs a random reboot to keep it happy, but it only happens every couple of months, so it really isn't a huge issue to me.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/07/2018
Robert N.
Director of Operations
Individual & Family Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/08/2019

"IT Support at its finest!"

Pros: Where to begin - there are so many features and services that we have come to rely on in regard to Spiceworks such as:
-Remote data collection on all devices: you can see when a hard drive is out of space before it becomes a problem
-Remote data collection on logs: you can see when someone had some log errors and they don't know about it and you catch a system-wide upgrade issue before it affects everyone
-Software reports: see who has what installed and if it fits in the companies guidelines
-Seamless integration between ticket creation and purchasing.
Also, Vendor participation that allows vendors to directly communicate with the whole community and help out, without all the trouble of phone calling and long wait times.

Cons: The only thing we have identified that Spiceworks doesn't do is patch management but word is they are working on that.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/08/2019
Troy S.
Network Technician
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/11/2018

"Great Help Desk Portal"

Comments: When we moved from our prior software provider to Spiceworks, our technicians and users all immediately began to notice a great improvement in usability and functionality. From being able to interact with the software via emails while our technicians are on the go, to updating users when comments are posted and issues are resolved, this software have greatly improved our help desk's day to day productivity.

Pros: Spiceworks is a free yet versatile help desk portal for users to submit tickets, technicians to track tickets and for administrators to generate reports. With the vast community support behind Spiceworks, its very easy to figure out to to customize the look and feel to meet the needs of your organization.

Cons: While Spiceworks is great, [I assume] because of the free nature of the software and the companies business model, updates aren't very frequent. Security issues within the software can take a long time to get patched, and new features and few and far in-between.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Owner/Creative Director
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2018

"Excellent product, free and top notch support"

Pros: Can't beat the price. You have the flexibility to operate your helpdesk "in-house" or use their hosted platform. Either way you will have a full featured, customizable helpdesk with a user portal. At its minimal setup, you can be up and running in under an hour. If you have more work to do, you can easily build it to suit your needs. If you need additional functionality, you can always install one of many plugins.

Cons: Though the community is awesome, many of the useful plugins over the years have been abandoned by their creators. Since these are built and maintained by the users of the community, these are often made to address a specific issue, and not many are kept up with "fixes". It would be great if Spiceworks worked a bit more on incorporating the most used ones into their software natively.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
Director of Information Technology
Individual & Family Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2018

"Spiceworks is awesome!"

Comments: It's amazing that the software is free. We were able to implement a proper help desk system with all the features we needed at no cost. The Spiceworks online community is amazing. The knowledge available there is as good as any other source on the Internet.

Pros: It's free. The help desk functionality does exactly what it's supposed to do. Users can submit tickets via email or through a portal, and support staff are notified and can acknowledge the tickets right away. When ticket updates are entered promptly, it provides excellent visibility into the life of a trouble ticket. The Spiceworks community is amazing. It's our first stop when searching for answers to tough problems.

Cons: We occasionally have issues with the system not checking email for new support tickets. A restart of the software solves the problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
IT Technician
Medical Practice, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2019

"Great Helpdesk Solution"

Comments: I am able to keep track of my work and assign/re-assign tickets with ease. Going back to reference a past solution is easy. A very practical helpdesk portal.

Pros: Tickets can be auto-created upon email receipt as well as direct-upload to the Spiceworks portal. The former makes it much easier for users in more of a hurry to get their request in.

Cons: Linking tickets to other tickets (sub-tickets) can make for a somewhat confusing ticket tree. Could be more intuitive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2019
Amanda S.
PC Support Specialist
Real Estate, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2018

"SpiceWORKS"

Comments: It is free, there is a ton of content in the forums and nice little giveaways. (I have gotten many pairs of socks and Gift Cards though this.)

Pros: I love SpiceWorks. There are so many features when using SpiceWorks. There is a Forum that you can use to get help or chat with other users. There are giveaways and discounts for products. The ticket system is fantastic. When submitting tickets you can run reports and schedule them to pull a specific type of ticket and run a report at a specific time. It is super user friendly. There is too much content to name here.

Cons: The inventory Scan feature is not always accurate. The periodic upgrades are annoying, and some upgrades makes a drastic change. The mobile app is quirky. Does not support MAC OS

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/05/2018
Marvin P.
Computer Technician 1
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2018

"Great ticketing/inventory software with a great support community as well."

Comments: Great software, it has helped us to streamline out ticketing and get things done faster.

Pros: Honestly, Everything! This is great software and it's hard to believe that its free to use. as with anything there are going to be things here and there that some do not like, but the overall Idea behind this software and what it does and what it allows you to do is absolutely great!

Cons: I honestly have nothing bad to say about this software. I just really really like it. I suppose if I am forced to come up with some kind of con I would have to say it would be nice to have a fourth Priority level. One above High such as Urgent. but other than that. This is really a well thought out and well designed "IMO" piece of kit!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2018
Nathan R.
CEO
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/05/2018

"Talk about professional IT software, this one is the top"

Comments: Manage the IT support department with ease.

Pros: How about a super product, that has everything you need to manage as many companies as you need the right way... and for it to be absolutely free.
That is what spiceworks brings to the table, a top product at an unbeateable price... FREE!
You have unlimited everything, and you can manage your suport with a ticketing system that is well thought out.
Not only that you have access to all the it pros that are also part of spiceworks.
This is a must tool for an IT manager

Cons: There is nothing not to like.
You can't beat the price, you can't beat the software.
This is a solid solution for IT professionals of ANY size.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/05/2018
Ben R.
IT Director
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017

"Great IT support Software"

Pros: This Software is easy to use, customization to whatever you need, and you can't beat the price! Even though this software could do even more than it is for us now, it is exactly what we need and keeps our support requests, hardware/software inventory, and vendor information all in one great place! My absolute favorite feature is email setup for support requests, all the details that go along with that feature!

Cons: I can't think of anything negative about the software, I only wish I had more time to customize and look into the many endless additional features we could probably use in addition to what we use now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/05/2017
Michael T.
Network Administrator II
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018

"Free software that is easy to use, and very powerful"

Comments: I am able to keep track of all my assets, with the only cost being my time to set up and configure the software......who can put a price on that?

Pros: The biggest Pro for me is the price -- FREE -- and the fact that this tool will do what other software companies charge thousands of dollars to do. It detects when a new computer has been added to the network, or if a change has been made (software added or uninstalled). As a side bonus, it is possible to use along side PDQdeploy.

Cons: The only issue that I have with Spiceworks is that it takes a very long time to do a scan, and I mean SEVERAL hours.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Alex R.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2018

"Fantastic platform with advanced options"

Comments: For nearly a decade of using Spiceworks, I cannot say enough good about it. Bugs get worked out pretty quickly overall and with community development, features just keep getting added on that are actually appropriate for networks.

Pros: I love that it's not just free but a fantastic help to most IT infrastructures. Being able to run reports for managing offices is invaluable!

Cons: I've had issues getting it to work with non windows systems, but that can be expected. I would like to be able to customize wmi queries to get data more reliably and faster, but overall it's fantastic as is.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2018
Mike P.
IT Specialist
Philanthropy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/02/2018

"Not mush Spiceworks does not cover for an IT admin"

Comments: Spiceworks coimmunity is a great resource for any issues as well.

Pros: Easy to use and navigate software from the get go. The ability to monitor your entire network from one program makes my job so much easier. The ability to track inventory, issues as well as print out reports helps me stay on top of any issues that come up last minute.

Cons: I cannot think of any as it does what it is created to do. I could see them added some premium features that would be prices based but then that might turn people away.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/02/2018
Elaine S.
Performance Improvement Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2019

"Basic no-frills IT case submission tool"

Comments: In general, Spiceworks is straight forward and gets the job of ticket submission done. I can't speak to how it looks on the receiving end, but as someone who uses this software to submit help tickets, it is very easy to use.

Pros: Spiceworks is very easy to use. It may vary depending on your organization, but for us it is a simple one page form that lists all the questions and fields you are required to complete to submit a help desk ticket. There's nothing confusing about the set up or layout.

Cons: There may be some questions that are not required, depending on the type of ticket you are submitting. For example, at our company both IT and facilities tickets are submitted through spiceworks; however, there are some questions specific to IT tickets only. It would be good if some questions automatically collapses or appears depending on the "pathway" of your ticket.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2019
David S.
IT Director
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2019

"Excellent Resource On A Budget!"

Comments: The IT Help Desk has certainly saved us time and given us peace of mind as to what devices we have on our network and what they're up to.

Pros: It offered an excellent IT resource for tracking devices and getting a general overview and sense of control regarding the devices on our network/domain. Before we used to store inventory data in an Excel spreadsheet and rely on someone to update that accordingly. Now, thanks to the network scan and server level service running, we can easily stay up to date on what PC needs updates, user changes to the system, and security warnings.

Cons: I wouldn't recommend installing the service on a heavily used machine (a personal one or IT staff PC) because it can hog memory when it's doing it scans. Plus the PC has to be on the network to run the scan so even if you schedule the scan to run overnight if you have a laptop it would be pointless if you take it home with you. Install it on a service terminal or server

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/04/2019
Maureen H.
Project Engineer
Wholesale, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019

"SpiceWorks IT Help Desk"

Comments: We had no system before hand to track. We use it to not only track the issue but insure the SLA is being met.

Pros: Quick to set up, free, allows us to track software issues and follow thru to resolution. Users can track their tickets in the system so aren't always asking status of resolution of their issue.

Cons: Not particularly initial user friendly. Users find it easier to send in an email to our help desk rather than entering their own ticket.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019
Marino R.
IT help desk
Consumer Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/02/2019

"Spice from a IT perspective"

Comments: The biggest advantage to me about Spiceworks is that for a small company with not many resources or money to spend on expensive products this is a great way to keep organize.

Pros: The thing I like the most about this software is that is free, the system is very handy for using to remember task or just keeping a knowledge base for issues you have resolved.
It is also very easy to communicate to end users updates on the work that is being done.

Cons: There is not much to not like about a free product like this one, but one suggestion would be for you to be able to change the layout of the tickets.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/02/2019
Carissa N.
Communications Coordinator
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/04/2021

"Spiceworks is where it's at!"

Pros: Great software! I worked for a real estate agency and we had over 300 agents and 60 employees and we utilized this program on a daily basis! Worked alongside the IT department and if anyone had issues related to IT or Marketing, they submitted a ticket to the system. We then divvied it out to the appropriate employee who can assist them. I love how easy it is to keep track of who has what ticket.

Cons: The sort function was very hard to utilize on the back end. Especially when looking through tickets by the user.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/04/2021
Dennis W.
Director of Technology
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support Software
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/11/2018

"Great Helpdesk Software - No Frills"

Pros: The price is what gets you to download the software, the features are what keep you from looking for an alternative. It will find all of the nodes on your network and associate them based off of their MAC address.

Cons: While not really a "Con", the free version does have ads but they are typically "techie" in nature and sometimes they are relevant to what you may be working on at the time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/11/2018